Eight Ways To Kill Your HDD, About what NOT to do to prolong HDD life
Hiwatari
Mar 16 2006, 03:40 PM
just received my hdd 2day partitioned into 4...20gb each 1st n 2nd partition, when in heavy use, will produce ticking sound, the other 2 seem 2 b find, quiet...sth wrong?
edited: oso, noticed that my wd lacks 1 block in fitness while my maxtor lacks 1 block in performance...this is monitored in speedfan smart monitor
both of my hdd gonna die soon?
This post has been edited by Hiwatari: Mar 16 2006, 05:30 PM
Hiwatari
Mar 18 2006, 06:59 PM
QUOTE Is this ticking sound very loud? at least louder than my maxtor...maxtor 'no sound'...wd can hear from like...5 metres?but when in heavy usage only...otherwise, it'll 'krak' like once in 5 sec but y only in 1st n 2nd partition?the other 2 is so quiet edited:wohooo...check this out...aiseh Hardware ECC Recovered 251 34483 Watch Warning: Hardware ECC Recovered is below the average limits (252-253). speedfan in-depth anal...dying? This post has been edited by lex: Mar 30 2006, 02:17 PM
Hiwatari
Apr 3 2006, 04:40 PM
QUOTE Possible bad/slow sectors. The "krak" sound could be possibly the head re-setting and re-seeking the bad/slow sector. will it affect the other 2 partitions?the quiet 1 QUOTE That statement sounds not good at all. This can indicate "weak" bits in one or more sectors (ie. causing the ECC recovery). As abovementioned, there could be slow and/or bad sectors in that drive. but now it's back 2 252(normal)...erm...what's goin on?evrytime i do the in depth anal...the result varies...hoh
Hiwatari
Apr 18 2006, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Apr 18 2006, 08:15 PM) hi.. i've prob here.. nowadays my HD start to produce chunking sound when i run file on that.. that is my 2nd HD.. 40G Seagate.. i used to keep my anime n muvie there.. n when i open anime file it will produce sund like.. "chaking chaking~~" sumkind like that.. not only two bits.. but for a long time.. maybe 2 -3 mins.. n i oso find that it work really slow.. have to wait up to 1 min to open anime file.. why a dis happen? sign of my HD want to kong ka? possibly bad sector since u mentioned it took 4ever 2 open a file besides sounds hv u try run scandisk? oh yeah, speaking bout scandisk, does any1 know y scandisk using command prompt is faster than scandisk that runs after we restart pc? This post has been edited by lex: May 3 2006, 05:06 PM
Hiwatari
May 17 2010, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(beelze @ May 17 2010, 01:54 AM) Pardon my post that is OT, but here are some methods to kill your hard disk 1. Using Active Kill Disk, even for just Zero Fill or worse any of the "utter erasure" formatting methods that it proposes, on your Hard Disk and then suddenly shutting down your PC while it is still formatting and has not yet completed the task... So erstwhile make sure your PC's operation will not be interrupted while undergoing such use of this otherwise excellent software... Unless one wishes to literally kill his/her Hard Disk. 2. Exposing it to high G's, example is 1G or more, such as dropping them from some height. 3. Using your Hard Disks on a 12V rail that provides inadequate amperage, over some period of time. And so on, and so forth... u miss any zero? 1G is the normal condition yo also the G value varies according to the condition of the hdd plugged/operating hdd is more fragile
Hiwatari
Jun 6 2010, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(besiegetank @ Jun 1 2010, 09:42 AM) Did you monitor the temperature of your HDD while you doing those multitasking?Perhaps it can give you a warning to stop. hmm...interesting i hv 1 wd 640 when transferring data...if it gets too hot it'll simply 'disconnected' from the pc what i mean is there'll b usb notice saying new hardware is found, as if i've unplugged n replugged the usb connector is this some sort of safety mechanism of the hdd? happens many times to b considered s coincidence