Asus A | U | N series combined thread V3
AlexLai
Feb 22 2011, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(thena123 @ Feb 22 2011, 11:33 AM) thank you bro for your answer. Any adaptor head I can use (something like the adaptor for Nokia handphones small pin and big pin) so that I can use for both notebook and netbook? I am planning to buy the 1015 only if both my UL20A and the 1015 fit one AC adaptor Erm, in that case I recommend you get a third party adapter like the Choiix Powerfort. It includes several heads for different models.
AlexLai
Feb 22 2011, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(blitzikreg @ Feb 22 2011, 10:06 PM) hi..need help guys..i format a42n..how to switch integrated graphic card to discrete graphic card?now it detect integrated ati 4200..i wanna use ati 5470..plz help me.. Iinm, A42N only has the integrated HD4200. There's no HD5470 in it. QUOTE(cfcho88 @ Feb 22 2011, 10:54 PM) hmm..that's what I thought.. But the Optimus is supposed to kick in automatically when I launch a DirectX 3D application right? I think the error pop up because the game was using Intel HD integrated card. Was wondering if any other ASUS users with nVidia optimus had the same problem. Normally, go to the Nvidia Control Panel and select High-Performance GPU for iwmw2.exe (or whatever the .exe file is). Didn't have this issue with my Optimus though. Only black screens, poor performance or very very jagged looking screen in game indicated that the Nvidia GPU did not kick in. Optimus is not 100% accurate. This post has been edited by AlexLai: Feb 22 2011, 11:05 PM
AlexLai
Mar 5 2011, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(mekboyz @ Mar 5 2011, 04:37 PM) I feel damn butthurt now. My a42ja model is already considered outdated  it has only been 4+ months I feel more butthurt actually. After getting my A42JV for a month, they came out with the A42JA  . But still, nowadays performance difference isn't too great to the point that a refresh can make the older unit look like it's a generation old. Added on March 5, 2011, 9:53 pmQUOTE(loyaney @ Mar 5 2011, 07:13 PM) yes you are right, just bought one 1hr ago now installing win7 Congrats on your purchase. This post has been edited by AlexLai: Mar 5 2011, 09:53 PM
AlexLai
Mar 6 2011, 01:26 AM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 5 2011, 10:23 PM) ^even more when the A42Jv's price keep going down  The time I got it, the price more or less stabilized so not so much butthurt for me compared to Eugene. I wonder if I should hold out til April for any new U series releases or just snag the U41Jf.
AlexLai
Mar 6 2011, 01:34 AM
Hmmm, sounds like a tragedy indeed. No discrete GPU.
AlexLai
Mar 6 2011, 02:39 AM
For the "classy" look gua... Looks thick too. Maybe using their double pipe cooling system?
AlexLai
Mar 6 2011, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(@hb0y @ Mar 6 2011, 01:42 PM) On net, optimus seems having a lot of problem, is there anyone encounter the problem?? Planning to get Asus N53SN, but afraid the optimus will spoilt my gaming experience~~~~ http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=189894http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=189726http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=193533And one thing that makes me think a lot is, there is no official driver support for geforce 5xxM,wat the heck??!! I only experienced a blank screen when trying to start COD4, 5 and 6 using the 258.xx drivers. After updating to 260.xx, no such problems there. Most of the problems that you might face stem from the lack of automatic switching by Optimus.
AlexLai
Mar 10 2011, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(freakjb @ Mar 10 2011, 01:19 PM) At this price range, you can pick up the 30GB Kingston SSD-V which sells around RM230? But it's too tiny for most people.
AlexLai
Mar 11 2011, 06:17 PM
Asus can pick-up from your door step if you are too busy to visit their service center. But you need to apply for the service. The details are in their product guides.
AlexLai
Mar 12 2011, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(willchua @ Mar 12 2011, 11:08 AM) I also wanna know battery duration for N53SV-SX255V / N53SV-SX256V with i5. Haiz, I got 2.5" eSata enclosure with 500GB x 2 pcs. how ler? facepalm! I expect about 2-3 hours on regular usage for it. Your eSata enclosure is just eSata or with USB combo?
AlexLai
Mar 12 2011, 07:16 PM
If you want a 13" U series, I recommend waiting for the U31 It has a GT415M instead of that anemic G310M.
AlexLai
Mar 13 2011, 12:53 PM
Did you "accidentally" delete the ATK drivers?
AlexLai
Mar 14 2011, 04:11 PM
Download the latest Nvidia drivers. By default Optimus will use the Intel HD.
AlexLai
Mar 16 2011, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(tslc0250 @ Mar 16 2011, 09:53 PM) From the Mar~Apr catalog, there are mainly 4 difference between N53SN and N53SV N53SN -> N53SV CPU I7 2630QM -> I5 2410M GPU GT550M 1Gb -> GT540 2Gb USB USB3.0 -> no USB3.0 Webcam 2.0M -> VGA camera These stuff caused RM700 difference...  Main cause of the difference is the CPU and GPU. And I just finished downloading HOMEFRONT off Steam. The sad part is I can't enjoy it because of the iffy Optimus. Only the Intel HD works while the GT335M causes an error.
AlexLai
Mar 16 2011, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Mar 16 2011, 10:14 PM) Some said N53SV comes with USB 3.0 but some says not @@ Which 1 is only real ? @@ Referring to the Product Guide, it says that only the N53SN has USB 3.0.
AlexLai
Mar 16 2011, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(tslc0250 @ Mar 16 2011, 10:29 PM) i thought the different on GPU is just overclocking and the difference is not that big? why cause few hundred bucks...? Have you seen desktop GPUs which are overclocked selling for a couple hundred more than the reference? For mobile GPUs, normally they just take the best chips and clock them higher and then badge them a higher number while increasing the price. So even if the GT550M and GT540M were using the same chip, there is no guarantee that the GT540M can reach the GT550M's speed.
AlexLai
Mar 18 2011, 12:07 AM
Finally, I got HOMEFRONT to run... in DX9 mode. Oh well, at least the GT335M is powerful enough to run it at Very High settings at native resolution!
AlexLai
Mar 18 2011, 12:12 AM
Takes Half Life 2 as an influence, pretty decent story but it's too short. Finished the game in 5 hours. Half of the time, I ran it with the Intel HD before I found the fix because the story was very engrossing.
Multiplayer is another strong point. I very much like this over Black Ops.
AlexLai
Mar 18 2011, 12:21 AM
I added -d3d9 to the launch options in the Steam properties. Fixed everything.
AlexLai
Mar 19 2011, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(ashingburning @ Mar 19 2011, 02:41 PM) hmm...dont have dat much money...besides, i think a series design is good enough oredi...and the speaker, is it A series got bad speaker??? i've using altec lansing on my compaq v3000, and i think it good enough...but, if i have those rm200, definitely i go for n series... no one have the picture meh?? any different with old a series?? Not really bad speakers, just a bit softer than what most people would like. But it's much louder than my old F80L!