14,813 posts

Don't have U2...
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 12:10 PM

2,201 posts

oh well. i shall test it myself biggrin.gif

anyway, after i burn the recovery disc n reformat.

i have to manually download all the drivers in support.asus.com and reinstall all the drivers? got 82 leh @@
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 12:11 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Nope, if use the recovery disc, every driver is installed, no need to install again..
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 12:15 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 11 2010, 12:11 PM)
Nope, if use the recovery disc, every driver is installed, no need to install again..
thx. when i create recovery disc. it auto copy the current drivers im using? smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 12:16 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Nope, its taken from the recovery partition..
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 12:18 PM

2,201 posts

actually, what is included in recovery disc? like a laptop when u just bought?

lets say my laptop is infected by virus, when i burn recovery disc, virus won't be in the recovery disc right?
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 12:19 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Just like when you just bought...
Unless the virus spread to recovery partition, shouldn't have virus...
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 12:22 PM

2,201 posts

thx. will buy dvds tonight n burn it. fingers crossed. hope it goes well blush.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 11 2010, 12:44 PM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

Hey guys, i need some help with my cousin lappy formatting, do u have any direct links to download Asus A42F-VX258 drivers?
I tried asus webby but most of the drivers i think are for the newer version A42 using Core i3.. some drivers can be used but some sweat.gif hmm.gif

The laptop spec is:
Asus A42F-VX258
Pentium P6100
3GB RAM
Intel HD
Atheros AR9285 WIFI
Win7 64bit

What i'm trying to solve is the yellow unknown item in my device manager:

What i succesfully install:
1.Intel HD graphic (from asus web)
2.Wifi (Using windows standard driver)
3.LAN (from asus web)
4.Realtek Drivers (from asus web)
5.Virtual camera, power4go,ai recovery

Unsure items:
1.Bluetooth (Using i do know generic windows driver, don't know usable or not) sweat.gif
2.Camera (no drivers so far)
3.Touchpad (no drivers so far)

Thanx for ur help guys thumbup.gif smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 12:48 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Base system device usually is card reader,
As for PCI Simple Communications Controller, it should be Intel Management driver...
try this link if Asus web don't have it..
link
As for touchpad, is it elantech or synaptics ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 11 2010, 12:53 PM
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 11 2010, 02:01 PM

498 posts

My A42JA got the wireless problem. I repaired the wireless thingy and they said it's the wireless adapter or the wireless router . Before i even fix it, my ipod can connect to the network. How to fix this? I have been uninstalling and installing over and over and over again. Really irritating.

Added on December 11, 2010, 2:25 pmI rolled back my driver and the blue screen came out with crash dump. It kept going on like that everytime it reaches the log in screen. I went into safe mode and reinstall my driver . o.O

This post has been edited by ~@Sharks@~: Dec 11 2010, 02:25 PM
k-bkeat
post Dec 11 2010, 02:51 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(~@Sharks@~ @ Dec 11 2010, 02:01 PM)
My A42JA got the wireless problem. I repaired the wireless thingy and they said it's the wireless adapter or the wireless router . Before i even fix it, my ipod can connect to the network. How to fix this? I have been uninstalling and installing over and over and over again. Really irritating.

Added on December 11, 2010, 2:25 pmI rolled back my driver and the blue screen came out with crash dump. It kept going on like that everytime it reaches the log in screen. I went into safe mode and reinstall my driver . o.O
ur problem is it can't detect any network? try enabling wireless console 3
marcus20125
post Dec 11 2010, 05:56 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 11 2010, 12:44 PM)
Hey guys, i need some help with my cousin lappy formatting, do u have any direct links to download Asus A42F-VX258 drivers?
I tried asus webby but most of the drivers i think are for the newer version A42 using Core i3.. some drivers can be used but some sweat.gif hmm.gif

The laptop spec is:
Asus A42F-VX258
Pentium P6100
3GB RAM
Intel HD
Atheros AR9285 WIFI
Win7 64bit

What i'm trying to solve is the yellow unknown item in my device manager:

What i succesfully install:
1.Intel HD graphic (from asus web)
2.Wifi (Using windows standard driver)
3.LAN (from asus web)
4.Realtek Drivers (from asus web)
5.Virtual camera, power4go,ai recovery

Unsure items:
1.Bluetooth (Using i do know generic windows driver, don't know usable or not) sweat.gif
2.Camera (no drivers so far)
3.Touchpad (no drivers so far)

Thanx for ur help guys  thumbup.gif smile.gif
Base System Device = ATKACPI driver and hotkey-related utilities
for PCI Simple Communications Controller,try look for its Hardware Ids under properties,then search @ http://www.pcidatabase.com/
example you will see PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0641&SUBSYS_82961043&REV_A1 on first row,10DE you input on Vendor Search,then 0641 on Device Search.finally you will know what is the driver for unknown device

This post has been edited by marcus20125: Dec 11 2010, 06:02 PM
~@Sharks@~
post Dec 11 2010, 06:46 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 11 2010, 02:51 PM)
ur problem is it can't detect any network? try enabling wireless console 3
Erm nope. My problem is everytime disconnect. Eventhough my modem is already connected and running as usual. >.<. Disconnect as in everytime got the exclamasion mark. And cannot surf the internet.
Innovation
post Dec 11 2010, 06:57 PM

244 posts

urgent, need help here...,my a42jv...after kena blue screen,and restart.
Then my laptop fail to detect the Nvidia Graphic card. Anyone encounter such thing before? thx..
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 07:02 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Reinstalled the nvidia driver ?
Innovation
post Dec 11 2010, 07:31 PM

244 posts

i had tried, my driver installer is 258.96 but is not working, it will pop up some error message like:

"The Nvidia Setup Program could not locate any drivers that are compatible with your current hardware.Setup will now exit"

And when i check in the device manager, under the display adapter, only got Intel® HD graphics.

Any idea? seem my laptop cant detect the vga card at all..
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 07:33 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Try shutdown the notebook, unplug the battery, and hold the power button for couple seconds, then start it again and see can detect nvidia or not...
Innovation
post Dec 11 2010, 07:47 PM

244 posts

thx lee, now i plug in the battery and with the adapter, it can detect the nvidia card.

Any idea regarding this kind of issue? and would it ok if i update the vga driver to 260.99?
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2010, 07:49 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Haven't tried the 260.99, so far my friend still using 258.96
As for the cause, there might be a clue if you could remember the bsod error code..

131 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:57 AM