Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V48!, The Orange Legion

zstan
post Nov 21 2010, 10:24 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(wha7ever @ Nov 21 2010, 10:18 AM)
chiahau: The Alpha 500/550/560/580's 7 FPS is fake/cheat. It lock the first image exposure and the rest 6 shots follow the same exposure settings (it locks AF too).

I'm not sure about the Alpha 55 though, but from spec sheets it says continuous is 6 frame burst. I think A55 can reach 10 frame would be similar in locking settings except the Phase Detect AF. Need someone who owns the SLT to confirm this, I could be wrong.

zstan: Aiya... was waiting for it to release (A850/A900 new firmware) then go straight to FF but I got fed up waiting already.
aiyo, can always sell off your a580 now ma. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif chiahau sure buy one. tongue.gif
evilhomura89
post Nov 21 2010, 10:32 AM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 21 2010, 02:07 AM)
A580 cant AF during Video argh >">
7 fps compared to A55's 10.

Why la now only people want gimme their camera to play lolz?

Guess I want go molest A55 n A580 for the last time b4 i go buy >">

Sienz.
lol, i thought you would have known about that long time ago
that's why i was having a difficult time deciding between the two
zstan
post Nov 21 2010, 10:33 AM

15,856 posts

to us non-professional high speed sports photographer, it doesn't freaking matter if it were 5/7/10 fps la. please take that out of your consideration when comparing.
mastering89
post Nov 21 2010, 10:37 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

zstan : yes verry gooooD laugh.gif

e-jump : try search for ArcSoft Panorama Maker 5 , very easy to stitch photo with that. but cant do much editing sad.gif
the best thing is can even stitch panorama from videos brows.gif

wha7ever : the a33/a55 is continuous AF on the 7/10fps burst mode( can change to AF-S also) . limited functions , cant change the ISO/Aperture/Shutter. only metering , EV, WB ,etc... my a33 can go till 12frames jpegs then already slows down (using 8GB HG Pro Duo MS), havent tried with RAW/ Jpeg+Raw, the a55 is said to have more buffer thingy nod.gif

but one thing bugs me, when in the 7fps mode i can go up to 12frames. but in normal Hi burst can up to 4-5frames only... is the 7fps mode uses lower quality images/compresses more?? hmm.gif
chiahau
post Nov 21 2010, 10:57 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 21 2010, 10:24 AM)
aiyo, can always sell off your a580 now ma. icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  chiahau sure buy one.  tongue.gif
I will get a new one tongue.gif

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 21 2010, 10:32 AM)
lol, i thought you would have known about that long time ago
that's why i was having a difficult time deciding between the two
Yeap but tested my pal's one.. Dun like.. Kenot AF during video very sienz one ~.~
Need 4 me 2 slowly adjust adjust macam orang cacat >">
Nvm la, i go for A55 1st lo..

worst come 2 worst, I change A77/FF later.
e-jump
post Nov 21 2010, 11:37 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Nov 21 2010, 10:37 AM)
e-jump : try search for ArcSoft Panorama Maker 5 , very easy to stitch photo with that. but cant do much editing  sad.gif
the best thing is can even stitch panorama from videos  brows.gif
Cool
But Hugin stitcher tool seems fine to my usage.

here's bigger North side MBS
http://www.flickr.com/photos/e-jump/519349...in/photostream/

and south side
http://www.flickr.com/photos/e-jump/519307...in/photostream/
mastering89
post Nov 21 2010, 11:40 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 21 2010, 10:57 AM)
I will get a new one  tongue.gif
Yeap but tested my pal's one.. Dun like.. Kenot AF during video very sienz one ~.~
Need 4 me 2 slowly adjust adjust macam orang cacat >">
Nvm la, i go for A55 1st lo..

worst come 2 worst, I change A77/FF later.
for me video AF is just easier but i love MF better. can play with DOF and all. but best if there are lens with alltime MF override like the SSM. if Only Sony put the MF override on SAM lenses sad.gif
shootkk
post Nov 21 2010, 12:21 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

One more night shot:

1. Almost the same view but this is one single shot.

And another mega pano.

chiahau
post Nov 21 2010, 12:42 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

what is the street price of a new F58am huh?

1.1k cheapest right? Gonna get one around dec, saving up after getting my body next week~"
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 21 2010, 12:43 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

^ woah... nice pano, tho got abit problem stitching at the centre. smile.gif
ieR
post Nov 21 2010, 02:22 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

wha7ever: the word 'cheat' is a little harsh tongue.gif it did mention 7fps priority, meaning it will put all energy into the speed tongue.gif and yea, it lock out the AE/AF, due to hardware limitation.

however, the fps issue. there are 2 type of burst (socalled) of Alpha. the normal burst mode, which u can 'tweak PASM' and fulltime working AE/AF, another one is the priority burst mode, which locks out AE/AF(on A33/55 its on the mode dail, so not sure if u can use it like AP mode)

the 6fps is the normal HiBurst mode of A55. which u can use it on PASM, unlike the priority mode of 10fps. smile.gif

chiahau: stop being a gearhead, knowning all the spec(or comparing it), getting all the ting tong stuff wont make u any better in photography.
i know how budget affect ur buying. let put all spec aside... but judge by this 1 key point

are u going to get serious in photography? (as in go event shooting, gigs, perhaps join weddings).

if Yea, get a A580, u'll be thankful of that u will have grip option and F58 mounted still get well balanced weight. (and single longer life battery). bigger grip help relax ur hold after a 2-3 hours non stop shooting.

if No, just get A55 and play around and enjoy it, having a smaller camera, make traveling or going out with friends 'lighter' and passing to girls to play is easy too (small ma)... battery issue? the diff of rm200 to A580 can buy u 3 unit of 3rd party batt that can altogether shoot twice as much then A580. shooting video clip with friends is also much more fun... and u still can use it to cover light event/functions.

have fun

croomaniac
post Nov 21 2010, 03:31 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Nov 20 2010, 03:49 PM)
my haul of the day (since past few weeks dy actually, but only got all the things today)

now can play wireless flash with my NEX brows.gif
@Sig~ Ajar sama aku~

@chiahau: Try a55 + flashless/natural light photography.. a580 would more suited for 'jobs'.. a55 is for discovering in other words.. i would prefer to learn auto first before getting into manual (that implies also in video mode) nod.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 21 2010, 03:33 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

to be honest... how many of us really use the 3/5/7/10FPS function? i know some of use do, but how many? I rarely see and sport photographers here... or any birding photos... but even then, do they pan or do they burst is another question... or maybe both... tongue.gif

I have never used the burst mode on my a700... nor on my previous a100.
croomaniac
post Nov 21 2010, 03:50 PM

269 posts

the only time in my photog history that i wish for extra fps on my a200 was when i went to shoot models on the runway.. other than that, 3fps will do..
shootkk
post Nov 21 2010, 04:01 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

I rarely use the burst mode. I think I can count the number of times I used burst mode using my fingers all these while and still have fingers to spare! I find that anticipating the moment to be much more useful than bursting.

Of course there are some occasions that need higher fps but not for me.

One funny incident is when I was shooting during a PC Fair and here comes one fella with a Canon 1D series, if I'm not mistaken, to shoot the models we were shooting. You know what, he fired the cam like a machine gun. The model/promoter gal was just standing there! He did this not once but 3 times! I wondered if he was there to shoot models/promoter gals or just to show off! LMAO!! Blatant abuse of the burst capabilities.
wha7ever
post Nov 21 2010, 04:28 PM

606 posts

ieR: Yeah, I know it's a little harsh but being a little harsh can bring out a point tongue.gif

chiahau: ieR brings out very good point to take note of in which similar to what I had in mind when I upgraded (kind of) from the Alpha 300.

Anyways, here's a video... do you think you need that kind of burst rate? Just for laugh biggrin.gif

signither
post Nov 21 2010, 05:08 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Nov 21 2010, 03:31 PM)
@Sig~ Ajar sama aku~
lol, just use optical trigger la bro. sweat.gif
Newbieeeeee
post Nov 21 2010, 05:29 PM

:)
1,286 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 21 2010, 12:42 PM)
what is the street price of a new F58am huh?

1.1k cheapest right? Gonna get one around dec, saving up after getting my body next week~"
A dude selling 1000 only.. Brand new.. But his shop is in melaka.. Go search in dslr section in garage sales.. I'm on phone now so can't give you the link..
gjtan
post Nov 21 2010, 05:34 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 20 2010, 11:09 PM)
wait his pm.  hmm.gif
i brought this 1 week ago, ok, not bad, but ur cam need to be up side down,
if with long zoom lens, better dont go for this

This post has been edited by gjtan: Nov 21 2010, 05:36 PM
croomaniac
post Nov 21 2010, 05:58 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Nov 21 2010, 05:08 PM)
lol, just use optical trigger la bro. sweat.gif
tidak pernah try itu.. bagaimanakah? setup? barangan yang perlu? drool.gif

126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:31 PM