126 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom

Nokia N8 - V12 - [The King of Camera Phones], New N8 Owner, please read the FrontPage!

hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 10:20 AM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 10:15 AM)
Well..This popped up in MeeGo wiki - http://wiki.meego.com/Devices/U8500
Most probably this device will be using MeeGo as OS too.

Feature similar to leaked N9 too.
Anyone approve the same spec for N9?
This is more realistic than Snapdragon nod.gif

Check the page for this device as wellhttp://www.stericsson.com/platforms/U8500.jsp

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 12 2010, 10:22 AM
BuFung
post Nov 12 2010, 10:22 AM

8,407 posts

Cortex A9?? maybe yes in the dream....
TSsklchan

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 10:20 AM)
This is more realistic than Snapdragon nod.gif
how powerful the proc also direct affected how big the battery gonna include... imagine a truck engine with a motocycle gas tank... doh.gif
PyOsE

1,661 posts

KL people,

this N8 holder available at KL or not?

can't find here at east coast sweat.gif
TSsklchan
post Nov 12 2010, 10:26 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Nov 12 2010, 10:22 AM)
KL people,

this N8 holder available at KL or not?

can't find here at east coast  sweat.gif
the holder i got are different for the "holder" portion and the base are the same.... sweat.gif
I kind of dislike my just bought holder as it's just a simple clamp (with 2 rubber at the side) and takut the device will fall down if jerk to much... doh.gif
hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 10:26 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 12 2010, 10:22 AM)
Cortex A9??  maybe yes in the dream....
It's should be coming for the next Meego device. That's the next sensible upgrade based on the fact that N900 is using Cortex-A8.
Snapdragon highly unlikely. Hummingbird close to 0% chances.
I wouldn't buy KFC Powder to make Ayam Goreng McD laugh.gif

Added on November 12, 2010, 10:27 am
QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 12 2010, 10:22 AM)
how powerful the proc also direct affected how big the battery gonna include... imagine a truck engine with a motocycle gas tank...  doh.gif
current top capacity battery that Nokia has should be BP-4L packing a 1500mah capacity. BL-5J on the N900 is a total mismatch doh.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 12 2010, 10:27 AM
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 10:30 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 12 2010, 10:22 AM)
how powerful the proc also direct affected how big the battery gonna include... imagine a truck engine with a motocycle gas tank...  doh.gif
+1

And this is why Intels entry on smartphone is very important.They claim that their CPU will make the battery last longer than what ARM's CPU doing right now.
BuFung
post Nov 12 2010, 10:30 AM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 10:26 AM)
It's should be coming for the next Meego device. That's the next sensible upgrade based on the fact that N900 is using Cortex-A8.
Snapdragon highly unlikely. Hummingbird close to 0% chances.
I wouldn't buy KFC Powder to make Ayam Goreng McD laugh.gif

Added on November 12, 2010, 10:27 am
current top capacity battery that Nokia has should be BP-4L packing a 1500mah capacity. BL-5J on the N900 is a total mismatch doh.gif
the leak spec is ST-Ericsson... anything to do wt Nokia? hmm.gif

ur phone charge 3x a day ah? wao.. really god like.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 10:32 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 12 2010, 10:30 AM)
the leak spec is ST-Ericsson...  anything to do wt Nokia?  hmm.gif

ur phone charge 3x a day ah?  wao..  really god like.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
OS & the spec.
We all want the same spec for the upcoming phone.

No more "ARM 11 is not enough"
hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 10:34 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 10:32 AM)
OS & the spec.
We all want the same spec for the upcoming phone.

No more "ARM 11 is not enough"
You'll definitely see ARM11 appearance on any Meego devices. It's a total joke. It should be at least ARM Cortex-A9 if Nokia is still using ARM processors.

Added on November 12, 2010, 10:35 am
QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 12 2010, 10:30 AM)
the leak spec is ST-Ericsson...  anything to do wt Nokia?  hmm.gif

ur phone charge 3x a day ah?  wao..  really god like.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
yeap if I do web-surfing doh.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 12 2010, 10:35 AM
Agito666
post Nov 12 2010, 10:35 AM

11,861 posts

wait and see, if nokia can make arm 11 smooth like butter...then this really godlike phone liao...
qwerty79
post Nov 12 2010, 10:37 AM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 10:09 AM)
I think they will use ARM Cortex-A9. I think it was what Sifu SuperEvilAlien said.
Nokia will obviously not use Hummingbird cause it's by Samsung. Snapdragon possible but not likely knowing the fact that Nokia has been using ARM processors for so many of their devices unless they want to set precedence on the N9. ARM Cortex-A9 is quite powerful as well. With optimised speed of 830mhz. Most likely speed to get for stock clock speed. Nokia always put lowest optimised clock speed for the proc.

ARM Cortex-A9 Details : http://www.arm.com/products/processors/cor...a/cortex-a9.php

Or anyone wishing for ARM Cortex-A15 take a look at it too : http://www.arm.com/products/processors/cor.../cortex-a15.php

A15 is extremely powerful.
Based on their track record, they will still use ARM processor on N9.

What Nokia really lack is in their software department. My previous 5800 take a year before they come out with a better firmware. Can't they make a good firmware before they shipped the phone? sad.gif They like to sell first and listen to user comments later (if they really listen).

I think Nokia should keep producing cheaper phone (<RM1k) and come out with a single flag phone for each >RM1k and RM2k. So, instead investing money to find a way to make a variety of phone, they should think about 1 or 2 phone only. Instead of building an OS to be compatible with variety of hardware, they should focus on 1 or 2 only.

Just my RM0.02. wink.gif
hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 10:41 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Nov 12 2010, 10:37 AM)

What Nokia really lack is in their software department. My previous 5800 take a year before they come out with a better firmware. Can't they make a good firmware before they shipped the phone?  sad.gif They like to sell first and listen to user comments later (if they really listen).

I think Nokia should keep producing cheaper phone (<RM1k) and come out with a single flag phone for each >RM1k and RM2k. So, instead investing money to find a way to make a variety of phone, they should think about 1 or 2 phone only. Instead of building an OS to be compatible with variety of hardware, they should focus on 1 or 2 only.

Just my RM0.02.  wink.gif
Maemo on the other hand is a whole different story compared to Symbian. Maemo seems to be alot better.
BBXiong
post Nov 12 2010, 10:41 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Nov 12 2010, 10:37 AM)

What Nokia really lack is in their software department. My previous 5800 take a year before they come out with a better firmware. Can't they make a good firmware before they shipped the phone?  sad.gif They like to sell first and listen to user comments later (if they really listen).

Just my RM0.02.  wink.gif
i brought this point up before, right now what they do is spam phones in the market, but the fact is, NO ONE changes phones every 3 months..(apart of the one or two ppl here of coz tongue.gif) so no point spam so many phones out...they should just put maybe 1 flagship per year, 3 mid range(one music, one business and one camera or something else) and maybe 3 low end phone per year, then they can allocate more resource into building a better firmware for each phone, not like how it is now, dunno got 20+ phones in the market despite their market dropping
hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 10:44 AM

4,475 posts

1 or 2 person? I think nobody changes phone that quickly unless they come out with better phones all the time.
stimix
post Nov 12 2010, 10:46 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

From my experience using a higher speed Vivaz running on OMAP 720Mhz vs N8, N8 is much faster & also less power drainage lor...So now I dun trust the speed rating anymore...680mhz can tapau 720Mhz ...hmnnnnn funiiii
qwerty79
post Nov 12 2010, 10:49 AM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 12 2010, 10:41 AM)
i brought this point up before, right now what they do is spam phones in the market, but the fact is, NO ONE changes phones every 3 months..(apart of the one or two ppl here of coz tongue.gif) so no point spam so many phones out...they should just put maybe 1 flagship per year, 3 mid range(one music, one business and one camera or something else) and maybe 3 low end phone per year, then they can allocate more resource into building a better firmware for each phone, not like how it is now, dunno got 20+ phones in the market despite their market dropping
Spam phones. That's a nice term biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 10:50 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 12 2010, 10:46 AM)
From my experience using a higher speed Vivaz running on OMAP 720Mhz vs N8, N8 is much faster & also less power drainage lor...So now I dun trust the speed rating anymore...680mhz can tapau 720Mhz ...hmnnnnn funiiii
Bro, that's because it's Symbian^1 versus Symbian^3. If you were to install Symbian^3 on Vivaz, N8 will lose out though I'm not too sure what GPU are both devices using. Based on the processor, N8 will lose. Symbian^3 has a lot of tweaks and has been made a lot faster compared to Symbian^1 smile.gif

Everything said is just therectically speaking. Do not flame me and ask for proof. notworthy.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 12 2010, 11:15 AM
TSsklchan
post Nov 12 2010, 10:53 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 10:50 AM)
Bro, that's because it's Symbian^1 versus Symbian^3. If you were to install Symbian^3 on Vivaz, N8 will lose out though I'm not too sure what GPU are both devices using. Based on the processor, N8 will lose. Symbian^3 has a lot of tweaks and has been made a lot faster compared to Symbian^1 smile.gif
come on lah... N8 hardware already FIXED so talk c*ck also wont change that... now what only left would be future firmware to oc the ARM11 within to run at highier clock speed.... doh.gif
stimix
post Nov 12 2010, 10:56 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Vivaz is using TI OMAP 720 MHz ARM Cortex A8 + PowerVR SGX530 GPU
lor..
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 10:50 AM)

126 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:45 PM