Nokia N8 - V12 - [The King of Camera Phones], New N8 Owner, please read the FrontPage!

super_evil_alien
post Nov 10 2010, 11:00 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 10 2010, 10:34 AM)
Are you sure. If it's coming, it would be great but there's no news nothing about this. Who's gonna port it from Maemo to Symbian especially when it's not written using Qt?
Maemo 5 PR 1.3 is fully rewritten with QT 4.7.
It'll be hard to port Maemo/MeeGo to Symbian device because of hardware limitation such as SWAP memory,the need of high performing CPU etc2

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:36 AM)
Fcam , manual setting on camera like DSLR....

no lag issue, RAM issue, dead n8 issue....

movie subtitle issue?  laugh.gif

more good'O' arcade games? like puzzle bubble? whistling.gif
Since Nokia is bringing back Symbian development back to "house" I don't think most of independent developers will be interested in making apps like FCam for symbian.

If you guys expect FCam to be ported to N8 I think you guys will be very disappointed.FCam was written exclusively for Maemo because the OS's nature of making writing apps & upgrading it easy.
Also although symbian is also an open source OS there some proprietary stuff like drivers that is preventing third party developers from making apps like FCam.
Maemo don't have too much restriction.

But if there are enough people asking for FCam like application I'm sure other third party will make similar apps.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 10 2010, 11:02 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

It'll be hard to port Maemo/MeeGo to Symbian device because of hardware limitation such as SWAP memory,the need of high performing CPU etc2
Since Nokia is bringing back Symbian development back to "house" I don't think most of independent developers will be interested in making apps like FCam for symbian.

It's not easy to port Maemo.There was an attempt to port maemo to HTC HD2.But the OS simply lagged too much so the project was discontinued.

If you guys expect FCam to be ported to N8 I think you guys will be very disappointed.FCam was written exclusively for Maemo because the OS's nature of making writing apps & upgrading it easy.
Also although symbian is also an open source OS there some proprietary stuff like drivers that is preventing third party developers from making apps like FCam.
Maemo don't have too much restriction.

But if there are enough people asking for FCam like application I'm sure other third party will make similar apps.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 10 2010, 11:16 AM
super_evil_alien
post Nov 10 2010, 11:19 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Just a curious question,how many of you have returned your N8 to NCC for warranty claim?
super_evil_alien
post Nov 10 2010, 11:44 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 10 2010, 11:26 AM)
4 that i know are:

1. ME loh (dead N8)
2. Andy214 (screen problem)
3. freakenstein (dead N8)
4. fullmetalneko (phone crash issue)

sweat.gif
Around 5 case only....
Reading the comments from few threads ago till now I expected plenty more.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 10 2010, 11:51 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 10 2010, 11:48 AM)
hehe... mind to assign u to collect these data??  brows.gif
I'm not a N8 user whistling.gif
Plus this thread moves too fast,no way I can keep up with all the post.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 04:38 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 12 2010, 12:37 AM)
thats my point

Why nokia N900 must be at Nokia Store because outside dont sell original set.
Other models u can get outside. I also dont really like the service at Nokia Store. I get more info and knowledge on lyn than asking them.

Forumer response can give me satisfaction.
Nokia Store answers make me feel a fool.
For phones like N900 & N8 I'll recommend those who want it to buy Zitron/Avaxx set if possible.
These are not some average phone which any Ah Beng can repair if there is any problem.

Some seller tell buyers this & that & also tell AP give longer warranty so it's better.But in real life AP company service will never match to NCC service.(But some NCC sucks though)

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 12 2010, 12:52 AM)
10 more nokia rangers to give feedback, if late, your nokia rangers title will be taken.
So serious meh?
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 04:50 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Nov 12 2010, 04:41 AM)
lol..hi~y u r still awake?how is ur N900?running dual OS now?Meego compatible with N900?running smooth?what improvement?
Yup.Still running dual boot.
v1.1 have working phone functions,messaging,browsing & few other minor stuff.Overall it's runs smooth depending on how fast your microSD card is.There are still bugs here & there.
After the 1.1 I've yet to test the latest weekly built.Maybe this weekend I'll try new version.

My N900/Maemo still running great.Now with the OTG function it's better than ever.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 09:50 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Nov 12 2010, 05:00 AM)
i was hoping dramatically improvement...the final version still in process and i hope it really have stunning UI..if that really happen,N9 leaked is worthy~!1ghz hummingbird/snapdragon(i not sure).512mb RAM...i love it!
Dramatic improvement should be happening Jan/Feb next year I think.
That's when the devs starts putting everything together & rush for the consumer ready v1.2 which is scheduled to be out in April 2011.

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 12 2010, 05:00 AM)
yes, seems like very very serious....

lets hope all the rangers come in with feedback soon....

just read leo's excellent feedback....
I'm more interested in aspire's upcoming feedback.
As a longtime N900 user he should have some "extra" feedback.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 10:15 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Well..This popped up in MeeGo wiki - http://wiki.meego.com/Devices/U8500
Most probably this device will be using MeeGo as OS too.

Feature similar to leaked N9 too.
Anyone approve the same spec for N9?
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 10:30 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 12 2010, 10:22 AM)
how powerful the proc also direct affected how big the battery gonna include... imagine a truck engine with a motocycle gas tank...  doh.gif
+1

And this is why Intels entry on smartphone is very important.They claim that their CPU will make the battery last longer than what ARM's CPU doing right now.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 10:32 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 12 2010, 10:30 AM)
the leak spec is ST-Ericsson...  anything to do wt Nokia?  hmm.gif

ur phone charge 3x a day ah?  wao..  really god like.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
OS & the spec.
We all want the same spec for the upcoming phone.

No more "ARM 11 is not enough"
super_evil_alien
post Nov 13 2010, 01:10 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Nov 13 2010, 12:25 AM)
yeah me too highlighted this issue to Radience  laugh.gif
i dislike both..i prefer desktop version  icon_idea.gif too bad the default browser is a mess  laugh.gif
Team up with other symbian users & start a campaign asking Mozilla to port Fennec to Symbian too.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 13 2010, 01:24 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 13 2010, 01:15 AM)
lets make a project;

We mod N8 hardware by change it with N900 hardware, except the camera module and battery.

than rangers who know coding, could implement Maemo and optimize it so it can use N8 camera module. So how does it sound?
Interesting idea buy somewhat hard to implement.
I'm assuming you want to bring the good stuff in N900 to N8?
So you need the whole SoC,eMMC,have the swap memory enabled etc2
On software side you need support from Nokia.Drivers such as graphics & camera is Nokia's proprietary stuff.You'll also need permission for the OVI stuff.

There was a project to port current MeeGo build to N8 but all the Maemo's pros seems not to interested in it for now.
Most of them busy with the OTG for N900.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 13 2010, 01:26 AM
super_evil_alien
post Nov 13 2010, 01:31 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 13 2010, 01:26 AM)
its a dream that impossible to happen. sad.gif
Not impossible.
You'll need a specific amount of budget.I think around 5 digit in US dollar tongue.gif
You need this kind of budget because you'll have to implement a new SoC in a news board plus depending on the test result you have have to change stuff on the circuit board.
Write to Nokia asking you to support financially & software wise.Who knows they might approve the project if you're serious laugh.gif
super_evil_alien
post Nov 14 2010, 05:16 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Question about N8's OTG

N8 cannot read NTFS drives at all?
super_evil_alien
post Nov 14 2010, 06:00 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Nov 14 2010, 05:42 PM)
Why do i fell my N8 is inferior if compare side by side to IP4??

Nvm, will get IP5 once it comes out....smile.gif

[attachmentid=1884912]
Been a very long time since I used a phone with homescreen like this... rolleyes.gif

How accurate is the battery widget?
super_evil_alien
post Nov 14 2010, 08:00 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

^Clearly the 2nd picture.
N8's picture look more "colourfull"

0.0606sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:24 PM