126 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Nokia N8 - V12 - [The King of Camera Phones], New N8 Owner, please read the FrontPage!

stanley85
post Nov 12 2010, 09:17 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(lagenda @ Nov 12 2010, 08:57 AM)
you make me hungry liao..  drool.gif
taste decent only tongue.gif
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 12 2010, 08:58 AM)
Nice photo but if it can be better if u move back 1 step
hmm.gif back 1 step to capture nice background?
qwerty79
post Nov 12 2010, 09:21 AM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(stanley85 @ Nov 12 2010, 09:17 AM)
To see more pancake drool.gif .
lagenda
post Nov 12 2010, 09:33 AM

­
1,061 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Nov 12 2010, 09:07 AM)
For RM1500, it is a good phone. Why complain about more processor power, and more RAM while Nokia actually want to sell at cheaper price for its customer. What Ranger should point out is the software weakness where it can be correct without introduce a new hardware which can increase the price. Although, I myself really want if N8 have camera cover like N900 so it can protect the camera when not in use.

Some customer can pay a few hundred ringgit more but some aren't. If with the additional hardware upgrade (which I believe will be another phone model) it will add another 200-400 ringgit, that phone model will be in another customer range of income. Unreachable by some.

I read some ppl compare iPhone with N8. Please lah... those iPhone cost almost RM3k, can buy 2xN8. But look at its specs. iPhone specs is not much better than any RM1.5k phone but the money they get from this over price phone is to invest in their iOS development which is superb. Kudos for its OS!
i very loike your 3rd paragraph. for me that why n8 price very cheap.. if n8 price rm2k above for sure nobody wanna buy it. got bug, browser sucks, stupid wifi, etc. n8 price only rm1600++ for me it worth.

and if n8 1st launch no bug, stable os, awesome UI sure it price will above rm2k. just my rm0.02 nod.gif
DinA623
post Nov 12 2010, 09:33 AM

129 posts

smile.gif smile.gif thought of buying 8/16 gb micro sd card for n8,any suggestions?trusted brand & pricing...
hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 09:40 AM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

QUOTE(stanley85 @ Nov 12 2010, 09:17 AM)
no lar...cause too much area out of focus. You move 1 step back to allow higher percentage if the pic to be in focus. Anyway, I bet you finish eating already laugh.gif

Added on November 12, 2010, 9:41 am
QUOTE(DinA623 @ Nov 12 2010, 09:33 AM)
smile.gif  smile.gif thought of buying 8/16 gb micro sd card for n8,any suggestions?trusted brand & pricing...
If pricing is your biggest concern, go for Kingmax. They are pretty cheap. 16gb at RM100 plus a little. Class 4.
Do your check in Garage LYN smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 12 2010, 09:41 AM
DinA623
post Nov 12 2010, 09:44 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 09:40 AM)
no lar...cause too much area out of focus. You move 1 step back to allow higher percentage if the pic to be in focus. Anyway, I bet you finish eating already laugh.gif

Added on November 12, 2010, 9:41 am
If pricing is your biggest concern, go for Kingmax. They are pretty cheap. 16gb at RM100 plus a little. Class 4.
Do your check in Garage LYN smile.gif
hmmm...seems a good deal ( kingmax) but speedwise class 4 ok? hmm.gif
moniqee
post Nov 12 2010, 09:48 AM

7,864 posts

QUOTE(DinA623 @ Nov 12 2010, 09:33 AM)
smile.gif  smile.gif thought of buying 8/16 gb micro sd card for n8,any suggestions?trusted brand & pricing...
i bought 16GB microSD Kingston for RM110 last month... class4... i bought kingston due to reputation and the card made in japan... =D

Added on November 12, 2010, 9:49 amit's pretty hard to find class 6... coz the time i checked... got class 10 but around RM230 for 16GB...

Added on November 12, 2010, 9:49 amthis sunday got wat gathering??? wat's on the itenary?? if it's good.. i might drop by...

This post has been edited by moniqee: Nov 12 2010, 09:49 AM
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 09:50 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Nov 12 2010, 05:00 AM)
i was hoping dramatically improvement...the final version still in process and i hope it really have stunning UI..if that really happen,N9 leaked is worthy~!1ghz hummingbird/snapdragon(i not sure).512mb RAM...i love it!
Dramatic improvement should be happening Jan/Feb next year I think.
That's when the devs starts putting everything together & rush for the consumer ready v1.2 which is scheduled to be out in April 2011.

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 12 2010, 05:00 AM)
yes, seems like very very serious....

lets hope all the rangers come in with feedback soon....

just read leo's excellent feedback....
I'm more interested in aspire's upcoming feedback.
As a longtime N900 user he should have some "extra" feedback.
DinA623
post Nov 12 2010, 09:52 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Nov 12 2010, 09:48 AM)
i bought 16GB microSD Kingston for RM110 last month... class4... i bought kingston due to reputation and the card made in japan... =D

Added on November 12, 2010, 9:49 amit's pretty hard to find class 6... coz the time i checked... got class 10 but around RM230 for 16GB...

Added on November 12, 2010, 9:49 amthis sunday got wat gathering??? wat's on the itenary?? if it's good.. i might drop by...
thanks 4 the info,must do some scouting after work tongue.gif
btw class 4 should be ok for normal use is it
hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 09:54 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 09:50 AM)
Dramatic improvement should be happening Jan/Feb next year I think.
That's when the devs starts putting everything together & rush for the consumer ready v1.2 which is scheduled to be out in April 2011.
I'm more interested in aspire's upcoming feedback.
As a longtime N900 user he should have some "extra" feedback.
Yipee. Meego 1.2 and I'm waiting for Nitdroid 0.0.9. rclxms.gif
I'm waiting for his comparison between N8 and iPhone too biggrin.gif
BBXiong
post Nov 12 2010, 09:54 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Nov 12 2010, 09:07 AM)
For RM1500, it is a good phone. Why complain about more processor power, and more RAM while Nokia actually want to sell at cheaper price for its customer. What Ranger should point out is the software weakness where it can be correct without introduce a new hardware which can increase the price. Although, I myself really want if N8 have camera cover like N900 so it can protect the camera when not in use.

Some customer can pay a few hundred ringgit more but some aren't. If with the additional hardware upgrade (which I believe will be another phone model) it will add another 200-400 ringgit, that phone model will be in another customer range of income. Unreachable by some.

I read some ppl compare iPhone with N8. Please lah... those iPhone cost almost RM3k, can buy 2xN8. But look at its specs. iPhone specs is not much better than any RM1.5k phone but the money they get from this over price phone is to invest in their iOS development which is superb. Kudos for its OS!
it's not like we wanna complain, but it's really dragging the whole experience down...N900 is way cheaper now, which means OMAP 3430 is fairly cheap to put into a phone, and it's running a better A8..one year old phone with 600Mhz A8 can run a linux based OS smoothly, but at 2010 their new camera flagship symbian lags badly...doesnt really make sense to me..
IMO N8 uses ARM11 i think is cos they have leftovers from previous gen phones, all also using ARM11...they just need to push higher clock speed, integrate with Broadcomm chip that N8 core component is there d...more like clearing old stock in a different way to me
hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 09:57 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(DinA623 @ Nov 12 2010, 09:52 AM)
thanks 4 the info,must do some scouting after work  tongue.gif
btw class 4 should be ok for normal use is it
Class 4 equals to minimum of 4mbps Performance Speed

Should be alright but no harm going for faster cards. You may even go for Class 10 which is quite unnecessary knowing the fact that you wouldn't use that much of speed for phone operations except during Mass Storage data transfer.

Added on November 12, 2010, 10:00 am
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 12 2010, 09:54 AM)
it's not like we wanna complain, but it's really dragging the whole experience down...N900 is way cheaper now, which means OMAP 3430 is fairly cheap to put into a phone, and it's running a better A8..one year old phone with 600Mhz A8 can run a linux based OS smoothly, but at 2010 their new camera flagship symbian lags badly...doesnt really make sense to me..
IMO N8 uses ARM11 i think is cos they have leftovers from previous gen phones, all also using ARM11...they just need to push higher clock speed, integrate with Broadcomm chip that N8 core component is there d...more like clearing old stock in a different way to me
It's cool that you're getting 600mhz clock speed unlike most Symbian^1 devices, having only 434mhz without any GPU.
N900 have Cortex A8. That's why it's faster. Plus the Max Clock speed for our particular Proc is 1ghz as stated in ARM Website but some people go for more.

Anyway, you guys have a powerful GPU lowering the burden on the proc. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 12 2010, 10:00 AM
DinA623
post Nov 12 2010, 10:01 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 09:57 AM)
Class 4 equals to minimum of 4mbps Performance Speed

Should be alright but no harm going for faster cards. You may even go for Class 10 which is quite unnecessary knowing the fact that you wouldn't use that much of speed for phone operations except during Mass Storage data transfer.
nod.gif points taken
BBXiong
post Nov 12 2010, 10:02 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Nov 12 2010, 05:00 AM)
i was hoping dramatically improvement...the final version still in process and i hope it really have stunning UI..if that really happen,N9 leaked is worthy~!1ghz hummingbird/snapdragon(i not sure).512mb RAM...i love it!
doubt that they will use hummingbird, samsung stuff...and i kinda doubt they will use snapdragon also...maybe they will use ARM11 1Ghz?
hengguowei
post Nov 12 2010, 10:09 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 12 2010, 10:02 AM)
doubt that they will use hummingbird, samsung stuff...and i kinda doubt they will use snapdragon also...maybe they will use ARM11 1Ghz?
I think they will use ARM Cortex-A9. I think it was what Sifu SuperEvilAlien said.
Nokia will obviously not use Hummingbird cause it's by Samsung. Snapdragon possible but not likely knowing the fact that Nokia has been using ARM processors for so many of their devices unless they want to set precedence on the N9. ARM Cortex-A9 is quite powerful as well. With optimised speed of 830mhz. Most likely speed to get for stock clock speed. Nokia always put lowest optimised clock speed for the proc.

ARM Cortex-A9 Details : http://www.arm.com/products/processors/cor...a/cortex-a9.php

Or anyone wishing for ARM Cortex-A15 take a look at it too : http://www.arm.com/products/processors/cor.../cortex-a15.php

A15 is extremely powerful.

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 12 2010, 10:10 AM
BBXiong
post Nov 12 2010, 10:11 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 09:57 AM)
It's cool that you're getting 600mhz clock speed unlike most Symbian^1 devices, having only 434mhz without any GPU.
N900 have Cortex A8. That's why it's faster. Plus the Max Clock speed for our particular Proc is 1ghz as stated in ARM Website but some people go for more.

Anyway, you guys have a powerful GPU lowering the burden on the proc. smile.gif
my point exactly...if N8 is equipped with with A8, there so many performance space for it...TBH if S^3 devices are limited to this set of spec that N8 is having now, i feel like the whole 434mhz limitation is going to come again...GPU is helpful at times, but a lot of times the OS will still rely on CPU only, so if u want better experience, there are only 2 ways now, optimize the OS so that it can be as snappy as it is on C5, or put higher clocked/performance CPU into it
super_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 10:15 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Well..This popped up in MeeGo wiki - http://wiki.meego.com/Devices/U8500
Most probably this device will be using MeeGo as OS too.

Feature similar to leaked N9 too.
Anyone approve the same spec for N9?
TSsklchan
post Nov 12 2010, 10:15 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(DinA623 @ Nov 12 2010, 10:01 AM)
nod.gif points taken
tested my 16gb class4 kingston with the live HD video recording direct save into the microsd and NO PROBLEM... nod.gif
DinA623
post Nov 12 2010, 10:19 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Nov 12 2010, 10:15 AM)
tested my 16gb class4 kingston with the live HD video recording direct save into the microsd and NO PROBLEM...  nod.gif
tq nice info smile.gif
TSsklchan
post Nov 12 2010, 10:20 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 12 2010, 10:11 AM)
my point exactly...if N8 is equipped with with A8, there so many performance space for it...TBH if S^3 devices are limited to this set of spec that N8 is having now, i feel like the whole 434mhz limitation is going to come again...GPU is helpful at times, but a lot of times the OS will still rely on CPU only, so if u want better experience, there are only 2 ways now, optimize the OS so that it can be as snappy as it is on C5, or put higher clocked/performance CPU into it
but the FACT is the N8 come with ARM11... doh.gif
so any improvement will only for future device... like i always say the hardware is the CORE thing we should consider before purchasing any gadget... software u can make it fly anywhere as long as got ppl working on it but hardware is HARDWIRED and what you buy is what u get... whistling.gif

126 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0341sec    1.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:45 PM