Astro B.yond V7.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

SUSjalsrix
post Mar 16 2011, 03:27 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Mar 13 2011, 10:49 PM)
I know TM Unifi has ChannelNews Asia but I think astro (as a good partner with the gov) wont allow them to be on Astro..simple reason is Channel News Asia brings news about Malaysia that might hurt the government..Here we get crap TV1,TV2,TV3 news that are all pro gov and the opposition are all bad guys.. all things are rosy on the government side..but try watching Channel News Asia and they will give us the 'other side of the story'..Malaysian government are scared the people living in KL, and the northern states will hear news that would not be heard on the local news channels..

BTW, is the NHK channel on ch398 the same NHK channel that CNN, BBC and Al Jazeera got their news feed from? Or is that a different NHK? I dont have ch398 in my subscription..
Thailand is a much more free country than Malaysia. I could view channelnews asia while I was in a hotel there. thumbup.gif

I can tell you, their news is much better, global and truthful than the crap news we get from TVxxx. doh.gif

ch 398 is the same NHK from japan, it is also widely available in Thailand cable TV.

PS. waiting for that 'love-hate' relationship comment from a 'certain astro staff' who NEVER want to improve ASS-THROW. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Mar 16 2011, 03:29 PM
TSapexg2
post Mar 16 2011, 04:21 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

QUOTE(starship1 @ Mar 15 2011, 01:08 PM)
call up Astro to check on IPTV and the feedback are that it is under trial and  will likely be launch in April/May  on selected areas such as mont kiara and klcc area.

the next area will like be bangsar and damansara .

also check the PVR decoder upgrade where a one time RM 300 and RM10 monthly will be charge.

alternatively , i could still use a external HDisk for recording at RM5 per month but they only recommend WD 320GB .

does anyone knows if other brand HDD with higher capacity are compatible with b.yond
oni that area?ergh!even shah alam or putrajaya dun have? rclxub.gif
neb
post Mar 16 2011, 04:46 PM

2,234 posts

channel newsAsia, 100% owned by sinkapo government investment company, can be watch from lots of places free of charge beam from asiasat 3S satellite, see the footprint
seankks
post Mar 16 2011, 05:47 PM

57 posts

watching one hd now, and why there is no subtitle? now using BM to watch, kinda weird.
pokemon
post Mar 16 2011, 05:50 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(seankks @ Mar 16 2011, 05:47 PM)
watching one hd now, and why there is no subtitle? now using BM to watch, kinda weird.
Ass throw didn't pay enough to translators hahaha
oren_studio
post Mar 16 2011, 06:56 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(seankks @ Mar 16 2011, 05:47 PM)
Love you thousand times? biggrin.gif there was subtitles when I was watching it, but when rewind suddenly disappear. Mehh

47ronin
post Mar 16 2011, 09:36 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(starship1 @ Mar 15 2011, 01:08 PM)
call up Astro to check on IPTV and the feedback are that it is under trial and  will likely be launch in April/May  on selected areas such as mont kiara and klcc area.

the next area will like be bangsar and damansara .

also check the PVR decoder upgrade where a one time RM 300 and RM10 monthly will be charge.

alternatively , i could still use a external HDisk for recording at RM5 per month but they only recommend WD 320GB .

does anyone knows if other brand HDD with higher capacity are compatible with b.yond
yeah, Astro IPTV by using TM HSBB. They signed a collaboration last year is it?

Telekom Malaysia Berhad ™ and Maxis Broadband Sdn Bhd (Maxis) signed a landmark 10-year agreement for TM to provide HSBB (Access) Services to Maxis.

Under the terms of the agreement, TM Wholesale will provide high speed access connectivity via HSBB (Access) service to Maxis. This will enable Maxis to offer to more than 700,000 homes as the count stands, and to 1.3 million homes by end 2012, bundled services integrating IP-based offerings.
The signing of the service pact gives the leading integrated life services provider, last mile access to homes covered by the national HSBB project, to add to its existing 10,000km of optic fibre and over 7,000 mobile base station sites at present count.

The landmark agreement enables Maxis to expand on its commitment to Malaysia, of seamless connectivity from any connected device - with an offering of rich content, relevant applications and creative solutions over its converged network in combination with access to TM Wholesale’s wide and growing high speed broadband network.

The signing ceremony was witnessed by Deputy Minister of the Ministry of Information, Communications and Culture, YB Dato’ Joseph Salang Gandum. TM was represented by its Group Chief Executive Officer, Dato’ Sri Zamzamzairani Mohd Isa while Maxis was represented by Mr.Sandip Das, its Chief Executive Officer.

“Maxis is the first service provider to subscribe to TM’s HSBB (Access) service. This is a milestone agreement for TM, beginning a new era in industry collaboration, which further strengthens TM’s position as a neutral wholesale service provider. TM is keeping the HSBB promise of open access to all MCMC-licensed service providers,” said Dato’ Sri Zamzamzairani Mohd Isa.

Said Maxis’ Chairman, YM Raja Tan Sri Arshad Raja Tun Uda: “Today represents a remarkable leap forward in Maxis’ extension of its leadership in the mobile space into the home sphere. Maxis’ data service offerings and corresponding revenue contribution continue on an upward trend, strengthening our commitment to leading with a full suite of future services adding value to Malaysian life in all its aspects.  We envisage that in 2011 our strategic partnerships and investments will deliver enriched and enriching opportunities reaching into the core of Malaysian society in fulfilment of national broadband ambitions.”

Added Maxis’ Chief Executive Officer Sandip Das, “This is a significant moment for Maxis, marking our entry into the world as an integrated communications player. The coming together of two companies, leaders in their respective areas, is a big step in the realisation of our country’s broadband dream. I can see our build-up of contemporary data products and suite of contents enriching the lives of our customers, be it in their workplaces, homes or on their phones. Maxis is excited about the full suite of services it will be able to provide to its customers now, in addition to its already established wireless services.”

The potential IP-based services to be delivered over HSBB access include - but are not limited to – IPTV, VoIP, video-on-demand (VoD), high speed Internet, telepresence, eHealth, interactive TV and hosting services. Maxis currently offers to residents in Bandar Utama, Sierramas, Bangsar and Sri Hartamas, fixed fibre services over its FTTH (Fibre-to-the-Home) network including VoIP
- and anticipates making a commercial offering of enriched Home Services over its FTTH rollout and HSBB access after thorough network testing and development of original converged services.

According to Dato’ Sri Zamzamzairani, the signing of this HSBB agreement with Maxis also reiterates TM’s commitment to boosting the HSBB ecosystem locally by getting providers to come on board and roll out value-added services to consumers.

“HSBB (Access) Service offers a new world of opportunities and a platform that supports nation-building, given its potential to raise online engagement in the knowledge economy to the next level to benefit Malaysian end users - that is why we want as many partners as possible to come on board. Currently TM is in talks with other service providers on the potentials of similar arrangements,” he added.

The HSBB (Access) service offered by TM is open to all MCMC-licensed service providers who wish to offer IP-based services and applications to end users. The other two wholesale HSBB services offered by TM are HSBB (Transmission) Service which was made available in early 2009 to provide point-to-point connectivity via the HSBB network; and HSBB (Connection) Service providing IP-based Interconnection between TM’s network and a service provider’s network, which will be made available to the Industry in 2011.

Signed in September 2008, the RM11.3 billion national HSBB project is a Public-Private-Partnership between TM and the Government of Malaysia to develop next generation high speed broadband infrastructure and services for the nation. TM is investing up to RM8.9 billion into the project while the Government is contributing RM2.4 billion on an incurred claims basis based on project milestones reached by TM.

minimize
post Mar 16 2011, 10:28 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 16 2011, 04:46 PM)
channel newsAsia, 100% owned by sinkapo government investment company, can be watch from lots of places free of charge beam from asiasat 3S satellite, see the footprint
Dreambox can receive it I think.
dxjb
post Mar 16 2011, 11:03 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(jojo104 @ Mar 16 2011, 12:04 PM)
Thanks for your reply. I totally understand where you coming from. Good to get more sides of the same story. But please remember that all Malaysian and Singaporean media are heavily censored and edited. Just because CNA are not from Malaysia doesn't mean that they are better than us or have un-biased and honest reporting. CNA can and will paint a very very bad picture of other countries if it helps PAP to achieve their political agenda. Cheers.
Again..I fully agree with u..yes I think every channel or company has its own agenda..and Im sure CNA is just like every other news outlet in the world with their own propaganda..I know what u mean that they might not be better in terms of biasness and also reporting..I agree that they also follow a certain political agenda..

But what Im rooting for is for is for a a news channel here in Malaysia that can just give us something different or at least the other side of the story..I want to see a news channel where after watching it I will say "wow..I havent heard that story before"..or "eh..that story was not reported in any of our local TV stations"..when I say that, it doesnt mean CNA holds the truth behind every story but at least we hear it..I can guarantee u that the news on TV1, TV2, TV3, ntv7, 8TV and TV9 are not all true stories either..just because they all carry the same story, does not make them carry the correct and true story..

Thats why I say that the media in Malaysia, especially electronic media n news outlets are far from being political free..the news that comes on air are the stories the government says is ok to go on air..the ones that are unheard on screens are not approved to be broadcast..

CNA is not the best in terms of news but my personal experience of watching it for 10 years in Johor Bahru is definitely that it has news about Malaysia that is not reported in Malaysia..for the good or the bad image of Malaysia, it is aired..in Malaysia, its the same all crap on all the news bulletins day in day out..

Just my 2 cents..peace no war! icon_rolleyes.gif
neb
post Mar 17 2011, 01:18 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Mar 16 2011, 10:28 PM)
Dreambox can receive it I think.
no need dreambox, a normal RM50 free-to-air satellite receiver can receive the signal, however you will need a C-band LNB and 1.5m prime-focus dish
smileguy
post Mar 17 2011, 01:43 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 17 2011, 01:18 PM)
no need dreambox, a normal RM50 free-to-air satellite receiver can receive the signal, however you will need a C-band LNB and 1.5m prime-focus dish
1.5m ? BTW is that bigger then astro's dish ? hmm.gif
neb
post Mar 17 2011, 03:23 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Mar 17 2011, 01:43 PM)
for comparison, byond offset dish is 0.65m (65cm) in size

but I have seen people using 1m offset dish with C-band LNB to receive those satellite signals, those LNB must be made out of high gain low noise type

This post has been edited by neb: Mar 17 2011, 04:06 PM
smileguy
post Mar 17 2011, 04:41 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 17 2011, 03:23 PM)
for comparison, byond offset dish is 0.65m (65cm) in size

but I have seen people using 1m offset dish with C-band LNB to receive those satellite signals, those LNB must be made out of high gain low noise  type
Alrite!! thanks for the info,in other words the rest are all bigger,thats sad !! cry.gif
minimize
post Mar 17 2011, 06:43 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Mar 17 2011, 01:43 PM)
For who live at kampung can use dish like this

smileguy
post Mar 17 2011, 06:47 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Mar 17 2011, 06:43 PM)
For who live at kampung can use dish like this

rclxms.gif Just wish I could do that !!! rclxm9.gif
minimize
post Mar 17 2011, 06:58 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Mar 17 2011, 06:47 PM)
rclxms.gif Just wish I could do that !!! rclxm9.gif
For who live at town and scare somebody notice that you dish is bigger than standard size, just use C-Band LNB with byond dish like this

neb
post Mar 17 2011, 07:32 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Mar 17 2011, 06:58 PM)
For who live at town and scare somebody notice that you dish is bigger than standard size, just use C-Band LNB with byond dish like this

nice mod thumbup.gif using byond dish, how is the signal reception?
smileguy
post Mar 17 2011, 07:42 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Mar 17 2011, 06:58 PM)

Pal., wat channels are availiable is is mostly china channels ? any Indian channels ?!
minimize
post Mar 17 2011, 07:50 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 17 2011, 07:32 PM)
nice mod thumbup.gif  using byond dish, how is the signal reception?
Signal lock around 90%
neb
post Mar 17 2011, 07:53 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Mar 17 2011, 07:42 PM)
Pal., wat channels are availiable is is mostly china channels ? any Indian channels ?!
lyngsat gives a list of channels that is on asiasat 3S, I can see some indian channels there, but I am not too sure byond moded dish is capable of receiving them, I think byond dish is too small
http://www.lyngsat.com/asia3s.html

this is the website for one of the indian FTA channel called "Star Utsav" on board Asiasat 3S, quite interesting mix of programs
http://starutsav.indya.com/

This post has been edited by neb: Mar 17 2011, 07:57 PM

146 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:59 AM