Canon EOS thread V31, The White Knights

-kytz-
post Nov 15 2010, 09:11 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 15 2010, 08:29 PM)
Sorry for intruding... haha~

White knights, I'm here to ask for recommendation... My sister need to buy a new PnS camera for travel purpose and maybe daily photos, our family going for a taiwan trip soon but I'm not going (so my D90 is not going too).

So far I have Canon Powershot SX 130 IS in my mind, budget is less than 1k. Is this good or there is other better choice for my budget?

Thanks yea ^^
Perhaps you might be able to squeeze in some budget for a 1000HS which has a f/2.0 lens yo! Not too sure about the exact pricing but if i remember correctly, it should be around 1k la smile.gif

Anyway, guys more food shots coming very soon! biggrin.gif

p/s: Sorry about the compositions, relatives were at the table so weren't very confortable with taking so long to shoot as they were very hungry! biggrin.gif

My current food shots set: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kytz/sets/72157625340907678/

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 15 2010, 09:55 PM
fruitie
post Nov 15 2010, 09:19 PM

Rise and Shine
72,882 posts

If you can go a bit nearer should be better. smile.gif

Wee, Tg. Sepat trip with the family is confirmed. Will be going there in 2 weeks time, can't wait to snap some photos and enjoy the serenity of that little fishing village. biggrin.gif
zellleonhart
post Nov 15 2010, 09:32 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

@kytz
I looked up on IXUS 1000 HS too but the RRP is 1399... On tight budget so can't exceed RM1000.
mengsuan
post Nov 15 2010, 09:47 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(quineMc @ Nov 15 2010, 03:36 PM)
I wanna ask sifus here does this tokina 11-16 autofocus with 550D?? I got 550D so yeah 550D does not have inbody focus motor that's why i'm worried if this lens has built in AF or not. rclxub.gif
For Canon camera, you never have to worry about in-body focus motor. All models use the same thing. No confusion.
DecaPix
post Nov 15 2010, 09:59 PM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

@kytz, good attempt there
watch out for wb
still looks bit yellow even though you used tungsten
Hwoarang45
post Nov 15 2010, 10:10 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

not sure right place to ask, anyone here, or known anyone open a photo processing shop? i was wondering whats the average capital to start one, any ideas?
lilbluryou
post Nov 15 2010, 10:16 PM

54 posts

hey guys just want to ask on your opinions..i currently have the 450d, i'm planning to upgrade to 60d..

i can;t seem to decide between the older 50d and the 60d...

any benefits of the 60d besides the rotating screen (which i think comes useful at times...sometimes) and the higher megapix(do we ever care abt this? i rarely shoot at High resolution)

This post has been edited by lilbluryou: Nov 15 2010, 10:16 PM
farscope
post Nov 15 2010, 10:29 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(lilbluryou @ Nov 15 2010, 10:16 PM)
hey guys just want to ask on your opinions..i currently have the 450d, i'm planning to upgrade to 60d..

i can;t seem to decide between the older 50d and the 60d...

any benefits of the 60d besides the rotating screen (which i think comes useful at times...sometimes) and the higher megapix(do we ever care abt this? i rarely shoot at High resolution)
perhaps the video recording function..
azrash
post Nov 15 2010, 10:37 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 15 2010, 09:11 PM)
Perhaps you might be able to squeeze in some budget for a 1000HS which has a f/2.0 lens yo! Not too sure about the exact pricing but if i remember correctly, it should be around 1k la smile.gif

Anyway, guys more food shots coming very soon! biggrin.gif

p/s: Sorry about the compositions, relatives were at the table so weren't very confortable with taking so long to shoot as they were very hungry! biggrin.gif

My current food shots set: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kytz/sets/72157625340907678/

aiya the third shot makes me feel so hungryyy drool.gif . dude someone is selling his kitlens+filter for 250,go look
lilbluryou
post Nov 15 2010, 10:43 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Nov 15 2010, 10:29 PM)
perhaps the video recording function..
i guess so...but even my phone can do HD recording..haha

just the other day when i was at a wedding i noticed this guys holding the 60d shooting a video..

i just don't get it..the dslr should serve for one purpose...which is taking pictures..
goldfries
post Nov 15 2010, 10:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

@kytz - white balance is not too bad but could be brighter, then you're still careless with the distraction. go higher angle and i can, widen the DOF. good work on this one. smile.gif not necessarily have to go closer, you can use crop.
-kytz-
post Nov 15 2010, 10:45 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(lilbluryou @ Nov 15 2010, 10:43 PM)

just the other day when i was at a wedding i noticed this guys holding the 60d shooting a video..

i just don't get it..the dslr should serve for one purpose...which is taking pictures..
Then mobile phones should have just a single function that is to make and receive calls? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 15 2010, 10:46 PM
farscope
post Nov 15 2010, 10:46 PM

3,427 posts

if u say so, means phone should serve to make calls onli.. sweat.gif

well, its a FullHD video recording with interchangable lens to suit u.. your money, your choice.. =)
fcuk90
post Nov 15 2010, 10:51 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 15 2010, 09:32 PM)
@kytz
I looked up on IXUS 1000 HS too but the RRP is 1399... On tight budget so can't exceed RM1000.
a used lx3 or a used s90 biggrin.gif
onijoseph
post Nov 15 2010, 10:52 PM

Photography Guru
835 posts

hm... there is a tamron 17-50 vc going cheap in garage sales.
lilbluryou
post Nov 15 2010, 10:56 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Nov 15 2010, 10:46 PM)
if u say so, means phone should serve to make calls onli.. sweat.gif

well, its a FullHD video recording with interchangable lens to suit u.. your money, your choice.. =)
Totally agree!

the 50d sounds like a better bet then...save up on more moolah...haha
fruitie
post Nov 15 2010, 10:57 PM

Rise and Shine
72,882 posts

New generation of DSLR doesn't really meant for taking photos only.
HDSLR is something that looks tempting but I'm yet to start exploring. laugh.gif
Plan to get another 16GB SDHC specially for HD video. laugh.gif
niwooe
post Nov 15 2010, 11:00 PM

455 posts

That shows that you've never seen what a DSLR can do when it comes to shooting videos. Google up and you'll be impressed. Mobile phones that does HD recording are just marketing gimmicks.
-kytz-
post Nov 15 2010, 11:00 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 15 2010, 10:44 PM)
@kytz - white balance is not too bad but could be brighter, then you're still careless with the distraction. go higher angle and i can, widen the DOF. good work on this one. smile.gif not necessarily have to go closer, you can use crop.
Thanks goldfries. Agree on the distractions, yes they are pretty distracting. Couldn't take my time to compose at all, let alone position the dishes to angles which i want or move away the distractions tongue.gif

I'll try to work out what's the best aperture i should be using-perhaps f/2.8?And will work out on higher angles ya smile.gif

White balance i set it at Auto biggrin.gif Imma lazy, still haven't play play with manual WB yet, but i rather shoot RAW laugh.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 15 2010, 11:04 PM
zellleonhart
post Nov 15 2010, 11:01 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Nov 15 2010, 10:51 PM)
a used lx3 or a used s90  biggrin.gif
LX3 is not bad, my friend has but new LX3 is around 1.5k... I will try to find second hand =D

125 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:07 PM