LYN Breastfeeding Support Group, may u b bless wif abundance of supply~!!
chOOOk
Apr 17 2012, 12:50 AM

Hi all, my wife has been bf since delivering, however, bb seems to cry even after long hours (the most 3hours straight) on the breast. We worry he might be hungry still,so no choice have to give him formula milk, then he will sleep nicely, We know that giving formula milk will break the cycle of bf and lead to low bm and stop production eventually. But the initial problem of bb still crying after long hours on the breast, is it because of low milk flow? improper latching? We really wanna bf bb as long as possible.. but we really need to cut down on formula milk, but we also wanna give a good breastfeeding where bb will be full & sleep well. We are sure latching is not an issue as bb mouth is taking the areola whole.
btw bb is 3 weeks old now..
This post has been edited by chOOOk: Apr 17 2012, 12:53 AM
TSnicKit
Apr 17 2012, 10:48 AM
daddy chOOOk, i think it's normal... coz the body is still building its supply n getting used to it... at this time he dun need much... he just got a strawberry size (if i remember correctly) stomach now... so he gets hungrier faster... bm is oso easier to digest... fm will expand the stomach like how u as an adult eat too much n u feel sooo full till u feel like get eno to relieve it... another is fm is hard to digest so they won't feel hungry faster than bf... wat ur wife can do is try to pump after bf or bf on one side, pump on the other... the idea is to trick the brain that the body needs to produce more milk... if can latch as often as possible coz bb is the best breastpump... oh ya remember that the breast won't b empty, it's an endless pit of breast milk factory  n oso remember to give her ur support n encouragement... she needs all of these  gambateh....
victoria_lucas
Apr 17 2012, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(chOOOk @ Apr 17 2012, 12:50 AM) Hi all, my wife has been bf since delivering, however, bb seems to cry even after long hours (the most 3hours straight) on the breast. We worry he might be hungry still,so no choice have to give him formula milk, then he will sleep nicely, We know that giving formula milk will break the cycle of bf and lead to low bm and stop production eventually. But the initial problem of bb still crying after long hours on the breast, is it because of low milk flow? improper latching? We really wanna bf bb as long as possible.. but we really need to cut down on formula milk, but we also wanna give a good breastfeeding where bb will be full & sleep well. We are sure latching is not an issue as bb mouth is taking the areola whole. btw bb is 3 weeks old now.. Has this always been the case from day 1? Since your baby is 3 weeks old, maybe he is going thru growth spurt and wants to nurse more.
Kasumie
Apr 17 2012, 02:06 PM
My baby fed on fm n ebm alternately every 2hrs. We burp him each time after milk. But after some time he tend to spit out some milk. The milk looks like sticky n with saliva together. Sometimes spit quite a lot. What does this mean? Is he unwell or what? I know spitting a little bit is fine .
StrawberryGirL
Apr 17 2012, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(Kasumie @ Apr 17 2012, 02:06 PM) My baby fed on fm n ebm alternately every 2hrs. We burp him each time after milk. But after some time he tend to spit out some milk. The milk looks like sticky n with saliva together. Sometimes spit quite a lot. What does this mean? Is he unwell or what? I know spitting a little bit is fine . its find ya no worry
Kasumie
Apr 17 2012, 04:12 PM
I just tried Joy Angel nursing tea,its content are those fenugreek n kennel seeds. I just drank not even a cup, immediately my period flush out. I'm on my confinement now,and my period has stop since my delivery 12 days ago. Even before pregnant,my period was not this scary n consider thick this time. Have anyone experience this?
StrawberryGirL
Apr 17 2012, 04:27 PM
where to get Fenugreek capsule ? pharmacy got selling ? any recommended brand ? i found this on drugstore donno msia got sell or not http://www.drugstore.com/gnc-herbal-plus-f...msrch=FenugreekThis post has been edited by StrawberryGirL: Apr 17 2012, 04:32 PM
laughiebean
Apr 17 2012, 04:36 PM

QUOTE(StrawberryGirL @ Apr 17 2012, 04:27 PM) where to get Fenugreek capsule ? pharmacy got selling ? any recommended brand ? i found this on drugstore donno msia got sell or not http://www.drugstore.com/gnc-herbal-plus-f...msrch=FenugreekHere's the list of gnc stores in Malaysia. http://www.gnclivewell.com.my/?page_id=15
StrawberryGirL
Apr 17 2012, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(laughiebean @ Apr 17 2012, 04:36 PM) Here's the list of gnc stores in Malaysia. http://www.gnclivewell.com.my/?page_id=15Thanks  i found it already. lucky got 1 nearby my house. gotta go and buy it tonight
laughiebean
Apr 17 2012, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(StrawberryGirL @ Apr 17 2012, 04:40 PM) Thanks  i found it already. lucky got 1 nearby my house. gotta go and buy it tonight  Great. Let us know if it works effectively. I am currently drinking fenugreek water. I thinki pills are more convenient though.
StrawberryGirL
Apr 17 2012, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(laughiebean @ Apr 17 2012, 04:44 PM) Great. Let us know if it works effectively. I am currently drinking fenugreek water. I thinki pills are more convenient though. ok sure.. recently my milk getting less i don't wanna give up. gonna get the capsule. need to drink anmun lacta to get more nutrition for myself and to my baby .
TSnicKit
Apr 18 2012, 10:44 AM
StrawberryGirl, actually u dun have to take anmun lacta... u know fm is not the best for baby coz it's cow milk n all the watever AAA is added into it... so it's the same wif anmun lacta... it's all added n processed... won't it b better to take other supplements n better diet for better nutrition? Katsumie, sorry i dunno abt it
thadd88
Apr 19 2012, 11:20 PM

QUOTE(StrawberryGirL @ Apr 17 2012, 04:46 PM) ok sure.. recently my milk getting less i don't wanna give up. gonna get the capsule. need to drink anmun lacta to get more nutrition for myself and to my baby . Hi there.. There's not necesarily to takr tht in order to have enough milk. Just have a proper balanxe diet meal and breastfeed more and it shall not stop. spend more time with your baby via breastfeeding n try not to use bottle with artificial nipple spending more time with ur baby will stimulate your body to produce more milk. Think positive and u shall be fine.happy breastfeeding! !! Added on April 19, 2012, 11:23 pmQUOTE(Kasumie @ Apr 17 2012, 02:06 PM) My baby fed on fm n ebm alternately every 2hrs. We burp him each time after milk. But after some time he tend to spit out some milk. The milk looks like sticky n with saliva together. Sometimes spit quite a lot. What does this mean? Is he unwell or what? I know spitting a little bit is fine . Well.. The milk might not be digested nicely. Certain milk powder can't tolerate well with sonera baby This post has been edited by thadd88: Apr 19 2012, 11:23 PM
Kasumie
Apr 20 2012, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(thadd88 @ Apr 19 2012, 11:20 PM) Hi there.. There's not necesarily to takr tht in order to have enough milk. Just have a proper balanxe diet meal and breastfeed more and it shall not stop. spend more time with your baby via breastfeeding n try not to use bottle with artificial nipple spending more time with ur baby will stimulate your body to produce more milk. Think positive and u shall be fine.happy breastfeeding! !! Added on April 19, 2012, 11:23 pmWell.. The milk might not be digested nicely. Certain milk powder can't tolerate well with sonera baby He tend to spit quite a lot of milk . Especially when he try to poo poo to push time he will spit milk. Planning to bring him see doctor soon.
StrawberryGirL
Apr 20 2012, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(thadd88 @ Apr 19 2012, 11:20 PM) Hi there.. There's not necesarily to takr tht in order to have enough milk. Just have a proper balanxe diet meal and breastfeed more and it shall not stop. spend more time with your baby via breastfeeding n try not to use bottle with artificial nipple spending more time with ur baby will stimulate your body to produce more milk. Think positive and u shall be fine.happy breastfeeding! !! Added on April 19, 2012, 11:23 pmWell.. The milk might not be digested nicely. Certain milk powder can't tolerate well with sonera baby i really hope to breast feed her but she does not wanna lacted on my breast. so i got no choice have to pump out the milk and allowed her to drink it.
thadd88
Apr 20 2012, 03:37 PM

QUOTE(StrawberryGirL @ Apr 20 2012, 02:28 PM) i really hope to breast feed her but she does not wanna lacted on my breast. so i got no choice have to pump out the milk and allowed her to drink it. Your baby is so cute. Rmb her immunization next sue in 2 weeks for dtap first dose. Did u place your areolar nicely to your bb mouth fo4 her to suck nicely? Do.ask the nurses if u fed her with the correct technique
furezarh
Apr 26 2012, 07:51 AM

eat foods that have soups.... this will increase your milk supply.
Apple_Apple
May 7 2012, 11:26 PM

For breast crack/bleeding due to breastfeeding. This could help.. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2336952&hl=
Gary1981
May 13 2012, 11:35 AM
We plan to stop breastfeed @ 6 months, got any method to naturally stop it? If my wife stop pump out for long hours, it will harden with a hard lump and clog, I heard it will be no good. Will this affect my wife in future?
Kasumie
May 13 2012, 01:37 PM
i have a set of spectra 3 breast pump with double pumping to let go. used for 2 weeks only.. light user.. pm me if anyone interested.. together along with 12 storage bottles