LYN Breastfeeding Support Group, may u b bless wif abundance of supply~!!

victoria_lucas
post Nov 11 2011, 03:51 PM

98 posts

I have been a silent reader and would now like to join the fun (if you guys don't mind) smile.gif

Today mark my 1st year of breastfeeding and i am very proud for doing it this far smile.gif
It involves a lot of hard work and commitment (aka become slave of breast pump) but it is do-able and is definitely a rewarding experience.

I am planning to continue until he is 2 years old unless if he weans himself off earlier.

Anyway, just would like to introduce myself here smile.gif

victoria_lucas
post Nov 12 2011, 10:28 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(Snowee @ Nov 12 2011, 01:47 AM)
Thank mommy 2011.  After i read the advices fr the brsfeeding advocate in FB I decided not to take risk eventhough TSA regulation allows to handcarry ebm but certain airport like China is not easy to pass thru the chkpoint. I just borrowed a coleman ice box and some ice bricks fr a friend and will chk in my ebm.
I have travelled with frozen EBM before.

In my last trip, i brought around 15 litre of EBM. It is quite a significant amount and very heavy! I put them in an esky and put some dry ice in it.
And yes, you can check in the frozen breast milk, provided the baggage (package) permits the release of carbon dioxide gas (dry ice)

Each item of checked baggage must be marked “dry ice” or “carbon dioxide, solid” and with the net weight of dry ice or an indication that there is 2.5 kg or less dry ice.

The weight of the box & milk is counted towards your baggage allowance

The dry ice can last around 12 hours and there was no problem smile.gif

victoria_lucas
post Dec 24 2011, 11:04 AM

98 posts

I agree with Phythia79 - You have to put the bm in the fridge right at the back where it is the coldest (not at the door side). Bm stored in the fridge is good for 3 - 5 days. If you put in the freezer it can last up to 3 months. BM in deep freezer can last up to 6 months.

Oh just a suggestion, it's better for you to store bm in the bm storage bags. It is cheaper and save so much space in the fridge/freezer (i bought a small deep freezer just to store bm). I have 20 Avent containers and God knows how many bottles i have to store bm.. It takes sooo much space and in the end, i use bm storage bags smile.gif It is easier to thaw as well.

And yep, last time my CL also complained that baby didn't sleep long enough, required frequent feeding at night, bla bla.. and requested formula. I then told her, if baby wakes up for feeding, just bring him to me for feeding. Because either way, i still need to pump at night (if baby didnt latch) to keep up the production smile.gif
victoria_lucas
post Dec 24 2011, 03:39 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(boonhao88 @ Dec 24 2011, 02:15 PM)
Question here..... I am a new dad goin to be....

How to we store BM in our freezer? The freezer got lotsa raw food... Such as chicken, fish....etc... Will it contaminate the BM?

I got a small fridge... There is no other place for me to store raw food...
Any1 here facing same prob?
I think what you should worry most about is the frozen milk taking on food smells and baby not liking it.

I use bm storage bags and also baby cubes. I like that they're in 2oz sizes, and BPA-free, the trays stack, and you can use them later for baby food (they're microwavable for that purpose). You can also write on them w dry-erase marker to indicate dates, etc. Because they have sealed lids, I think they've done a good job of keeping smells out. We've had no complaints, anyway. smile.gif

But because of space issues, we ended up buying a small deep freezer just for breast milk storage smile.gif

Added on December 24, 2011, 3:46 pm
QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Dec 24 2011, 02:35 PM)
Formula milk will not hungry fast and can sleep longer. Even after 6 months, BM itself is not sufficent nutrient for baby if I not mistaken and need formula milk.

Added on December 24, 2011, 2:40 pm
My fridge size is only 400L...buy bigger bottle to store...I use 9 oz bottle, now still able to cope...those raw food, clean it and wrap properly with plastic bag should be alright...I replenish food every 1 week...
Have been breastfeeding for almost 14 months now without any formula supplement. We introduced solid at 6 months.
Iron's level in breast milk will deplete at around 6 months mark, that's why we need to supplement with solid (but not formula). Foods that are rich in iron include iron fortified cereals, sweet potato, brocolli, spinach, eggs, beans, meat & poultry, tofu, apricots, prunes, raisins, etc
Keep in mind that while the iron stored in bm may begin to dwindle, it does not suddenly disappear.

Breast milk will still be their main source of nutrient until 1 yo. Solid is just a supplement and should not replace breast milk intake smile.gif

This post has been edited by victoria_lucas: Dec 24 2011, 04:58 PM
victoria_lucas
post Dec 24 2011, 04:34 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Dec 24 2011, 03:56 PM)
That's why at this stage I give BM in day time, night give formula milk. To avoid constipation, I inform CL to reduce the table spoon for formula milk. Off course after 6 months cannot rely only BM and formula milk..I just want to highlight BM is good with nutrient, but certain stage it is not sufficient even at earlier months. That's why I mix with some formula milk...

Added on December 24, 2011, 4:06 pm
Problem with BM, she wake up every 75min, and sometimes 1 hour...her stomach not full enough and cry cry...haiksss...but when the moment I give formula, she can sleep longer and more full...and I also observe her poo and so far still in good...
You shouldn't worry about nutrient level. Actually for the first 6 month, breast milk alone is sufficient for babies. Human milk is made for human infants, and it meets all their specific nutrient needs. How did those mums in the old days feed their babies before the invention of formulas smile.gif

Breast milk is easier to digest that formula, which is why, they wake up more often for feeding. The "joy" of parenthood Lol smile.gif
But it will get easier smile.gif

Added on December 24, 2011, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(feralee @ Dec 24 2011, 04:21 PM)
how long to BF?
before mix with formula powder?

wouldnt be baby will depend on BM & dont want to drink milk powder?

my MIL
said want to mix with milk powder after 3months - adviseable?
The World Health Organisation recommends breastfeeding exclusively (no cereal, water, juice or any other foods) the first six months and then continue to breastfeed (up to 2 years and beyond if you wish) whilst you are introducing solid foods.

Our little one is almost 14 months now and is breastfed. He also takes expressed breast milk in a cup during the day.
If you plan to stop breastfeeding before 1 year, you have to give formula because cows milk is not recommended for babies below 1 yo

This post has been edited by victoria_lucas: Dec 24 2011, 04:52 PM
victoria_lucas
post Dec 27 2011, 04:54 PM

98 posts

I am also a full time working mum. My job requires me to travel back and forth Australia every 2 - 3 months for the duration of 2 weeks each trip (without baby).

And yes, breast pump is my best friend now lol.. During my time away from baby, i have to pump to keep up the production. I pump in the airport, on the plane, i pump when i land, i pump at work and yes i am still religiously pumping now smile.gif

On my first trip back to Australia (after baby), i pumped and dumped the breast milk (around 18 over litres in total), on my subsequent trips, i store and froze the EBM and brought it back with me to Malaysia.

My baby takes EBM when i work and when i am away. We am lucky enough that i have enough EBM to last for 2 - 3 weeks (for the duration of my trips), and when i get back, i would have to start building the freezer stash again. But i have always been an over-producer from the start. My husband and maid are fully trained on how to handle breast milk, storage issues, thawing, etc.

I am very proud to have made it this far without a single drop of formula. I just want to say that breastfeeding takes determination, pumping is a commitment, and yes, it is tiring especially for the first 2 months, but it is do-able.

Keep up the good work mommies and merry christmas smile.gif

Added on December 27, 2011, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(nenamoesha @ Dec 25 2011, 10:03 AM)
Take a look at these. I love showing this link and video. Just watch how beautifully active breast milk is. What you are feeding to your baby is most definitely SUFFICIENT and probably more than expected. Formula milk has the least nutrients and it is so processed you have no idea what else is contained in it to make your child 'smarter'.

Can you imagine if our ancestors gave up on breastfeeding their children? You think human race would survive back then? Heh..

http://www.cafemom.com/journals/read/76593..._and_Cow_s_Milk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXKyLjCAcqU

It is proven and experienced by us mothers so why would you even think of giving formula milk? Your baby would never starve with an ample supply of breast milk. Just keep on nursing smile.gif
Thank you for the link. Such an eye opener.

And with the recent Enfamil recall in US, i feel very blessed being able to breastfeed.

This post has been edited by victoria_lucas: Dec 27 2011, 05:17 PM
victoria_lucas
post Dec 29 2011, 01:55 PM

98 posts

Hi Kittybunny,

Formula babies milk intake increases as they grow. However exclusive breastfed babies milk intake stay pretty much the same and they don't consume as much (in volume) of the breast milk if you compare with babies on formula.

My baby's only drinks about 70 - 120 ml of EBM, max is 180ml (very seldom). My friends babies who are the same age as my son drink like 240 ml of formula. So to answer your question, they do not drink the same volume as formula smile.gif

You should pump as per baby's drinking schedule (if baby not latching), like every 2 - 3 hours to keep up the milk production. Try not to skip the pumping session as it will send signal to your brain to slow down milk production.

Just some tips with pumping, you should pump and drain BOTH BREASTS, PLUS extra 5-10 minutes eventhough nothing comes out.
the extra 5-10 minutes will signal your breasts that you need higher production.

Pump more often (not longer) if you are losing volume. Five, 10-15 minute sessions are better than two, 25 minute sessions.

Good luck smile.gif

This post has been edited by victoria_lucas: Dec 29 2011, 02:40 PM
victoria_lucas
post Dec 29 2011, 04:56 PM

98 posts

In the office, i wash the pump, put it in a bowl or container and pour boiled hot water over it and put there for a few minutes.

When i travel, i use Medela Quick Clean Micro Steam bag.. After i pump, i just have to rinse the pump parts and put it inside the Medela bag with 2 oz of water, put in Microwave for 1 minute.. all done
Lazy tips here Lol...

victoria_lucas
post Dec 30 2011, 11:11 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(metaltooth @ Dec 30 2011, 10:51 AM)
hi guys -

my baby born on nov 26 and my wife has been bfeeding her ever since.

Questions:
1. how often u need to pump a day? currently the missus pumps twice a day, 10 mins per session, get an average total of 3oz per session.

2. sometimes the missus BF the baby as often as every hour and sometimes one session could last up to 1-hour. is this normal?

appreciate your advise. thanks
At first, (IF baby is not latching directly), you have to pump as often as you would nurse (breastfeed).... like 8x per day.
You have to pump as per baby's drinking schedule (every 2 - 3 hours - again, if baby doesn't latch directly) to keep up with milk production.
The more you pump and the more baby latches, it will signal your body to produce more milk.

Sometimes when baby latches, he/she doesn't empty the breasts, if so, you will need to pump the rest out - to avoid engorgement and also to send message to your body to produce more milk.

The first three months are CRITICAL in establishing your supply. Your body is producing milk and getting a lot of help from your hormones. After that, milk is made on a supply and demand system. Harder, but not impossible to increase supply smile.gif

question no 2 - Yes, it is normal smile.gif
victoria_lucas
post Dec 30 2011, 04:43 PM

98 posts

Hi NicKit, I started breastfeeding in November 2010. Thank you smile.gif

Beaker84 - That's great - Kudos to your wife smile.gif
You can go as long with breastfeeding.. As long as there is demand, there is supply, so your body will keep producing milk as long as there is demand from baby.

WHO recommends exclusive breastfeeding for the 1st 6 months and continue to bf up to 2 years and beyond while introducing solid food smile.gif

victoria_lucas
post Jan 2 2012, 01:00 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(daron @ Dec 30 2011, 05:22 PM)
hi,

my baby has been bf (direct and bottles) exclusively so far (almost 2 months). However, my wife will have to resume work in 2 weeks time.

Since we are sending our baby to babysitter while we work, we have to prepare around 4-5 bottles (3 oz each) to last a day.
Our concern is her supply is only enough for the baby feeding so far. We tried to store some but unable to do so.

Any ideas how to overcome this? If not, we have to resort to formula at the babysitter and bf when we are back home..
Is there anyway that your wife can try to increase the milk production by adding a few more pumping sessions, maybe?
Pump after baby finishes nursing for around 5 - 10 mins (dry pump) can also signal your body to produce more..
The ladies here also have a few recipes to increase bm production (on page 1),

Otherwise, maybe your wife can pump at work bring it home, then pump after work and pump for the rest of the day, so you have enough EBM to give the baby sitter for the next day.
I have a friend who did that.. So she pumped for the next day supply on daily basis. It is hard work but she managed to do it for the full 1 year. It was just an idea anyway smile.gif

Maybe the other ladies can give some input on this.

Added on January 2, 2012, 1:04 am
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jan 1 2012, 12:51 PM)
Today marks my first day of weaning Xander from my breast...it's sad but I think it's time to end this beautiful journey.

The way I'm weaning - putting coffee on my nipples...coz Xander doesn't like dirty things. He said dirty nen nen lol! He even took tissue for me to wipe. But after I faked in cleaning up..he asked me to go bathe. Lol!! This is less traumatic than telling him no more nen nen (which he cried like it was end if the world).

He still ask for nen nen..but since there's still coffee on my nipple..he avoids it.

Added on January 1, 2012, 5:11 pmUpdate: he had a tough time falling asleep without his nen nen. He kept on checking to see if his nen nen is still dirty and then asking me to go bathe. Lol!
What a cute way of weaning your baby. Love his comments! Precious smile.gif
Congratulations.. You did a great job and it is a huge accomplishment.

This post has been edited by victoria_lucas: Jan 2 2012, 01:04 AM
victoria_lucas
post Jan 5 2012, 04:38 PM

98 posts

Phythia, and mums who breastfed past 1 year, do you guys get a lot of "nasty" comments from friends, strangers, family?

I have been breastfeeding for 14 months now and i do get criticism and comemnts from friends for breastfeeding for "so long".. I just play deaf but it is really really annoying!! sad.gif

This post has been edited by victoria_lucas: Jan 5 2012, 04:39 PM
victoria_lucas
post Jan 6 2012, 12:45 AM

98 posts

Lol.. So true.. We get comments from the start of breastfeeding until the end and it just never stops.

I just had these comments today:

Seriously??!! Are you still breastfeeding? You can stop already!! Your son is 1 year old liaoo!!! Big boy liao! No need bf so long one!

They say breast milk only good for the first 6 months, after that no more nutrient liao.. Only those poor people who cannot afford formula breastfeed for so long to save money. You better start giving formula! more nutrient!

She is giving Enfa to her child and very proud of it (i mean REALLY proud). She is currently pregnant with 2nd child and when asked if she was going to bf, she said - See lah.. if got milk, then feed lo, if not then i give Enfa.

This post has been edited by victoria_lucas: Jan 6 2012, 12:51 AM
victoria_lucas
post Jan 6 2012, 10:47 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(keithcky @ Jan 6 2012, 02:02 AM)
What so big deal this enfa? To me anything that money can buy is nothing. BM is not money can buy!! You won't want yur kids to drink other ppl's BM don't we? LOL
I know!! She is really a big promoter of Enfa, claiming Enfa doesn't make babies overweight like other formula. She has been recommending Enfa to everyone. Even after the recent Enfamil recall, she still defends Enfa and said - It is only in US. The Enfa i bought is original made in Netherland shakehead.gif

Added on January 6, 2012, 10:52 am
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 6 2012, 07:58 AM)
Wait.. I dont really mind.

For me it's according to this priority list

1) BM - direct
2) BM - expressed
3) Other ppl's BM - direct
4) Other ppl's BM - expressed
5) Fresh milk
6) Formula milk
They sell breastmilk online (blackmarket), selling US$2 - $4 for an ounce of breast milk. So expensive.

I read somewhere before, that there is this mum from UK who spent total of 27k over 7 months, just to feed breastmilk for her adopted child.

Added on January 6, 2012, 10:56 am
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jan 6 2012, 10:37 AM)
Glad to hear that you are doing ok with your bf journey.  Do let us know if you go into any roadblock or if you need support or listening ears.
I'm glad that my family didn't question on the enough milk meh? in the earlier days.  Though now they are saying that there is no nutrients which i told them..that it's not the same like before as now he has solids but..he's still getting the necessary benefits for his health which is equally important. 

Then say..abt what if he continues till standard 1? sigh...just put on a deaf ear.
Yea.. I also just play deaf.. Ignorance is bliss and silence is golden.. Lol smile.gif

This post has been edited by victoria_lucas: Jan 6 2012, 10:56 AM
victoria_lucas
post Jan 19 2012, 04:15 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(s_hafidz @ Jan 19 2012, 12:58 PM)
hi everyone...have just recently found this forum and have been reading it...so just wanted to join in and also share my own experience.  Havs successfully bf-ed my son till 22 months, and now bf-ing my lil girl (almost 6 months).  So perhaps we can all learn from one another...
Welcome to LYN smile.gif
victoria_lucas
post Jan 20 2012, 01:34 PM

98 posts

That's great. Well done and congratulations Mommy_2011! smile.gif
victoria_lucas
post Mar 5 2012, 12:14 PM

98 posts

Congrats, StrawberryGirl smile.gif

As Sbux said, apply breast milk around your nipple and air dry.. Or if you want, you can also use Lansinoh cream.
victoria_lucas
post Apr 8 2012, 09:22 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(AndreaLee @ Apr 1 2012, 10:15 PM)
Hi all, I'm planning to breastfeed my bb for at least a year, thinking to invest in good pump. EDD is on end of May. Does anyone know any good deal? Last month Summit Babyland was having promotion for medela pump in style, 1.5K++. Hear say online purchase is cheaper, any recommendation? Would like to get the pump with warranty. Many thanks in advance smile.gif
I am using Medela Pump in Style Advanced. I bought mine in USA for US$250 on special. I am sure they are cheaper online as well.
victoria_lucas
post Apr 8 2012, 06:04 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(StrawberryGirL @ Apr 8 2012, 05:45 PM)
need help here.
anybody can teach me how to supply more breast milk ?
i found out that my breast milk getting less and less sad.gif
Pump more often (add pumping sessions) & put your baby on breasts more often. More demand will increase supply. Keep yourself hydrated smile.gif
victoria_lucas
post Apr 15 2012, 11:10 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(ImUrDaddY @ Apr 15 2012, 07:09 PM)
Poo in dark green color, what does its means?
This is due to foremilk and hindmilk imbalance. Baby is drinking too much foremilk than hindmilk. This is normal and will normalise the next day.

Foremilk is the milk which comes out when the breast is full. Foremilk is higher in water content.
Hindmilk is the milk that comes out when your breast is almost "empty". Hindmilk has higher fat content.

To overcome this, let the baby nurse the breast until he/she "finishes" it.

Added on April 15, 2012, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(laughiebean @ Apr 9 2012, 07:51 PM)
Hi, tumpang ask a bit. If I pump every 2 hours, what happens if my baby wants to feed right after I pump? Aren't the breasts empty already?

I wanna pump more often to keep more spare but afraid that if I pump so much, the breasts are always nearly empty and my baby has nothing to drink when latch on.  sweat.gif
Hi Laughiebean,

If after you pump, your baby wants to drink, you can either give him/her the pumped milk or just let the baby latch on.
Your breasts will never empty completely because it is constantly making milk.

While it is great to have EBM freezer stash, but the goal here is to feed the baby, not the fridge smile.gif

Not sure how old your baby is, but what i did last time during my early breastfeeding months was, i pump 6 - 8 times a day (i was blessed with oversupply). Say for example i just pumped at 1 pm, my next pumping session is at 4 pm, if the baby actually nursed at 3 - 4 pm, then i skipped the pumping session (or if baby didn't "empty" the breasts, i just pump the rest out to empty it).

The main key is just more demand = more supply. Demand either from pumping session or direct latch.

This post has been edited by victoria_lucas: Apr 15 2012, 11:25 PM

0.0299sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:41 PM