Theory/Lessons Music Recording/Composition, Hardware, Software, Tips etc..
pigcat
Mar 5 2008, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 3 2008, 01:32 AM)  sorry bout that then. Here's a longer clip. edit: wait!..no wonder you said it was too short..somehow the uploading got stucked or something. I did uploaded a longer clip. gimme a minute. 2nd edit : http://download.yousendit.com/35A43DCC087BFFF3 here you go.. Im recording using a mic, for the drums i put it infront of the drums. Will get another one, or 2. mic > converter > soundcard. using audacity. As pointed out by someone else, mic placement is another important role to play. Try to adjust the mic in different direction pointing to the sound source (ala your guitar/drum), record, and listen back see how it sounds. Then record the drum with lower volume, and definitely get another mic to record. Lastly without a bass to play with the drum the whole thing sounds hollow.
blacktrix
Mar 5 2008, 07:54 PM
Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
Yeah, of course it's for show...... But it's cool to know that it actually CAN be used in a real world application. In fact, their big Pyramid thing, when on tour, is PACKED with amazing gear.
Namqul
Mar 5 2008, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(Bassix @ Mar 5 2008, 03:55 PM) when the mixdown menu pops up make sure you select your format. Preferably WAV format or WMA. And then select a stereo mixdown with the sampling rate and stuff like that. Usually it should mix a stereo mix for you. I've never encountered file separation before actually... no2. i think u got me wrong. its like this, there are two tracks in my recording. 1 is using an acoustic guitar, and another is vocal. i did pick wav format with the highest quality. lol. but the end result, both recording came in separate file. it does not merge as 1 track. any solution for that?
kernel
Mar 5 2008, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(Namqul @ Mar 5 2008, 08:44 PM) no2. i think u got me wrong. its like this, there are two tracks in my recording. 1 is using an acoustic guitar, and another is vocal. i did pick wav format with the highest quality. lol. but the end result, both recording came in separate file. it does not merge as 1 track. any solution for that? I guess you selected seperate mono instead of stereo interleaved.
Namqul
Mar 6 2008, 08:54 AM
hmmm i dont remember selecting any mono for mixdown. and, it came out in separate tracks in stereo.
anyway, how do i select separate mono?
TSled_zep_freak
Mar 6 2008, 09:19 AM
What sequencer are you using? Audacity? If I'm not mistaken, there's an option to mix all tracks into 1 single file in the mixdown. There's definitely a way to do that, tried reading the Help file?
Namqul
Mar 6 2008, 02:13 PM
sequencer? now did i mention that im still a noob in this stuff? hehe. english please~ im assuming that is the software im using? if that is the case, its cubase. read the help file already. maybe ill give it another read.
pigcat
Mar 7 2008, 12:02 AM
Sequencer is for you to store your MIDI data like audio track, it was appear as hardware (say, Roland MC-50)but nowadays you just need software to overcome many hardware limitations.
And Cubase/Nuendo/Ableton/Logic/Pro Tools/Digital Performer/etc are all DAW (digital audio workstation), they can record audio as well as MIDI data like the old hardware MIDI sequencer do.
kernel
Mar 7 2008, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(Namqul @ Mar 6 2008, 08:54 AM) hmmm i dont remember selecting any mono for mixdown. and, it came out in separate tracks in stereo. anyway, how do i select separate mono? To rephrase my earlier reply, I guess you selected split stereo instead of stereo interleaved.
BlueSilver
Mar 7 2008, 11:45 PM
i have a question, let's say I want to record 2 different guitar tune and it's being played by one person. So i would have to do this one at a time. Which software allows this? I'm not very familiar with recording softwares. Sorry for newbie question.
headhunter7
Mar 8 2008, 10:51 PM
Hmm thanks guys, I'll try out the things you sked me to.
How bout mics?
Where can I get them?? I've heard cheap good ones are Shure..SM ? 57/58?
blacktrix
Mar 8 2008, 11:25 PM
BlueSilver, I use Adobe Audition to do all my Multi-Tracking. I find it easy to use, lots of tools available and VST Plugins are very easy to configure. I also like the fact that it's a wave AND multi-tracker all in one package.
echobrainproject
Mar 8 2008, 11:38 PM
if you do need a multipurpose mic, the sm57 is a must. ask any audio engineer and somehow they'll have a few sm57 lying around to be used.
blacktrix
Mar 9 2008, 12:16 AM
Well, Shure isn't exactly cheap....... But agree that the SM57 are the industry standard.
This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 9 2008, 12:17 AM
kernel
Mar 9 2008, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 9 2008, 12:16 AM) Well, Shure isn't exactly cheap....... But agree that the SM57 are the industry standard. Beg to differ...the Shure SM57 is one of the cheapest mics you can buy...and use I'd get the SM57....more flexible than the SM58.
TSled_zep_freak
Mar 9 2008, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Mar 7 2008, 11:45 PM) i have a question, let's say I want to record 2 different guitar tune and it's being played by one person. So i would have to do this one at a time. Which software allows this? I'm not very familiar with recording softwares. Sorry for newbie question.  You could try Audacity (Free - http://audacity.sourceforge.net/) or Reaper (No longer free I think? - http://www.reaper.fm/). As for the heavyweights, I've tried Cakewalk Sonar 7 and has been very satisfied so far.  Plus, there're plenty of tutorials floating around the net. QUOTE(kernel @ Mar 9 2008, 12:41 AM) Beg to differ...the Shure SM57 is one of the cheapest mics you can buy...and use +1
Namqul
Mar 11 2008, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(kernel @ Mar 7 2008, 01:30 PM) To rephrase my earlier reply, I guess you selected split stereo instead of stereo interleaved. tq, ive managed to render my recordings. finally. but still dont have the guts to share it with u sifus. haha. anyway, since everyone is talking bout this sm57, any idea where i can get it from? and whats the price range for it? what about sennheiser mics? i personally think senn is good.
Bassix
Mar 11 2008, 02:04 PM
sennheiser mics are good. But only the high end ones like for example that square shape mic (can't remember the model). They also make real cheap karaoke ones which are useless. The RM500 is kind of the mark not to go below. Generally anything below that sucks. Although it doesn't mean that everything above it is good either  EDIT: Talking dynamics here of course. A different policy applies to condenser mics This post has been edited by Bassix: Mar 11 2008, 02:05 PM
RustReaver4D1
Mar 11 2008, 08:30 PM
ok... err... can someone explain in simple English what's the difference between condenser and dynamic mics? is there any practical difference?
:restepe:
pigcat
Mar 11 2008, 11:11 PM
Dynamic need "Mic input" power to power up the mic or else no sound. Typically found on many soundcards.
Condenser need even more power to get it work, it's called the "phantom power" or so-called 48v power. And it need the XLR pin to provide the power (the 3 pin mic connector).
Dynamic mic can handle high volume recording, but the fidelity and sensitivity is not as good as condenser mics, as it uses magnetic charge. Condenser mics are very sensitive, as it uses electric charge instead, but dare not to point it at snare drum very close or else it'll explode...
Dynamic mics are usually cheaper than condenser mics, and your karaoke/computer mic are all dynamic mics. Condenser mics are more widely used on profesional recordings.