46 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Theory/Lessons Music Recording/Composition, Hardware, Software, Tips etc..

TSled_zep_freak
post May 31 2005, 12:31 PM, updated 18y ago

5,231 posts

Alright musicians, got your own tracks & want to show em off??? Just post them here. Need help on anything related to recording? this is the right place to be!

Let start this thing off, what soundcard are you guys using?

I'm using Audigy 2 ZS, not the perfect soundcard for recording tho. Kills part of your tone imho.

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: May 31 2005, 01:52 PM
kimi
post May 31 2005, 12:38 PM

Peace
630 posts

so what is a good beginner soundcard, something for single input recording? is the audigy 2 can do for this purpose? what about the audigy?

how about recording ideas/riff when u r away from your pc/laptop? maybe a digital sound recorder? im thinkin of gettin one of those creative mp3 players with recording functions?

This post has been edited by kimi: May 31 2005, 12:40 PM
evo.com
post May 31 2005, 01:48 PM

2,234 posts

ah fk....
i thought you were posting an article on home recording

TSled_zep_freak
post May 31 2005, 01:51 PM

5,231 posts

Oh lol... I do have this Computer Music Guitarist Special issue, mostly stuff you already know tho'. Sorry for the misleading title, I'ill rename it. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kimi @ May 31 2005, 12:38 PM)
so what is a good beginner soundcard, something for single input recording? is the audigy 2 can do for this purpose?  what about the audigy?
The audigy's good for playback/gaming but definitely not the ideal soundcard for recording. I would consider E-MU or M-Audio if I were you. wink.gif

Moses
post May 31 2005, 01:52 PM

126 posts

If you only need to record a single input, the audigy 2 or any other modern soundcard for that matter would suffice...the actual quality of the analogue-digital conversion would be subjective to anyone.
What I think is that the quality of the input sources that is more important. Try as hard as you may, but a RM10,000 PRS guitar would definitely sound better than a RM800 Strat copy.

I find that MP3 players with the line-in function are great tools for musicians, especially instrumentalists...gone are the days when you would crack your head trying to remember that fantastic riff you made up the other day...BUT if you plan to record an electric guitar straight into an MP3 player's input, you have to be aware that the line-in of the MP3 player is suited for only low impendance line-level inputs (i.e. keyboards, dynamic mics). If you plug your guitar straight in, there would be slight distortion on the recording as the guitar's output is high-impendance. You can use a DI box to solve this. But hey, if its only riffs you want to record, who cares about a little distortion =)

Have fun!
evo.com
post May 31 2005, 02:25 PM

2,234 posts

but u wont be carrying your DIbox tgt with ure mp3 player right? tongue.gif
soundcards are just too expensive imo.... im not willing to fork out 6-800 on a good rocording soundcard
much rather get some recorder that can connect through USB...
kimi
post May 31 2005, 02:35 PM

Peace
630 posts

yeah i was thinking in the line that the mp3 player with mic recording or digital sound recorder to capture a melody, riff or anything in its raw form, maybe vocal hum as well

as for recording on PC, what would be a good beginner hardware setup? maybe usb or firewire not to clutter the inside of pc, plus can use on different pc or laptop?
Pix
post May 31 2005, 02:49 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

yes, you can buy a *ahem* software in a famous plaza that simulates a guitar amp --> you'll have your good guitar sound from your PC

then buy another *ahem* software to record (audacity, cakewalk, sonar, guitartracks, etc etc...)
evo.com
post May 31 2005, 02:59 PM

2,234 posts

oh shit.... Pix got the msian "piracy fever"
Pix
post May 31 2005, 03:03 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

i'm one of you now !!

saya pun, saya boleh !
TSled_zep_freak
post May 31 2005, 03:14 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ May 31 2005, 02:59 PM)
oh shit.... Pix got the msian "piracy fever"
ROFL!!
Forget piracy man, police are raiding like hell these few months & the prices probably went sky high.

*ahem* Bittorent! wink.gif

evo.com
post May 31 2005, 04:02 PM

2,234 posts

i think piracy will always be part of msia...
if not those ehbengs will lose their jobs and go amok
TSled_zep_freak
post May 31 2005, 04:31 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ May 31 2005, 04:02 PM)
i think piracy will always be part of msia...
if not those ehbengs will lose their jobs and go amok
They could still modify cars for other Ah Bengs. tongue.gif

And of course, if worse comes to worst, there's still Weng Kin. tongue.gif Heard he went back to form6, is it true? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: May 31 2005, 04:32 PM
evo.com
post May 31 2005, 05:05 PM

2,234 posts

weng kin not ahbeng la tongue.gif
yea he went back to form 6.... no point doing SAMwhen ure still unclear which path u wanna take
u know la the fella.... blur blur wan

TSled_zep_freak
post May 31 2005, 05:08 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ May 31 2005, 05:05 PM)
weng kin not ahbeng la tongue.gif
lol it's not that lar, we used to ask him what he was gonna do after SPM & he kept answering "Sell VCDlar". One of my classmates almost bought his story. sweat.gif rolleyes.gif

evo.com
post May 31 2005, 05:13 PM

2,234 posts

lol
why am i not surprise

AnimeSan
post May 31 2005, 05:56 PM

65 posts

U can use normal (recent) soundcard
with line-in support

use Audio jack converter (big to small) to connect your jack from your amp / effect to PC

modD
post Jun 2 2005, 01:27 AM

the forest whispers my name
942 posts

my recording hardware n software

instrument - guitar
soundcard - gametheater XP
drum/bass tracks - fruityloops producer
mixing - adobe audition (used to be cooledit pro)

sounds ok-ok la
Pix
post Jun 2 2005, 01:08 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

modd > fruity loops has this bass synthetizer ? woaaww.. cool...

anybody knows a "plug-in" or a software that modify the sound of the guitar to be like a bass ?

modD
post Jun 2 2005, 02:06 PM

the forest whispers my name
942 posts

Pix: you can use any plugin with a pitch-shifting feature. just set it to shift down 1 octave... but i've never got satisfactory bass sound from that. yep, fruityloops has got a cool bass plugin. when i get home, i can direct you to which plugins in fruityloops you can use to generate realistic bass guitar sounds.

46 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:39 PM