46 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Theory/Lessons Music Recording/Composition, Hardware, Software, Tips etc..

headhunter7
post Mar 2 2008, 06:42 PM

2,355 posts

Hey guys, Im using Audacity to record. Haha my recording set up is very bare, so please hold your laughs XD.

I just wanna know, how do I make my recording sound "fuller", cuz right now its kinda..hollow. @_@!

kernel
post Mar 2 2008, 07:12 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 2 2008, 06:42 PM)
Hey guys, Im using Audacity to record. Haha my recording set up is very bare, so please hold your laughs XD.

I just wanna know, how do I make my recording sound "fuller", cuz right now its kinda..hollow. @_@!
It'd be easier to give feedback if you post your track up...
headhunter7
post Mar 2 2008, 08:27 PM

2,355 posts

There you go XD.

A part of my band's song.
Is it because of the mic?

Or the absence of a bass guitar? (Its recorded without one.)

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Teh_Songz.mp3 ( 57.19k ) Number of downloads: 29
blacktrix
post Mar 3 2008, 12:05 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Your clip was too short to make any useful comments.
kernel
post Mar 3 2008, 12:13 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 2 2008, 08:27 PM)
There you go XD.

Wow that really helped a lot......
TSled_zep_freak
post Mar 3 2008, 12:21 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 2 2008, 08:27 PM)
There you go XD.

Would be great if you post a longer clip and your recording process/equipment.

Here's a quick one I recorded earlier today... just ignore the annoying fret buzz. sad.gif

Added on March 3, 2008, 12:27 am
QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Feb 24 2008, 04:28 PM)
What in Tyr's name is SPDIF? Oh my...

"Spellcasting Precautionary Defender Interim Feat"? But I haven't reached that level yet! unsure.gif
Sony/Phillips Digital Interface I think? Fancy abbreviation for "Digital I/O" lar anyway. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Mar 3 2008, 12:27 AM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Xien___Guitar_Test.mp3 ( 1.51mb ) Number of downloads: 127
SUSbman
post Mar 3 2008, 01:16 AM

503 posts

Heya guys, I am messing with Amplitube 2.

I could get it to sound great by itself, standalone, but when i tried recording, it doesn't do it as standalone.

I needed to use another software that would load it's VST plugin.

Then i realised it wouldn't let me listen to the actual distorted sound I am playing, and I have to either finish playing clean and then apply the effect of amplitube or apply it real-time but either way I can't hear what I am playing in the actual distortion.

What gives? Is this how this works ?
headhunter7
post Mar 3 2008, 01:32 AM

2,355 posts

sad.gif sorry bout that then. Here's a longer clip.

edit: wait!..no wonder you said it was too short..somehow the uploading got stucked or something. I did uploaded a longer clip. gimme a minute.

2nd edit : http://download.yousendit.com/35A43DCC087BFFF3 here you go..

Im recording using a mic, for the drums i put it infront of the drums.
Will get another one, or 2.

mic > converter > soundcard.
using audacity.

This post has been edited by headhunter7: Mar 3 2008, 01:46 AM
TSled_zep_freak
post Mar 3 2008, 01:46 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Mar 3 2008, 01:16 AM)
Heya guys, I am messing with Amplitube 2.
I could get it to sound great by itself, standalone, but when i tried recording, it doesn't do it as standalone.

I needed to use another software that would load it's VST plugin.
Then i realised it wouldn't let me listen to the actual distorted sound I am playing, and I have to either finish playing clean and then apply the effect of amplitube or apply it real-time but either way I can't hear what I am playing in the actual distortion.

What gives? Is this how this works ?
What sequencer/VST Host are you using? By right you should be able to monitor the VST in real time.
SUSbman
post Mar 3 2008, 02:54 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Mar 3 2008, 01:46 AM)
What sequencer/VST Host are you using? By right you should be able to monitor the VST in real time.
I am using a cheap free utility called WavoSaur that supports VST plugins.

What do you recommend to work with amplitube in real time ? Preferably opensource/free.

http://www.wavosaur.com

Never mind, I dumped that and started using Reaper instead. Works flawlessly now with amplitube2 and no latency even.

This post has been edited by bman: Mar 3 2008, 05:36 AM
Namqul
post Mar 3 2008, 07:34 PM

790 posts

im using cubase sx3 now. ive done some noob recording stuff. ive try to search using the help n manuals but cant find any. how on earth do i render my recordings? file -> export -> audio mixdown <- is this the way to finalize my recording to 1 track? if it is, i cant seem to get it work. there is an error message : the left and right locators must be set! with an exclamation mark. lol~ took me few hours to try and finally gave up. any suggestion?

This post has been edited by Namqul: Mar 3 2008, 07:36 PM
kernel
post Mar 3 2008, 11:44 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 3 2008, 01:32 AM)
sad.gif sorry bout that then. Here's a longer clip.

edit: wait!..no wonder you said it was too short..somehow the uploading got stucked or something. I did uploaded a longer clip. gimme a minute.

2nd edit : http://download.yousendit.com/35A43DCC087BFFF3 here you go..

Im recording using a mic, for the drums i put it infront of the drums.
Will get another one, or 2.

mic > converter > soundcard.
using audacity.
Sorry for being nasty previously.

The gain on the drum mics is too high, the kick drum is way distorted.

As for the guitar, try repositioning the mic until you get a fuller sound. It's perfectly possible to get a fat guitar sound with proper placement.
Bassix
post Mar 5 2008, 10:05 AM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ Mar 3 2008, 12:34 PM)
im using cubase sx3 now. ive done some noob recording stuff. ive try to search using the help n manuals but cant find any. how on earth do i render my recordings? file -> export -> audio mixdown <- is this the way to finalize my recording to 1 track? if it is, i cant seem to get it work. there is an error message : the left and right locators must be set! with an exclamation mark. lol~ took me few hours to try and finally gave up. any suggestion?
you have to highlight the part of the track you want to do a mixdown. There are 2 markers along the time bar (kinda like the MS Word ruler on the top of the worksheet). You have to use the mouse to drag these markers and the selected range will be highlighted in blue. Then you can do your audio mixdown.

Sorry i can't do a screenshot, no Cubase on this current computer i'm using.
blacktrix
post Mar 5 2008, 10:45 AM

13,063 posts

That's why I like to use Audition. It's sooooooooooo much easier.
Namqul
post Mar 5 2008, 10:54 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Mar 5 2008, 10:05 AM)
you have to highlight the part of the track you want to do a mixdown. There are 2 markers along the time bar (kinda like the MS Word ruler on the top of the worksheet). You have to use the mouse to drag these markers and the selected range will be highlighted in blue. Then you can do your audio mixdown.

Sorry i can't do a screenshot, no Cubase on this current computer i'm using.
its ok, ive figure it out myself. but heres another thing, when i do audio mixdown, all audio came out in separate files. why does it happen that way? why didnt it not come out in 1 file that include all audio?
joeboto
post Mar 5 2008, 02:48 PM

insert title
913 posts

i got this small but annoying problem.
using a cheapo strat copy. for bass sound, i use guitar rig with octaver, so it makes out the low end sound. but sometimes, the bass sounds like the attached mp3 file: on the 0:03 mark.
anyone knows how to get rid of that? (without using the proper bass guitar lah tongue.gif )

Attached File(s)
Attached File  bass_shits.mp3 ( 151.74k ) Number of downloads: 2
SUSbman
post Mar 5 2008, 03:17 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(joeboto @ Mar 5 2008, 02:48 PM)
i got this small but annoying problem.
using a cheapo strat copy. for bass sound, i use guitar rig with octaver, so it makes out the low end sound. but sometimes, the bass sounds like the attached mp3 file: on the 0:03 mark.
anyone knows how to get rid of that? (without using the proper bass guitar lah  tongue.gif )
Change all strings to the same as the low E string.. Or just use bass strings. *LOL*

Bassix
post Mar 5 2008, 03:55 PM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ Mar 5 2008, 03:54 AM)
its ok, ive figure it out myself. but heres another thing, when i do audio mixdown, all audio  came out in separate files. why does it happen that way? why didnt it not come out in 1 file that include all audio?
when the mixdown menu pops up make sure you select your format. Preferably WAV format or WMA. And then select a stereo mixdown with the sampling rate and stuff like that. Usually it should mix a stereo mix for you. I've never encountered file separation before actually...
blacktrix
post Mar 5 2008, 04:40 PM

13,063 posts

Holy Crap...... I was totally amazed by Daft Punk's surprise appearance at the Grammys.
But what totally blew my mind was their touch screen displays. I thought they were props, but apparently, THEY REALLY WORK!

http://newecho.typepad.com/blog/2008/02/kanye-west-play.html

http://www.jazzmutant.com/lemur_overview.php

I SOOOOOOOO WANT ONE!!

It apparently uses Albatron, but works with a variety of other software.

Cost? A Cool USD 3k...... tongue.gif It sure looks freakin' awesome though. But I'm tempted to make my own using a Wii. Now I got inspiration!

It can be used as DAW controller, Sampler, Display........ Basically what ever you want.

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 5 2008, 04:47 PM
echobrainproject
post Mar 5 2008, 05:53 PM

4,765 posts

i remember listening to an audio engineering related podcast and they said even though those stuff works, during the grammy's everything was already programmed in so that was basically just for show. amazing cool toy though

46 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0311sec    1.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:43 AM