Nokia N8 v8 - Great Multimedia Device, For Starters, read the first page
nicholasbeh
Oct 21 2010, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 20 2010, 10:40 PM) kind of agree on what u said.. ya.. I do think they have difficulty have active 2 layers concurrently to be touch together... I m not sure will u agree on me.. Microsoft have touch OS soooooo many years in mobile, even before symbian?? they have improve the OS and try to make it friendly as possible.. do not forget they are pure software ppl... hardware part they leave it to other vendor except giving them the requirement... at the end of the day.. they still force to abandon the OS.. and re-write an entirely new one.. which have totally new concept.... already a very good example with MS.. do u think Nokia keep improving the symbian is the way to go?? to me.. I don't see the light infront of this... i do agree.actually Andre did talk bout this on previous thread.Nokia should giving up modify symbian and develope a brand new os
jbb_lkh
Oct 21 2010, 12:02 AM
Let's hope for some improvement in the next coming firmware updates. Fingers cross man... Added on October 21, 2010, 12:06 amQUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 21 2010, 12:01 AM) i do agree.actually Andre did talk bout this on previous thread.Nokia should giving up modify symbian and develope a brand new os I agree in a way because Symbian has this silent arrogance in them. "You use Nokia you'll have to use Symbian". Bounded... but Nokia is engaging MeeGo for future... let's see what coming. This post has been edited by jbb_lkh: Oct 21 2010, 12:06 AM
NicholasZx
Oct 21 2010, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(jbb_lkh @ Oct 20 2010, 11:43 PM) I don't see it as a bug, it's a default settings in Nokia. U may change it. keep auto connect~therefore i turn off auto searching and never show wlan availability This post has been edited by NicholasZx: Oct 21 2010, 12:06 AM
nicholasbeh
Oct 21 2010, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 20 2010, 11:10 PM) What do you mean can't? Look at the variety of keyboard for Android, ranging from stock, HTC IME mod, swype, keyboard with keys that grew and shrink, and latest would be Blindtype since Google just wrote the owner a big paycheck. Andre give a try on China symbian site.variety of choices input to reduce ur disappointment.
andrekua
Oct 21 2010, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 21 2010, 12:01 AM) i do agree.actually Andre did talk bout this on previous thread.Nokia should giving up modify symbian and develope a brand new os I did said that but it was quite close to what I really wanted with the N8... I actually hate it much much lesser now except for the BROWSER!!!
andrekua
Oct 21 2010, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 21 2010, 12:07 AM) Andre give a try on China symbian site.variety of choices input to reduce ur disappointment. I wont call it a disappointment... actually its a lot better than I think it would be liao. Just one small placement with the backspace which spoilt the mood + keyboard bug in Browser.
pirateguy
Oct 21 2010, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(jbb_lkh @ Oct 21 2010, 12:02 AM) Let's hope for some improvement in the next coming firmware updates. Fingers cross man... Added on October 21, 2010, 12:06 amI agree in a way because Symbian has this silent arrogance in them. "You use Nokia you'll have to use Symbian". Bounded... but Nokia is engaging MeeGo for future... let's see what coming. According to Phonearena, a firmware update would bring in the new webkit browser. QUOTE The browser on the Nokia N8 is definitely a weak point, compared to Safari in the iPhone 4. While it has pinch-to-zoom, the scrolling is often choppy, especially if the page contains Flash, and the interface is a chore to use. Filling in the above mentioned web address takes much more stages than the needed one. A firmware update is expected to bring Swype and a new WebKit browser, but out of the box typing and browsing has stayed in the Symbian^1 era. The Safari browser on the iPhone 4, in contrast, is smooth as silk, quite fast and a pleasure to use, with the lack of Flash being the only nuisance. http://www.phonearena.com/reviews/Nokia-N8...4_id2551/page/2
andrekua
Oct 21 2010, 12:11 AM
See my N8 conclusion and you will see where I hate it... mostly is browser, and for others that I mention, hoping to see improvements...
Nonetheless, I think a good step forward and maybe Symbian will live on for few years...
tuonn
Oct 21 2010, 12:14 AM
battery life is improved i thing...can last nearly 2 n half day without charging... going through with lot of call n sms n as well some surfing...
nicholasbeh
Oct 21 2010, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 21 2010, 12:10 AM) I wont call it a disappointment... actually its a lot better than I think it would be liao. Just one small placement with the backspace which spoilt the mood + keyboard bug in Browser. i just hate the keyboard bug in browser so much.besides that the browser really need improvement.apply godlike phone browser?drooling!
andrekua
Oct 21 2010, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(tuonn @ Oct 21 2010, 12:14 AM) battery life is improved i thing...can last nearly 2 n half day without charging... going through with lot of call n sms n as well some surfing...  How did you all get past 1 day while Im still wondering why my battery fall from 100% to 30% in 4hrs each day... remove FB and Hotmail widgets?
nicholasbeh
Oct 21 2010, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 21 2010, 12:17 AM) How did you all get past 1 day while Im still wondering why my battery fall from 100% to 30% in 4hrs each day... remove FB and Hotmail widgets? mine also last quite long vf heavy use.send to ncc and have a new battery.lol.
andrekua
Oct 21 2010, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 21 2010, 12:17 AM) i just hate the keyboard bug in browser so much.besides that the browser really need improvement.apply godlike phone browser?drooling! Why do you need desktop browser on phone? Thats what I like about Android... I want the desktop feel, but I dont want it to work like a desktop...
andrekua
Oct 21 2010, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 21 2010, 12:20 AM) mine also last quite long vf heavy use.send to ncc and have a new battery.lol. Any widget checking mail or fb?
nicholasbeh
Oct 21 2010, 12:24 AM
actually i love the godlike phone browser the most among all os.maybe its personal preference?the browser is really awesome and impresse me damn much.
tuonn
Oct 21 2010, 12:24 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 21 2010, 12:17 AM) How did you all get past 1 day while Im still wondering why my battery fall from 100% to 30% in 4hrs each day... remove FB and Hotmail widgets? nope.i don't remove anything..everything is in stock condition.. i only just set my network to GSM coz it always connect with internet n keep sending data... even i turn off the widget,it's still connect n i don't know why...
hsyong
Oct 21 2010, 12:25 AM
Mine with the FB widget & Rss widget (Reuters)...GSM only... battery lasts about 2 days. But the FB & RSS widget will freeze at least once a day... all things work but the widgets won't respond to touch This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 21 2010, 12:26 AM
nicholasbeh
Oct 21 2010, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 21 2010, 12:22 AM) Any widget checking mail or fb? yes boss.
andrekua
Oct 21 2010, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(tuonn @ Oct 21 2010, 12:24 AM) nope.i don't remove anything..everything is in stock condition.. i only just set my network to GSM coz it always connect with internet n keep sending data... even i turn off the widget,it's still connect n i don't know why... Aiseh, GSM aa... no wonder lor... I was hoping to see who have 3G always on and yet managed more than a day...
tuonn
Oct 21 2010, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 21 2010, 12:26 AM) Aiseh, GSM aa... no wonder lor... I was hoping to see who have 3G always on and yet managed more than a day... i will try to set the 3g network first n report the result k...