Nokia N8 v8 - Great Multimedia Device, For Starters, read the first page
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 01:31 PM
Lost some Ovi Maps data?
I connected to Ovi suite and then saw there are updates for maps data. Then I update it but Ovi suite wiped all maps data from the phone first, then only I can choose the maps data to install... so I chose Malaysia and a Voice (female UK) files ... total about 50MB.
I didn't see the original maps data on the phone but I think it was well over 400MB.... so what am I missing now??? From over 400MB down to 50MB now haha.
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 19 2010, 01:35 PM) So I guess the original data includes maps for other countries as well? Anyway, Malaysia map is enough for me, and save some memory space too
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 19 2010, 01:51 PM) some ppl considered NEX-5 as DC...high end DC they said wo..btw N8 beat TX-1,TX-7... duno whos it..pm me his/her facebook link. Yea, I have the Nokia N8 and Sony NEX-5... N8 is very good and better than some digicams, but no where near NEX-5... NEX-5 uses APS-C sensor and is in DSLR class  Blind test by GSMArena, which was won by N8: http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_n8_vs_samsun...-review-519.phpThis post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 19 2010, 01:57 PM
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 19 2010, 01:58 PM) i would say similar case to LX-3 also, although i am not sure of what sensor, but image quality wise, it's no where near to compete with even semi pro cameras on normal condition shots Yes, the N8 is comparable to digicams, but shouldn't be to compared to DSLR or even Micro Four Thirds.
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 02:38 PM
I have the RSS news widget on the homescreen (CNN)... when I tap and open the reader to read the news, the font is very small...is there any way to make it larger?
This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 19 2010, 02:39 PM
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(doomx @ Oct 19 2010, 02:40 PM) the guy emo already. even i got ip4 also never emo. lol fail Got the N8 and my 3GS is back in box now
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(doomx @ Oct 19 2010, 02:43 PM) got my n8 and my iphone 4 side-by-side  Haha. Btw, I'm eligible to buy the iPhone 4 from Digi with RM300 discount (no contract needed) on 1st Nov... dunno if it's worth it? ... then I can have an N8, 3GS and IP4 side by side This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 19 2010, 02:46 PM
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 19 2010, 02:46 PM) sound like iCult follower  Added on October 19, 2010, 2:47 pmso rich....  donate 1 gimmie  Haha, actually I got the Digi 3GS on May this year, then from early this month still undecided whether to get Digi iPhone 4, and when N8 released striaght away bought it. The 3GS is already booked by someone
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 19 2010, 02:50 PM) haha can i say u rich boy i jz got think b4 buy the ipod touch haiz i wan get the package of idigi leh Because i'm not a boy liao, and not young liao, worked very hard to earn all my money  Err, no one knows how to increase the text size in the RSS reader? This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 19 2010, 02:54 PM
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 19 2010, 04:02 PM) For close-up photos (from about 10cm to 50cm) .. open the camera, tap the "tools" icon on the right, then "Scene mode" '
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 05:38 PM
I've taken ALL the stickers... damn ugly.
If anything happens to the phone and they don't let me claim warranty I'll screw them. They can easily check the phone whether it's ori or not right? And just keep the warranty card and receipt.
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Oct 19 2010, 06:10 PM) Haiz... If P1 Wimax for mobile exist then maybe i subscribe lah. But i need feedbacks first. We don't and won't have phones compatible with Wimax right? As all our telcos will be using LTE.
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 19 2010, 06:59 PM) I know it is not paint... But the metal itself same colour or not I have doubt...  The color is only top layer... below is still aluminum color. I'm not sure how strong the color is sticking on the body. But I can confirm if you scratch with knife, you can see the aluminum. I have tried  Also, if you look at the volumn up-down button area, you can see the aluminum right? This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 19 2010, 07:25 PM
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 07:42 PM
"The layer of 'aluminum rust' is still part of the original aluminum and will not transfer to food or easily flake off under stress. This makes it especially popular for food-service applications and industrial applications where durability is crucial."The oxidized layer and color-dye is still only at near the top surface and for the N8, not very deep... as I've earlier said, I have tried with a pen-knife.. now i have a small exposed aluminum color scratch on my dark grey set.I tried with a KNIFE, not hand or fingernail  .. so I can't confirm how well the color dye and oxidized layer will withstand normal use... maybe very good, but be careful of knives and sharp metals This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 19 2010, 07:46 PM
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 19 2010, 07:48 PM) Edited, color still there? The place that I scratched with knife is now exposed of course, can see shining aluminum color. Actually I did not do it on purpose. I was trying to remove the small round sticker on the side (on top of the torx screw).. there were still some small bits of sticker on the screw head, so I tried to remove it with a knife, but I accidentally scratched a bit of the body side This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 19 2010, 07:54 PM
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 19 2010, 07:57 PM) That is not a scratch Usually they will oxidise a layer of material thats more resistant to protect the actual material itself. But since aluminium itself is a pretty weak composition, what you are doing is not scratching it but ultimately removing a chunk of the aluminium itself. Its not bullet proof. Duh... why are they so stupid and go do something like that? Cant differentiate cut and scratch? It's my phone.. so I know it's a scratch or a cut.. it's tiny scratched area, not a chunk.
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 19 2010, 08:04 PM) Come to my office and I give you a piece of leftover aluminium for you to scratch with your knife and you see if the bits you just scratch off is the material or paint... Haha.. i was just replying to someone's question whether the color dye/oxidized layer can be removed to expose the aluminum.. of course it can be removed with sharp marerial. That's all I was trying to say. This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 19 2010, 08:07 PM
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 19 2010, 08:18 PM) U drop the phone, hit something hard, colour still gone... The best one is the silver which less noticible... Yes, I thought of that too before buying, but I like the dark grey more. Anyway, it's still stronger than normal paint.
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 08:25 PM
The batter display bars don't seem very accurate.... stays very long at full bars then suddenly drop two bars (and when click the icon shows 70%).
Normal for Symbian?
hsyong
Oct 19 2010, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Oct 19 2010, 08:28 PM) Yes, Both my N73 and N95 also like that. It is like, the 1st bar = 25% of total battery, the 2nd bar = 20% of total battery, 3rd bar = 15%... So, if you have half left as indicated on the bar, u actually have around 35-40% left only. I think i wanna install apps that display battery more accurately. It is very misleading. Ah, thanks, I think that's what I'm seeing right now. Now only two bars gone (still left 5 bars), but I click the icon shows 50% haha.