Nokia N8 v8 - Great Multimedia Device, For Starters, read the first page

pirateguy
post Oct 24 2010, 05:32 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Oct 24 2010, 05:30 PM)
But why do you need a predictive text in the dialler?  sweat.gif
Why do they need to put the alphabet then?
hsyong
post Oct 24 2010, 05:35 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 24 2010, 05:32 PM)
Why do they need to put the alphabet then?
The same reason there's alphabets on your home/landline phone. Easier to remember and dial numbers like 1-800-flowers

This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 24 2010, 05:38 PM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 24 2010, 05:36 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 24 2010, 05:30 PM)
i use satio can last 4 days.... normal report is 2 days...

then if i use n8 then can last 1 week?  brows.gif
If you just keep it on your bed without doing anything maybe possible. doh.gif
tuonn
post Oct 24 2010, 05:37 PM

El Phenomenon
2,000 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 24 2010, 05:30 PM)
i use satio can last 4 days.... normal report is 2 days...

then if i use n8 then can last 1 week?  brows.gif
yes u can but u need to idle the phone all the time... tongue.gif
Agito666
post Oct 24 2010, 05:38 PM

11,861 posts

lol because i average 1 week got 3-4 calls only lol...
pirateguy
post Oct 24 2010, 05:39 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Oct 24 2010, 05:35 PM)
The same reason there's alphabets on your home/landline phone.
For landline phone, it makes sense, but this is a freakin mobile phone. It should be common sense to have it enable on the dialer.
sklchan
post Oct 24 2010, 05:40 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 24 2010, 05:39 PM)
For landline phone, it makes sense, but this is a freakin mobile phone. It should be common sense to have it enable on the dialer.
doh.gif
hsyong
post Oct 24 2010, 05:43 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 24 2010, 05:39 PM)
On mobile phones you still can dial the "coded" numbers like 1-800-flowers... that's why the alphabets are there. But I still don't understand, why do you need to type actual text with a dialpad?? Never seen this feature on any phone before smile.gif
BuFung
post Oct 24 2010, 05:44 PM

8,407 posts

how to dial say... 1800-888-DHL ah? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

Added on October 24, 2010, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(hsyong @ Oct 24 2010, 05:43 PM)
On mobile phones you still can dial the "coded" numbers like 1-800-flowers... that's why the alphabets are there. But I still don't understand, why do you need to type actual text with a dialpad?? Never seen this feature on any phone before smile.gif
die.. I just found my phone cannot have those kind of number... laugh.gif have to refer to the keypad.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by BuFung: Oct 24 2010, 05:48 PM
pirateguy
post Oct 24 2010, 05:56 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Oct 24 2010, 05:43 PM)
Please see this : http://nds1.nokia.com/phones/files/guides/...N8-00_UG_en.pdf

Page 37

Also, the N8 was suppose to have this feature, and it was even mentioned here (called Smart Dial):

http://www.i-symbian.com/nokia-n8-will-have-smart-dial/

doh.gif

This post has been edited by pirateguy: Oct 24 2010, 05:57 PM
hsyong
post Oct 24 2010, 06:05 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 24 2010, 05:56 PM)
Please see this : http://nds1.nokia.com/phones/files/guides/...N8-00_UG_en.pdf

Page 37

Also, the N8 was suppose to have this feature, and it was even mentioned here (called Smart Dial):

http://www.i-symbian.com/nokia-n8-will-have-smart-dial/

doh.gif
Okay I get it now. But everyone else was replying to your original question : "On the virtual keypad (not the keyboard), how do you input the alphabet or enable predictive T9? "

There is no way the dialpad will display alphabets or T9... what is in the manual is a different feature.. you still type the pad and it will display NUMBERS and it will try to match with your phonebook (according to what the alphabet the numbers represent).

Maybe this feature will be in the next firmware update?

This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 24 2010, 06:08 PM
pirateguy
post Oct 24 2010, 06:07 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Oct 24 2010, 06:05 PM)
Okay I get it now. But everyone else was replying to your original question : "On the virtual keypad (not the keyboard), how do you input the alphabet or enable predictive T9? "

There is no way the dialpad will type or display alphabets or T9... what is in the manual is a different feature.. you still type the pad and it will display NUMBERS and it will try to match with your phonebook.

Maybe this feature will be in the next firmware update?
Well I thought you have to use the predictive T9 when it comes to looking for names.

But the point is, such feature (smart dialing) is missing, and its even printed on the manual.

doh.gif

This post has been edited by pirateguy: Oct 24 2010, 06:08 PM
BuFung
post Oct 24 2010, 06:09 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 24 2010, 06:07 PM)
Well I thought you have to use the predictive T9 when it comes to looking for names.

But the point is, such feature (smart dialing) is missing, and its even printed on the manual.

doh.gif
no t9 in typing sms in keypad meh?
hsyong
post Oct 24 2010, 06:10 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 24 2010, 06:07 PM)

doh.gif
Yup, it's not predictive text, it's just like you type on a normal phone (just look which number represent which alpabet) and the display will display only the number.

And yup, the feature to match/find the contacts with what you type is missing. Or must it be enabled somewhere?

This post has been edited by hsyong: Oct 24 2010, 06:11 PM
silrave
post Oct 24 2010, 06:10 PM

5,893 posts

i am upset now
my dad say me buy too much hp
me n n8 like no fate T T
damn sad now
Crys_Crys
post Oct 24 2010, 06:11 PM

**{o_O}**
3,509 posts

Arghh later go practice my N8 photo taking skills at steamboat tongue.gif
BuFung
post Oct 24 2010, 06:14 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Oct 24 2010, 06:11 PM)
Arghh later go practice my N8 photo taking skills at steamboat tongue.gif
remember to capture those moment when u put food into the pot.. and the water spill up and down and creating pattern kind of moment wor.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
stanley85
post Oct 24 2010, 06:20 PM

704 posts

roasted salmon fish head taken by N8 @ SG - Hachi Tei Japanese restaurant thumbup.gif
very nice~ yummy drool.gif

lohmaikai
post Oct 24 2010, 06:31 PM

493 posts

hmm just woke up. Was expecting to post in v9...
Anyway last night b4 sleep got 50%batt, forgot to offline widgets. Woke up ngam ngam saw battery low warning.
ckk125
post Oct 24 2010, 06:47 PM

649 posts

did u guys remove the plastic cover for the camera lense and flash?

126 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:57 PM