25 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v3 thread

isaacmiranda7
post Apr 13 2011, 07:28 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 12 2011, 08:34 PM)
wat are the basics? I didnt learn any basics just play the songs that i like that i can play.
Stick control, grooving, fundamental stuff lah basically. smile.gif

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 12 2011, 08:52 PM)
I mentioned earlier the lousy hi hat that sounds like "pong pong" and miranda bro say is paiste 101s. I think better dun get those. Hitting a milo can tin sounds better than that.

Maybe try sabian b8? or b8pro.
B8 retail is slightly above RM1k I think. smile.gif

QUOTE(Namqul @ Apr 13 2011, 10:11 AM)
Anyone went or participate the V-drum contest last weekend?

Rayne1989 : JS Music no longer carries Stagg. Ultimate Music is the dealer now.

Party2DMax : Did you try out any of the snares?

WintersuN : Its never a compulsory to buy after testing. Just be sure to know what you want and your budget instead of trying everything in the shop. Some shops do allow to try with sticks, others only let you tap it with your fingers. Just bring along some familiar face customer and it'll be easier.
I was supposed to go biggrin.gif But I had debate.

JS Music, as I mentioned earlier, has their own brand of cymbals, and it IS Stagg, same factory, same alloys, everything.
QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Apr 13 2011, 01:29 PM)
how much does a good double bass pedal cost? that comes 2nd after cymbals lol
Good? Eliminators are RM1200+, Iron Cobras around RM1.4, Speedcobras 1.6, Demon Drive about 2k, DW 9000 series about 3k. You've got Gibraltars which aren't bad for between RM500-RM1200 depending on the series.
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 14 2011, 07:14 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Apr 13 2011, 09:38 PM)
i still cant do rudiments lol. its RLRLRR and LRLRLL?
QUOTE(treflip @ Apr 14 2011, 07:05 AM)
paraddidle la bro best... RLRRLRLLR
Paradiddle fun weii! biggrin.gif ESPECIALLY when you don't just use it on the snare.

Anyway guys... biggrin.gif

http://www.wadrumline.org/pdfs/rudiments/1...dimentBook2.pdf

The 128 Hybrid Rudiments.

Added on April 14, 2011, 7:37 pmuser posted image

Anyone gonna go for this?

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Apr 14 2011, 07:37 PM
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 14 2011, 07:51 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

On a basic level, they're sticking exercises. Once you start incorporating them into beats or fills, they can be as cool as you went them to be. Work on them in different timings, dynamics, go into triplets, anything. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Apr 14 2011, 07:53 PM
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 16 2011, 06:15 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Apr 15 2011, 09:44 AM)
the hoop on the reso side wont give much or nothing at all in sound difference...but on the better side it does...but if you like more control and focused sound and u play lots of combination of music then go for all die cast hoop..but if you like open sounded drums then go for triple flanged hoops...tune-ability wise die cast hoop is superior s it is shaped and has constant shape and it is heavy so that it holds the drum heads down and tuning is more precise as compared to triple flanged, but if your a drummer who has mastered dynamics and superior stick control then triple flanged has more advantage as it gives the drum a very open sound in nature and more dynamic range!! =) So if you like a certain type of hoop then go for it =)
Effects snare + Triple flanged hoop = SNARE SOLO HEAVEN! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(sarvinG @ Apr 16 2011, 12:25 PM)
Hey guys, I'm planning to get a drum set for myself now. I feel bored using an e-kit so I wanna get an acoustic one  blush.gif .

My price range is actually rm3.2k-3.5k (without cymbals and throne). Was interested in Tama superstar but called C&M music in JB and they gave an idea about the Ludwig Element PVC Series, which is just rm 2420. Thinking bout that, perhaps, I could spend more on cymbals and stuff. So what do you guys think about that Ludwig drums? I want something that would give a good sound. Its 6 pieces by the way. Compare this with the Tama imperialstar.

Thanks  biggrin.gif
Its better than the Imperialstar. End.
Anyway, don't forget to include the cost of changing the drumheads (resos if possible too!).

isaacmiranda7
post Apr 20 2011, 06:08 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Apr 20 2011, 05:49 PM)
i regret buying the evans e-rings lol
Why? biggrin.gif They work fine for me on my side snare tongue.gif And my toms as well.
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 20 2011, 07:14 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Apr 20 2011, 06:56 PM)
they cancel the overtones but now my drums sound dry lol.
You can't just throw the thing on lah tongue.gif Tune the drums with the rings on smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 22 2011, 12:49 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Shannon103 @ Apr 22 2011, 12:28 AM)
You know.....sometimes the snare sounds like it resonates too much from the drummers seat, but in the audience, it sounds just right.

Especially if you're playing without mics, the overtones usually can't be heard from the audience. On the other hand, if it sounds just right from the throne, it might sound TOO DRY from the floor. So the best would be to have someone else hit it, and go and listen to it from the audiences point of view.
I think some overtones are nice unless you're playing a really busy funk thing, and even then you can't have it too dry.

If you're miked up, its a totally different story, but the PA guy also has alot of things he can do with it like gates and filters.

=)
I agree. Sometimes I hate the way my piccolo sounds, but later on, if another drummer is playing, and I'm downstage, it actually sounds really good.

Any opinion on these?

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Apr 23 2011, 04:59 PM
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 26 2011, 12:48 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Apr 24 2011, 09:06 PM)
Hey treflip.. Remember you told me that you resell drums equipment.
Just wanna ask, do you sell sticks as well?

I did not know I am so good at breaking sticks. Broke 2 pairs within 2 months.. smile.gif

I wanna 7A sticks, slim and light. The lighter the better. Any ideas if you got those ? smile.gif
No need branded stuffs.. No brand also ok, as long as it is light and slim, 7A..

Oh ya, it is Isaac.. Mixed up you guys already.
Oh, I had a couple of heavy 7As and 5As stick. Those are ok to be used for practicing, to train the wrist and speed.

But I want this light light 7As stick is because if I am to use heavy sticks to play in church, it will be too loud for the congregation.. Not a good thing la, pity those sitting beside the drum, especially the ride and crash..

So prefer a lighter stick to play.. (But if i can break the stick, I must be hitting darn hard also.. Hahaha)

Added on April 25, 2011, 9:46 am

I love Cadeson 7As. Light.. But ended up broken severely.. The tip literally fly off when I hit the dark crash..
I love using the Tama Power Tools 7A Japanese Oak as well as the Tama Flame 7A Japanese oak biggrin.gif
They are both SUPER light, with great balance.

isaacmiranda7
post Apr 26 2011, 05:02 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Apr 26 2011, 10:04 AM)
As long as it is light, good deal for me..
So, you are selling them ah? Got good good price mah? Haha
You want bulk buy together?

RM290 for 10 for the Powertools I think.
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 26 2011, 06:45 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Apr 26 2011, 06:28 PM)
It is like encouraging me to break more sticks when I got 10 pairs in hand.. Haha

Must be in bulk purchases?
Nope smile.gif But easier lah, if bulk. xD You take 5, I take 5?
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 27 2011, 06:47 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Apr 26 2011, 07:33 PM)
if i take one, how much lolzi already have 2 sets of sticks. btwww, my right hands wrist is more flexible than my left, is it normal? i can wrist with no problems on my right, but my left a lil kekok
Practice, practice, practice. But I'm a hypocrite lah. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Apr 27 2011, 12:14 AM)
But confirm is super light de ah?
I don't want later buy 5 pairs already, but found out very heavy sad.gif Hahaha..

Btw, let's spread this purchase out, so each of us no need to get so many sticks smile.gif

1 bulk of 10 pairs, currently interested individuals are

1.) isaac - not sure how many I want yet tongue.gif
2.) bone
3.) Boomeraangkid
4.) Ramin - 2 pairs
5.) Scorpio -?

Any more takers? Who want to join in... Please reply here smile.gif

Added on April 27, 2011, 12:20 am

1 pair = rm29 smile.gif
QUOTE(Ramin @ Apr 27 2011, 12:30 AM)
I remember that it was RM260 (last time you advertised) and I'd like to buy 2 sets (7A Japanese Oak).
Price increase already tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 27 2011, 07:16 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Sure gua, no problem. smile.gif

So..

Bonescythe - 1
Ramin -2
Scorpio04 - 1

So 4 pairs already.
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 28 2011, 06:34 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Apr 27 2011, 10:49 PM)
So the current orders are as follows..

Bonescythe - 1 (At the moment)
Ramin - 1
Scorpio04 - 1
Boomeraangkid - 1

4 pairs already.

Any more takers.. Come come.. Let's try out this Japanese Oak drumstick.. smile.gif
We can give feedback on the sticks then after using it.. smile.gif
RM29/pairs (I assume is more expensive if buy separately, right ?)

Deadline for orders.. (Isaac make the call)
We end by next Wednesday?
isaacmiranda7
post Apr 30 2011, 03:55 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(beycont @ Apr 29 2011, 10:06 PM)
Hey, wanna ask what you guys do about sound proofing your drum practice or jamming room. Especially staying in terrace houses, the noise factor of acoustic drums is making me have second thoughts about getting an acoustic set, and drawing me to e-drums, but i must admit that acoustic drums has that X factor that appeals to me; plus it's much more fun to play.smile.gif

Are there any feasible noise proofing tips that you guys can share? Much appreciated!
I don't wink.gif Which is why I can't play my set at home. biggrin.gif

I think what you're talking about is more, sound reduction, than sound isolation, as the latter is rather expensive. How big is the room you will be playing in?

Added on April 30, 2011, 7:13 pm
QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Apr 30 2011, 06:16 AM)
Haha, was anticipating the last episode... will watch it after the weekend ler.
In the mean time, yes.... any thoughts?
Dunno if phase 3 of the audition is child's play for drummers like Dave Weckl and Vinnie Colaiuta or Gavin Harrison :S
I thought that Virgil Donati would be the one lol, upon seeing the roster during the trailer la at least.

Wonder if they'll release a hi-def DVD of this. I'll definitely get a copy. Wanna see Thomas Lang's and Virgil Donati's performance.
Watching the stuff now. ALL THE DRUMMERS are AMAZING.

Mangini and Minnemann. PHOAR.

Added on April 30, 2011, 7:52 pmAny one here uses drum gloves?

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Apr 30 2011, 07:52 PM
isaacmiranda7
post May 1 2011, 05:47 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(beycont @ May 1 2011, 10:28 AM)
Yup, sound reduction. The room's about 12' x 20'. Need to find a cost effective way of reducing the noise of the drums, all i know is that carpeting and using heavy curtains do help. Not sure what else.  hmm.gif

Oh, and Marco Minnemann is just  drool.gif , he's the main reason why i got into drumming in the first place, not just an amazing drummer, but a great musician as well IMO. And i think that is what sets a great drummer apart from the good drummers, being a musician first and a drummer second.
Heavy padding helps I think. And someway to help block off sound from escaping the room. Like rubber stuff near the door and all. Best case is you don't mind building a second wall. smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post May 2 2011, 03:37 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 1 2011, 07:12 PM)
How much does this snare cost? Is it good?

I see new pearl snares have different logo design. Should be old stuff thats why not sure their sound quality. You know la old stuff sure cant compare new stuff
What do you mean old stuff cannot compare new stuff?

Some of the older Slingerland snares are way better than the snares we have now.
isaacmiranda7
post May 2 2011, 05:25 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 2 2011, 03:50 PM)
I c.. Sorry Im new tongue.gif

So you have any experience with this snare or heard any reviews?
Pearl Masters is like Pearl's mass produced custom shop smile.gif Like custom, but less choices, compared to Masterworks. Its one of the most value for money snares you can get. About 1k-ish local market I think. Really good value for money.

But not everyone's taste lah. smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post May 2 2011, 05:42 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 2 2011, 05:32 PM)
thanks. Sounds like a good snare. Gonna blast at 200 bpm with this 1k snare  flex.gif
Are you a maple person or what? xD I like more powerful snares biggrin.gif
isaacmiranda7
post May 2 2011, 06:15 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 2 2011, 05:51 PM)
Im quite new. Actualyl dont really know how to differentiate the sound of different wood. All snares sound kinda same to me with exception of some really different snares like piccolo or wat la

WHat example are more powerful snare? This snare is not powerful? Powerful as in loud?
Hmm... punch lah xD HAHAHAHA! More... uhh. POWER. Say, like oak or birch biggrin.gif but maple's cool too.
isaacmiranda7
post May 4 2011, 06:00 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 2 2011, 08:24 PM)
I see what you mean. Like more attack "tak" like that. I also like that kind of snare. So this snare not recommended? Can i tune it to have more power of is it due to the wood material?

If no choice what type of snare u recommend? Steel will have the "tak" attack?
Of course maple also has attack, its just a matter of which type you would prefer. Some maple ones have great sounds.

Steel is pretty bright, usually with plenty of overtones.

But if you can control the overtones then they are pretty good. Depends on the alloy and the snare itself lah..
My piccolo is steel biggrin.gif

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 3 2011, 06:46 PM)
Meinl cymbals seem not so popular. I see great deal for the

souncaster medium custom soundwave hihat 14" online. Any reviews?
Meinl aren't so big in Malaysia because there's not much promotion, no sales anything. But even worldwide, they're still in the "big 4".

I'm not a Meinl person lah wink.gif Ask Thalidomide.

QUOTE(musefanatic @ May 3 2011, 08:59 PM)
I want buy hi-hat stand.Any suggestion
Budget? Get the Tama ones with the Cobra clamp tongue.gif

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ May 3 2011, 09:12 PM)
budget? better hunt out for 2nd hands. or stagg dh/j cymbals ok jg ah.

does anyone here know to remove mould/fungus/kulat inside a drum shell? haha.
Soundcaster better than Stagg/J Cymbals lahh tongue.gif

You take out the drum head first. tongue.gif THEN remove mould.

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ May 4 2011, 09:49 AM)
Haha, it's NEXT WEEK!
So can you make it?

Name list thus far:
Namqul
treflip
Jenglot
isaacmiranda7
Rayne1989

Come come... all those attendees, pls pm me your contact details.
I'll give you my contact details and the google map to my place smile.gif
Bro! I'm not coming. EXAMS.

25 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.8719sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:51 AM