Standard Questions during Interview
faceless
Oct 29 2010, 03:14 PM
You be surprise they ask you the same thing. A CEO is not a personnel expert. They think of ways to increase business and efficiency. They are least bother with questionares for interviewees. Be prepared for the typical questions.
They just wanted to assess your character. They commonly ask "tell me about yourself" to get the ball rolling. Then they will take the que form there. If they dont find it then they likely as for your opinion about the job function. My reminder is that they want to assess your character so it is important to project confidence. Dont get carried away with it and be a "know it all" type. I am sure you hate those characters too.
bucharestophere
Oct 30 2010, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(SImPle PLan @ Oct 29 2010, 02:59 PM) I received a call for 2nd interview for Tokio Marine which means I have to talk face to face with the CEO. Any advice on that? I have been on those standard questions mentioned by you all in the thread. What would I need to prepare to talk with the CEO? One of the ways to get prepared is to prepare a few scenarios and situations that you have gone through and be prepared to go through them in detail, more like a behavioural interview. I think the main purpose of the interview is to see whether you fit into the culture of the company and based on first impression, as to whether you have what it takes to be a team player in getting the job done.
daccorn
Oct 30 2010, 05:13 PM
and work on your "tell me about yourself" - I had an experience during a final interview, a few in fact that both me and the partner/senior executive were in the office but my file hasn't arrived yet - so they just ask me to begin talking about myself - it's really the least you can do to brush up that particular question - and do not afraid to bring out your interests in life - i was interviewing with an MNC and I was talking about my interest in long distance running and exercising , it was great because the partner could relate to one of his funnier experiences and then we started exchanging stories - official things didn't start even until the file was brought in by a HR girl but it was a pleasing experience : )
jolinchai
Nov 1 2010, 02:41 AM
i need to apply for internship for next year june 2011. may i know, when is the dateline suppose for me to apply an company?
This post has been edited by jolinchai: Nov 1 2010, 02:41 AM
BboyDora
Nov 7 2010, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(jolinchai @ Nov 1 2010, 02:41 AM) i need to apply for internship for next year june 2011. may i know, when is the dateline suppose for me to apply an company? For me, 2-3months earlier. If the company is taking intern students, there will be tonnes of candidates and they need time to process through it. Added on November 7, 2010, 9:35 pmQUOTE(jethrel @ Oct 27 2010, 05:04 PM) 1. Speak with confidence and fluently. 2. Ensure you don't fall into alot of 'eeerrr' ... 'aaaarrr'. If you don't know the answer, get prepared on how to divert that question 3. Most importantly - speak politely and concise with least amount of slang totally agreed. Especially on no. 2 and 3. This post has been edited by BboyDora: Nov 7 2010, 09:35 PM
raygraphix
Nov 10 2010, 11:31 AM

Below given list of common interview Questions
COMMON INTERVIEW QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
What type of people do you find difficult to get along with? During the course of your work you will deal with colleagues, clients and/or customers. Social skills are essential in any modern working environment. You should be capable of getting along with everyone.
Do you enjoy working? Of course! I do something I enjoy very much. I've been lucky enough to work with some great people, and each day brings new challenges and new experiences. I'd hate not to enjoy work.
Are you competitive? Is that good or bad? I'm quite a competitive person, but not overly so. I'd say the person I compete with most is myself. I work hard to achieve the goals and targets I set myself.
How do you cope with taking instructions? I'm good at taking instructions. One of the reasons I'm a good team player is because I can accept the lead and guidance of a supervisor. It's also important to me to accept the advice of colleagues from whose experience I can learn.
Can you work in a team? Absolutely. I feel very comfortable working in a team. I feel I have the necessary skills to communicate my own ideas and also to illicit contributions from my fellow team members. It's hard to imagine a project I've worked on where teamwork has not been key.
You've been out of work for a long time, haven't you? I chose to spend time evaluating my options before deciding on my next career move. I have been offered jobs since my last employment but I wanted to wait until I found a job that fulfilled my career goals.
What did you dislike most about your last job? If I was forced to name a dislike about my last company, I'd say it was their lack of commitment towards employee training and advancement. I know that RAMAZOTTI have an excellent corporate training program and it has a reputation for rewarding outstanding employees. I'm certainly not over-ambitious but I would relish the challenge of working to the best of my abilities within such a rewarding environment. I enjoyed my last job very much and I really don't have any feelings of dislike towards it. The reason I decided to leave was because I wanted to
Added on November 11, 2010, 4:33 pmTips Gals and Guys
Interview FAQ and Answers
1. What do I wear to an interview? Dress smartly preferably in a suit. Both men and women should wear conservative clothes, men ensure your shirts are ironed and your tie is not too garish. Women have the option to wear trousers or a skirt, and shoes should be sensible. 2. What does an interview entail? If you have reached the interview stage the employer has already noted from your CV that you have the essential qualifications for the job. An interview expands on this and shows what you are like in person and whether your character is suitable for the company. An interview also provides you with an insight into what it is like to work at this company. You will be asked questions relating to your previous positions your experience and what responsibilities you have held. The interviewer will probably ask you about certain aspects of your CV and what your long-term career goals are. 3. What should I take to an interview? Take a couple of copies of your CV in case the one you sent to the company has gone astray. If possible take a portfolio of relevant work which you have done. A pen and paper to make notes with after the interview, perhaps you need to take a tube map or A-Z so that you can find the offices in the first place. 4. How should I follow up after an interview? Telephone the interviewer within 24 hours and thank them for taking the time to see you, alternatively put a brief letter in the post thanking them for their time and reaffirming you interest in the job. If you have not heard their decision within a week telephone the interviewer and ask if they have chosen who will fill the post. 5. What sort of questions can I expect? The interviewer wants to assess your suitability for the job, so you will be asked about what your previous responsibilities entailed, your qualifications, why you want the job, what you can bring to the company and perhaps some questions about what you enjoy doing out of work. 6. How long are interviews? An interview usually lasts for about an hour, you should definitely aim to be in the office for at least that amount of time. 7. Who will interview me? The head of the department to which you are applying, or a member of the human resources team will interview you. It is possible that there will be more than one interviewer, in which case the panel will be made up of HR personnel, Managers, and people who you would be working with directly should you get the job. 8. Are there different types of interview? Interviews can be conducted in a number of ways. There are one-on-one interviews, panel/committee interviews, lunchtime interviews, and telephone interviews. Whilst the format may vary, the purpose of the interview will be the same, to get an insight into your personality and to see if you are suitable for their company. 9. How should I prepare for an interview? • Carry out research into the company, find out exactly what they do, and how many people they employ. What is their history and what is their future business strategy. • Make sure you know exactly where your interview is so you arrive punctually on the day. • You may like to practice by answering some commonly posed interview questions. 10. What qualities are interviewers looking for? The things that interviews will be looking for depends upon the industry sector and type of job that you are applying to. Generally employers are looking for: • Motivation • Confidence • Sociability • Initiative • Honesty • Intellect • Enthusiasm
This post has been edited by raygraphix: Nov 11 2010, 04:33 PM
otakotak
Nov 12 2010, 01:17 AM

Hi everyone, a long thread to read i just skipped it at 10th page I would like to ask, what about technical question?? For example if i want to apply for job that require UNIX/Linux skill or certain programming languages. What kind of problem they will ask?
I do know how to operate few *nix OSes (currently debian, redhat, freebsd) and write python,ruby,perl & C/C++ and other languages. Anyhow mostly i just self-learning those languages and there's no actual application i write instead just a small self testing program. note: I'm a fresh graduate. So, how should i prepare myself for interview?
This post has been edited by otakotak: Nov 12 2010, 01:18 AM
faceless
Nov 12 2010, 09:43 AM
Technical questions are not a problem if you know your stuff. If you don not know the material be honest. If you talk like a "tin kosong" you will lose a lot of marks. The more you talk, the more they will laugh, inside their hearts, at your stupidity. So if you dont know your stuff, then brush yourself up for future.
midnightraven
Nov 12 2010, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(otakotak @ Nov 12 2010, 01:17 AM) I would like to ask, what about technical question?? For example if i want to apply for job that require UNIX/Linux skill or certain programming languages. What kind of problem they will ask? i would ask what kind of application you have done before on those language. i like to know more on the complexity of the application that you have worked on, and the most difficult problem you have encountered and resolved. also i'll ask what language you prefer, why and what are the pros and cons compared to the other languages.
otakotak
Nov 12 2010, 03:22 PM

QUOTE(faceless @ Nov 12 2010, 09:43 AM) Technical questions are not a problem if you know your stuff. If you don not know the material be honest. If you talk like a "tin kosong" you will lose a lot of marks. The more you talk, the more they will laugh, inside their hearts, at your stupidity. So if you dont know your stuff, then brush yourself up for future. Basically just answer "don't know" for any question that i really don't know? QUOTE(midnightraven @ Nov 12 2010, 09:52 AM) i would ask what kind of application you have done before on those language. i like to know more on the complexity of the application that you have worked on, and the most difficult problem you have encountered and resolved. also i'll ask what language you prefer, why and what are the pros and cons compared to the other languages. I better prepare myself with only 2-3 language that i mastered & use the most right? Okay, thank you very much.
notoriousfiq
Nov 12 2010, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(otakotak @ Nov 12 2010, 03:22 PM) Basically just answer "don't know" for any question that i really don't know? Do it Chris Gardner (Will Smith - Pursuit of Happyness) style
chuckiecotton
Nov 14 2010, 12:00 PM

Just be honest on what you dunno, dun act smart, it's obvious.. speaking of which, interviewer wants to know your personality, and nt the fakeness.
shinningteen
Nov 14 2010, 02:35 PM
wan to ask , if the interviewer ask me talk about yourself ( fresh graduate). Can I answer like this:
My nama............come form where..........study what couse........introduce my weakness and strength . Or anything should not say, or i need to say what?
daccorn
Nov 14 2010, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(shinningteen @ Nov 14 2010, 05:35 PM) wan to ask , if the interviewer ask me talk about yourself ( fresh graduate). Can I answer like this: My nama............come form where..........study what couse........introduce my weakness and strength . Or anything should not say, or i need to say what? 1 study what course - and how you are going with it (better if you are going very well) 2 describe the activites you have participated in to show your hardworkingness and events u held to show your leadership. Do not say in this event it can be seen that you have leadership skills. Do it all casually. Do not describe any weakness. Also what you do outside of studies. 3 Lastly you can talk about your career aspirations (which then you can follow up with the reason you applied for the company you are interviewing for and why you want to work for them) this is a tactic to shift the topic to the company profile that yourself (but do this at the end only) a bit messy but hope it helps
faceless
Nov 16 2010, 09:59 AM
Daccorn, That is a good way to cover, "Tell me about yourself". I do not get the passaage that I put in bold below. How could your do it at the end when you are not the person asking the question? Did you mean you can refer to it again at the end? QUOTE(daccorn @ Nov 14 2010, 02:46 PM) 1 study what course - and how you are going with it (better if you are going very well) 2 describe the activites you have participated in to show your hardworkingness and events u held to show your leadership. Do not say in this event it can be seen that you have leadership skills. Do it all casually. Do not describe any weakness. Also what you do outside of studies. 3 Lastly you can talk about your career aspirations (which then you can follow up with the reason you applied for the company you are interviewing for and why you want to work for them) this is a tactic to shift the topic to the company profile that yourself (but do this at the end only) a bit messy but hope it helps This post has been edited by faceless: Nov 16 2010, 10:00 AM
chuckiecotton
Nov 17 2010, 10:47 PM

When I went for my scholarship interview, they didnt ask anything, they jz make me talk anything for 45 minutes. very scary.. but Lucky that I nank it.
nullplz
Nov 23 2010, 01:09 PM
I thought I wouldn't come to this thread anymore, at least for another couple of years. BUT I'm so frustrated with my current job which I've only started several months ago. I tried to stay positive but it's just so hard so I think I need to change my job. I'm assuming the interview gonna be extra tougher than when I was a first timer, fresh graduate because now that I've some experience..and also some reason as to why I wanna quit my job after less than a year. I've been advised by several people that it's not wise to say we wanna join your company bcoz we hate the other company, but honestly that is my main reason. People usually wanna try something new bcoz they've been doing the same thing for so long and bored of their current job, but I've only been in the company for several months, so if I say I want to quit because wanna try a different environment and learn new thing going to sounds so fake. I don't have any idea how to say it to the interviewer, I'm very sure they going to ask me why I wanna quit my current job! Help me plz, the interview is a few days away
notoriousfiq
Nov 23 2010, 04:29 PM
I think it's okay to say that your last working environment don't suit you well, plus you want to try something new..even in your situation. Doesn't sound fake to me. I'm sure the interviewer will understand, nothing wrong with that..just that they probably gonna ask "how so?".. then u answer.. so on..
karwaidotnet
Nov 24 2010, 09:10 AM
"What would you have done differently, on hindsight?" how best can i asnwer the above question? i see that it is asking wat is my weakness now...
jethrel
Nov 24 2010, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Nov 24 2010, 09:10 AM) "What would you have done differently, on hindsight?" how best can i asnwer the above question? i see that it is asking wat is my weakness now... Wrong. That is not asking what is your weakness ... Isn't obvious it's seeking your opinion on how perhaps creative you are on providing an alternate solution ?