Personal financial management, V2

dreamer101
post Jun 19 2011, 10:22 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(goer&doer @ Jun 19 2011, 09:01 PM)
Do you see the price of property will get lower in the next 5 years?
Till then, building emergency fund > save> other investment tool....

Added on June 19, 2011, 9:06 pm

Never thought of commercial property...
Different ball game? Mind to share more? Just want to know more smile.gif
goer&doer,

<<Do you see the price of property will get lower in the next 5 years?>>

Why does this matters??

Until you can afford to buy, the price is IRRELEVANT.

A) Afford in term of personal situation. Know who to marry and can stay married for a while. Right person to have a family with. This take a few years.

B) When you KNOW that you have the RIGHT partner and have children, then, you know WHERE you want to LIVE. The schools that your children need to go to play a major part where you live.

C) Financial situation. You need a lot more to buy, furnish, raise your family. YOU may want to stay home and be a home maker..

Until you are READY to buy something, the price of that thing is IRRELEVANT.

On the other hand, if you buy before you are ready

1) You will be in debt hell and buying a house that you cannot afford. Paying a lot of more housing loan interest that you cannot afford.

2) Forced to move and sell in an inopportune time due to change in personal circumstances.

Dreamer

SUSMaterazzi
post Jun 20 2011, 02:35 PM

1,569 posts

buy property loh

71% gain
ah_suknat
post Jun 20 2011, 03:47 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jun 20 2011, 06:35 AM)
buy property loh

71% gain
thats only one in a hundreds if not thousand, property investment also has already proven that one can loss his or her money as well. like wise, business too can achieved higher thatn 100% return.

nothing is guaranteed
wongmunkeong
post Jun 20 2011, 03:53 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jun 20 2011, 03:47 PM)
thats only one in a hundreds if not thousand, property investment also has already proven that one can loss his or her money as well. like wise, business too can achieved higher thatn 100% return.

nothing is guaranteed
Yeah, that bro might as well point to super wizard traders and investors in Forex, Options, Futures & Stocks instead of that article tongue.gif

Bottom line: There is no perfect vehicle for all situations. brows.gif
dreamer101
post Jun 20 2011, 04:06 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 20 2011, 03:53 PM)
Yeah, that bro might as well point to super wizard traders and investors in Forex, Options, Futures & Stocks instead of that article  tongue.gif

Bottom line: There is no perfect vehicle for all situations.  brows.gif
wongmunkeong,

The vehicle is dependent on the driver too. If the driver is BLIND, all vehicles are dangerous....

Dreamer
wongmunkeong
post Jun 20 2011, 04:16 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 20 2011, 04:06 PM)
wongmunkeong,

The vehicle is dependent on the driver too.  If the driver is BLIND, all vehicles are dangerous....

Dreamer
Aiya, bro Dreamer - i'm ass-U-me-ing fler is semi-sighted lar, totally blind = main tikam sahaja. NEARLY as good as "investing" in 4D & lotteries. laugh.gif
eg. Like comparing me VS Michael Shoemaker (dunno how to spell his surname, sorry) in driving any vehicles >=200 horsies tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 20 2011, 04:16 PM
benedict1213
post Jun 22 2011, 07:44 PM

183 posts

hello every expert here. I'm Benedict aged of 23years old. I investing FOREX and Silver for 2years.. I'm seek for advise that, what could i do with my spare money RM400-RM500 (after deduct expenses and Saving)?
I did some calculation on FIXED Deposit which can get 3.8% for 5yrs contract, but this couldn't fight against 5% inflation and its return isn't the cup of my tea. sincerely needs your appreciated's advice! salut*
kenetix
post Jun 24 2011, 01:59 AM

197 posts

Don't bother. Investing in physical silver will definitely be a better option. FD interest is 3.8% but inflation is 6% as the value of currency keeps falling. Hedge against fiat money.
dreamer101
post Jun 24 2011, 06:54 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Jun 22 2011, 07:44 PM)
hello every expert here.  I'm Benedict aged of 23years old. I investing FOREX and Silver for 2years..  I'm seek for advise that, what could i do with my spare money RM400-RM500 (after deduct expenses and Saving)? 
I did some calculation on FIXED Deposit which can get 3.8% for 5yrs contract, but this couldn't fight against  5% inflation and its return isn't the cup of my tea.  sincerely needs your appreciated's advice!  salut*
benedict1213,

BASIC rule of personal finance.

You do not invest on anything until you have 3 to 6 months of expense saved as Emergency Fund. Do you have that?? If you don't, save that in FD first.

<< I investing FOREX and Silver for 2years.. >>

You GAMBLE on FOREX and Silver. That is NOT investing. Invest means that you can "sleep for 5 years" and do nothing. You have to monitor FOREX and silver everyday. That is a TRADE.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jun 24 2011, 04:12 PM
jack2
post Jun 24 2011, 12:44 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Registered one new FMS account.

Need to declare employment details de ah?
benedict1213
post Jun 24 2011, 04:50 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 24 2011, 07:54 AM)
benedict1213,

BASIC rule of personal finance.

You do not invest on anything until you have 3 to 6 months of expense saved as Emergency Fund.  Do you have that?? If you don't, save that in FD first.

<< I investing FOREX and Silver for 2years..  >>

You GAMBLE on FOREX and Silver.  That is NOT investing.  Invest means that you can "sleep for 5 years" and do nothing.  You have to monitor FOREX and silver everyday.  That is a TRADE.

Dreamer
hi Dreamer, sorry for my poor english. i Mean i trade Forex and Silver since 2 years ago. i do monitor and study market and economic everyday.
yes, i do have 3-5month of expenses as emergency fund. what should i do next?

kenetix bro, i do grab some silver definitely! i planned to use 15-30% of my RM500 monthly allowance. any suggestion?
hacker6280
post Jun 24 2011, 06:28 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Jun 24 2011, 04:50 PM)
hi Dreamer, sorry for my poor english.  i Mean i trade Forex and Silver since 2 years ago. i do monitor and study market and economic everyday.
yes, i do have 3-5month of expenses as emergency fund.  what should i do next? 

kenetix bro, i do grab some silver definitely!  i planned to use 15-30% of my RM500 monthly allowance.  any suggestion?
What you plan to do with RM150? (30% of RM500).
If me i will go for a decent meal once a month with RM150. drool.gif
benedict1213
post Jun 24 2011, 08:54 PM

183 posts

wooot! haha.. treat me bro! xD
i will do 30% for investment, 30% for silver, 40% for saving..
mfa333
post Jun 25 2011, 08:52 AM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

for fresh grad, which 1 is better:

6 mth salary for emergency fund -> max out asb -> start investing (FD or PM)

or

emergency fund -> monthly deposit on asb with monthly investing (DCA) in PM
dreamer101
post Jun 25 2011, 09:00 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jun 25 2011, 08:52 AM)
for fresh grad, which 1 is better:

6 mth salary for emergency fund -> max out asb -> start investing (FD or PM)

or

emergency fund -> monthly deposit on asb with monthly investing (DCA) in PM
mfa333,

If you are BUMI, after Emergency Fund, your first 200K of investment should be in ASB.

PM is not as good a deal as ASB.

Dreamer
mfa333
post Jun 25 2011, 09:04 AM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jun 25 2011, 09:00 AM)
mfa333,

If you are BUMI, after Emergency Fund, your first 200K of investment should be in ASB.

PM is not as good a deal as ASB.

Dreamer
alright, afterwards, where should the spare money goes?

and, what do you think of taking 200k loan and put it to asb? is it a wise choice? bank rate is 4.95% and asb rate is minimum 7% (mostly 8-9%).
dreamer101
post Jun 25 2011, 09:10 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jun 25 2011, 09:04 AM)
alright, afterwards, where should the spare money goes?

and, what do you think of taking 200k loan and put it to asb? is it a wise choice? bank rate is 4.95% and asb rate is minimum 7% (mostly 8-9%).
mfa333,

I would not advice you to do it. Especially, you are a YOUNG person. The temptation to spend is TOO HIGH for you to overcome.

Financially, it makes sense. But, emotionally, most people cannot handle this.

Dreamer
cielchan
post Jun 25 2011, 10:05 AM

21 posts

Hi all sifus,

I am a fresh graduate and just enter workforce last month. I need some advice for my financial plan.

Income
---------
Salary: RM 2500 (No EPF)

Expenses
-----------
Rental: RM 300
Water & electricity bills: RM 60
Telephone: RM 40
Internet: RM 50
Food: RM 300
Transport: RM 200
Pets: RM 100

So, what left over is around RM 1450.

My Plans are:
1. Emergency Funds (4 Months Salary), currently already have 1 Month in savings account. for the rest, I'm planning to put this on unit trust. But still don't know which type of unit trust.

2. Saving to buy property. Still don't know how much and which type of investment instrument.

3. Retirement fund (at least 10% of my salary). I haven't decide the investment instrument for this, I'm thinking it might be either unit trust or gold bar.

I do not have experience with unit trust and I'm considering the investment instrument that could beat up the inflation, so what u guys think?

SilverfoX
post Jun 25 2011, 11:44 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(cielchan @ Jun 25 2011, 10:05 AM)
Hi all sifus,

I am a fresh graduate and just enter workforce last month. I need some advice for my financial plan.

Income
---------
Salary: RM 2500 (No EPF)

Expenses
-----------
Rental: RM 300
Water & electricity bills: RM 60
Telephone: RM 40
Internet: RM 50
Food: RM 300
Transport: RM 200
Pets: RM 100

So, what left over is around RM 1450.

My Plans are:
1. Emergency Funds (4 Months Salary), currently already have 1 Month in savings account. for the rest, I'm planning to put this on unit trust. But still don't know which type of unit trust.

2. Saving to buy property. Still don't know how much and which type of investment instrument.

3. Retirement fund (at least 10% of my salary). I haven't decide the investment instrument for this, I'm thinking it might be either unit trust or gold bar.

I do not have experience with unit trust and I'm considering the investment instrument that could beat up the inflation, so what u guys think?
Wow you manage to save more than 50% of your monthly income.
Good on you mate. Keep up the good work.

My suggestion would be:
Continue saving, invest in yourself first. Learn about finance management, property/ share investment etc.
Once you are ready, start low and go slow.
Don't rush yourself, you are still young, take it easy. You wouldnt go wrong with good financial knowledge.

If you rush things, it ss very difficult to start all over again once you make a fatal mistake.
All the best.

kingsora
post Jun 28 2011, 11:16 AM

Louis Litttt
1,407 posts

I just want to thank all the regulars here. I've been following the thread for quite
some time since I started working. Currently working to fill up my emergency funds.
Thanks for all the opinions.

rclxms.gif

151 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:55 AM