Personal financial management, V2

ah_suknat
post Oct 19 2010, 08:53 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

emergency money is very very very important....cant stress it more..

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Oct 19 2010, 08:54 AM
ah_suknat
post Oct 21 2010, 10:09 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Oct 21 2010, 08:41 AM)
hi guys,

I am working in one MNC for over 1 year already. I have just got my increment this month. My new salary is RM 3.2k without deducting the EPF, tax and SOCSO (previously is RM 2.7k) so after deduct all those stuff should be rm 2.9k like that.

Here is my breakdown of my expenses for each month.

Food - RM 600 (eat with gf and friends)
Offering to church - RM 320
Utility bills - RM 400 (maybe more a little bit sometimes)
Petrol - RM 300
Toll - RM 50 (estimation only)
Entertainment - RM 200
Total is RM 1870.

I can save around RM 1000 per month. Is it consider good enough or should i cut other expenses now?

Please share your thoughts. smile.gif
you can save around 30% of your salary..your doing good...
ah_suknat
post Oct 27 2010, 04:58 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

good job on micro planning, but I can see a lot of stuff are not counted in, are you in a relationship? entertainment? other food stuff etc

but normally when people are talking about emergency fund, usually its based on your salary, not your savings....so your 3 month emergency fund is around 10k...0r 20k for 6 month

ah_suknat
post Oct 30 2010, 12:52 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Oct 30 2010, 03:32 AM)
Here there I hear people say that "don't put in FD, inflation will kill your money".

Heck are we another Zimbabwe or what? Does the value of our money losses exponentially?

Then everything inflation then no need save money loh. Got what spend what. Wah, baguslah ekonomi baik! Ada duit rolling in the economy!

Doesn't forking make sense!

Be reminded that banks pay an amount of interests rate to you as a counter to inflation.
what they mean is, yeah, they do give interest rate, but the interest rate is lower than inflation rate, or just equal at best.
in which case, you only use FD as a parking lot for your money, not as "investment"
ah_suknat
post Nov 2 2010, 11:45 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 1 2010, 01:21 PM)
Amanah Saham Malaysia.

In any case, I would like to ask, I am 23 this year and just started working for barely a year. I save about RM 1,000 per month and would like to 'invest' it and not just have it in my savings account.

I hear that the safest options are FDs, unit trusts or mutual funds or some forms of shares. What should I be looking for and I know I will have to read up to know more but there are so many websites and/or books. Mind recommending a few that I could pick up and read?

Like today I went to MPH and I found several 'secrets' to success. Secrets of a young millionaire, secrets of a student millionaire and so on and so forth. I don't know who to trust or what to read especially for someone as green as me.

Your advice is appreciated.
take advices from the books which a pinch of salt...most of time it doesnt applicable in real life.
the secret in investing is actually "risk management", and risk management/appetite differs from one person to another, even if they have the same amount of money and knowledge.

so bare in mind investment can also mean doing business, which means you can lose money.
ah_suknat
post Nov 26 2010, 10:37 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Nov 25 2010, 04:40 PM)
Almost the end of the year.

Was actually targeting to save RM10,000.00 this year but I end up with RM20,000.00 cash.

I spent on what I need but heck, I have additional funds!

Have only 1 loan which is PTPTN.

Am I in good shape?
you bet!
ah_suknat
post Dec 13 2010, 09:43 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 4 2010, 05:50 AM)
car insurance per month of RM250? one year RM3k already
ins for installment

Added on December 13, 2010, 9:45 am
QUOTE(pauerxi @ Dec 12 2010, 03:30 PM)
thx for the opinion. so when im gonna buy a car for me? i mean what is the financial condition that allow me to buy 1? med card is what? will pay every time im going to clinic? it cover the cost if im get in ward or surgical/serious decease e.g heart attack/diabetes.
thx for the advice. i thnk i not gonna buy it right now but have no idea when im gonna buy it. i also planning to keep 500 for monthly savings but what is the best way to keep it, asb/unit trust or anything?
try to save enough savings equivalent to your 6 months total salary 1st, then only think about buying your first car.

which means if you bank dont have RM10800 cash in your bank as emergency fund now dont even think of buying yet.

Added on December 13, 2010, 9:49 am
QUOTE(dun_panic @ Dec 12 2010, 03:12 PM)
i think u should stick to motorcycle for now,, im still with my EX5 earning about 3k still butthurt. Planing to buy a 2nd EG6 in future x). yeap, rm20 daily for food is about right, better if u cook for dinner. 1 of the most "must have" is insurance . Im with prudential  now, rm150 a mnth. Got med card n also saving.
I have been living my life without insurance...I am 26...the only son...

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Dec 13 2010, 09:49 AM
ah_suknat
post Jan 25 2011, 12:15 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jan 21 2011, 04:02 PM)
Please advise me.

I got bad news that the company that I am working is not providing any increment and bonus. My colleague and I felt devastated.

More awful is that I am bonded with the company for another year which means I could not switch jobs or I need to pay a compensation for leaving.

There are no OT and as a result, I have fixed income every month.

I am no entrepreneur and selling stuff would only generate negative income to me.

I have a professional job but salary wise, it is still below RM3,000.00 despite being in KL/Selangor area. Professional job is shift basis. 4days on 4 days off.

It is okay if I apply work part time at a cafe or restaurant? I have past experience.

Will I be looked down upon?
how much is the compensation? if you found a much better paying job that is worth to pay the compensation for quiting, do it
ah_suknat
post Feb 9 2011, 06:03 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(pinky&brain @ Feb 9 2011, 07:42 AM)
Need some financial advise.

Combined household income p.a = appx RM140,000 net of EPF, tax & misc mthly expenses, excluding repayment of loan below
Current cash & cash equivalent = appx RM150,000 (appx RM50k in ASB & govn bonds, bal in FD)
RM350k new loan (landed property for own stay) = appx repayment of RM1.5k per mth
RM150k new loan (low cost apmt for investment) = appx repayment of RM600 per mth, but rental income enough to breakeven

we know it’s silly to be placing all in FD, but am setting it aside so that we have the cash to invest when there are good opportunities. We used to own some blue chip counter stock, but liquidated for some reason. Now we are looking at rebalancing our assets portfolio. Planning to gear up to purchase another one or two property for investment as well as looking some into stocks.

But before we go on rampage and become highly geared and debt laden, we are looking for some financial advise on general rule of thumb on liquidity and gearing.

Both of us are in our mid/late twenties. 

Appreciate advise on this
hmmmm you dont even max out your ASB and you left some for FD??
you mad??????
ah_suknat
post Feb 10 2011, 12:39 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(pinky&brain @ Feb 9 2011, 10:26 AM)
not all of us have the opportunity to subscribe the max amount if you know what i mean.
no I dont

but If you want me to guess, I bet the ASB account is not yours, you ask your friends or relative who are eligible for ASB to invest on behalf of you. am I right?
ah_suknat
post Feb 10 2011, 04:31 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

=.="
ah_suknat
post Feb 16 2011, 09:01 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(iStevei @ Feb 15 2011, 04:08 PM)
Need advise.

My friend current salary is almost 3k. Working at rural area. Food paid by company.
He get an offer at city offering him 5k and yet he turned them down after carefully do his budgeting on his monthly expenses.

I advised him to grab the offer as 3k to 5k its alot of increment!
Is working at city requires very high monthly expenses? ><

anyone here experience b4? If salary increase merely by 10-15% its understandable but its over 50% increment!
may be he found a girl she like at his current work place??
ah_suknat
post Mar 22 2011, 10:16 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

I wanna ask, will take up ASB loan make you harder to apply other loan say housing loan, car loan, and personal loan?
ah_suknat
post Apr 1 2011, 04:42 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(spiderman@lyn @ Mar 31 2011, 08:33 AM)
1. Not for time being as the car still new. As for the bike I am looking @ 2nd hand bike that cost RM1500 - RM2000 (within my budget) which i planning to buy cash so no additional loan here. Then I get to remove the toll, parking and lesser fuel.
2. Medical (RM183.30) + Education (RM485.80). The edu. Insurance I only need to pay 10 years. Have 8 more years to go.
3. The reason I still maintain the landline is because my company pay for the broadband and also home alarm system require landline. of cause @ time we use the landline to make local calls.
4. Both house did not bring income. My parents staying in the 2nd house. I have 2 years and 9 month to settle the 2nd house loan.
at your situation, I dont advice you to get bike...bike are definitely higher risk of getting yourself killed in an event of accident (touch wood), its ok if you are still single and young, but you already have dependents.

instead, try not to get insurance instead for a year or 2( the risk is definitely lower than getting a bike and die) than you can resume getting insurance 2 years later. imagine how much money you can save everymonth without having to pay for insurance.

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Apr 1 2011, 04:44 PM
ah_suknat
post Apr 3 2011, 10:08 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(chester_85 @ Apr 3 2011, 07:11 AM)
i'm 26 this year... Would require some advice on my financial management

INCOME:
Salary : RM 3890 (before tax,epf deduction)

LIABILITIES:
Food: RM600
Small room rental: RM 340
Utilities bills: RM 50
Phone: RM 50
Transportation: RM100
Insurance: RM 150
Parents: RM 500
Study Loan Repayment :RM 500
TOTAL :  RM2290

I'm planning to get a car soon which I think it'll be a quite a burden for me.
I expect there'll be at least additional 1k liabilities.

What can i do for better cash flow?
get cheaper car like local cars, monthly payment will be somewhere around rm500
ah_suknat
post Apr 4 2011, 04:45 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(chester_85 @ Apr 4 2011, 08:33 AM)

That's my initial planning for the car as well. Monthly installment <=600  + fuel + parking  , will be less than 1k , i think  sweat.gif
dont forget insurance and road tax, toll, and regular car service icon_idea.gif
ah_suknat
post Jun 16 2011, 09:55 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Jun 16 2011, 06:13 AM)
hi all,

wanna share my financial planning n possible ways to improve it

age 28, married with 1 kid..started saving on-off 1 years ago..wife also work but i will consider my income only
to try support the basic family finance..current stats:

salary 2400 nett

monthly expenses
car loan = 853 - 8 years to go
house loan/rental = 0 - stay with inlaw, planning to rent or buy an apartment in 1 year
utilities hp bills = 300 - paying some
petrol car bike maintenance = 300 - ride a bike to work, car for other purpose
food = 400 - sometimes eat outside / at work
baby needs = 200 - diapers milk etc
savings around = 3-400 - for emergency

investment
forex = 15k but in process of bring out since no more secure in term of return, need few months to bring out

debts
education loan = 500/monthly paid with forex dividend but stopped a few months edi
total = 30k in 4-5 years (no % since it was scholarship)
outstanding loan = about 5k
my bro also owes me 5k..still pushing wink.gif
credit card = 2k - paying on off 200-300 monthly

my question:

1. planning to rent an apartment within 1 year..rental range 600-800..how to make it possible? i feel it is possible by squeezing a bit here and there..
if possible to stretch more than 800 to 1000 monthly ( maybe wife help a bit ) also thinking of buying apartment around rm150k..skim rumah pertama also there to help smile.gif

2. my education loan outstanding 5k, 500/monthly..if i borrow 10k personal loan (can get 3.3%), pay 5k..and invest 5k (plus my other debts if can back get fast) somewhere else than in the forex, can it helps to sustain the monthly payment? or even better to completely cover it biggrin.gif
seriously in your situation how could you even dare to get marry sumore have kid?...
ah_suknat
post Jun 20 2011, 03:47 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jun 20 2011, 06:35 AM)
buy property loh

71% gain
thats only one in a hundreds if not thousand, property investment also has already proven that one can loss his or her money as well. like wise, business too can achieved higher thatn 100% return.

nothing is guaranteed
ah_suknat
post Jul 1 2011, 01:14 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(stonkong @ Jun 30 2011, 07:42 AM)
I AM cik Nor, i work at TxKx, sarawak. My salary is RM 400.
My daily expense is RM 15.  i always worry for my futures. Any idea on how is the financial planning to help myself??
your salary is RM400?

time to move to the city and find a new job..
ah_suknat
post Jul 6 2011, 12:42 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(bskot91 @ Jul 5 2011, 03:23 PM)
i'm still studying pharmacy, and i owe to ptptn around 72000,
its very difficult for me to  pay back..
but i'm not worried anymore about it, even now i'm still stdying, because i have the way to settle  it..
and your point is...? so that people would pm you how you did it and you can intro them those thing in you siggie?

0.0278sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:19 PM