Personal financial management, V2

cielchan
post Jun 25 2011, 10:05 AM

21 posts

Hi all sifus,

I am a fresh graduate and just enter workforce last month. I need some advice for my financial plan.

Income
---------
Salary: RM 2500 (No EPF)

Expenses
-----------
Rental: RM 300
Water & electricity bills: RM 60
Telephone: RM 40
Internet: RM 50
Food: RM 300
Transport: RM 200
Pets: RM 100

So, what left over is around RM 1450.

My Plans are:
1. Emergency Funds (4 Months Salary), currently already have 1 Month in savings account. for the rest, I'm planning to put this on unit trust. But still don't know which type of unit trust.

2. Saving to buy property. Still don't know how much and which type of investment instrument.

3. Retirement fund (at least 10% of my salary). I haven't decide the investment instrument for this, I'm thinking it might be either unit trust or gold bar.

I do not have experience with unit trust and I'm considering the investment instrument that could beat up the inflation, so what u guys think?

cielchan
post Jun 29 2011, 09:21 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(SilverfoX @ Jun 25 2011, 11:44 AM)
Wow you manage to save more than 50% of your monthly income.
Good on you mate. Keep up the good work.

My suggestion would be:
Continue saving, invest in yourself first. Learn about finance management, property/ share investment etc.
Once you are ready, start low and go slow.
Don't rush yourself, you are still young, take it easy. You wouldnt go wrong with good financial knowledge.

If you rush things, it ss very difficult to start all over again once you make a fatal mistake.
All the best.
Thanks for the advice, I think I still need to learn a lot about finance management. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Thinker* @ Jun 27 2011, 11:53 PM)
If u are eating out most of the time, a projection of RM450 -RM600 is more accurate for food. If u drink starbucks and eat McD from time to time better adjust it to RM800. Trust me.
I had some certain health condition and the doctor suggest me to become a vegetarian, so I think RM300 would be enough for me. sweat.gif
cielchan
post Jun 30 2011, 10:14 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Jun 30 2011, 01:09 PM)
some points i have on my mind..

1. save money for 30%-50% down payment house
2. buy house with with loan tenure of 5-7 years.  Buy only house at price max 2.5 x annual salary
3. continue saving and plan to start your business, learn how to sell during mortgage tenure. aim 25K savings every 5 years.
4. after 5-7 years u are now debt free.
5. buy 2nd property or start-up a small business for passive income with the 25K savings.
6. aim to increase passive income until u succeed and dont need to rely on your job.. aim for financial independence as fast as possible.
7. rinse and repeat.

using unit trust/investment can get u rich by the age of 50.  thats a waste of time and opportunity. 
better seek to set your own business and seek 100%200% ROI.       
life is too good to waste on cutting coupons and being thrifty all the time.
Actually, it's quite interesting, but I do have something on my mind,
1. Where should I put my money on the period of saving money for house down payment? I think it's a waste if I just put my money on savings account.
2. Why did u advise me to only buy house at price max 2.5 x annual salary? why max 2.5 x annual salary?
3. Is it possible to save up to 25K while I also have to pay house loan for 5 years? (If there's no tenant that rent my property)

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 30 2011, 01:23 PM)
Wow, too conservative for me.. it's like buying a car.  laugh.gif Personally for me, 30% DP, loan period 15-20 years. Make sure the rental is able to cover the loan if you get the right location. Results = free house financed by your tenant.  wink.gif
I think 15-20 years is quite a long period, thus I'll get the house for free after 15 years, why should I choose 15 years loan period instead of 5-7 years period?

0.0212sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:59 PM