Personal financial management, V2

jasontoh
post Apr 7 2013, 10:55 PM

8,440 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Apr 7 2013, 10:40 PM)
Nowadays cannot rely too much on siblings being filial. I also do not wish my children to give me $. I will try to be independance at senior age. Do not want to be a burden to them.

My parents are in Ipoh. I am working in Penang, groceries those all my own expense. I do not stay with them after I come out to work.

The reason why I save so extreme is I think of future. Golden age senior citizen that time, when can I retire.

RM1 today is not same value as RM1 tomorrow.

Easy example is

I save RM2k per month now, spend expenses RM800 per month. I able to survive. Good.

If I now spend RM2K per month and save RM800, now RM2K just enought for my spending, do you think RM800 in 30yrs later is enough for me to spend monthly? I may not be able to survive with RM800 per month by then so need to depends on children to being filial give me some $ to survive?

I am like buying insurance for myself to retire without need of children to be filial. What if they being filial can afford to give you RM500 when single. After marriage have children too, maybe they can afford to pay u RM200 only. With the RM800 + RM 200 per month, can you still survive?

Now 2013 minimum wage in RM900. I don't think RM1K per month 30yrs later can survive.
So, you are from Ipoh as well? I thought you were staying with your parents in Penang. My bad. You are right about if you spend less now you will be able to survive with the savings. Anyway, I'm not asking you to be filial just so that your children will be the same in the future. Just that I'm thinking it is part of the culture. Since you are staying by your own and not leeching your parents, then you are really on your own and you have my respect for that.

This post has been edited by jasontoh: Apr 7 2013, 10:56 PM
AAAABBBB
post Apr 7 2013, 10:59 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 7 2013, 10:53 PM)
Do you know that a wedding registration is almost free? You just need 2 friends as saksi...

The grandeur is the wedding dinner... subsidised by ang pows.

One of the worse wasteful spending is having a wall-size portrait photo of the couple... normally hang above the bed in the bedroom... so only the couple get to see it after the wedding day... could you imagine facing the same wedding photo day after day. Another wasteful spending is hiring a video photographer... see video only once, nobody wants to see it again... don't dream that the grandchildren would be interested!
Wedding free? Can be subsidised by ang pows..Hehehe...U must be chinese

U ask Malay friend and see.. Wedding need invite whole kampong kenduri, green pow few cents or few riggit only..

Easily can calculate RM5 min per head, they estimate for few hundred ppl. Easily more than RM10k for makan kenduri alone

Other also not count in..Hehehe...

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Apr 7 2013, 11:02 PM
j.passing.by
post Apr 7 2013, 11:08 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Apr 7 2013, 10:59 PM)
Wedding free? Can be subsidised by ang pows..Hehehe...U must be chinese

U ask Malay friend and see.. Wedding need invite whole kampong kenduri, green pow few cents or few riggit only..

Easily can calculate RM5 min per head, they estimate for few hundred ppl. Easily more than RM10k for makan kenduri alone

Other also not count in..Hehehe...
RM5+ per head is comparably low to RM2000+ per table...
1,000 heads = rm5,000... other things can still cut; wedding cards can be printed on cheap paper unlike the embossed cards by Chinese friends.

AAAABBBB
post Apr 8 2013, 07:47 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 7 2013, 11:08 PM)
RM5+ per head is comparably low to RM2000+ per table...
1,000 heads = rm5,000... other things can still cut; wedding cards can be printed on cheap paper unlike the embossed cards by Chinese friends.
smile.gif Malay cannot cut much. Put up tent, fans, seats those also cost money. They also need to tukar hantaran. that cost a lot too.

Can assume that they easily spend RM10K but the green pow collect maybe few hundred ringgit only. Sometimes whole family come kenduri maybe 7-8 ppl just give 1 green pow RM5

anyway we are not here to argue the cost of marriage..

It is just that I read in Personal Money that mention in Malaysia a grand marriage use around RM50K. Average one around RM25K.
SUSMaterazzi
post Apr 8 2013, 08:20 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 7 2013, 10:53 PM)
Do you know that a wedding registration is almost free? You just need 2 friends as saksi...

The grandeur is the wedding dinner... subsidised by ang pows.

One of the worse wasteful spending is having a wall-size portrait photo of the couple... normally hang above the bed in the bedroom... so only the couple get to see it after the wedding day... could you imagine facing the same wedding photo day after day. Another wasteful spending is hiring a video photographer... see video only once, nobody wants to see it again... don't dream that the grandchildren would be interested!
you must be single and no gf.

you know research shows couples regret not hv better pre wed photo and thats once in lifetime.
SUSMaterazzi
post Apr 8 2013, 08:48 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 7 2013, 11:20 AM)
Come on lah, it all depends on what you want. I am in jakarta and there are plenty of 100k  to 150k apartments around the city centre.

Of course there is also 2 mil condo near kuningan, central park, senayan and gated community which land only cost 10k per m2.

It all depends on your expectation.s. if you only earn so much dont expect the sun and moon. wink.gif
i want landed house.the avani bsd already 700k bro.it's in ulu
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 09:44 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Apr 8 2013, 08:48 AM)
i want landed house.the avani bsd already 700k bro.it's in ulu
If you want landed house, if you got the buying power then go ahead, if cannot afford then earn more... otherwise choose a cheaper accommodation.

For Avani BSD, what do you expect for gated community, with lush garden, water feature, club house etc etc? Try compare to Malaysia gated community and see if you can get anything below RM 1.5 million? tongue.gif Avani BSD is still in jabotabek, so it's consider within the city...

Anyway only idiots misinformed people will buy landed house in Jakarta outskirts, unless of course they like the traffic jam to and fro to city centre which can take 3-4 hours...on a multilane tolled highway... at speed of 10-20 kmh. laugh.gif

Complaining about high house price will not help you. It is the same everywhere. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 8 2013, 10:00 AM
shootingstars83
post Apr 8 2013, 10:00 AM

251 posts

Wow I didn't know houses in Jakarta is so expensive.
Gary1981
post Apr 8 2013, 10:00 AM

1,610 posts

Your monthly income RM2.8k is consider low income at ur age 32, but you are hardworking to earn more with OT and outside business. BUt that contribute to your long working hours. It is ok that now you are single, it will be different when you are a family man.

gark
post Apr 8 2013, 10:04 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(shootingstars83 @ Apr 8 2013, 10:00 AM)
Wow I didn't know houses in Jakarta is so expensive.
Price is crazy, jumped over 200% within 3 years. All pure speculation as you see all the houses, condo apartment are all empty. Bound to crash soon as the average salary of uni educated executive (freshies) Indonesian in in the median of RM 800-RM 1,200 per month. AND house loan is 9%-12% p.a.

My friend bought the 1000+ sq ft condo at Central Park, at Rp 1.5 Milyar a few years ago, now the selling price is Rp 3.5-4 Milyar. doh.gif

1 Milyar = 1 billion Rupiah. tongue.gif = 310k RM

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 8 2013, 10:07 AM
shootingstars83
post Apr 8 2013, 10:06 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 8 2013, 10:04 AM)
Price is crazy, jumped over 200% within 3 years. All pure speculation as you see all the houses, condo apartment are all empty. Bound to crash soon as the average salary of educated executive Indonesian in in the median of RM 1,000-RM 1,500 per month.

My friend bought the 1000+ sq ft condo at Central Park, at Rp 1.5 Milyar a few years ago, now the selling price is Rp 3.5-4 Milyar.  doh.gif

1 Milyar = 1 billion Rupiah.  tongue.gif = 310k RM
Perhaps when it crashes, then the landed houses will be more affordable? I myself saw a soho unit that I want to buy but it's 400k. sad.gif

This post has been edited by shootingstars83: Apr 8 2013, 10:07 AM
j.passing.by
post Apr 8 2013, 12:32 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Apr 8 2013, 08:20 AM)
you must be single and no gf.

you know research shows couples regret not hv better pre wed photo and thats once in lifetime.
Pls try to give ideas, not make assumptions of anonymous posters... did not know there were "research" on something that can be gained by personal experience, like some wasteful research done by survey company for a government on why margarine is gaining more popularity than butter, when any housewife knows that soft margarine is easier to spread on the bread... anyway, I mentioned "video photographer", not the traditional wedding photos.

SKY 1809
post Apr 8 2013, 12:49 PM

23,851 posts

Buying a house according to some experts is like renting a house from the bank. 20 to 30 years duration maybe...

Mind u , the bank interest rate is at super low now, but likely to jump in Year 2014 once US economy is improving.

I wonder how many house buyers budget for the big jumps in interest rates later, or rather coming soon.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 8 2013, 12:54 PM
SUSleonhart88
post Apr 8 2013, 01:02 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 8 2013, 10:04 AM)
Price is crazy, jumped over 200% within 3 years. All pure speculation as you see all the houses, condo apartment are all empty. Bound to crash soon as the average salary of uni educated executive (freshies) Indonesian in in the median of RM 800-RM 1,200 per month. AND house loan is 9%-12% p.a.

My friend bought the 1000+ sq ft condo at Central Park, at Rp 1.5 Milyar a few years ago, now the selling price is Rp 3.5-4 Milyar.  doh.gif

1 Milyar = 1 billion Rupiah.  tongue.gif = 310k RM
Laguna apartment is cheap.

I don't want apartment in jakarta because
1. only 20 yrs leasehold(after that money gone if developer does not want to extend, extend also fark out much money)
2.maintenance fees per month already RM200.landed cheapo only RM50/mth guarded and gated
3.apartment u cannot hv farm in your land.

then what landed house will you recommend in Jakarta?
Pantai Indah Kapuk also expensive. In Pluit flood also at least RM 800k.
How can you afford the house there since the interest rates there killing. Because of that I invest in Bank shares.
Later our children cannot afford house in Jakarta, land already scarce there.
Avani BSD already ulu bro, to sudirman need 1 hr, even 2 hrs if traffic jam. the toll fees already cost u RM20/day.not mention the fuel not subsidised again by gov.

This post has been edited by leonhart88: Apr 8 2013, 01:08 PM
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 01:12 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Apr 8 2013, 01:02 PM)
then what landed house will you recommend in Jakarta?
Pantai Indah Kapuk also expensive. In Pluit flood also at least RM 800k.
How can you afford the house there since the interest rates there killing. Because of that I invest in Bank shares.
Later our children cannot afford house in Jakarta, land already scarce there.
Avani BSD already ulu bro, to sudirman need 1 hr, even 2 hrs if traffic jam. the toll fees already cost u RM20/day.not mention the fuel not subsidised again by gov.
Haha so many people interested in Jakarta property meh?

Basically you cannot take loan from local bank, the interest rate will kill you. (lowest is 9% p.a. and max 10 years only) Either you need to buy cash or pay by installment. Most developers gives interest free installment up to 48 months payment.

For bank look at BTPN.. very strong growth... whistling.gif , basically they charge interest rate of 15%-22% ahlong rate to small hawkers, pensioners, govt servants... really cut throat business. Company largest shareholder are americans...

Jakarta infrastructure is bad, very jammed, and god know why people want to stay/invest there... tongue.gif I still think inner city center condo next to shopping mall is the best bet...

But a word of warning, this kind of price increase is not sustainable over the long term....

Current fuel is Rp 4,500/litre cheaper than malaysia, later at most they will raise to Rp 6,000 per litre, not a biggie...

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 8 2013, 01:20 PM
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 01:17 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Apr 8 2013, 01:02 PM)
Laguna apartment is cheap.

I don't want apartment in jakarta because
1. only 20 yrs leasehold(after that money gone if developer does not want to extend, extend also fark out much money)
2.maintenance fees per month already RM200.landed cheapo only RM50/mth guarded and gated
3.apartment u cannot hv farm in your land.

1. Got strata title already lah....
2. Maintenance fees is expensive but good facilities... landed guarded also not cheap depending which area...
3. Hahah you want to farm on your high class guarded gated community meh? First time seeing it....
SUSleonhart88
post Apr 8 2013, 01:22 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 8 2013, 01:17 PM)
1. Got strata title already lah....
2. Maintenance fees is expensive but good facilities... landed guarded also not cheap depending which area...
3. Hahah you want to farm on your high class guarded gated community meh? First time seeing it....
1.what strata? strata also need to extend after 20 yrs and the land is not strata, it's HGB.
2.guarded in muara karang cheap RM50
3.farm I mean just small gardening..like fruits,union,herbs.

may you recommend good guarded gates Rp 500 million in jakarta?
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 01:39 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Apr 8 2013, 01:22 PM)
1.what strata? strata also need to extend after 20 yrs and the land is not strata, it's HGB.
2.guarded in muara karang cheap RM50
3.farm I mean just small gardening..like fruits,union,herbs.

may you recommend good guarded gates Rp 500 million in jakarta?
Hak guna is for foreigner, even landed house will also have hak guna only. If want hak milik then get you indonesian GF/wife to hold title for you. tongue.gif

Rp 500 million for guarded and gated and within Jakarta DKI? Empty land also you cannot buy... tongue.gif

If small apartment ok lar...

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 8 2013, 01:44 PM
felixmask
post Apr 8 2013, 01:49 PM

6,356 posts

hi leonhart88 ,

You well verse indonesia property.Are you indonesian or every year go indonesia vacation ?
SUSleonhart88
post Apr 8 2013, 01:51 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 8 2013, 01:39 PM)
Hak guna is for foreigner, even landed house will also have hak guna only. If want hak milik then get you indonesian GF/wife to hold title for you.  tongue.gif

Rp 500 million for guarded and gated and within Jakarta DKI? Empty land also you cannot buy... tongue.gif

If small apartment ok lar...
WTF..average income Rp3 million. work 10 yrs also cannot buy house you know.
let's assume they save Rp 3 million/mth, rp 40million/yr.

151 Pages « < 125 126 127 128 129 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:33 AM