Personal financial management, V2

felixmask
post Jan 21 2013, 06:52 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(iStevei @ Jan 21 2013, 05:40 PM)
erm... i'm a saver but not an investor (still learning)
My target is to have bout RM2k passive income monthly at least... and free from loan  tongue.gif
Study loan: Will settle latest by oct 2013
Car loan: Finish by 2013
Hse loan: NIL - no hse  cry.gif  my biggest headache LOL

still looooong way to go to financial freedom!
no house easy for you move to SG find SGD$$$$$, come back buy bungalo at kampung.
felixmask
post Feb 12 2013, 09:24 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(squares90 @ Feb 12 2013, 09:09 AM)
Hi lowyat,

I'll be graduating soon and I have saved RM13,000 in my account. All my life I've saved all my duit raya, and I got a part time job while at uni. I help senior (read: middle-aged) students write their papers, assignments, thesis etc. I'm also quite stingy so I never buy anything that's not necessary. So what should I do with the money? So far I'm thinking of either saving the money (duh!) or using it to fully pay my PTPTN. I borrowed 12,000 from PTPTN but since it has no interest, maybe it would be better for me to use the money for other important things. Any Advice?

Thanks!
hi squares90,

Well done with your saving notworthy.gif , as not many graduate think about saving after graduate.
Remind someone, no car, no laptop, no internet, no smarphone n etc after working 9 year till now.
I cant tell which the best for you but there is few type rclxub.gif i can suggest. Is your pick brows.gif

1) FD - RM or Foreign currency
2) UT- Equity , Bond , Local or Froeign
3) Stock
4) Forex
5) Property
6) Start Own business

You need to find out the Risk and Return each type. cool2.gif
This only starting, after you go thru the forum, your investment need to thru above choice. sweat.gif

felixmask
post Feb 12 2013, 10:01 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 12 2013, 09:24 PM)
hi squares90,

Well done with your saving  notworthy.gif , as not many graduate think about saving after graduate.
Remind someone, no car, no laptop, no internet, no smarphone n etc after working 9 year till now.
I cant tell which the best for you but there is few type rclxub.gif  i can suggest. Is your pick  brows.gif

1) FD - RM or Foreign currency
2) UT- Equity , Bond , Local or Froeign
3) Stock
4) Forex
5) Property
6) Start Own business
You need to find out the Risk and Return each type. cool2.gif
This only starting, after you go thru the forum, your investment need to thru above choice.  sweat.gif
sweat.gif Forget the person i know dont hv debt. doh.gif

This post has been edited by felixmask: Feb 12 2013, 10:02 PM
felixmask
post Feb 18 2013, 01:45 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 18 2013, 12:39 PM)
No, this a wrong mind-set. Not all debt are bad, so should not get rid of debt at all cost.

If the cost of your debt is cheap, you should not repay your debt even you have the cash. Let's other people's money to work for you.
Take debt to buy asset then is good, but have to see how much available asset you take the debt.
If a person totally don’t other saving able to liquate to pay the loan then the higher possibility the person will go bankruptcy.

When taking loan, reserve 6 month $$ for loan repayment. If got more money reduce the loan, will shorten the worry.

felixmask
post Feb 18 2013, 05:29 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 18 2013, 05:11 PM)
Hi guys,

I am near 30s and got burden with house loan of 30 yrs. Can investment really make someone rich?
Investment is using money making more money without money...you don’t have investment...

Different type investment/return has different type of risk. The higher you go the lucrative you have, in other way the more money you loss.

im 31 year gold... also hv 30year of loan.

Investment is to fight inflation what your money value for tomorrow purchase. You understand my meaning by comparing keeping money in saving account for 30 year.

If you want to buy a big house, then u needs money to pay for or your children education fee may not the same next 20year.

So you must save/invest in order to have thing you want tomorrow.

felixmask
post Feb 18 2013, 05:54 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 18 2013, 05:34 PM)
So in other words, you mean investment cannot make me rich but just to keep up with inflation?

Wat is your current investment strategy? So far I upgraded from FD to Unit trust for long term invest. But I know it cant make me rich cos is for long term and I dont even know what the use of having more money 20 yrs later lol

What i need is money now or maybe 3-5 yrs later
Hi WintersuN,

You are rich in knowledge only you didnt discover...
I start from FD,later UT, then Shares..now aim settle my 30year house loan asap to buy another bigger house. drool.gif my wet dream

Continue upgrade your FD and UT, once your reach certain of limit you thinking to invest somewhere your money for a greater return.

Save the money..you not know what you want to spend maybe you use the money for early retirement or children education.

You dont know when the next financial Tsunami come or WE out of jobs. then how to pay the debts for 30 years.

prepare the umbrella early not until the rain come.

Nice to know you.

This post has been edited by felixmask: Feb 18 2013, 05:56 PM

felixmask
post Feb 18 2013, 06:26 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(Enjoise @ Feb 18 2013, 06:20 PM)
hi guys im pretty impress by the ah kaos & unkers in kopitiam stories

bt dun uu guys think living prioritising the future while forgo things uu can do in the present is kinda sad?

life is short & we cant bring wealth to the nxt world.
wt do uu guys think?
life is short if cant buy food on table or hv head cover during rain

What the sad, if cant provide your children for education....

Fancy car or fancy mobile hp..also require money to buy.
felixmask
post Feb 18 2013, 07:30 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 18 2013, 07:10 PM)
Nice to meet someone wif similar journey. Do you have a strategy how u will settle your house loan quick? Maybe can share tongue.gif
I try to used expenses = salary - saving. Every month I struggle to control my expenses.
Ever month my $$$$ will go FD, UT or Stock.

Definitely I will go stock. I will check which the best to invest for long term.
Before I go stock, my saving just goes FD or UT. After 2 year of learning and monitoring I got guts to go stock. I must have time to read financial statement and business understanding.

Goreng stock sure higher return but must monitor every day, which are cyclical stock.
My preference is blue-chip stock and dividend like REITS and Telco.

The famous Warren Buffet Quote:
1st rules never lose money
2nd rules not forget the 1st rule.

I allocated my Saving
1 month in FD
10 month in UT bond
16 month in stock

My investment can paid 1/2 my hosing loan immediately. I don’t have car loan, fancy Hand phone , internet broadband overseas holiday, or laptop(my PC still tip top condition 9 year) and spending of unnecessarily.

My aim to settlen my house loan with 5 - 10 years. Wet Dream buy another condo.

This post has been edited by felixmask: Feb 18 2013, 07:31 PM
felixmask
post Feb 19 2013, 10:04 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 18 2013, 10:19 PM)
wow so hardcore!!

HOw much cost your house loan? How long u been in the hobby of invest?
since 2008 during financial Crisis. I start to invest in FD and PM UT equities. The return didn't match the return from Maxis dividend.

My 1st UT in 2006 is OSK- Asian Real Estate & Properties. Subsequence 2007 at Public Mutual then i become agent juz to clawback the comission.
My 1st Stock at BSDREITS and the Maxis.

Now interest in REITS and Telco.

felixmask
post Feb 19 2013, 10:26 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(tat3179 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:08 AM)
Investment banker or brick layer, it doesn't matter.

You must work hard and be the best in your field, so long the field you are in are skilled and are in demand.

Even the lowest brick layer can earn millions by starting their own company and possesses the right skills demanded in their industry. Point is expand your skill as much as possible in your work. The key is knowledge.

Same thing as in investment. You have to study and know and be skilled before investing.

The best investor treats their investment like a job. It takes effort and sweat to be a good and fruitful investor that makes money whether the economy is up or down.
thumbup.gif
Greatest Investment not about money...but ourself....Good touch flex.gif

felixmask
post Feb 20 2013, 10:13 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 18 2013, 10:19 PM)
wow so hardcore!!

HOw much cost your house loan? How long u been in the hobby of invest?
my house rm220k. I start heavy money making at 2008- after Financial Tsunami
felixmask
post Feb 20 2013, 10:14 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(tat3179 @ Feb 19 2013, 09:54 AM)
Manage risk as in know the investment that you are going to invest in. Do research first before committing your money, whatever the asset class you choose to invest.

Do your own due diligence, not based just on rumours or other people's recommendation. Simple really.

Making money is not easy. You must put in the effort and do your homework to minimise the chance of losing money.

And yes, There is no such thing as high returns low risks and also There is no such thing as free lunch. Ignore that at your peril.

Unless you are bumiputra of course.... biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Good advice. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
felixmask
post Feb 20 2013, 10:18 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(tat3179 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:03 AM)
Well, look at this way. If you are good in your job and took the effort to get recognised, you skills will be in demand and then you could demand higher and higher salary. And if good enough, start your own business and make millions from then on.

Investment to operate at the same way. You start small, learn the tricks and manage your risks well, and you will do well.

Point is, treat investment like your job. Excel in it and put in the effort, and you will do will either way.
thumbup.gif true thumbup.gif ....carrier is one if instrument making you rich. Up to how invest yourself and discpline to go up corporate ladder. The reason you work every day for your company. Work wont made you instant rich your same to investment but with little portion of saving and hardwork.

Sikit lama lama jadi bukit.
felixmask
post Feb 20 2013, 10:24 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 20 2013, 09:26 PM)
u go all out on stocks?
so high risk meh ! shocking.gif

Beginner best take slow from each step towards greater risk. Not everyone jump to take high risk can get money faster.
Remember what go up can go down and there is no easy money. Same to my investment i bought at Public China Select Fund also been thru of paper loss.

Mind when invest there is no guarantee win,and there is no total fail investment but Require time to reap. laugh.gif
felixmask
post Feb 22 2013, 12:18 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 22 2013, 11:46 AM)
It is easy, go understand the value investing strategy. IMHO, it is a row risks high return strategy for investments. The principal is to understand that value is what you get and price is what you pay. When you buy at cheap, your risk is lower with potential to earn higher return, of course you should be the non-believer of efficient market hyphotesis.

For example, most normal investors would think a share that drop from RM100 to RM10 (drop by 90%) is more risky than a share drop from RM100 to RM50 (drop by 50%) due to volatility. However, I look at da ifferent angel that there is more room for RM50 to drop to RM5 (drop by 90%) than RM10 to RM5 (drop by 50%) and thus more risky to buy at RM50. So buying a share from RM100 to RM10 (drop by 90%) is having lower risky than a share drop from RM100 to RM50.

When the share price bounce back from RM10 back to RM100 (appreciate by 1000%) and making profiting than if it was to bounce back from RM50 to RM100 (appreciated by 200%).

This is what I am emphasising on low risk high return.
may you share which stock or your real experince to support above theory? flex.gif Juz newbies curiosity
felixmask
post Feb 22 2013, 01:37 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 22 2013, 01:26 PM)
Hehe, no. I do not share my investment, I only share my opinion and investment framework.
ok..thanks your sharing opinion and investmentframework. may i know your age?
felixmask
post Feb 22 2013, 04:08 PM

6,356 posts

I share mine experinec biggrin.gif

Beginning i only can save rm100-rm500 per month, from e-FD , then move to UT for period of 3 year using DCA method. I take 2 year reading/study and followup lowyat stock exchange topic once my saving reach monthly rm2-3k i started to invest in stock,leaving my UT saving intact.
Every investment venture , investor dont like to see paper loss investment especially in single egg basket saving. Investing in stock is high risk will get high profit also high loss, noting is guarantee. Furthermore no experience in stock, you likelihood paying for tuition fee.

Is good to hv habit saving, then 1st get to understand about stock or open a trading account with simulation you get a try and feel how it works before jump to uncharted sea by your ownself.

is my 2sen. whistling.gif , other sifu can give other point different view. brows.gif
felixmask
post Feb 25 2013, 10:31 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 25 2013, 10:09 AM)
Share with u my method...

With 12K, I split:
3K for 3 months
3K for 6 months
3K for 9 months
3K for 12 months

When the 3 months FD mature, renew to 12 months
When the 6 months FD mature, renew to 12 months

So that u will have a 12-M FD maturing every 3 months icon_idea.gif
hi pink spider,

I different from you, i share mine...heheh...different ppl different way.
For me e-FD is emergency money so made no different 3,6 month 12 month mature.

with 15k: 3 split
rm5k 10th of the month
rm5k 20th of the month
rm5k 30th of the month.

renewal every month.

whistling.gif my sen of emergency fund.

This post has been edited by felixmask: Feb 25 2013, 10:32 AM
felixmask
post Feb 25 2013, 10:41 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 25 2013, 10:37 AM)
Hey Felix kitty biggrin.gif

I had thought of that too tongue.gif

In addition to FD, I also have 2 months worth of net salary in a money market UT fund. Thus, I'm comfortable with the 3 months gap between FDs. smile.gif
oic....different ppl with way different method. I put PM UT BOND in case i out of job to pay my housing loan- brows.gif hehehe

By the way im not kitty...i LION...eating vmad.gif ppl in office every day
felixmask
post Feb 28 2013, 11:27 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Feb 28 2013, 11:23 AM)
You see these years we only put into FD and ASB already know we are conservative, rite? Recently, we have thought into shares and properties. Had surveyed properties and the price is expensive and seems some sell like hot cakes. All sold out.

We will definitely will not touch the 16months emergency funds, we will newly start to save again for any further investment.
by your name: then i assume you born 1981, then you age is 32. Correct?

Any housing loan or car loan ?

How much you can save per month ?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1101sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:59 PM