Mar 15 2012, 11:36 AM
173 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 14 2012, 05:50 PM) [attachmentid=2737616] Thanks Wong….you really superb for this thread. Need your more idea or suggestion here 87% of your combined net income is paid out as Expenses +$1,570 Bulk of it going to cars (not an asset unless U are a "transporter" +$950 Food is the second highest - i assume eating out? +$900 On top of eating out, Groceries that high too? er.. $950 for 2 people to eat out (whoa.. U guys must be eating high street or more food than me) + $900 groceries.. IMHO unless U have 6 people to feed.. and this is on top of $950 eating out? 10% of your combined net income is saved & Invest (excluding EPF) Good start - try to hit 20% to 30% at least (thus, cut down lar on your "necessities" which i dont think are really necessities - just a thought) My humble suggestion: a. Tap both your EPF A/C2 yearly (which pays directly into your loan account) OR monthly (which pays into your bank a/c, thus U can use it to invest in REITs and other stuff) for your mortgage b. Reduce your "living to eat" - my bad if i'm assuming. $1,850 per month for food & groceries for a small family (1 to 2 children now?) seems a bit extravagant compared to your combined net income. Just a point of view yar - U may want to "live to eat", like some people live to collect Pradas, LVs & Coaches. That's your right/choice Investment Assets Held Cash is just enough to cover 3 mths+ expenses, THUS not considered investable asset Home + cars arent investment assets IMHO Your investment house can sell for value = ? Unit Trust god knows how much heck - I just noticed no worthwhile info shared The following is my explanations for the earlier info and some questions here; For the food, at least RM30/per day spent for eating. And we always bring my mum eat in restaurant and cost me at least RM40+ for 1 times. Which mean at least RM900 spent in food. I assume, average RM600 spent in Hyper market for the groceries, I am the junk food "terminator", always looking for some special and expensive junk food to try. Haha. Actually this groceries normally is for 3 pax only. We also include those installment within this category. Example, facial treatment installment, travel package installment etc. About the else category, this is some unexpected expenses for every months. Like travel to somewhere, balik kampong etc. Question: 1. Base from my above explanations, how do I increase the % of the investment? We are travel lover, we will think travel oversea at least 1 time per year is the min target for both of us. How do balancing our life with our financial management? 2. We can tap our EPF A/C 2 into our Loan Account or use it as REITs investment? We are not aware of this, please share more. But as mentioned earlier, we already withdraw our EPF money to invest our 2nd house. Possible to withdraw again? 3. Will u suggest us to save the back up savings to FD account or put into our housing mortgage? Currently we are put into the housing mortgage, as saving and able to reduce the interest. But 20k is not much 4. My investment house currently increase 50k , got value but hard to predict the market in next 2 years. We are plan either move in to the 2nd house and sell the current house. Current house with value and market. At least earn 100k if we sell it. Any suggestion here? 5. UT still in lose level Thank you! |
Mar 15 2012, 02:09 PM
5,608 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Here, There, Everywhere |
QUOTE(yap2001 @ Mar 15 2012, 11:36 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « a. >=$30/day spent on eating out? +Assuming 1 person working day only, er.. i think U can save quite a bit here if U & Missus were to eat 1 or 2 home prepared food / day +simple eg. 1 cup of coffee made at home = <$1.00 VS 1 cup of StarBucks $8 to $10 b. Eating out with mum @ restaurant >=$40/week OR per day? +Understandable per week. Per day.. when U are millionaire investment asset holder ok ar.. now.. a bit stretching it lor c. $ for "groceries" include junk food, facials INSTALLMENTS, travel package INSTALLMENTS, etc +I'd suggest U break down and separate proper groceries into one segment, and the rest are "Fun / Feel Good spending" Thus, U know what are your NECESSITIES and FUN SPENDING - most people will be surprised at the amount splashed on Feel Good Vs Necessities Hint hint - junk food, that new golf set, changgih branded jeans & bags arent "Necessities" +I noticed "installments" here. IMHO, installments may mean "i havent saved up for that yet BUT I NEED IT NOW / I DESERVE IT", which usually follows with "oh crap.. where's all my $ going to". However, U may be one of few that saved up first, then took the installment plan coz it's the same cost, for your "feel good" stuff Bottom line: Save mercilessly on items that are not your priority. Since U prioritized travelling - then cut out expensive junk food, eating out all the time during weekdays (er.. i ass-U-me k, coz >=$30/day is a bit crazy for me per meal for a normal weekday), etc. Personally, i prioritize health/security & education/learning, thus i KILLED on fine dining unless really special occasion (like 1 a year) + severely limited stuff like cinema, liquor, junk food, TV, etc. + nearly killed off branded clothes/bags spending. See how cutting certain things actually helps my priorities other than redistribution of $? A simple way is just to allocated % of yr monthly net income (EXCLUDING investment income) like: 10% for emergency buffer (once 3 to 12 months' average expenses buffered, channel $ to investments) 10% for feel good 10% for investments 10% self / children education/improvement 10% for accumulating future spending goals (eg. holiday, travel, expensive/specialized junk food splurge, home theater, PS3, new property downpayment, new car downpayment, etc. ) 50% for necessities OR simpler yet 10% for emergency buffer + 10% for investments, the rest spend, needn't track the rest or 15% for emergency buffer + 15% for investments, the rest spend, needn't track the rest and again, once emergency buffer is built, channel to investments If U noticed, by doing so, there is a balance of "existing" VS "feel good" (now we are LIVING) VS "just in case" VS "future growth" ----------------- Specific / Technicalities - my humble opinion / feedback 1. Base from my above explanations, how do I increase the % of the investment? We are travel lover, we will think travel oversea at least 1 time per year is the min target for both of us. How do balancing our life with our financial management? Prioritize and have a discipline structured money management enforced, like the above example 2. We can tap our EPF A/C 2 into our Loan Account or use it as REITs investment? We are not aware of this, please share more. But as mentioned earlier, we already withdraw our EPF money to invest our 2nd house. Possible to withdraw again? Yes U can tap EPF A/C2 for your mortgages - either yearly or monthly withdrawal, with differences between yearly Vs monthly, as stated in earlier feedback. 3. Will u suggest us to save the back up savings to FD account or put into our housing mortgage? Currently we are put into the housing mortgage, as saving and able to reduce the interest. But 20k is not much IF you've a flexi mortgage, store at least 3 months expenses buffer $ there, not FD. IF your mortgage isn't a flexi mortgage AND the % is competitive, dont knock down your mortgage yet as the opportunity costs and risk isnt worthwhile. 4. My investment house currently increase 50k , got value but hard to predict the market in next 2 years. We are plan either move in to the 2nd house and sell the current house. Current house with value and market. At least earn 100k if we sell it. Any suggestion here? I'd suggest that U stay in the house that is not too big for your family OR the area/environment that U prefer. To sell or to rent out - no idea since not enough information (like cost of purchase, rental pm, financing years & %, maintenance cost, etc.) - all these may take 2 pages to explain/get data 5. UT still in lose level As per any investments or trades, i'd always suggest learning up on: Asset Allocation, Value Averaging, Value Investing + specific investigation/analysis of a particular stock/property/equity fund/bond fund/REIT and having a total Big Pix plan (strategy) + entry/exit execution plans (operational). Thus, when the conditions/triggers are right, U are prepared. U dont want to "find out where's the fire exit" DURING a fire right? Be prepared with the plan, reasons and triggers first - then execute with confidence. Whew.. sorry for the long winded reply I hope these ideas help U formulate / crystalize your own plans rather than make U more This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 15 2012, 02:10 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 03:31 PM
175 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(yap2001 @ Mar 15 2012, 12:36 PM) For the food, at least RM30/per day spent for eating. And we always bring my mum eat in restaurant and cost me at least RM40+ for 1 times. Which mean at least RM900 spent in food. I assume, average RM600 spent in Hyper market for the groceries, I am the junk food "terminator", always looking for some special and expensive junk food to try. Haha. Actually this groceries normally is for 3 pax only. We also include those installment within this category. Example, facial treatment installment, travel package installment etc. About the else category, this is some unexpected expenses for every months. Like travel to somewhere, balik kampong etc. If yrs mom or wife can do 1 or 2 home cook/day, the cost for a good home cook meal is arround RM15/day, further more the drink use to be FOC, not like eating in a restaurant, all drink will be chargeble eg, RM3.50 for a orange juice, 4 person will be RM14.00 +ST, A typical person will look at the pricelist for the food, while not realise the small item like drinks. Let assume not all call orange juice, a typical bill for drink for a night out will be around RM10.00. One month can easily save you RM300.00. A good pratice will be doing own cook on weekday, and have a family gathering like once a week at restaurent, thus the cost will be RM40X4, around RM200/month. On travel to somewhere else cost/expenses., nowayday with AA, you can get pretty cheap airfare provide you plan ahead 6-9 months, and try not doing on ad-hoc basic, the expenses will make yours wallet light alot especially travel with family member. This post has been edited by youngman28: Mar 15 2012, 03:34 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 05:19 PM
345 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(yap2001 @ Mar 14 2012, 03:41 PM) Hi, husband income = 3800We really need your advice to re-built our financial wall. My wife and I really not good in manage our wealth. Both of us are 30 now and end of this year will welcome another family member, so we really hope to built a strong financial background for our future The following are out detail, Husband:- Income in RM: Monthly Salary = 4,400 After Epf =3800 Expenses in RM: Car Loan = 570 (16 months to go) Housing Loan1= 820 (current stay) Housing Loan2= 700 (interest, completed end of 2013) Phone Bill= 30 Insurance= 190 Food= 500 Parking= 120 Petrol= 250 Utility Bill= 250 Groceries & else= 300 Wife:- Income in RM: Monthly Salary = 3,500 After Epf = 3000 Allowance= 250 Freelance= 1000+ (Average, Not consistent, max can reach to 5k per month) Expenses in RM: Car Loan = 1000 (5 years+ to go) Phone Bill= 100 Insurance= 300 Food= 450 Petrol= 200 Groceries = 600 Parents= 800 Others= 500 Our Asset in RM:- Saving = 20,000 (Cash) House = 2 units Car = 2 units UT= Invest deduct from my KWSP account + (RM1000+RM100/month) KWSP =RM41,800(-RM13,500)Husband+ RM24,500(-RM7,000)Wife Last year we just bought a new house as for the investment purpose. We withdraw the money from our EPF account for this house investment. I am notice that our savings backup is very bad, which means we are not suggest to invest again in the market? How do we re-structure our financial management? How to generate more savings backup? Should i change my job to higher salary range? Hope you all can give us some idea, thanks. wife income = 4250 total = 8050 husband expenses = 3730 wife expenses = 3950 total = 7680 cash on hand/emergency fund = 20,000. this means that ur fund can last for 3 months only. recommended fund is 6 months during this unforeseen economy nowadays. it should be ok if u have family support. there is nothing much u can do to reduce the expenses. EPF money u can forget about it as u cannot do anything unless u are qualified to draw out. any property under mortgage service is considered a liability. any investment will not help much unless u are real confident in certain stocks to perform well. |
Mar 15 2012, 05:51 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(yap2001 @ Mar 14 2012, 03:41 PM) Hi, Car loan is too excessive resulted little saving. We really need your advice to re-built our financial wall. My wife and I really not good in manage our wealth. Both of us are 30 now and end of this year will welcome another family member, so we really hope to built a strong financial background for our future The following are out detail, Husband:- Income in RM: Monthly Salary = 4,400 After Epf =3800 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Car is a liability, get a smaller car, RM1000 monthly payment is too much. Saving is too little, resulted little opportunity for investment that can provide extra passive income. The second house is crucial, if it is an investment that can yield passive income and cover the loan, then it is still debatable. With another family adding, this will put the budget even into more stress. So need to reduce the expenses side. A household income of RM7000 should have more comfortable zone and more saving. Cars are the main culprit. This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 15 2012, 05:51 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 07:46 PM
12,534 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Penang, KL, China, Indonesia.... |
QUOTE(yap2001 @ Mar 15 2012, 11:36 AM) Thanks Wong….you really superb for this thread. Need your more idea or suggestion here 1. First of all avoid all kinds of installment, like your facial and travel installment, all these leads to unnecessary spending. Budget and save up cash allocated for entertainment accordingly. Set up a budget and perhaps target to save at least 30% of your salary? A lot of people are doing about 60%-70% per month. You have spend a lot of money in cars, which is a depreciating item. Anyway you are wrong to calculate car as asset, it is a liability. The following is my explanations for the earlier info and some questions here; For the food, at least RM30/per day spent for eating. And we always bring my mum eat in restaurant and cost me at least RM40+ for 1 times. Which mean at least RM900 spent in food. I assume, average RM600 spent in Hyper market for the groceries, I am the junk food "terminator", always looking for some special and expensive junk food to try. Haha. Actually this groceries normally is for 3 pax only. We also include those installment within this category. Example, facial treatment installment, travel package installment etc. About the else category, this is some unexpected expenses for every months. Like travel to somewhere, balik kampong etc. 2. Travel lover does not mean that you have to spend a lot of money. Learn to travel within budget and lower your expectations, and utilize especially budget hotels and budget airlines. Backpacking is a good way to travel and it much better than those organized tour. You can save more than 50% this way and see more sights and have complete freedom. A tour to Australia for 2 person can cost only about RM 5k vs 10+K via travel agency. 3. Prepare 6 months expenses in FD or other liquid investment in case there is an emergency, if you put in housing mortgage (flexi) make sure it can be easily taken out. 4. For your extra house rather than flip for a quick gain, keep it and get rental income. Passive income really helps you in the long run. For the UT, buy within your expectations and risk tolerance value, anyway the money is for long term so no need to concern with some losses. 5. Have you given think about retirement, children's education etc? If you think long and hard, and calculate it the cost is going to scare you, so start preparing now. This post has been edited by gark: Mar 15 2012, 07:47 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 08:55 PM
46 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Shah Alam |
I'm bad in managing my finances in my early 20's as I got blacklisted for credit card usage when I'm 24. Soon after that I enroll myself with AKPK. I'm now 28 and single and wanted to start a family next year. Now I'm trying to save money but most of the time I bought stupid stuff which is not needed (alot of shoes, football kits, etc.). End of the month I left with only RM100-200 to save and some months there is none.
Income: RM2500 average after EPF deduction. Expenses: AKPK : RM200 Astro : RM141 Insurance : RM150 Utilities : RM70 Food : RM700 (I don't know how to cook. Mostly eating out.) Transport : RM50 (I only have a motorcycle which already fully paid.) Entertainment : RM300 Phone Bill : RM80 Assets/Savings: - No cash savings as I'm afraid I will spend it. - Currently RM4000 saved under bank islam investment account slip. RM1000 for 3 month duration and RM3000 for 12 month duration. - Unit Trust deduction every 3 months from EPF. |
Mar 15 2012, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(tapr00t123 @ Mar 15 2012, 08:55 PM) I'm bad in managing my finances in my early 20's as I got blacklisted for credit card usage when I'm 24. Soon after that I enroll myself with AKPK. I'm now 28 and single and wanted to start a family next year. Now I'm trying to save money but most of the time I bought stupid stuff which is not needed (alot of shoes, football kits, etc.). End of the month I left with only RM100-200 to save and some months there is none. IMHO, U need to replace your spendthrift habit first. Sorry to say, seems like U did not learn much from yr AKPK episode in yr early 20's.Income: RM2500 average after EPF deduction. Expenses: AKPK : RM200 Astro : RM141 Insurance : RM150 Utilities : RM70 Food : RM700 (I don't know how to cook. Mostly eating out.) Transport : RM50 (I only have a motorcycle which already fully paid.) Entertainment : RM300 Phone Bill : RM80 Assets/Savings: - No cash savings as I'm afraid I will spend it. - Currently RM4000 saved under bank islam investment account slip. RM1000 for 3 month duration and RM3000 for 12 month duration. - Unit Trust deduction every 3 months from EPF. Bro - U must find a bigger reason / burning desire, that makes U want to prioritize savings & investing, else U will ALWAYS be a spendthrift. Just like alcohol, cigarettes & gambling, spending recklessly is an addiction. Been there b4 - speaking from experience. Luckily for me, those days not much $, no credit cards AND no personal loans Once U replace yr spendthrift habit, then only talk about saving and investing. Investing BUTA is as good as gambling, thus... BTW, learn how to cook and make sandwiches - $700 on food for 1 person?! This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 15 2012, 10:01 PM |
Mar 15 2012, 10:18 PM
1,749 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(tapr00t123 @ Mar 15 2012, 08:55 PM) I'm bad in managing my finances in my early 20's as I got blacklisted for credit card usage when I'm 24. Soon after that I enroll myself with AKPK. I'm now 28 and single and wanted to start a family next year. Now I'm trying to save money but most of the time I bought stupid stuff which is not needed (alot of shoes, football kits, etc.). End of the month I left with only RM100-200 to save and some months there is none. Income: RM2500 average after EPF deduction. Expenses: AKPK : RM200 Astro : RM141 Insurance : RM150 Utilities : RM70 Food : RM700 (I don't know how to cook. Mostly eating out.) Transport : RM50 (I only have a motorcycle which already fully paid.) Entertainment : RM300 Phone Bill : RM80 Assets/Savings: - No cash savings as I'm afraid I will spend it. - Currently RM4000 saved under bank islam investment account slip. RM1000 for 3 month duration and RM3000 for 12 month duration. - Unit Trust deduction every 3 months from EPF. QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 15 2012, 09:55 PM) IMHO, U need to replace your spendthrift habit first. Sorry to say, seems like U did not learn much from yr AKPK episode in yr early 20's. What wongmunkeong said is true. You need to learn the lesson from your AKPK days. fastest way to cut down expenses is Astro and cut food to RM500 a month(i think this is not too much of a cut), immediately you free up Rm341. You can think of starting a family with your current situation i really salute you. Me and my bf till now still not dare to get married because we still not feel financial stable given that we've worked hard towards our goal in the past 3years Bro - U must find a bigger reason / burning desire, that makes U want to prioritize savings & investing, else U will ALWAYS be a spendthrift. Just like alcohol, cigarettes & gambling, spending recklessly is an addiction. Been there b4 - speaking from experience. Luckily for me, those days not much $, no credit cards AND no personal loans Once U replace yr spendthrift habit, then only talk about saving and investing. Investing BUTA is as good as gambling, thus... BTW, learn how to cook and make sandwiches - $700 on food for 1 person?! |
Mar 15 2012, 11:21 PM
46 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Shah Alam |
Thanks wongmunkeong & zenwell for waking me up. I felt so stupid when I think back what I've done before and my current situation. I think I will cut half of my entertainment expenses and limit my spending on food. As of my Astro subscription, I will limit the channels that I subscribe. I will update both of you maybe by end of this year so that I thank both of you again if I succeed.
Mar 15 2012, 11:44 PM
1,749 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(tapr00t123 @ Mar 15 2012, 11:21 PM) Thanks wongmunkeong & zenwell for waking me up. I felt so stupid when I think back what I've done before and my current situation. I think I will cut half of my entertainment expenses and limit my spending on food. As of my Astro subscription, I will limit the channels that I subscribe. I will update both of you maybe by end of this year so that I thank both of you again if I succeed. better if you cut off astro temporary. Nowadays i watch online free download drama also tak sempat. IMHO, for young ppl, less TV = more $$ + better future. Spend less time now on TV so that you can watch more later in life |
Mar 16 2012, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(tapr00t123 @ Mar 15 2012, 11:21 PM) Thanks wongmunkeong & zenwell for waking me up. I felt so stupid when I think back what I've done before and my current situation. I think I will cut half of my entertainment expenses and limit my spending on food. As of my Astro subscription, I will limit the channels that I subscribe. I will update both of you maybe by end of this year so that I thank both of you again if I succeed. Bro, accepting responsibility for our own mistakes/mis-steps is the 1st step to awakening (financially, physically, spiritually) Dont worry - some of us have done as bad or worse (i know i have - owed $19K when net income pm was just $3K) in our younger and dumber days Zenwell shares my experience with "Less TV" = "more income" + i'd add, knowledge & health. The time spent on the idiot box can be used to learn AND practice +financial management & investments +learning work skills, working harder/smarter (ie. do a great job, do more than your Job Description, see how Company can be helped) +starting a side biz +exercising +boning up on other knowledge Dont worry, i dont think it'll take U till the end of the year to sort things out if U focus AND have found a burning desire/passion to reduce cost & increase income/investment assets. U'll see some effects in 3 to 6 months if U are focused - ie. sit down, detail out your expenses, categorize them as necessity (without them die) and "fun". Then U'd know which to chop down mercilessly (note - dont kill all "fun" stuff yar, but IMHO, it shd be just about 10%+/- of your net salary). Take a peek at my earlier posting (i think 3 postings on top of my reply here) - there's some simple framework of money allocation/management which may help. Gambate! This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 16 2012, 08:03 AM |
Mar 16 2012, 10:16 PM
1,262 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Mars |
QUOTE(tapr00t123 @ Mar 15 2012, 08:55 PM) I'm bad in managing my finances in my early 20's as I got blacklisted for credit card usage when I'm 24. Soon after that I enroll myself with AKPK. I'm now 28 and single and wanted to start a family next year. Now I'm trying to save money but most of the time I bought stupid stuff which is not needed (alot of shoes, football kits, etc.). End of the month I left with only RM100-200 to save and some months there is none. Easy !Income: RM2500 average after EPF deduction. Expenses: AKPK : RM200 Astro : RM141 Insurance : RM150 Utilities : RM70 Food : RM700 (I don't know how to cook. Mostly eating out.) Transport : RM50 (I only have a motorcycle which already fully paid.) Entertainment : RM300 Phone Bill : RM80 Assets/Savings: - No cash savings as I'm afraid I will spend it. - Currently RM4000 saved under bank islam investment account slip. RM1000 for 3 month duration and RM3000 for 12 month duration. - Unit Trust deduction every 3 months from EPF. Step 1 = CUT your ASTRO Step 2 = STOP Eating Out ! Step 3 = Reduce Entertainment Maintain these for 6 months and you will see results ! |
Mar 17 2012, 02:06 AM
511 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
hi guys, I graduated from secondary school, and will be entering university in either july or september.
and now I'm working part-time,with income about RM 700-900. after minus all the expenses, I can save about RM500++ per month. I know the importance of investing earlier, and I've seen people saying that fixed deposit is not worth. should I start investing by investing in funds?? thanks |
Mar 17 2012, 08:34 AM
952 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: ~Cote D'Ivoire~ |
QUOTE(tcchuin @ Mar 17 2012, 02:06 AM) hi guys, I graduated from secondary school, and will be entering university in either july or september. U are sure gonna do well in future with this mindset and now I'm working part-time,with income about RM 700-900. after minus all the expenses, I can save about RM500++ per month. I know the importance of investing earlier, and I've seen people saying that fixed deposit is not worth. should I start investing by investing in funds?? thanks I started later than u by 2 years. In my first few years of savings, I invested 50% of total savings in FD, and the other 50% in shares. I graduated from University with 50k in the bank. I think u should first invest some money in investment tools and knowledge before committing yourself further. |
Mar 17 2012, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(tcchuin @ Mar 17 2012, 02:06 AM) hi guys, I graduated from secondary school, and will be entering university in either july or september. Hey future multi-millionaire and now I'm working part-time,with income about RM 700-900. after minus all the expenses, I can save about RM500++ per month. I know the importance of investing earlier, and I've seen people saying that fixed deposit is not worth. should I start investing by investing in funds?? thanks FD, in my humble opinion, IS WORTH IT for HOLDING idle cash or while U are building up an amount for some investment. That is, unless U have a better option, called "Flexi Mortgage" hehe. As for investing in funds, stocks, REITs, Properties, Gold, antiquities, women (oops..): <Copy & pasted from previous post> As per any investments or trades, i'd always suggest learning up on: Asset Allocation, Value Averaging, Value Investing + specific investigation/analysis/valuation of a particular stock/property/equity fund/bond fund/REIT and having a total Big Pix plan (strategy) + entry/exit execution plans (operational). Thus, when the conditions/triggers are right, U are prepared. U dont want to "start looking for the fire exit" DURING a fire right? Be prepared with the plan, reasons and triggers first - then execute with confidence. |
Mar 17 2012, 01:21 PM
511 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(stupidbump @ Mar 17 2012, 08:34 AM) U are sure gonna do well in future with this mindset what do you mean by investment tools? can you suggest me where can I read more about investing besides http://www.investopedia.com/ and here? I started later than u by 2 years. In my first few years of savings, I invested 50% of total savings in FD, and the other 50% in shares. I graduated from University with 50k in the bank. I think u should first invest some money in investment tools and knowledge before committing yourself further. thanks |
Mar 17 2012, 09:19 PM
76 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(cscheat @ Mar 16 2012, 10:16 PM) Easy ! ps Step 1 = CUT your ASTRO Step 2 = STOP Eating Out ! Step 3 = Reduce Entertainment Maintain these for 6 months and you will see results ! After you cut your ASTRO, you got more spare time You can use this spare time to Earn extra income. then maybe can still enjoy Eating Out and Entertainment. You can do that if you have RM1000/- or RM2000/- extra, right? |
Mar 18 2012, 08:22 PM
1,142 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: Puchong |
hi wongmunkeong,
Can you explain more when you say "FD, in my humble opinion, IS WORTH IT for HOLDING idle cash or while U are building up an amount for some investment. That is, unless U have a better option, called "Flexi Mortgage" hehe." ? Thanks. |
| Change to: | 0.0344sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:27 AM |