Celcom iPhone Discussion Thread | V1

zulazhan
post Dec 11 2010, 02:58 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Alias @ Dec 10 2010, 03:35 PM)
Try and do a restore and see if that helps, btw the iphone already j/b?
Done the restore already. Still the same. It was working find and since last week or so started giving prob. It is kind of intermittent.
Finally, I found that the date time giving the problem.
By default, it is set to auto with Cupertino as location. Change it to Asia/Kuala Lumpur. Because it is on Celcom. Maxis and Digi should be okay.
Maybe because ios 4.1. When she was on 3gs with ios3 okay.

Added on December 11, 2010, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(apoc1810 @ Dec 11 2010, 05:19 AM)
It seems that the carrier setting for Celcom has been updated. I just plugged my iPhone few minutes before and a message box appeared informing me that an update to the carrier settings was available. Hence, I clicked the "OK" button and it seems that the Celcom logo has now changed to just "Celcom". Previously, it was "MY CELCOM". Also, the carrier information viewable from "Settings" has now changed to Celcom 9.1.

I am still looking around to see real impact to an iPhone running a Celcom card. I think it is just a cosmetic update. But, I could be wrong.
Are u on 4.1 or 4.2.1 when the carrier setting updated?

This post has been edited by zulazhan: Dec 11 2010, 03:10 PM
ujoewong
post Dec 11 2010, 04:21 PM

348 posts

Celcom 9.1 update has made my "Call forwarding active" sign disappeared.

Facetime still remains the same. I can't activate it.

In Safari, in bookmark section have "Celcom" that leads you to iphone.celcom.com.my. But, it does not work.

This post has been edited by ujoewong: Dec 11 2010, 04:24 PM
apoc1810
post Dec 11 2010, 05:30 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Dec 11 2010, 05:21 PM)
Celcom 9.1 update has made my "Call forwarding active" sign disappeared.

Facetime still remains the same. I can't activate it.

In Safari, in bookmark section have "Celcom" that leads you to iphone.celcom.com.my. But, it does not work.
oh yeah, come to think of it, the call forwarding message seems to disappear. I guess the update did actually worth it, although at the moment, it's quite minor to me.

This post has been edited by apoc1810: Dec 11 2010, 05:32 PM
Bus Driver
post Dec 11 2010, 05:41 PM

103 posts

Same here,still can't activate FaceTime:(
zulazhan
post Dec 11 2010, 06:59 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(apoc1810 @ Dec 11 2010, 05:30 PM)
oh yeah, come to think of it, the call forwarding message seems to disappear. I guess the update did actually worth it, although at the moment, it's quite minor to me.
Is your iOS 4.1 or 4.2.1?
afiq2819
post Dec 11 2010, 09:37 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(zero_hour @ Dec 3 2010, 01:01 PM)
Hi Guys,

good news for Celcom user,comfirm celcom will bring iPhone but not sure when, smile.gif
im gonna terminate my maxis this 9th December and use celcom as my company CUG,hope eerything go well for me  wink.gif
p/s:im working with telco industries,my boss is ex-celcom and his wife is CS at celcom,said they already go training for iphone bal bla bla,..
thats a gud news bro..btw..im also working in same industry as yours..what company u from?hehe..but my major problem now is i cant activate my facetime..really2 disappointed with celcom.. sad.gif
apoc1810
post Dec 11 2010, 10:56 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(zulazhan @ Dec 11 2010, 07:59 PM)
Is your iOS 4.1 or 4.2.1?
The iPhone is on iOS 4.2.1
Bus Driver
post Dec 11 2010, 11:01 PM

103 posts

Apoc,
Are you saying ur on 4.2.1 and you can FaceTime??
Am I missing something here?it was fine for me on 4.1 but when I upgraded to 4.2.1 I cant activate FaceTime..it just keeps saying waiting for acTivation when I switch ON FaceTime..FYI,I'm using a SG ip4 with Celcom.
zulazhan
post Dec 12 2010, 12:08 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(Bus Driver @ Dec 11 2010, 11:01 PM)
Apoc,
Am I missing something here?it was fine for me on 4.1 but when I upgraded to 4.2.1 I cant activate FaceTime..it just keeps saying waiting for acTivation when I switch ON FaceTime..FYI,I'm using a SG ip4 with Celcom.
I think what apoc is trying to say is no more "Call Forwarding" appear when making call out (on Celcom) dues to celcom's updated carrier setting.
It shows that celcom is very closed into this iphone domain. Some of us has "Carrier 9.0" shows in iphone setting. Another clue.
Unfortunately, facetime feature is still not working.
From my source at celcom, do not think they will launch this month. Most likely Jan 2011, but they are working on ads, marketing etc prior to the launch.

apoc1810
post Dec 12 2010, 12:25 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(Bus Driver @ Dec 12 2010, 12:01 AM)
Apoc,
Yes, my iPhone is running on iOS 4.2.1 and I have never jailbroken it. It has been running quite smoothly as it should. Every features have been smooth sailing thus far, Facetime and such.

I am sorry to hear that Facetime seems unavailable to you on your iPhone. Have you restored the phone as new instead of restoring it from backups? I assume you have done that. But just in case you haven't, you might want to give it a try. On the extreme end, you could ask Celcom for a SIM card Replacement
and see if it solves your problem. I'm just guessing here.

And for the record, my iPhone is also a Singapore set. But, I don't think it is relevant to your problem.

This post has been edited by apoc1810: Dec 12 2010, 12:32 AM
Bus Driver
post Dec 12 2010, 12:59 AM

103 posts

Thanks for the advice,as a matter of fact I haven't actually done a restore from new..will give it a try,I'm already on the new Celcom microsim..
amier
post Dec 12 2010, 01:41 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Dec 11 2010, 10:09 AM)
go to settings>general>about.. wait a few seconds..there should be a notication about the update
after i plugged in with itunes, this alert came out
i just click on check button....nothing's happened. im not dare to turn on automatic updates i'm afraid itunes will update my firmware to 4.2.1... JB maaaaa....so im stuck with Carrier 8.0 btw... i just changed my sim card to celcom microsim....

This post has been edited by amier: Dec 12 2010, 01:43 AM
fhunkyfhinky
post Dec 12 2010, 02:19 AM

94 posts

hye everyone, i am new here.

today just get my 3GS, and try to learn on using iphone.

previously, i was blackberry user, and use celcom postpaid with lite package (BBand Basic Rm38)

so, on iphone, do i need to worry about my data usage that can bring to shock bill with this BBand Basic RM38? or it is enough? BTW, going to upgrade package in 3 days, since celcom center closed on weekend (dont want to go bluecube,their service bad).

sorry for kinda noob, but really need some guidance on this.
amier
post Dec 12 2010, 02:49 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(fhunkyfhinky @ Dec 12 2010, 02:19 AM)
hye everyone, i am new here.

today just get my 3GS, and try to learn on using iphone.

previously, i was blackberry user, and use celcom postpaid with lite package (BBand Basic Rm38)

so, on iphone, do i need to worry about my data usage that can bring to shock bill with this BBand Basic RM38? or it is enough? BTW, going to upgrade package in 3 days, since celcom center closed on weekend (dont want to go bluecube,their service bad).
sorry for kinda noob, but really need some guidance on this.
QUOTE(eMKs @ Dec 10 2010, 11:24 AM)
yes you can, but you'll get 1GB quota. Once you reached the quota, internet access will be blocked until the next bill cycle
u will not get heart attack with celcom....

if u are not internet (data usage) heavy user like me... RM38 - 1Gb is enuff...if you cant live without internet then upgrade to unlimited plan RM68 or RM98
Bus Driver
post Dec 12 2010, 11:49 AM

103 posts

Just to update,tried restoring from new but still unable to activate Facetime.
latworx
post Dec 12 2010, 12:15 PM

282 posts

hav anyone try restored the phone as new instead of restoring it from backups, just like apoc said before? anychance it make FT possible on celcom? i al ready done several restore process before, so dah tak larat for doing the restoration again..
zero_hour
post Dec 12 2010, 05:05 PM

1,776 posts

my phone field empty =_=
afiq2819
post Dec 12 2010, 05:11 PM

98 posts

i've tried it bro..but still can't use facetime..& does anyone know how much they charge when this message pop-out during facetime activation? - "Your carrier may charge for SMS message used to activate FaceTime"

too "KEJAM" if celcom charge it for international messaging (as i heard b4 but not sure about it) coz its not even activate it!!
yeowhan
post Dec 12 2010, 05:38 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(afiq2819 @ Dec 12 2010, 05:11 PM)
i've tried it bro..but still can't use facetime..& does anyone know how much they charge when this message pop-out during facetime activation? - "Your carrier may charge for SMS message used to activate FaceTime"

too "KEJAM" if celcom charge it for international messaging (as i heard b4 but not sure about it) coz its not even activate it!!
when dis alert msg came out "Your carrier may charge for SMS message used to activate FaceTime" it actually shows that ur iphone is trying to activate facetime with ur current sim
however, try to go setting > phone and check whether the facetime status izit 'waiting for activation'
if it stuck there.. no charges will be made as ur sim doesnt send out any msg yet to activate the facetime
im using hotlink prepaid on my iphone and have the same issue with u
so i m pretty sure there's no any charges
gyver
post Dec 12 2010, 06:23 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(apoc1810 @ Dec 11 2010, 05:19 AM)
It seems that the carrier setting for Celcom has been updated. I just plugged my iPhone few minutes before and a message box appeared informing me that an update to the carrier settings was available. Hence, I clicked the "OK" button and it seems that the Celcom logo has now changed to just "Celcom". Previously, it was "MY CELCOM". Also, the carrier information viewable from "Settings" has now changed to Celcom 9.1.

I am still looking around to see real impact to an iPhone running a Celcom card. I think it is just a cosmetic update. But, I could be wrong.
I am on iphone 3GS and my partner is on iphone 3G. Both of us has been experiencing major call drops ad no network detected in these last week. Hopefully this update will settle all problems.

126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:40 AM