Celcom iPhone Discussion Thread | V1
amier
Nov 27 2010, 09:46 PM

Well it's a good news if celcom launch ip4 this dec. i'm a loyal custormer since 010 up until now. Jez bought my ip4 last week if i knew celcom will support ip4 for sure i'll wait for it. about the facetime problem, i think it is bcoz of celcom line. i got 2 ip4, mine "accidentally" upgraded to 4.2.1, my wife is on 4.1. Both cannot activate facetime eventhough i've downgraded my fw back to 4.1 i went to machines, they also cannot do anything. Is it not bcoz of the phone. They switch to maxis sim card and my facetime can be activated after changed back to celcom simcard...well... waiting foreverrrr  ( I guess i hav to wait untill celcom officially be ip4 carrier. afizudin....how did u managed to activate ur facetime??? i've did everything but still hopeless........care sharing ur setting?? This post has been edited by amier: Nov 27 2010, 09:48 PM
amier
Nov 28 2010, 10:08 AM

here my setting: Setting>General>Network - Enable 3G : Off - Cellular Data : On - Cellular Data Network : >> Celullar Data > APN: celcom3g Username: (blank) Password : (blank) >> MMS > APN: celcom3g Username: (blank) Password : (blank) MMSC: http://mms.celcom.net.my MMS Proxy: 10.128.1.242:8080 MMS Max Msg Size: (blank) MMS URL: (blank) >>Internet Tethering APN: celcom3g Username: (blank) Password : (blank) - Data Roaming : Off - Internet Tethering : Off - VPN : Not Connected - Wi-Fi: XXXXXXXXX Setting>Phone - My Number : +019XXXXXXX - Facetime : On (waiting for activation...) _____________________________________ for those who can activate facetime on celcom, do share ur setting and steps to set it up or any special program to install. TQ
amier
Nov 28 2010, 02:47 PM

QUOTE(baretta @ Nov 28 2010, 10:58 AM) @amier, your iphone4 is local set? I'm using Singapore set Added on November 28, 2010, 2:50 pmQUOTE(shahie @ Nov 28 2010, 12:59 PM) Can you tether your celcom with OS4.1 or 4.2 using itune ? Regards How to tether?? Sorry still new with ip4....noobie This post has been edited by amier: Nov 28 2010, 02:50 PM
amier
Nov 28 2010, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(JayC75 @ Nov 28 2010, 03:06 PM) facetime can only use on wifi only right??? by default facetime works only with wifi but there a software that can make facetime works with 3g..... forgot the software name tho.
amier
Nov 28 2010, 08:55 PM

some said bcoz of celcom is not official carrier for IPhone, Apple doesnt allow celcom to use facetime as u can see carrier name under Setting>General>About>Carrier : Carrier 8.0
not like maxis (MYMAXIS X.0) and digi (not sure)....i think wait untill celcom become an official carrier this problem will resolved.....hmmm wait some more......
*still waiting reply for the successful celcom setting
amier
Nov 28 2010, 10:01 PM

QUOTE(Alias @ Nov 28 2010, 09:47 PM) but the thing is, some users reported they succesfully activated facetime while they're in 4.1, as for myself, even at 4.1 also cant activate..  me oso pening!!! some can activate some cannot....thats why im still waiting the setting for those who can activated under 4.1
amier
Nov 29 2010, 01:22 AM

QUOTE(afizudin @ Nov 29 2010, 12:41 AM) Sory my late reply.. Im using iP4 SG set and my wife using 3gs maxis set, both can facetime. iP4 postpaid, 3gs prepaid. Both on 4.1 Set your phone number +601xxxxxxxx... malaysia code is +6 maa My setting apn, mms n tethering same as previous post. And using International Region Format>Malaysia i've tried with ur setting...still cant avtivate...wait je lah until celcom be ip4 official carrier......  tq bro..
amier
Nov 30 2010, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(Alias @ Nov 30 2010, 09:33 AM) anyhow, i think the problem is with sim card, that's the only logic explanation that i can think of right now, fyi, i've been using the same sim card that i have for the past 3 years, maybe in some weird reason, this sim cant support the facetime activation (lets hope this is the main problem). So i'm going to go to celcom branch and requested for a new sim, and hopefully this problem will be gone.. do give us the feedback bout the sim card...as for me, i wont do anything untill further notice
amier
Dec 1 2010, 11:59 PM

QUOTE(Bus Driver @ Dec 1 2010, 11:18 PM) Sorry OT..Is there anyway to revert to 4.1?I've done some googling but it mentioned something about ssbh or something like that..any simpler way?hope somebody can just paste the link,much appreciated. i've done it at low yat of course  i've downgrade from 4.2.1 back to 4.1...facetime still cant activate
amier
Dec 2 2010, 08:33 AM

QUOTE(Bus Driver @ Dec 2 2010, 12:09 AM) Still can't activate?but it was ok on 4.1 before u upgraded to 4.2.1 right? I'm puzzled...so means no point reverting to 4.1..Celcom oh celcom..why lah like this.. my wifes' ip4 on 4.1 fresh from kedai cannot activate facetime. mine from 4.1 upgraded to 4.2.1 then downgraded back to 4.1 also cannot activate facetime. hopefully celcom will become an official iphone carrier this dec as rumours then this problem will resolved...i think....
amier
Dec 5 2010, 10:35 PM

why soooo serious????? jez share the info guys......
amier
Dec 11 2010, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(apoc1810 @ Dec 11 2010, 05:19 AM) It seems that the carrier setting for Celcom has been updated. I just plugged my iPhone few minutes before and a message box appeared informing me that an update to the carrier settings was available. Hence, I clicked the "OK" button and it seems that the Celcom logo has now changed to just "Celcom". Previously, it was "MY CELCOM". Also, the carrier information viewable from "Settings" has now changed to Celcom 9.1. I am still looking around to see real impact to an iPhone running a Celcom card. I think it is just a cosmetic update. But, I could be wrong. did u mean u plugged into itunes? mine still Carrier 8.0
amier
Dec 12 2010, 01:41 AM

QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Dec 11 2010, 10:09 AM) go to settings>general>about.. wait a few seconds..there should be a notication about the update after i plugged in with itunes, this alert came out  i just click on check button....nothing's happened. im not dare to turn on automatic updates i'm afraid itunes will update my firmware to 4.2.1... JB maaaaa....so im stuck with Carrier 8.0 btw... i just changed my sim card to celcom microsim.... This post has been edited by amier: Dec 12 2010, 01:43 AM
amier
Dec 12 2010, 02:49 AM

QUOTE(fhunkyfhinky @ Dec 12 2010, 02:19 AM) hye everyone, i am new here. today just get my 3GS, and try to learn on using iphone. previously, i was blackberry user, and use celcom postpaid with lite package (BBand Basic Rm38) so, on iphone, do i need to worry about my data usage that can bring to shock bill with this BBand Basic RM38? or it is enough? BTW, going to upgrade package in 3 days, since celcom center closed on weekend (dont want to go bluecube,their service bad). sorry for kinda noob, but really need some guidance on this. QUOTE(eMKs @ Dec 10 2010, 11:24 AM) yes you can, but you'll get 1GB quota. Once you reached the quota, internet access will be blocked until the next bill cycle u will not get heart attack with celcom.... if u are not internet (data usage) heavy user like me... RM38 - 1Gb is enuff...if you cant live without internet then upgrade to unlimited plan RM68 or RM98
amier
Dec 13 2010, 01:07 AM

QUOTE(baretta @ Dec 12 2010, 10:18 PM) Luckily, i'm still can facetime with my wife. Nvmd, i'm still 4.1.  envy maaaa hahaha...btw whatz ur carrier stated?
amier
Dec 14 2010, 10:42 AM

QUOTE(afizudin @ Dec 14 2010, 10:37 AM) i dont think celcom lock their setting.. last year im using 3gs and use fake celcom apn, but i still can browse the internet (even after restart). last few month i turn off the mobile data on iphone4, but still can use google map, the map still load.. at first attemp iphone will popup and tell ur iphone data is off or cant connect internet or etc, but if u force it and try again and again, then viola! u can access map with mobile data off or browse internet with fake apn.. can u use facetime? mine can use all only facetime cant use it. hmmm fake celcom apn? can u give the setting.. jez want to compare with mine
amier
Dec 14 2010, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(funnyface @ Dec 14 2010, 01:04 PM) MY a/c I guess u need 4.2.1 to get carrier update, not sure... have to upgrade to 4.2.1 ...i guess i'll wait for the stable 4.2.1 JB then i'll do the upgrade...we'll see next yr whether celcom will be iphone carrier or not
amier
Dec 14 2010, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(tripelw @ Dec 14 2010, 05:22 PM) Good News... Just come back from Celcom Branch to pay my bill. Ask about iPhone 4, the Consumer Service told me that iPhone 4 will be lunch this month.  i asked customer service at celcom hq jalan ampang... they said they donno when will celcom launch the IP4.... hmmm which info can be trusted???
amier
Dec 14 2010, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(vNistelrooy @ Dec 14 2010, 07:52 PM) Just tested it with my fren, and it works..bus driver, keep on trying, it says unsuccesful, just off it, wait 4a while b4 trying again..eventually it will get activated..at least that is wat happened to me..hopefully d next time u check on dat page it is activated! is ur iphone 4 4.2.1 w/o JB? This post has been edited by amier: Dec 14 2010, 08:07 PM
amier
Dec 15 2010, 12:53 AM

QUOTE(vNistelrooy @ Dec 14 2010, 11:06 PM) Bus drive, amier n zamir, i dont know if this helps, but last sunday i did install an app called viber, for making calls over wifi..during startup, it sends sms to ur fon using international number ..by being able to receive international sms, maybe this somehow opens d way 4 facetime activation 2 finally find its way to my phone..maybe activation concept is the same as facetime? Difference is facetime activation is auto,meaning once it receive d activation code, it will auto key-in 4u..Just a theory.. i've installed viber too but i didnt receive the activation code that they sent to me via sms.....i dont know whether my celcom acc can receive international sms or not...will ask celcom bout it and see how it goes.... thanks for the info....