60inch LCD, 55inch LED or just go 3D?

TSzainframe
post Sep 23 2010, 03:48 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(zainframe @ Sep 22 2010, 04:01 PM)
Sigh...... after help & opinions from you guys (thanks dudes) and other sources now my options is getting a bit more complicated.

3D is out of the picture- I guess most of you guys agree with this. But now I'm looking at the SONY KDL-60EX700 - it's 60inch Edge-LED.... yeah it retails at RM19k but after discounts and juggling on things (e.g. selling some of my current AV stuffs, not getting a new smartphone, auctioning my kidneys etc) - I can probably get away with it spending as much as I would if I was to go 55inch 3D.

Still considering.........sigh
I would like to thank everyone here for helping out with opinions and advise- goodbye everyone since I may not see u guys again after tomorrow.....

For it is done..... got the Sony 60EX700, 60inch LED. When wife finds out I will be dead. Farewell.

PS: I will be putting up the Sony BDP-E370 bluray hometheater system (came with the unit) and my old TV up for sale on LYN if none of my friends are interested to buy.
Learjet35
post Sep 24 2010, 01:20 AM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(zainframe @ Sep 23 2010, 03:48 PM)
I would like to thank everyone here for helping out with opinions and advise- goodbye everyone since I may not see u guys again after tomorrow.....

For it is done..... got the Sony 60EX700, 60inch LED. When wife finds out I will be dead. Farewell.

PS: I will be putting up the Sony BDP-E370 bluray hometheater system (came with the unit) and my old TV up for sale on LYN if none of my friends are interested to buy.
Enjoy.. smile.gif
TSzainframe
post Sep 25 2010, 02:21 AM

160 posts

Dudes/dudettes,

Just got my 60EX700 earlier today - a short review:

Pic quality- can only compare with my old 42inch HD ready Sharp in the same environment (I dont trust the displays I see at the showrooms), overall the quality is great but the blacks can be a bit blacker- maybe with some tuning it can get better.
Can't seem to find the function to manually change contrast - so far contrast is controlled by other settings, cannot manually override.

I'm glad I did not go for 55inch - 60inch at 11feet hits the spot pretty nicely, a bit smaller it would be a disappointment and if I went for a projector with 72inch throw it would be too big.

Have not tried other functionality (networks, media playback etc) - honestly I dont care for most of them.

Bluray, XBOX 360, PS3 gaming image quality is superb - this goes without saying but have not tried with Wii (which is already pretty shitty on a 42inch).
Astro SD is surprisingly good with the upscaling. Astro HD is superb.

MKV files - now (probably due to the huge screen size) I can see a lot of difference between bluray and 1080p mkvs - can see the compression artifacts on blurriness on mkvs (tried a few mkvs with various quality). I am using ACRYAN PlayONHD so there could be a slight possibility this is also due to the player. Astro HD pic quality seems to be better than the 1080p mkvs despite them being 1080i.

Did not bother to check the sound quality- everything goes thorough the amps.

An issue I'm having now is I'm getting eye fatigue after a few minutes of watching in the dark- not as bad as watching 3D but still uncomfy. Suspect this is probably due to the huge screen which is a lightsource (my backlight levels are ok- not over 'brighted'). Will go to Ikea tomorrow to get one of them ambient light thingy to put behind the TV - hopefully this helps.

I know a lot of people hate the motionflow effects (making movies look like RTM studio shows some say) but I love it- movement looks more natural for me, it's just personal preference.

Avatar and UP! bluray kicks so much ass on this TV.

If any of you have any questions or something specific u need me to test/try on the unit, just give me a post.
avantasia
post Sep 27 2010, 12:13 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(ShaolinTiger @ Sep 23 2010, 12:55 PM)
Ikano, but they only had 5 units, 3 was already sold not sure if they still have any left.
Went HN IPC just now, they sell RM8,999 lorrrrr, not RM8,000 haiya waste my time going there!
talexeh
post Nov 7 2010, 04:53 AM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,101 posts

QUOTE(zainframe @ Sep 25 2010, 02:21 AM)
Dudes/dudettes,

Pic quality- can only compare with my old 42inch HD ready Sharp in the same environment (I dont trust the displays I see at the showrooms), overall the quality is great but the blacks can be a bit blacker- maybe with some tuning it can get better.
Can't seem to find the function to manually change contrast - so far contrast is controlled by other settings, cannot manually override.

I'm glad I did not go for 55inch - 60inch at 11feet hits the spot pretty nicely, a bit smaller it would be a disappointment and if I went for a projector with 72inch throw it would be too big.

Have not tried other functionality (networks, media playback etc) - honestly I dont care for most of them.

Bluray, XBOX 360, PS3 gaming image quality is superb - this goes without saying but have not tried with Wii (which is already pretty shitty on a 42inch).
Astro SD is surprisingly good with the upscaling. Astro HD is superb.

MKV files - now (probably due to the huge screen size) I can see a lot of difference between bluray and 1080p mkvs - can see the compression artifacts on blurriness on mkvs (tried a few mkvs with various quality). I am using ACRYAN PlayONHD so there could be a slight possibility this is also due to the player. Astro HD pic quality seems to be better than the 1080p mkvs despite them being 1080i.

Did not bother to check the sound quality- everything goes thorough the amps.

An issue I'm having now is I'm getting eye fatigue after a few minutes of watching in the dark- not as bad as watching 3D but still uncomfy. Suspect this is probably due to the huge screen which is a lightsource (my backlight levels are ok- not over 'brighted'). Will go to Ikea tomorrow to get one of them ambient light thingy to put behind the TV - hopefully this helps.

I know a lot of people hate the motionflow effects (making movies look like RTM studio shows some say) but I love it- movement looks more natural for me, it's just personal preference.

Avatar and UP! bluray kicks so much ass on this TV.

If any of you have any questions or something specific u need me to test/try on the unit, just give me a post.
May I know how much you bought the TV for? I'm helping a friend of mine to sell his & I'm pretty much interested on the current market price for a brand new 60EX700. Many thanks in advance. smile.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 7 2010, 07:08 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(zainframe @ Sep 25 2010, 02:21 AM)
Dudes/dudettes,

This is the No.1 reason I am sticking with Plasma if I am going to get a big screen. No question about that at all.

eye
post Nov 7 2010, 07:28 AM

1,166 posts

Depends on viewing distance, no? Having the biggest screen with a short viewing distance is like buying the first row seats in a cinema tongue.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 7 2010, 08:19 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Nov 7 2010, 07:28 AM)
Depends on viewing distance, no? Having the biggest screen with a short viewing distance is like buying the first row seats in a cinema tongue.gif
LED and LCD are simply too irritating to my eyes regardless of distance (within viewable distance). I tried that so many times watching LED/LCD/Plasma at shop that have both and result always the same. Try starring at one type for say.....10 minutes and then move your eyes to another and see for yourself. Without fail, my eyes can not tahan.

hans7474
post Nov 7 2010, 12:48 PM

137 posts

i alwaiz prefer plasma for home cinema regardless how improve the lcd/led is..cos ive seen the difrence
arremie
post Nov 7 2010, 08:01 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Sorry if mentioned before but which shop selling Sharp's 60inch LC60A77M LCD for RM9999? Is this retail price or is it under promotion.

I was looking at Samsung 55" 3D LED at 15k but if can get 60" for less than 10k I would definitely go for it regardless the brand (as long as not cap ayam smile.gif )
Andrewtst
post Nov 7 2010, 10:54 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,781 posts

Since you can afford that price. I highly recommended you go for 3D LED TV.
michaelzolt
post Nov 7 2010, 10:59 PM

83 posts

end of the year should be cheaper..then rm9999.. i also targeting 60" sharp A77 . cause before end year sure all the shop wanna reach sales target..sell at cost also they will. who interested in A77 pm me ..maybe can get better deal if buy few unit ..
Fawkes
post Nov 7 2010, 11:13 PM

584 posts

How about Samsung 63" Series 7 Plasma? How is it compared to Sony 60EX700?
TSzainframe
post Nov 8 2010, 09:08 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 7 2010, 07:08 AM)
This is the No.1 reason I am sticking with Plasma if I am going to get a big screen. No question about that at all.
All I needed to do was tape those LED lights from IKEA around the edge of the TV (rears) and switch them on while watching in the dark - no more eye fatigue (or much less).

nando
post Nov 15 2010, 10:37 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

QUOTE(zainframe @ Nov 8 2010, 09:08 AM)
All I needed to do was tape those LED lights from IKEA around the edge of the TV (rears) and switch them on while watching in the dark - no more eye fatigue (or much less).
bro...just simple question...The Sony 60EX made in Japan ?
avantasia
post Nov 16 2010, 01:05 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Nov 15 2010, 10:37 PM)
I guess made in Malaysia... hmm.gif
azxel
post Nov 16 2010, 09:48 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

if you can afford it, buy the best and most expensive!!! hehe...
TSzainframe
post Nov 16 2010, 10:09 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Nov 15 2010, 10:37 PM)
Good question, I'll check it out tonite but I doubt it's made in japan. My DTR-ES5500ES amplifier (for US market, not available here) is actually made in Penang.

Learjet35
post Nov 16 2010, 12:34 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Nov 16 2010, 01:05 AM)
I guess made in Malaysia... hmm.gif
even my samsung bought here in Australia made in Malaysia..haha
vincentboleh
post Nov 18 2010, 11:53 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Fawkes @ Nov 7 2010, 11:13 PM)
How about Samsung 63" Series 7 Plasma? How is it compared to Sony 60EX700?
Samy 63" PQ is over-scaled / less vibrant as compared with Sony PQ clarity but Plasma is always eyes friendly.
Samy 63" 3D is ~RM14,xxx; Sony (if not mistaken for model) ~RM16,xxx (non-3D) / RM19,xxx(3-D).
Samy 63" has a brother which is 58" 3D Plasma (HN price ~RM9,500, foc 3D Bluray Player + 2pairs 3D glasses + 3D Movie).
Not sure if this Sony model is paneless, which is good for protection against kids throwing hard stuff on them.

Will agree with Optiplex330 and few others that Plasma is still the way to go i.e. eyes friendly, much cheaper, better black level, DVD friendly (excellent PQ quality as compared to LED/LCD), etc.....

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0148sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:59 AM