Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V46!, The Orange Legion
fansoption
Sep 20 2010, 09:49 PM
Hi all alpha member my photo now in Facebook Digital Camera Magazine Malaysia's Photos - Ricoh-DCM "Creative Blur" 40 finalistif you all got time go this LINK vote for my image. Thank You. This post has been edited by fansoption: Sep 20 2010, 09:50 PM
zstan
Sep 20 2010, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(porkchop @ Sep 20 2010, 09:20 PM) thanks guy for the bday wish...anyway ahpinko, just for your info i think i bought my a550 photix grip around rm130 during cny 2010, bought from Desmond of YL photo, duno he still got stock and promo for the photix...but no free battery.. wann ask u guys about uwa, I saw tokina is the only f2.8 uwa around...any advantages apart from low light shooting for uwa?? dun say bokeh ah...i think there isn't much bokeh from uwa due to dof  albnok, or any other bros, wanna ask who tested the gps version of the sony dslr?? i suppose its like any gps device, where indoor the gps does not really work?? also, when startup the camera, need to wait for gps to connect/detect before being able to use the camera?? can take very creative portraits too! the MFD of the tokina is damn short! forgotten how much la though. at such close distance, can make nice nice bokeh also one. very nice build as well!
evilhomura89
Sep 20 2010, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(wingster @ Sep 20 2010, 09:47 PM) Pro Bodies in my mind is made with good quality like Magnesium Alloy + A lots of customization like more ISO range options, dual dial, buttons and more AF point ... Current Pro Body in Alpha range are only A700/A850/A900 hmmm...i don't think i know the basics enough to fully utilize the function and features offered in a pro body a mid-range like a5xx would be suitable
zstan
Sep 20 2010, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(fansoption @ Sep 20 2010, 09:49 PM) Hi all alpha member my photo now in Facebook Digital Camera Magazine Malaysia's Photos - Ricoh-DCM "Creative Blur" 40 finalistif you all got time go this LINK vote for my image. Thank You. QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 20 2010, 09:50 PM) hmmm...i don't think i know the basics enough to fully utilize the function and features offered in a pro body a mid-range like a5xx would be suitable technically, a5xx is enhanced entry level. a7xx is semi pro. and a8xx and a9xx considered pro. anyway..its very hard to judge nowadays. like the nikon d7000. name is entry level(compared with the d3000 n d5000) but specs is above d90. all rojak d. don't read too much into it.
evilhomura89
Sep 20 2010, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2010, 09:53 PM) technically, a5xx is enhanced entry level. a7xx is semi pro. and a8xx and a9xx considered pro. anyway..its very hard to judge nowadays. like the nikon d7000. name is entry level(compared with the d3000 n d5000) but specs is above d90. all rojak d. don't read too much into it. i think now it is best to categorized based on the price
fansoption
Sep 20 2010, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2010, 09:53 PM) technically, a5xx is enhanced entry level. a7xx is semi pro. and a8xx and a9xx considered pro. anyway..its very hard to judge nowadays. like the nikon d7000. name is entry level(compared with the d3000 n d5000) but specs is above d90. all rojak d. don't read too much into it. ztan thank for vote my pic
zstan
Sep 20 2010, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(fansoption @ Sep 20 2010, 10:00 PM) ztan thank for vote my pic  next time when i need help sek zhou la hor
ReasonsofThanatos
Sep 20 2010, 10:05 PM

Been to the IRIS 2010 workshop sponsored by Sigma and Low Yat last saturday. Being the sponsor of the event, there are some lenses from Sigma ready for the participant to test on. There were 85mm F1.4, 50mm F1.4, and 70-200mm F2.8. Too bad there were no Sony mount >.< I'd say im really impressed by the sharpness of Sigma's 50mm F1.4. Being unable to mount it, I've asked my friend who uses a Nikon D5000 to grab the lens and use it for d entire test shooting of the models and at wide open till F2, the models are pin sharp at the edges and details. Here's 1 of my better shot (I think ^^,") from the event.
evilhomura89
Sep 20 2010, 10:06 PM
OMG...NSFW, hahaahha
zstan
Sep 20 2010, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(ReasonsofThanatos @ Sep 20 2010, 10:05 PM) Been to the IRIS 2010 workshop sponsored by Sigma and Low Yat last saturday. Being the sponsor of the event, there are some lenses from Sigma ready for the participant to test on. There were 85mm F1.4, 50mm F1.4, and 70-200mm F2.8. Too bad there were no Sony mount >.< I'd say im really impressed by the sharpness of Sigma's 50mm F1.4. Being unable to mount it, I've asked my friend who uses a Nikon D5000 to grab the lens and use it for d entire test shooting of the models and at wide open till F2, the models are pin sharp at the edges and details. Here's 1 of my better shot (I think ^^,") from the event. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « no reflector or flash? IMO..for the money i pay for the 50mm f1.4..i expect it to be sharp at f1.4 as well...if not might as well i buy a f2 lens...
ReasonsofThanatos
Sep 20 2010, 10:13 PM

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2010, 10:10 PM) no reflector or flash? IMO..for the money i pay for the 50mm f1.4..i expect it to be sharp at f1.4 as well...if not might as well i buy a f2 lens...  Yupe, just pure daylight. But from what I read online, the review of Sony's 50mm F1.4 is a little softer than Sigma's at wide open, but pin sharp from F2.2 onwards..like a direct opposite to Sigma's 50mm F1.4. Though it is relatively more affordable than Sigma's, but as u've mentioned, we expect it to be sharp at wide open as well, for the money we pay.. But then again, a review is a review. We still have to see for ourselves to believe huh..
cjlai
Sep 20 2010, 10:51 PM
new arrival  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
Deerc
Sep 20 2010, 11:06 PM
35mm f1.7 for NEX ???
wingster
Sep 20 2010, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(Deerc @ Sep 20 2010, 11:06 PM) Yea I think it was the Magic SLR 35mm F1.7 xD!! Added on September 20, 2010, 11:18 pmQUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2010, 09:50 PM) can take very creative portraits too! the MFD of the tokina is damn short! forgotten how much la though. at such close distance, can make nice nice bokeh also one. very nice build as well!  Most of the UWA would have harsh bokeh IMO and the MFD (0.3m) is quite impress me as well This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 20 2010, 11:18 PM
AlphaBeta
Sep 20 2010, 11:36 PM
Just wanna ask..does the NEX series camera comes with built in af motor? or is it depends on lens?
achew
Sep 20 2010, 11:44 PM
It's time to strike again....  135mm F5.6 1/10s iso200 adjusted tone n added noise in cs5 table lamp shooting from outside of the "window" from the right + tissue to reflect some light onto the toy from the left
cjlai
Sep 20 2010, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Sep 20 2010, 11:36 PM) Just wanna ask..does the NEX series camera comes with built in af motor? or is it depends on lens? no more screw driver & motor on NEX Added on September 20, 2010, 11:49 pmQUOTE(Deerc @ Sep 20 2010, 11:06 PM) u r right... it comes with a macro extension ring as well...  Added on September 20, 2010, 11:49 pmQUOTE(wingster @ Sep 20 2010, 11:07 PM) Yea I think it was the Magic SLR 35mm F1.7 xD!! SLR Magic can't do macro but this one can This post has been edited by cjlai: Sep 20 2010, 11:49 PM
lwliam
Sep 21 2010, 12:02 AM
Your friendly neighborhood photographer
QUOTE(porkchop @ Sep 20 2010, 09:20 PM) thanks guy for the bday wish...anyway ahpinko, just for your info i think i bought my a550 photix grip around rm130 during cny 2010, bought from Desmond of YL photo, duno he still got stock and promo for the photix...but no free battery.. wann ask u guys about uwa, I saw tokina is the only f2.8 uwa around...any advantages apart from low light shooting for uwa?? dun say bokeh ah...i think there isn't much bokeh from uwa due to dof  albnok, or any other bros, wanna ask who tested the gps version of the sony dslr?? i suppose its like any gps device, where indoor the gps does not really work?? also, when startup the camera, need to wait for gps to connect/detect before being able to use the camera?? who said UWA no bokeh? clive, pinjam your pic a while ya...
Seng_Kiat
Sep 21 2010, 12:07 AM
Guys, is the price right or expensive or cheap for these under warranty items: Sony DSLRA700K - RM2500 Sony SAL70300G - RM2250 Sony SAL50F18 - RM450 Sony SAL1680Z - RM2000 Sony VG-C70AM - RM800 Sony HVL-F58AM - RM1000 Thanks ..  ..
fansoption
Sep 21 2010, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Sep 21 2010, 12:07 AM) Guys, is the price right or expensive or cheap for these under warranty items: Sony DSLRA700K - RM2500 Sony SAL70300G - RM2250 Sony SAL50F18 - RM450 Sony SAL1680Z - RM2000 Sony VG-C70AM - RM800 Sony HVL-F58AM - RM1000 Thanks ..  .. which shop selling this Sony SAL70300G - RM2250?