5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V46!, The Orange Legion

wingster
post Sep 19 2010, 04:40 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Sep 19 2010, 04:35 PM)
hey guys, itchy hands to haul... mau tanya dulu...

anyone here use sony bloggie? How's the performance ar? Is the Full hd 1080p clear?

how's low light performance? I dun wan banyak noise lolz
yeap ... very clear!

The A33 has better low ISO performance compare to A550 but other wise it is the same as A550 expect a little more noise compare to A550 ... IMO

This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 19 2010, 04:41 PM
wingster
post Sep 19 2010, 04:52 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(finch! @ Sep 19 2010, 04:46 PM)
A33 is out? zomg.
Yea is already out ...

Well some of my thoughts

Overall the EVF looks fantastic enough compare to Pana G2 and Samsung NX-10 .... well it looks like the cinema screen projector, is full frame size but unlike FF A850,A900 or even the ordinary DSLR, the screen was like a big square instead of rectangle but the actual image projectile is in normal rectangle shape which is why it state as 1.4 MP LCD but only 1.1 MP LCD effective pixels on the EVF. As jedimaster said, the EVF has some jagged + blur when you panning too fast but in normal pan just work as fine as the OVF. Of course color and resolution won't able to beat through OVF but able to view playback, menu or almost anything on the camera is a huge plus! the most I love is you can Manual Live View check using EVF by x7/x14 magnification by pressing the trash button (delete button) (imagine a 18-55 kit lens at 55mm x 14 magnify with good resolution brows.gif) which is why they throw away the Tele converter system xD

The EVF resolution actually is on par with Panasonic G2 I have to say but quality and the lag time and EVF sharpness is much better than Panasonic G2 a lots

I have tested the SSS for the lenses and is proven that now they can have stabilize effect when you viewing through LV or EVF by half-press the shutter unlike its previous predecessor which not able to stabilize the vision by half-pressing the shutter. So now you no need to worry to felt the earthquake on giant 70-200G or 70-300G and etc giant lenses which is a bonus.

Well about the Live View only 3FPS prove me wrong .... (as I refer to D Preview which they didn't properly test it?) it works on 3fps, 6fps and even the 7fps (10 fps for A55) on both EVF and Live View which is awesome by the way ...

and about the memory writing is the only issue I encounter ... for A33 ... no matter what fps you are it will takes a long time to write the memory buff
I used my Sony Memory Stick Mark 2 for burst shot (in 7fps,6fps,3fps) on 7 frame on RAW(maximum buffer for A33 while A55 is around 19 frames for 10fps on RAW) it takes me 25 seconds to write 7 frames of RAW file .... and during the time the camera doesn't able to burst but still able to take the picture slowly ...

second thing is the overheat issue ... A33/A55 can be easily to overheat compare to NEX-3/NEX-5 when you record movie. Well despite overheat problem only happens when you often activate SSS during video recording, I have test shooting A33 for an hour in SSS turn on and then I try cooldown a minute and use it with photo + movie in SSS on, it takes less than 15 minute to go overheat even I'm only record video in break by break (20 seconds video follow by 1~3 minutes of photo shooting)

So for video shooting is highly recommended to turn off the SSS if you prefer to having long time shooting because it will effects on photo shooting as well after you recording for a long time and cause the camera nonfunctional for a few minutes (which can be a disaster some how)

This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 19 2010, 05:34 PM
wingster
post Sep 19 2010, 05:01 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(finch! @ Sep 19 2010, 04:59 PM)
So i can get it from street shops? any recommendation? i wanted to buy canon 550d today but suddenly saw A33. Very tempted!

p/s: How much is 50mm 1.8 prime lense for alpha? laugh.gif
so far only available at Sony Style ... which retail price at RM2399 for A33 kit lens so would assume street price be much lower
wingster
post Sep 19 2010, 05:44 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 19 2010, 05:07 PM)
wa 4 days not here already new thread and sooo much information to absorb  biggrin.gif .

got the chance to test the tokina UWA f2.8, and i must say its very impressive.  brows.gif
fuyohhh...niceeee~
where got? sony gave me free service and cleaning leh!  tongue.gif
VERY NICE REVIEW! thanks~ will try it when i have the chance
Any sample shot of the tokky UWA xD?
wingster
post Sep 19 2010, 10:29 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 19 2010, 09:44 PM)
wingster: Wah you tested it for 1 hour or you bought it? biggrin.gif

mowkey: Not true. Any lens that is good on my A900 is good on the NEX-5 as well. Not softer at all. The 16mm F2.8 is sharp in the center also but misfocusing may make some people think it is soft.

zstan: How do you know this? And what are you presuming mowkey is referring to - the NEX lenses or the A-mount lenses on the APS-HD sensor?
haha..

Just test the ISO and Movie mode ... as I'm waiting for A55 instead of A33 ...

By the way here's some RAW and Multi NR comparisons using A33 camera edited using Adobe RAW:
(All image are cropped at 100% resolution although the size is a little different because using picasa 3 to crop it xD_

RAW With NO Noise Reduction -

This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 19 2010, 10:30 PM
wingster
post Sep 19 2010, 10:31 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

A33

RAW with heavy Noise Reduction at High ISO

This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 19 2010, 10:32 PM
wingster
post Sep 19 2010, 10:40 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Sep 19 2010, 10:34 PM)
mowkey, the sensor in nex, is better then A550. period. noise and color profile is better. the rest of the sharpness and photo IQ relies on what lens u going to pair it with. if u pair it with a good prime, i believe it will bring out scary IQ out of it.

i played with nex not much, but sample i gotten, is far better then my A550. so u can rest assure that, Nex is not as bad as ppl reviewed or says.

Added on September 19, 2010, 10:36 pmwingster, reduce with adobe raw? got sony IDC version? (or did u try shoot jpeg+raw, in body jpeg NR?)
Err yeah ... I only use Adobe Photoshop RAW

-NO NR means all the Color and Luminance at Noise Reduction I set at '0'

-While heavy NR I set 50 for both Color and Luminance at Noise Reduction

And those picture above are export from RAW

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's the JPEG with Multi NR

wingster
post Sep 19 2010, 10:53 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 19 2010, 10:48 PM)
and i'm back, people~!!!

all shots taken handheld, some reaching into regions of 1-2 seconds

Camera DSLR-A700
Exposure multiple
Aperture f/4.5
Focal Length 11 mm
ISO Speed 800

Camera DSLR-A700
Exposure multiple
Aperture f/5.6
Focal Length 11 mm
ISO Speed 1000

p/s: ahpingko good job on #4
Taiwan? ... I like #2 xD
wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 01:08 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

Happy Birthday Ahpingko !! [:

I have a weird question, regards that it is workable to Quick AF Burst on 6FPS and 7FPS on A33(10FPS on A55)

Why some of the review says they are ONLY ALLOW to burst at 3 FPS under Live View and no one mention it can do more faster FPS option.

I was really curious about it .....

This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 20 2010, 01:09 PM
wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 05:56 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 20 2010, 05:12 PM)
yea...after reading the cons, i would love to see how is the performance of a580  rclxms.gif
The cons doesn't bother if you're more intend to still photos instead of DSLR Cinematography or serious sports Photography

The IQ is almost the same as A550 and I didn't notice the big difference

What I really know the CON's for A33/A55 is the battery life is short, limited control on maximum burst speed and video and also some overheating issue if you use Movie Mode during SSS ON often.

For size whether you like small or big camera, if you want big camera go for A550/A560/A580, if you want smaller and lighter camera without concern about the battery grip add ons just head for A33/A55

Anyway things will end up a final decision when you touch and try the camera and compare, only from there you will know the difference and whats the camera you like.

This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 20 2010, 06:02 PM
wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 06:01 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Sep 20 2010, 05:58 PM)
eh..wingster..u are using a550 ?..and phottix battery grip for a550?..if i only got 1 battery, and i want to use the phottix battery grip, can rite?...coz zaloon tell me must use 2 battery..
Yes you can use with 1 battery but you need to put the battery at slot 2 (BATTERY 2) from the battery magazine, the A550 Phottix Battery Grip also works on A200,A300,A350 as well

However unlike original one the battery will consume both (If you insert both 2 battery) battery consumption
wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 06:04 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Sep 20 2010, 06:02 PM)
har, u mean same battery grip works on A200,A300,A350??..really?.. blink.gif

coz i m tinking to buy phottix grip..but got ppl recommend me meike.. doh.gif
Yeah I have try before both works perfectly xD
wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 06:09 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Sep 20 2010, 06:05 PM)
rclxms.gif

how about its build?...nice grip?...color got fade out ??
Grip is okay for me: feels good but compare to original the grip is more rough I said but again you get what you paid. In terms of durability, so far I used for almost 8 months and it never stripped off or what so ever just the button icon will be slightly fade off after you use it for a very long term
wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 06:18 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Sep 20 2010, 06:12 PM)
i llike my photix a55 0grip. although plasticky it still does it work..also plastic = lighter, but i would not recmmend against hard usage (i.e knocks/ etc0

kysham, i like your car shot...just plain use flash ot got use the soft box for flash or flash stand thingy??
Yeah it is quite fragile look by the way xD but it makes the A550 feels very good to hold especially when you mount it with primes IMO [:

and yeah forgot to say Happy Birthday mate >__< !!

ahpingko: Err I brought it from a forumer ... with postage and price is around RM180~220

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Picture Spam Today :

This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 20 2010, 06:28 PM
wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 07:12 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 20 2010, 07:02 PM)
agreed!
that's why I wanted to get something that i will hold on to it for at least 5 years if possible
It's depending your shooting requirements, are you really serious about photography and take picture very often all the time?

Do you really need a Pro Body or your requirements is enough for casual shooting using drive mode and PASM mode dial with several manual adjustment like all the entry level DSLR/EVIL camera does?

For 5 Years there might a lot of changes is really up to your requirements and opinions ...

Added on September 20, 2010, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 20 2010, 07:11 PM)
zstan: Secret!

ahpingko: I feel like if the vignetting was not there #1 and #2 would obviously have so-so framing. Would prefer #4 from straight on.

Happy birthday!

porkchop: Happy birthday!

wingster: The A33 does 7 FPS (Speed Priority), 6 FPS (Continuous High) and 2.5 FPS (Continuous Low); the A55V does 10 FPS (Speed Priority), 6 FPS (Continuous High) and 3 FPS (Continuous Low). Refer to page 116 of the A33/A55V manual. biggrin.gif

I don't think people care for the Continuous High or Continuous Low options enough to write about them. biggrin.gif

Also... do you think the A560/A580 will not have the overheating with SteadyShot in video? A lot of the cons in the A33/A55 apply to the A560/A580 also... people just forget to imply them.

deanmalenko: Okay lah can be cleaner, a slightly faster shutter speed would help.

evilhomura89: You might not care for most of the things he puts in his cons - I know I don't!

You don't even see the problems he does. Carl Gerrard is a very old school photographer. Some people fuss about 2 Second MLU while we don't care. There is no mirror slap on the A33/A55 so MLU does not matter.

Restrictions are what you get when you first play with the A550 and NEX bodies - you cannot use Auto HDR with RAW for example.

Spot Meter AEL Toggle was a function you could activate in the A100/A700/A850/A900. Press AEL while pointing your spot meter circle, and it will change to Spot Metering, on what you were pointed at, and then you can recompose.
I don't mention anything about A560/A580 as I did not actually test it and I didn't even say they will not have overheating issues on the camera as well when SSS is On argh >.<

Well A560/A580 is still a mystery for me as no reviewer used to test them in detail so I have no idea about this.... but yeah it might be the same problem that happens on A33/A55 .... or maybe not?

This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 20 2010, 07:20 PM
wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 07:51 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2010, 07:39 PM)
y u guys can take so good butterfly pics one?

i go near one then all fly away d. sad.gif
Thats why you need to be stealthy ... brows.gif
wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 09:47 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 20 2010, 09:39 PM)
Define Pro Body? a700, a850, a900 = pro bodies?
I guess once I get a DSLR, I'm intending to be serious about it.
i think it's gonna be the same like the typical GPS device..indoor no signal
if not gps signal is not detected or too weak, probably the image taken won't have GPS tagging in it?
Pro Bodies in my mind is made with good quality like Magnesium Alloy + A lots of customization like more ISO range options, dual dial, buttons and more AF point ...

Current Pro Body in Alpha range are only A700/A850/A900

wingster
post Sep 20 2010, 11:07 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(Deerc @ Sep 20 2010, 11:06 PM)
35mm f1.7 for NEX ???
Yea I think it was the Magic SLR 35mm F1.7 xD!!

Added on September 20, 2010, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2010, 09:50 PM)
can take very creative portraits too! the MFD of the tokina is damn short! forgotten how much la though. at such close distance, can make nice nice bokeh also one.  biggrin.gif

very nice build as well!  rclxms.gif
Most of the UWA would have harsh bokeh IMO and the MFD (0.3m) is quite impress me as well

This post has been edited by wingster: Sep 20 2010, 11:18 PM
wingster
post Sep 21 2010, 09:40 AM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

@shootkk Its somehow like the Canon 550D ... I feel much better to hold my A550 and much balance compare to A33/A55 but when mounted with light primes like the Minolta 28mm and 50mm they looks good to hold IMO

wingster
post Sep 22 2010, 09:20 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Sep 22 2010, 03:08 PM)
If the 85mm f2.8 is really sub RM1k that will be the very next lens I will be getting.
I'm also quite interesting to know it as well :/ .... but I'm aim for Tokky UWA first keh xD

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0417sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:14 AM