Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V46!, The Orange Legion

ieR
post Oct 8 2010, 02:34 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

so nice my bro in england, trade in old camera, get 50 pound rebate for Nex purchase. so jealous, its not that expensive there also. 530 x 5 = 2650 for nex3 twin kit
albnok
post Oct 8 2010, 02:53 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

4 A-mount!

More to come. biggrin.gif

eddybeh: I feel you're a bit too close to the model. #1 not quite there. #2 too in; #3 too out, and the cropped hand is quite weird. #4 better with face in one of the squares. #5 framing out. #6 you need to soften it with a reflector on the other side. #9 almost there but not in exact focus.

wingster: No, for multi-segment. That said Alphas have always underexposed so I won't say any one is better (I don't have an A550 so I can't tell you if it underexposes often.)

jerrylyh: Street price in KL is RM800.

Anly: You can buy the Extended Warranty at Studio Zaloon or any dealer. I don't think you can buy a camera and then buy the warranty from another dealer though!

destfull: The A560/A580 won't be able to focus confirm even in manual focus video wor. The A33/A55 can do that. biggrin.gif

I shot a gig with the A900 + Opteka 85mm F1.4 and A55 + Zeiss 135mm F1.8. I have no problem with the A55's grip. Then again, my heaviest commonly-used lens is the Zeiss which is under 1 KG.

ieR: Yes, auto-gain in low light for the A55 is amazing! It sees what you cannot see.

A funny side effect of shooting with a dSLR and SLT side-by-side is that when you look through the EVF which has my Vivid setting etc, and I look at the dSLR with OVF, the OVF looks very dull because it's the true, darker tone (with less saturation).

freaky_deity:

The Tamron 90mm F2.8 Macro's MFD is 29cm.

The Sigma 105mm F2.8 Macro's MFD is 31cm.

The Minolta/Sony 100mm F2.8 Macro's MFD is 35cm.

You get to be 6cm further away from the insect, with the Minolta.
eddybeh
post Oct 8 2010, 03:05 AM

830 posts

albnok: noted. somehow i tend to use my 50mm more on head or half body portraits. but most of those i shared just now were cropped due to composition problem.looks like i'm bak to square 1 again. haha... XP will put more effort... thx

This post has been edited by eddybeh: Oct 8 2010, 03:16 AM
Anly
post Oct 8 2010, 07:06 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 8 2010, 02:53 AM)

4 A-mount!

More to come. biggrin.gif

eddybeh: I feel you're a bit too close to the model. #1 not quite there. #2 too in; #3 too out, and the cropped hand is quite weird. #4 better with face in one of the squares. #5 framing out. #6 you need to soften it with a reflector on the other side. #9 almost there but not in exact focus.

wingster: No, for multi-segment. That said Alphas have always underexposed so I won't say any one is better (I don't have an A550 so I can't tell you if it underexposes often.)

jerrylyh: Street price in KL is RM800.

Anly: You can buy the Extended Warranty at Studio Zaloon or any dealer. I don't think you can buy a camera and then buy the warranty from another dealer though!

destfull: The A560/A580 won't be able to focus confirm even in manual focus video wor. The A33/A55 can do that. biggrin.gif

I shot a gig with the A900 + Opteka 85mm F1.4 and A55 + Zeiss 135mm F1.8. I have no problem with the A55's grip. Then again, my heaviest commonly-used lens is the Zeiss which is under 1 KG.

ieR: Yes, auto-gain in low light for the A55 is amazing! It sees what you cannot see.

A funny side effect of shooting with a dSLR and SLT side-by-side is that when you look through the EVF which has my Vivid setting etc, and I look at the dSLR with OVF, the OVF looks very dull because it's the true, darker tone (with less saturation).

freaky_deity:

thanks albnok! i ever email sony b4..they replied that if the shop i get the camera from does not provided the extended waranty, they ask me to call sony directly to buy the extended waranty. i a bit doubt.. now from wat you said, seems like i must get the waranty from the shop i buy from only.. hmm.. rclxub.gif is the AF speed of the a55 slower than a580 or a560 or a550???
Mikeshashimi
post Oct 8 2010, 08:21 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

albnok: ahhaha.. nice one.. you should make a compilation of ALL the a-mount models.... hard work tho... but itd be cool.... rclxms.gif

ahtsong: haha.. rm250 for f42... joker la... rm250 get f20 la... shakehead.gif

porkchop: when u view on 32" LCD want to zoom all the way in also meh? haha... i've stop whining about sharpness for any zoom lens (including my UWA).. instead for sharpness id look only at fast lenses and primes (to put it simple, my expectations arent THAT high) laugh.gif

8tvt: hahahah 'google before tanya'.. which i agree... coz some questions asked are bonus questions...

newbieeee : also IINM, SAL lenses are the only type which are prone to gear stripping... (is this totally wrong or half wrong or correct?) tongue.gif

Newbieeeeee
post Oct 8 2010, 08:56 AM

:)
1,286 posts

Hmm.. Whats gear-stripping? To spoil the auto focus by purpose? Why?
8tvt
post Oct 8 2010, 09:05 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Oct 8 2010, 08:56 AM)
let me help you, [click here] thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by 8tvt: Oct 8 2010, 09:08 AM
Newbieeeeee
post Oct 8 2010, 09:26 AM

1,286 posts

Oic..
How to prevent that?
wha7ever
post Oct 8 2010, 09:41 AM

606 posts

ieR: I thought UK price is way more expensive after conversion?

Albnok: A55v is now available in stores?
Mikeshashimi
post Oct 8 2010, 09:55 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Oct 8 2010, 08:56 AM)
lol... use google la bro... u cant ask EVERYTHING here coz some sifus will get annoyed...

but...

for ur convenience... see here:

http://www.glaringnotebook.com/default.asp?id=1423 --> (Sifu albnok's site)
shootkk
post Oct 8 2010, 10:09 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

albnok : ???!!!??? Don't tell me you have already bought the A55 that's now in stock at Zaloon...

mike : Certain lenses have a tendency to get gear stripped. The only SAL lens that is prone to gear stripping is the SAL1870. Albnok's Sigma's 17-35mm lens also got its gear stripped. There's a certain 70-300mm lens from either Tamron or Sigma (I forget, sorry!) that's notorious for getting gear stripped on the alpha bodies.
Newbieeeeee
post Oct 8 2010, 10:10 AM

1,286 posts

Sorry. I've gotten my answer. O.O
Mikeshashimi
post Oct 8 2010, 10:30 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Oct 8 2010, 10:09 AM)

mike : Certain lenses have a tendency to get gear stripped. The only SAL lens that is prone to gear stripping is the SAL1870. Albnok's Sigma's 17-35mm lens also got its gear stripped. There's a certain 70-300mm lens from either Tamron or Sigma (I forget, sorry!) that's notorious for getting gear stripped on the alpha bodies.
IINM, SAM lenses dont get gear stripped or wont have the risk because its motor is from the lens itself, correct? hmm.gif
Newbieeeeee
post Oct 8 2010, 10:39 AM

1,286 posts

Getting a scratcch free 100% working SAM50F18 for Rm350 later. rclxms.gif
zstan
post Oct 8 2010, 10:43 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 8 2010, 10:30 AM)
IINM, SAM lenses dont get gear stripped or wont have the risk because its motor is from the lens itself, correct?  hmm.gif
i think all lenses are subjected to gear stripping. they are mechanical after all. but with new technology, the tendency of getting gear stripped is getting lower and lower. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Oct 8 2010, 10:39 AM)
Getting a scratcch free 100% working SAM50F18 for Rm350 later.  rclxms.gif
wow nice deal rclxms.gif
freaky_deity
post Oct 8 2010, 10:50 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 8 2010, 02:53 AM)
freaky_deity:

MFD? what r u suggesting?
Mikeshashimi
post Oct 8 2010, 10:53 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(freaky_deity @ Oct 8 2010, 10:50 AM)
MFD? what r u suggesting?
MFD is minimum focus distance ma...
so with the minolta you get to be an extra 6cm away from ur subject (normally insects). so the insect wont be scared off.
freaky_deity
post Oct 8 2010, 11:00 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 8 2010, 10:53 AM)
MFD is minimum focus distance ma...
so with the minolta you get to be an extra 6cm away from ur subject (normally insects). so the insect wont be scared off.
owh, didnt get the acronyms... ha ha
Mikeshashimi
post Oct 8 2010, 11:06 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Oct 8 2010, 10:39 AM)
Getting a scratcch free 100% working SAM50F18 for Rm350 later.  rclxms.gif
aik... what happened to your 'i-need-a-flash-but-no-money' thing?

This post has been edited by Mikeshashimi: Oct 8 2010, 11:06 AM
8tvt
post Oct 8 2010, 11:08 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

haha his flash can be used what..

about the macro lens.. if not close enough cannot get the 1:1 eh?

125 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:54 AM