Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V46!, The Orange Legion

Anly
post Sep 28 2010, 08:44 AM

90 posts

May i know does anyone have any internal news on when will the a55 launching? today sin chiew got advertisement for a55 and a33 as well as other new cameras.. drool.gif anyway, below is the reply i got from sony. blush.gif

"Thank you for your email to Sony Malaysia.

As per reference to your email, we understand your concern know the launching and pre-order for ALPHA SLT-A55 camera.

We wish to inform that the launching package will be announce in the months of October. Currently, Sony does not taking any pre-order for this product. However, dealers arrangement for pre-order is beyond our control.

Hopefully this mat help to solve your concern."

Anly
post Sep 28 2010, 01:14 PM

90 posts

http://www.sonystyle.com.my/Promotions/Pro...ils.aspx?id=102

sonystyle start sell a33 online...
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 10:27 AM

90 posts

guys, will like to seeks ur opinion on this. i am looking to purchase a new lens. but duno which one to choose. hope you guys can give me some advice.

1) Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI-II LD Aspherical (IF) AF Zoom Lens with Macro
2) Tamron AF 55-200mm f/4-5.6 Di-II LD Autofocus Zoom Normal-Telephoto Lens
3) Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD Macro Zoom Telephoto Autofocus Lens

i am looking at no1 option also because its like all in one lens and i not need change lens. but now i am confused abt those 3. which one will give better used and quality photos and faster focus speed? tamron compare to sony's own lens, the AF speed and photos quality very much different? would like to seeks all shifu's advice! thanks!
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 10:47 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 5 2010, 10:40 AM)
you are not comparing apples to apples in the first place..IQ will definitely be different la bro.. laugh.gif  (comparing between the 3 lenses, and not Sony vs Tamron).

unless you comparing 55-200 Sony & tamron..
so what's your verdict?  laugh.gif
i mean if among that three, which one will produce better photos shooting experience..and also then compare with sony brand of same type of lens, issit very much different as well? cos sony also got produce 50-200 and 70-300 lens..but price more expensive lor~tats why i wan to know sony and tamron give very much different of quality and af speed or etc?
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 10:53 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Oct 5 2010, 10:45 AM)
Before getting to the lens choices, here's one question that you need to ask yourself:

Do you use telephoto a lot?

I am assuming that you have the 18-55mm kitlens. When you shoot, do you always go to the 55mm end of your kitlens and then wish that you can zoom in further? Like about 70% of the time?

If you do then it's clear you need a telephoto lens. If not then you're probably just thinking that having a telephoto lens would be convenient if and when you need to use it.

If you are just thinking about the convenience then I would suggest you go for the SAL18250 lens which has better IQ and faster focusing speed. The Tamron 18-200mm is cost effective but has slightly lower IQ and slow focusing speed compared to the SAL18250.

The 55-200mm has the best IQ but you need to swap lenses. If you're sure you need telephoto then get this one.

Leave the 70-300mm for now. Until you are very, very sure you need 300mm then you might be better served by getting the Sony 70-300G SSM lens instead.
thanks! notworthy.gif i choose tamron cos the price is cheaper and i do need telephoto, i really feel 15-55mm really not enuff far.. tats why i am looking further .. tongue.gif so tats mean either 50-200mm or SAL18250 will give better experience.. i will put it into my consideration! thanks again! notworthy.gif
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 11:05 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 5 2010, 10:54 AM)
what kind of photo experience do you prefer? at the wide angle end or telephoto end?

55-200 sony is quite cheap..just the 70300G is a lot more expensive because its a different class compared to the tamron..forget about it at the moment..
aiyo price also not same..how to compare fairly..  tongue.gif
55-200 sony and tamron will give like rm200 different of price.. hmm.gif sony zoon lens SAL75300 rrp rm899 also.. icon_question.gif
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 02:01 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 5 2010, 12:39 PM)
anly: hi, have u even been to alphanatics? there is many people selling 55-200 2nd hand under rm500. choice to choice.... if u are looking for tele.. i recomend
i. SAL55200 (better then tamron55200)
or
ii. Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD Macro (better then SAL75300 in terms of IQ and CA issue)

for superzoom (18 to tele)
the SAL18-250 is great with shorter focusgear then other tamron, but all super zoom suffer the F6.3 and softness at end tele.
thanks~ notworthy.gif
if SAL18-250 compare with SAL55200, issit same IQ and CA ? or which one better? but SAL55-200 is much more cheaper than SAL18250,since i got 18-55mm lens already.. sweat.gif
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 02:27 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Batmaninkl @ Oct 5 2010, 02:17 PM)
Hi..i am looking for new dslr..sony in my first choice follows by canon....I have try out Sony A33 at Sony style, it seems to be slow in process time....not suitable for me to take my kid photos....I guess A55 will be the same.

Can any expert here suggest for me from these 3 models (all expected to be out later these months):
1. Sony A580
2. Canon 60D
3. Sony A55
wat do u mean slow in processing time? i tried a33, i think its fast and good. i am waiting to get a55... drool.gif
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 02:28 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Oct 5 2010, 02:17 PM)
You cannot compare it like that. The two lenses are built for different crowds.

For sure the 55-200mm will beat the heck out of the 18-250 in the same ranges both in terms of IQ and aperture ratings but the 55-200mm is specifically a tele lens. You cannot leave the 55-200mm attached to your camera and go out with just that one lens. You will probably miss quite a number of shots if you do. (Landscapes and groups come instantly to mind.)

The 18-250mm however is designed to let you attach that one lens and go out and you'll still be able to shoot most of anything. The price you have to pay for that convenience is to sacrifice a little in terms of IQ and aperture rating.

For a person to cover the range from 18-250, he/she will have to bring at least 2 lenses if they do not want to use a superzoom. If he/she has only one camera body then he/she will need to swap lenses to get to use the different focal range.

Imagine that while out for a little stroll during your vacation, you see a new species of bird never seen before in this world. It's about to take off and go into the woods where no one will probably see it ever again. Standing where you are you can get a decent pic of the bird at 200mm focal length.

If you had the 18-250mm attached on your cam you could zoom all the way and get a decent shot.

If you had the 55-200mm but it's not currently attached to your cam, you would probably have lost the bird in the time it took for you to change lenses. If you have had the 55-200mm attached, you would have probably gotten a better pic of the bird in terms of IQ and exposure compared to the 18-250mm but that's a big IF.

That's the difference between the 2 lenses.
hmm!! i think i got ur meaning.. so like wan quick and fast capture, 18-250 is convenient.. but 55-200 is better in IQ .. so depend on situation and suit ur need..then really hard to choose.. sweat.gif
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 02:37 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 5 2010, 02:32 PM)
bataminkl: are u sure 'photo review' is ON with ALL the cameras u tried? All using the same Memory card? if not then u cant compare.

anly: no.. no... he doesnt mean 18250 will give u fast and quick capture.. ALL lenses will (provided the AF is not slow as heck la)... but it will be convenient... lets say u see something near you... u cant take it with a 55200... (near as in... few feet away).. but with the 18250... ud get the 18mm wide angle... but if u have both the 1855 and 55200.. it will take time to switch the lenses... so the key word is CONVENIENCE.
i know i know..hehe..i mean faster capture without changing lens.. like wat he said about the bird, after changing the lens, maybe the bird fly away oledi.. but with 18-250, can directly start to set and capture.. right??? maybe i really need experience it and compare both lens only will know which one is my dish! wan convenience or wan better IQ..really hard to have both in one.. hmm.gif
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 02:47 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Oct 5 2010, 02:40 PM)
I can't decide if its me...  blush.gif .. I would want 18250 but will want better IQ oso. Haha! Good luck~
Newbieeeeee: me2..i also wan both.. tongue.gif

shootkk: i agree with u..the precious moment always gone with a flash..i may not have extra time to change the lens and everything gone.. or else i will regret..

thanks for all of your advice..i think 18-250 is my dish and maybe after that i can look at further lens like 75-300 if need.. drool.gif

This post has been edited by Anly: Oct 5 2010, 02:50 PM
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 02:52 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 5 2010, 02:48 PM)
agreed.

changing lenses is a real fuss IMO...

1) you'll miss important moments
2) you risk getting dust into the sensor

and also...

sometimes when u have a telephoto (say 55200) attached to ur camera... then suddenly u need a wide angle (say 1855).. so u change.. then a minute later... u suddenly need the 200mm again.. then u change again... and its not always that easy.

Added on October 5, 2010, 2:50 pm

1st thing to do, realize your NEEDS.

2nd analyze them

3rd double analyze

4th buy

5th enjoy....

i used to have the 1750 f2.8 but i rarely utilize it.. so i sold it off at got the tamron 1118... as im more into wide angle shots such as Architecture and Huge groups... not every has the same needs... like some people here drool over the 85mm.. some drool over the 35mm (like me) haha.
yeah i know.. so i totally agreed with u! 18-250 might suit me more..
oh ya..i am looking at tamron 1118 too..how do u find abt it? mind share some opinion? and how much u got it?

Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 03:02 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 5 2010, 02:58 PM)
how do u find abt it?
On Alphanatics.

mind share some opinion?
distortion is obvious at 11mm but reduces at you proceed to 18mm. IQ is actually pretty good. VERY lightweight.

how much u got it?

undisclosed.  tongue.gif

Added on October 5, 2010, 2:59 pmnewbieeeee: ur shots are okay what.. pretty nice actually.
thanks! but i think i will get the zoom lens first for my convenient.. notworthy.gif
Anly
post Oct 6 2010, 07:38 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 5 2010, 11:54 PM)
after looking online and all...i think nex would be a safer bet (with me being a sony user).. yes some might call me a fanboy.. so be it...

thanks for the input on my inquiry... happy.gif

gosh, now i really want a nex. sad.gif
Mikeshashimi, which nex will you prefer? nex5 or nex3? i have been poisoned too.. now think of sell out my digital cam first then top up to get it.... whistling.gif doh.gif
Anly
post Oct 6 2010, 07:50 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 6 2010, 07:42 AM)
in my own opinion la... id prefer the nex3 because to me i feel that:

1) i dont need the 1080p video
2) the plastic (Polycarbonate) on the nex3 is of very good quality (as opposed to the magnesium alloy bodied nex5)
3) i personally feel that the nex3 feels better in my hands than the nex5 (its all personal preference here)
4) with the price gap, i would rather get the A-E adapter
A-E adapter cost rm599?? but i like the design of nex5 more..look more like a dslr style... nex3 more to the digital cam design tongue.gif ..so are u getting it soonner or later??? i am stuck with a55 or nex now.. doh.gif
Anly
post Oct 7 2010, 10:52 AM

90 posts

http://www.sony.com.my/productcategory/dslr-camera
from sony website, a55 body only srp come out oledi..rm2499..so tats mean the body and lens might start selling soon too! rclxms.gif
Anly
post Oct 7 2010, 07:49 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 7 2010, 06:10 PM)
These are now in stock in Studio Zaloon!

Sony SLT-A55 body only - retail RM2499, street RM23xx
Sony SLT-A55 + 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 DT SAM - street RM26xx (only Studio Zaloon offers this package)
Sony SLT-A55 + 50mm F1.8 DT SAM - retail RM2899, street RM26xx
Sony SLT-A55 + 16-105mm F3.5-5.6 DT - retail RM4299, street RM37xx

I am not sure which package includes 8GB (not sure MSPD or SD), vacuum dry box, lens cleaning kit, only from Studio Zaloon. Vacuum dry box limited to 30 units.

zstan: Okay lah it suits the look.

jerrylyh: No lah.

The F42 was the F36 replacement, and it went for the same price.

Whatever this new flash is, it is expected to be the F42 replacement, and should go for the same price.
studio Zaloon got oledi the stock? cos today i receive the email from sony, they told me only body tat one got stock..the a55 with 1855 need wait after 9 oct only reach the stock.. tats fast..! may i know if let say i get the camera from the camera shop, can i still go to sony n get the extended waranty? or only the thing bought from sony centre or sonystyle are entitled for the extended waranty?
Anly
post Oct 8 2010, 07:06 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 8 2010, 02:53 AM)

4 A-mount!

More to come. biggrin.gif

eddybeh: I feel you're a bit too close to the model. #1 not quite there. #2 too in; #3 too out, and the cropped hand is quite weird. #4 better with face in one of the squares. #5 framing out. #6 you need to soften it with a reflector on the other side. #9 almost there but not in exact focus.

wingster: No, for multi-segment. That said Alphas have always underexposed so I won't say any one is better (I don't have an A550 so I can't tell you if it underexposes often.)

jerrylyh: Street price in KL is RM800.

Anly: You can buy the Extended Warranty at Studio Zaloon or any dealer. I don't think you can buy a camera and then buy the warranty from another dealer though!

destfull: The A560/A580 won't be able to focus confirm even in manual focus video wor. The A33/A55 can do that. biggrin.gif

I shot a gig with the A900 + Opteka 85mm F1.4 and A55 + Zeiss 135mm F1.8. I have no problem with the A55's grip. Then again, my heaviest commonly-used lens is the Zeiss which is under 1 KG.

ieR: Yes, auto-gain in low light for the A55 is amazing! It sees what you cannot see.

A funny side effect of shooting with a dSLR and SLT side-by-side is that when you look through the EVF which has my Vivid setting etc, and I look at the dSLR with OVF, the OVF looks very dull because it's the true, darker tone (with less saturation).

freaky_deity:

The Tamron 90mm F2.8 Macro's MFD is 29cm.

The Sigma 105mm F2.8 Macro's MFD is 31cm.

The Minolta/Sony 100mm F2.8 Macro's MFD is 35cm.

You get to be 6cm further away from the insect, with the Minolta.
thanks albnok! i ever email sony b4..they replied that if the shop i get the camera from does not provided the extended waranty, they ask me to call sony directly to buy the extended waranty. i a bit doubt.. now from wat you said, seems like i must get the waranty from the shop i buy from only.. hmm.. rclxub.gif is the AF speed of the a55 slower than a580 or a560 or a550???
Anly
post Oct 11 2010, 04:20 PM

90 posts

Mikeshashimi: why u set for nex3 instead of a55? the price not much different? issnt it? cos of it size?
Anly
post Oct 11 2010, 08:34 PM

90 posts

Mikeshashimi: icic..true also! i ordered a55 from uncle chin, should be arriving rclxm9.gif ..now i am looking for nex5 twin lens kit.. still sourcing for cheapest shop..anyway no hurry..i really attract by nex cos of the small size with powerful function.. looking fwd to use it as my secondary camera ..

0.0556sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:41 AM