QUOTE(cougar richard @ Jan 19 2011, 11:08 PM)
No reply.The Samsung BD-C5500 BD Player owner's thread, For users to share tips and solutions
The Samsung BD-C5500 BD Player owner's thread, For users to share tips and solutions
Jan 20 2011, 12:31 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
29,779 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Johor, Malaysia. |
Jan 20 2011, 07:03 AM
656 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(fit @ Jan 19 2011, 03:44 PM) Just order one unit, getting this weekend. Will connect using optical cable to my old reveiver that dont have hdmi in, how is the sound quality compare to hdmi input ? This is just my view. If you watch DVD or play CD, there is little or no difference but if you watch BD, you will not get the full HD audio from the optical audio out, just normal DTS or Dolby Digital at best depending on the source itself. To get the best result out of BD, one should use the HDMI port.One must remember that a BD player is to play BD (plus DVD and CD) as the main function; playing media files is just a bonus feature so don't expect too much from it. If you are serious into playing downloaded media, there is nothing like getting a stand-alone HD media player that can play all major file formats and has full functionality and much more versatile. Those found on BD players are just a compromise so one should not really complain. This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Jan 20 2011, 07:05 AM |
Jan 20 2011, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Jan 20 2011, 07:03 AM) One must remember that a BD player is to play BD (plus DVD and CD) as the main function; playing media files is just a bonus feature so don't expect too much from it. If you are serious into playing downloaded media, there is nothing like getting a stand-alone HD media player that can play all major file formats and has full functionality and much more versatile. Those found on BD players are just a compromise so one should not really complain. Actually the media player is nearly perfect, the only problem is Chinese subtitle issue, it shall not showing square square square, why it can show certain wording but not all.Once it plan to implement such function, then it shall make it better, at least basic is support nicely. Extra added features not means just simply do, remember the extra features is one of the selling point also. |
Jan 20 2011, 11:00 AM
120 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
I am currently using my BD player with an optical audio cable to my LG DVD receiver, which connects my home theater system.
Since like you said it won't transmit full audio quality, may I know is there any work around for it? |
Jan 20 2011, 12:11 PM
208 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Andrewtst,
If I extract the subtitles for (those that are embedded in the MKV files)and place it in the same folder as a .srt file. using MKVcleaver as you mentioned earlier. During playback the subs will be shown on the screen? If it is then it is fantastic. |
Jan 20 2011, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(braveheart @ Jan 20 2011, 12:11 PM) Andrewtst, It will display, If I extract the subtitles for (those that are embedded in the MKV files)and place it in the same folder as a .srt file. using MKVcleaver as you mentioned earlier. During playback the subs will be shown on the screen? If it is then it is fantastic. |
Jan 20 2011, 12:58 PM
208 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Thanks Andrew
Will try it out tonite. Have to do a lot of extraction now. |
Jan 20 2011, 04:09 PM
20 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
I'm using optical cable from my player to my AVR. Now I know that optical cable does not support DTS True-HD. My AVR is the old one that does not have the HDMI input, but the sound quality is still good.
Now I play movies that I download but I don't know how to make the subtitle appear. Somebody can help me? This post has been edited by jazzabel29: Jan 20 2011, 04:12 PM |
Jan 20 2011, 04:13 PM
My DVD player which is connected to my HT system has HDMI input, but the problem is this C5500 BD Player only have 1 HDMI input.
Meaning I can only connect one HDMI to the TV, and another optical cable to the HT system. anyone encountered this problem before? |
Jan 20 2011, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 20 2011, 12:40 PM) Do u mean that we just download the subtitle as usual and rename the file same as the mkv file? And it works?Added on January 20, 2011, 4:17 pm QUOTE(sws @ Jan 20 2011, 04:13 PM) My DVD player which is connected to my HT system has HDMI input, but the problem is this C5500 BD Player only have 1 HDMI input. You must connect HDMI from your BD player to your AVR first. Then u need another HDMI cable to send from your AVR to your LCD.Meaning I can only connect one HDMI to the TV, and another optical cable to the HT system. anyone encountered this problem before? This post has been edited by jazzabel29: Jan 20 2011, 04:18 PM |
Jan 20 2011, 04:41 PM
The problem is my AVR only has one HDMI output.
and will this way reduce the picture quality from the BD Player? |
Jan 20 2011, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(jazzabel29 @ Jan 20 2011, 04:14 PM) Do u mean that we just download the subtitle as usual and rename the file same as the mkv file? And it works? Yes, or you can using MKVcleaver to take out the inside subtitle as well. |
Jan 20 2011, 09:29 PM
656 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(sws @ Jan 20 2011, 04:41 PM) The problem is my AVR only has one HDMI output. The HDMI cable is designed to carry both video and audio together so there is no degrading of quality. You should connect your DVD player, BD player, other HD sources, etc. by separate HDMI cables to your AVR HDMI inputs and connect to your HDTV from the HDMI output of the AVR with another HDMI cable as pointed out by jazzabel29 earlier. Use the AVR to switch the varies HD sources on your HDTV.and will this way reduce the picture quality from the BD Player? This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Jan 20 2011, 09:32 PM |
Jan 20 2011, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(yupio @ Jan 11 2011, 02:00 PM) Managed to get a C5500 yesterday for RM399, very good price, will try to update the firmware and change the DVD to region free tonite! OK, I just updates to latest firmware where previously as know I already hack DVD to region FREE.Anyone verified if you change the DVD to region 9 and later upgrade the firmware, will we need to redo the dvd region change?? I am happy where firmware updates did not turn the hack DVD region FREE back to region lock at 3. DVD region remain FREE. |
Jan 20 2011, 11:08 PM
Jan 21 2011, 10:21 AM
Samsung just reply my email regarding the Chinese subtitle issue.
![]() Just a common reply, wish it can solve the problem ASAP. |
Jan 21 2011, 01:21 PM
187 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
guys, anyone bought anything from Amazon.com before?
i saw the player for a good deal in Amazon.com. But, skeptical to buy it online lah. Never bought something from them. |
Jan 24 2011, 10:13 AM
433 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Jan 24 2011, 10:51 AM
Jan 24 2011, 10:10 PM
433 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
why my player cant upgrade the firmware through network ?
can search but seem like cant get the latest 1020 firmware. and actually how do i stream the file from my pc to play at my player ? |
| Change to: | 0.0295sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:30 AM |