7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread, Maxis FTTH launched 1st Sep 2010!

DrPitchard
post Jun 2 2012, 05:16 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(mjchua @ Jun 2 2012, 03:03 PM)
how about the RM75 deposit due to the TM fixed line phone? need to return?
Yes, that will be shown in the final bill too....If there is balance (after deduction of the usages for the previous month), they will refund you in a form of a cheque. If no, then you would have to settle the outstanding amount
DrPitchard
post Jun 2 2012, 05:17 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jun 2 2012, 12:39 PM)
laugh.gif All the high speedtests here is so tempting that I can't wait to get hold of FTTH @ my home now.. damn, it feels like waiting forever even though it's only been two business days laugh.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
DrPitchard
post Jun 3 2012, 10:11 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(skinny monkey @ Jun 2 2012, 09:33 PM)
A slight side track question here.... when they say fiber broadband does it mean its physical fiber connection from the telco all the way to your modem?

Does this apply to only landed properties (houses)? What bout condo?
For landed, yes. For condo, no. High rise residential will have the VDSL setup. VDSL capable of max speeds of up to 52Mbps. In other words, for high rise residential, they provide fibre optical cables all the way up to the ground floor of your building only (Fibre To The Curb) and from there onwards, they will utilize the current copper wires. Thus, there is usually no drilling/hacking for high rise installation as compared to landed, whereby it will be Fibre To The Home.

Hope that answers your queries! :-)

Added on June 3, 2012, 10:41 amYou might be thinking, if VDSL works, then why the need to lay fibre optic cables all the way to my condo/apartment? Might as well just give me VDSL and I can still subscribe to Maxis Fibre Home even though there is no fibre optic cables infrastructure here yet?

Well, VDSL only works for a short distance (1km). Thus, the cabling internally at your condo from the ground floor till it reaches your unit (and all the twisting here and there) already accounts for a few hundred metres. Thus, fibre optic cable is still needed to the entrance of your condo/apartment.... :-)

Added on June 3, 2012, 10:48 am
QUOTE(kukulong10 @ May 31 2012, 08:46 PM)
can this number use for fax?
No issues, you can use it for fax too. The bandwith taken up by phone calls (voice) or fax is marginally as compared to internet access or even HDTV. Just need a fax machine, and you are good to go! :-)

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Jun 3 2012, 10:48 AM
DrPitchard
post Jun 3 2012, 10:18 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 3 2012, 01:25 AM)
Me also anxiously waiting for the call... Maybe my area got too much subscribers.... Those thinking to subscribe the RM118 package, don't do it brows.gif
Patience guys, I submit applications on the next working day itself and directly to the the Home Sales support team. As I might have personally mentioned to some of you, there is a long Q and heavy backlog. The usual 3-5 working days response has now turn into a 7-10 working days response.....

From that call, it will be another 2 weeks to 1 and a half months to installation, depending on your area.....

All I can say, OVERWHELMING response....
DrPitchard
post Jun 3 2012, 10:30 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 2 2012, 02:02 PM)
ok but are we need go to TM Point doing cancel or our TM acc will automatic cancel.  hmm.gif
You will need to walk in and submit your cancellation request, there is no auto cancel. Just like older days, when you have other telco operator mobile line and you want to get a new Maxis line, you will need to go to your previous telco operator and request to cancel it. Popping the SIM card out of your phone and inserting a new Maxis SIM card doesn't mean the previous one has been cancelled...

Added on June 3, 2012, 10:34 am
QUOTE(e_necro @ Jun 3 2012, 10:09 AM)
hi.. anyone know who when will they start implementing the quota?
my friend said he called to maxis, and they say end of the promo, which is end of this month ...  rclxub.gif

DrP****** can clarify?
P&C stuff....how to clarify.....can't lar......Hope you understand...

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Jun 3 2012, 10:34 AM
DrPitchard
post Jun 3 2012, 10:48 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Jun 3 2012, 10:24 AM)
Thanks for the PM, Dr P.
Welcome.... :-)
DrPitchard
post Jun 3 2012, 11:24 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(skinny monkey @ Jun 3 2012, 11:00 AM)
so when after the Fibre To The Curb "junction box/distribution point", would using copper wires have a drop in broadband speed?
What's the speed capacity of copper wires?

Since the copper wires fr Ground Floor (in my case the Telekom DP is by roadside), has to go up the Telekom riser to every floor, is there a booster that can be installed? If there is what's the estimated price, I can suggest to the management to install. Since there is a booster on every floor for our centralised Astro dish, it would be the same concept, yes?
No, not at all. None of that is needed. As mentioned, VDSL is capable of speeds up to 52Mbps, thus, even if your setup is VDSL and not fully fibre, your Maxis Fibre Home experience of 10Mbps will not be affected at all. I recently posted my speed of 12Mbps and I am staying in a high rise residential building too..... :-)
DrPitchard
post Jun 5 2012, 01:10 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(Swordylove @ Jun 3 2012, 02:58 PM)
I'd advise you to terminate your TM line only after Maxis Fibre has been successfully installed and you don't experience any problem after a few days.
Well, depends on your setup actually. For those living in high rise buildings, there is no chance at all to use dual phone lines. Once Maxis Fibre Home is installed, the TM line will be pulled out at the exchange point, thus, users will NOT BE ABLE to use that phone number line anymore, and together with that, no more streamyx. For landed, still possible, since it is a seperate new fibre optic line. But do take note that it will take 3-4 weeks for TM to process your cancellation request, thus, almost 1 month of wastage, especially those staying in high rise.

Added on June 5, 2012, 1:13 am
QUOTE(ryudell @ Jun 4 2012, 10:44 PM)
very nice..
i'm waiting for maxis to call me to confirm my registration
yeap, your area is under coverage!!! Just received email from the telesales department regarding your application....you should be contacted soon. And should be fast too I guess, since its Kajang....lucky you... :-)

Added on June 5, 2012, 1:15 am
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 4 2012, 10:56 AM)
Definitely a very long backlog.... nice offers is always like that. just like the SGSIII 4-day promo by Maxis
SGS3, sold out everyday before noon....
And people start to Q up before 7am at Maxis Centres, especially KLCC and Gardens.....

Crazy......

Added on June 5, 2012, 1:19 am
QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 4 2012, 09:44 PM)
Kajang.
Kajang not the fastest, Ipoh is.... :-)

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Jun 5 2012, 01:19 AM
DrPitchard
post Jun 5 2012, 01:25 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(yed @ Jun 4 2012, 07:00 PM)
Just install this morning...however the speed is not stable ranging from 3mbps ++ to 9.6mbps

I believes the speed should be stable rite?
That's very bad...to hit below 3Mbps. Do a speedtest from time to time and if it still remains, I think you should complain....
DrPitchard
post Jun 6 2012, 01:03 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Jun 5 2012, 10:37 PM)
I already downloaded more than 100gb during this whole week since installed. I wonder when will they implement quota.if usage like this 1week da habis quota.
Fully utilizing it eh.... :-)
Glad to know you're enjoying it

Added on June 6, 2012, 1:05 am
QUOTE(chenfei @ Jun 5 2012, 07:11 PM)
Of coz you can have both. TM is running on telephone line. Maxis Fibre is running on Fibre line. Totally different things.
Again, depends on type of residence. If high rise, not possible. Please do refer to the previous comments shared... :-)

Added on June 6, 2012, 1:07 am
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 5 2012, 09:32 AM)
I remember reading the part which TM needs to activate the 10Mbps from their end from one of the LYN user's installation experience.
Same for Maxis, its a back end setting. Just a few clicks on the mouse? :-)

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Jun 6 2012, 01:07 AM
DrPitchard
post Jun 6 2012, 01:09 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 5 2012, 09:52 PM)
Friend familiar to networking said 10mbps is achievable for domestic servers located in Malaysia only because sharing of fibre infra with TM Unify dose not include TM overseas fibre.
Accessing overseas portals such as You tube and Google should be fast since they have local servers in Malaysia.

To verify this claim, He suggest those who already have Maxis fibre home 10MB go to speedtest.net to do a comparison speed texts ie oversea server and Kuala Lumpur server.

If you have done the comparison tests, please post the result here. Thank you. notworthy.gif
DrPitchard
post Jun 6 2012, 01:12 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 5 2012, 03:52 PM)
i am curious about the offer. 10Mbps, 100GB quota & rm118 mthly fee. what they mean by limited offer?

let say i have to queue up with my applications during offer period. then when the installer comes to fix up the services for my hse. i mean after maxis withdraw the offer. when it comes to my appointment. will i be slapped with rm200 onsite installation + rm218 mthly fee efective the day i commence services with maxis?
This question has been answered a few times already previously. You might want to browse the previous pages for the answer? :-)
DrPitchard
post Jun 7 2012, 01:24 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jun 6 2012, 12:13 PM)
yup unifi to Maxis FTTH, from my apartment junction box to my unit is still on cooper but just a very short distance.

10mbps will not effect much unless our provider have 100mbps then i might ask them to tarik fiber to my unit.
Short distance copper, if configure as VDSL, max distance is 1km, and VDSL max speed is 52Mbps. So, no real worry on that, 10Mbps is a sure can thingy.... :-)

Added on June 7, 2012, 1:26 am
QUOTE(peri peri @ Jun 6 2012, 12:17 PM)
good info, i will check with the installer tis week and learn how they do. like a magnet since i took leave for this. haha. see if they got any idea how to hijack the 20mbps or 30mbps. hopes no maxis staff seeing this post. This noob idea come from the avenger movie which the iron man use some kind of device tapped the main internet server cable underneath the sea.
:-)

I can tell you that it is more or less impossible to do so....

Gd luck if you still wanna try!!! LOL

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Jun 7 2012, 01:26 AM
DrPitchard
post Jun 7 2012, 01:27 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(shijustar @ Jun 6 2012, 02:49 PM)
Hope they extend it.. due to popular demand..  biggrin.gif
Better just apply first if you are interested, strongly doubt it that it will be extended....Well, for a start, it is not mentioned when it will end also....NOT 30th JUNE!!! There is no official date on this by Maxis...FYI
DrPitchard
post Jun 7 2012, 01:31 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Jun 6 2012, 12:38 PM)
registered with DrPitchard some days ago and Maxis had set the installation date on jul/4 and im in PJ area
Some are fast, some are slow....
Guys, besides the backlog, it also heavily depends on port availability (telephone number). If not available at the moment and they are waiting for new ones to be released by govt, means they can't fix an installation date first and thus, no call.

I will follow up for you guys, don't worry, k?

You are lucky by the way....get confirmation so fast... :-)

Added on June 7, 2012, 1:32 am
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jun 6 2012, 05:31 PM)
Really? Any exact date of you submitting the form? I submitted mine to DrPitchard on 30/6/2012 and he submitted to the office at 31/6/2012.. but still no calls yet, almost 1 week cry.gif
Patience bro...
Once you get call and confirmed date, then will be happy liao
After install, lagi happie...

Added on June 7, 2012, 1:34 am
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 6 2012, 09:43 AM)
Depends on your location... Klang Valley would-be subscriber is alot...thus backlog
Unless we signup on May 19th
The response its really impressive....dunno how to describe it...LOL
I guess the number of comments and threads posted in this short 3 week period can somehow testify to that...

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Jun 7 2012, 01:34 AM
DrPitchard
post Jun 7 2012, 10:55 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 7 2012, 08:05 PM)
the maxis promo plan actually meant to profit tm. this i can be very certain. they break even with tm via mass quantity of users signup. while tm offer it's vip at slight higher price.

what will happen when all the users sign up. do expect network congestion? this give maxis reason to start capping.

the same i experience with p1, 1st year everything is so good. only 9mths later hell break lose.. end users screaming, cursing & yellin is nothing new.

when problems happens. tm will squeeze maxis of their technologies which can benefit it's subsidary celcom..
LOL.....way too much assumption and speculation.....

All I can say is.....IT'S NOT TRUE....confidently... :-)

Added on June 7, 2012, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 7 2012, 08:13 PM)
not politics alone.. bottomline is tm monopolized the fiber infra

any offer too good to be true. will surely has it's catch. we do not see now. probably will be later on the road when you use their services.
Let's wait and see..... :-)

Added on June 7, 2012, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 7 2012, 03:46 PM)
Maxis Home Fibre team just called to inform of my installation date (late July 2012) & fixed line number. My area : Puchong
For your area, IT'S ONE OF THE BEST POSSIBLE time slots already at the moment they called you.....trust me....

Added on June 7, 2012, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(sexualpower @ Jun 7 2012, 01:34 PM)
technician test using local server... cyberjaya... then show you the results, "mesti sentuhan ajaib saya, tengok nih, dah 10Mbps"  tongue.gif
+1

Added on June 7, 2012, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 7 2012, 01:20 PM)
When technician ask you to do a speedtest, secrectly select overseas server, see can achieve 10mb or not, if cant, complaint to the technician and see whether he can do some tweakings for you untill u satisfy with the speed. brows.gif
Errr...... o.O

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Jun 7 2012, 11:02 PM
DrPitchard
post Jun 7 2012, 11:00 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(Swordylove @ Jun 7 2012, 01:04 PM)
Hmm funny... I'm sure I saw 30th June on Maxis website, but now it's gone. I guess they deleted it for some reason.  tongue.gif
30th June is for the FREE installation.....U saw it in the website?! Hmphh....i stronlgy doubt it....
DrPitchard
post Jun 7 2012, 11:44 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 7 2012, 11:13 PM)
this is what i am hearing outside hmm..
LOL....I read and listen about something different INSIDE.....
DrPitchard
post Jun 8 2012, 12:29 AM

2,094 posts

Anyway, some good news to the current 4Mbps and 6Mbps subscribers....

If you have subscribe to the previously and still have not fulfill the minimum 12 months period, you CAN STILL UPGRADE TO THIS 10Mbps @ RM118 package IF:

a) You are a Maxis postpaid customer
AND
b) Your account is current (no overdue/outstanding amount)

Just walk into any of the MAXIS CENTRES and apply over the counter

Added on June 8, 2012, 12:30 am
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 7 2012, 11:50 PM)
It's already June... any news on IPTV for Maxis Home Fibre ?
Soon....

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Jun 8 2012, 12:30 AM
DrPitchard
post Jun 8 2012, 08:22 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 8 2012, 08:13 PM)
Even nicer... means this promo is going to continue.....
I don't think they will continue on with this for very long....

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0490sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:08 PM