176 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread, Maxis FTTH launched 1st Sep 2010!

Kampung2005
post Sep 30 2010, 12:10 PM

Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.
3,028 posts

That one, on the 1st photo is indeed, fibre.
haya
post Sep 30 2010, 12:23 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(mbj78 @ Sep 30 2010, 09:47 AM)
In Kuching, Sarawak I believe that Maxis is sharing with Sesco Electricity poles. I saw this cable (maybe optic) install since August and some of them end up at the Maxis Tower.

[attachmentid=1808605]

[attachmentid=1808607]

Can anyone (from Maxis Technical side) confirm this..???
That really is fiber!

Question: Where are they? It looks like the Bampfylde/Bukit Hantu (interesting name, I know) area.
almaty
post Sep 30 2010, 06:26 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Sep 9 2010, 12:55 PM)
Astro needs a minimum of 15-20 megabits per second (Mbps) for content delivery and TDC’s network can provide up to 100Mbps. Sources said trial users were able to watch all of Astro’s programmes in HD and 3D quality.
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...81&sec=business
Why does Astros solution need more than double what Unifi Iptv needs at 8 Mbps

Oh yea. 40Gb limit per month on 6Mbps line...pfffttt nothing to say.

This post has been edited by almaty: Sep 30 2010, 06:36 PM
kumahachi
post Sep 30 2010, 07:00 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(xomanowar @ Sep 26 2010, 09:05 PM)
I am still waiting for the CS to get back to me on this... I will let you know if they resolve this

Added on September 28, 2010, 9:07 am
kumahachi i think you need to give support a call and make a report... as of now they have not solve the issue yet and still working on it...
i have done so and the engineers have come to my house to try to resolve it.. they said my settings are fine so the problem most likely originates from the maxis side.. apparently they're testing iptv and all. i heard we might get iptv as soon as next month biggrin.gif
mbj78
post Sep 30 2010, 07:53 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Sep 30 2010, 12:23 PM)
That really is fiber!

Question: Where are they? It looks like the Bampfylde/Bukit Hantu (interesting name, I know) area.
Location From Gita - Matang Jaya and up end to Politeknik Kuching Sarawak (Maxis Communication Tower). Will check another area soon..

solarmystic
post Sep 30 2010, 08:13 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(almaty @ Sep 30 2010, 06:26 PM)
Why does Astros solution need more than double what Unifi Iptv needs at 8 Mbps

Oh yea. 40Gb limit per month on 6Mbps line...pfffttt nothing to say.
It's all about the compression methods used and the codec.

Astro uses the outdated MPEG-2 codec (DVD Quality) for its transmissions which is old, lossy, blurry and heavy in size for the quality of transmission

Unifi's IPTV on the other hand uses MPEG-4 Part 10 (.h264) encoding which is the best right now for space savings and quality. It's the same codec used in our favourite .mkv files that we get of the net from HD movies and TV shows and also Bluray discs...

TL:DR => Movie in MPEG-2 codec that weighs in at 4.37 GB would weigh in 4-5 times less on MPEG-4 Part 10 (.h264) codec and yet have the same picture quality!!!!!

Disparity explained!
Kampung2005
post Sep 30 2010, 08:51 PM

3,028 posts

QUOTE(kumahachi @ Sep 30 2010, 07:00 PM)
i have done so and the engineers have come to my house to try to resolve it.. they said my settings are fine so the problem most likely originates from the maxis side.. apparently they're testing iptv and all. i heard we might get iptv as soon as next month biggrin.gif
That's a very good news!

I am crossing my finger on the contents hmm.gif

If it is similar to Astro, i will be rejoiced biggrin.gif
kumahachi
post Sep 30 2010, 10:58 PM

81 posts

this is my internet speed since 7 smtg pm..

cry.gif
HuorEarfalas
post Sep 30 2010, 11:47 PM

382 posts

The engineers just came and install the fibres.

I am dissapointed. What's with the speed? Sometimes it's fast, most of the time it isnt.
xomanowar
post Oct 1 2010, 12:28 AM

QUOTE(kumahachi @ Sep 30 2010, 07:00 PM)
kumahachi actually i care more so on resolving the PS3 NAT3 issue then IPTV... Keep me updated if there is any progress like wise i will do the same.
Kampung2005
post Oct 1 2010, 02:17 AM

3,028 posts

QUOTE(kumahachi @ Sep 30 2010, 10:58 PM)
this is my internet speed since 7 smtg pm..

cry.gif
QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Sep 30 2010, 11:47 PM)
The engineers just came and install the fibres.

I am dissapointed. What's with the speed? Sometimes it's fast, most of the time it isnt.
Mine is still ok. Ping to US, at 185 ms.

I had connection breakdown once though.

boxsystem
post Oct 1 2010, 10:16 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Sep 9 2010, 12:53 PM)
I am surprised to see the image below that MAXIS technician uses plastic cable-ties in the open weather...

These plastic cable-ties won't last long..it will break within a few months under various weather conditions. I've tried it before.
Saw some of these at Datuk Keramat area. Weirdly enough, I saw TM equipments as well ..
skylinelover
post Oct 2 2010, 10:30 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

haha dont tell me thats their way 2 cut cost eh laugh.gif doh.gif
belfong
post Oct 3 2010, 12:42 PM

click clacking
864 posts

Just got mine installed 2 days ago. I live in BU11. Not bad!

KL Server

San Francisco Server

Ping Test

This post has been edited by belfong: Oct 3 2010, 12:43 PM
xomanowar
post Oct 4 2010, 02:28 PM

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 2 2010, 10:30 PM)
haha dont tell me thats their way 2 cut cost eh laugh.gif doh.gif
This is my result...

Do u have a PS3? lol
aricat
post Oct 6 2010, 04:20 PM

Hi all,

Information I can share :-
- The line is capped at 10% of your speed if you exceed quota, I did, and hell it was slow ( 60kb/s updown )

- No use port forwarding the Thomson RG because the Huawei ONT should be blocking ports (what I suspect), have set port forwarding on the RG and used PFPortchecker to check.. failed it seems, and Emule crippled as well.

- A question to the tech when they're installing is that at the moment, they forbid any users to logon to the ONT directly - I attempted it anyhow, but I'm not able to see the RG from the ONT device, so can't DMZ it... I'll see if they provide anymore help later.

- It's default DNS server is by maxis and it's blocking certain websites, which I won't mention here, but if you wish to know how to configure DNS on the RG to OpenDNS, please PM me.

- There is also a proxy set up on their side, which is handling the http traffic. Your IP will always change, as I suspect there are a few proxies handling all HTTP traffic. You can go to http://www.whatismyip.com/ - that's not your IP, it's the proxy's IP. Well, if you ever need to know your IP, you need some other ways to find out... one simple one is run E-mule you'll see your IP there... ( it should've been simpler but I don't know how to get the ONT to show me the public IP, and WE'RE NOT SUPPOSED to access it anyway >.> )

Following the above, I need input from fellow users as well if you face the same thing. What I'm suspecting is that this proxy seems to be giving problems because you will encounter "Your connection to the server was reset" halfway browsing, and you need to press F5 multiple times to reload the page, and at times, the page will be loaded with incorrect layout.

Speed seems to be good ( when not capped )

There's a lot of tweaking to be made to maximize utilization ^^

solarmystic
post Oct 6 2010, 05:04 PM

271 posts

Wow only 10% of the total speed after after capped, and DMZ and forwarding's a b****....

I know Maxis wanted to bury its own grave for this service VS TMNUT's UNIFI but i had no idea....

Draconian caps FTL...
belfong
post Oct 6 2010, 06:29 PM

click clacking
864 posts

The Thomson gateway has a button in front. Pressing it doesn't do anything. I googled it and it seemed to be a ACL (Access Control List) controller, such that you press it and then have a device connect to it and it will add the device to ACL so that the gateway will remember the device. But I can't seem to get it to work.

What I want to do is make my gateway more secure so my neighbour can't hack my connection. Previously, I add mac addresses on top of password.. but I can't seem to do that with the Thomson gateway. What gives?
nidup
post Oct 6 2010, 07:16 PM

73 posts

errr, just a question...
whether this Maxis HSBB is the try & buy package or not?
numbertwo
post Oct 6 2010, 07:19 PM

1,784 posts

has anyone used Maxis FTTH to connect to your home CCTV? Which ports are opened by Maxis , does anyone know? Some CCTV resellers are not confident even to sell it to me when they heard that I will be using Maxis broadband...

176 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:32 PM