126 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

-+♦+- LYN OFFICIAL PROTON PERSONA THREAD V9 -+♦+-, Our pride, our ride!

ZenGTMM
post Sep 3 2010, 04:02 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 3 2010, 03:58 PM)
Bringing our own engine oil to SC will be much cheaper isit? Where can we buy these engine oil ?
Cos buying engine oil outside is cheaper than the getting the engine oil from ur SC, and u can even choose ur own brand of choice. The servicing fee for the car will still remain the same no matter where the engine oil came from.
jasondotcom
post Sep 3 2010, 04:38 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Sep 3 2010, 11:50 AM)
LOL.. My mom using the B14 sentra for 12yrs ald. Engine still almost as good as new, idling very smooth.. Very sayang the car as its still almost as good compared to Myvi, Persona, Vios etc.. And its a manual!  thumbup.gif

Oh sorry bout the Myvi statement, I always felt the throttle was laggy.. Didnt get used to DBW as I have been driving cable system all this while (semua kereta lama) ..  rclxms.gif
-if ur referring to myvi AT yes it is laggy. caused mainly by the AT (very bad TCU programming and ratio). owned one for 4 years till i sold it off and got persona.
-ur mum's car... wow... must be spending lots of attention and care to the car. nice! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Beogatts @ Sep 3 2010, 02:49 PM)
make sure u find a correct proton SC that allow u to bring own engine oil.. mayb the one that u always go to..
the one i went allowed me to bring own oil.. but when it comes to warranty, she said not to mention tht u used other oil.  blush.gif
but make sure u trust the engine oil tht u bought. tongue.gif
i used semi sync Bardahl for my 1k service a week ago..  I suggest u to use Semi rather than Full. Semi can also be used for 8k-10k km.
Full synthetic is mostly for bigger engine like 1.8 n above.. n it is thicker n heavier compare to Semi.
for 1.6, u will feel abit heavier to rev if u use fully synth..
plus, fully is also used for those country that have winter season as the oil wont freeze up during winter n easy to warm the engine up.
-authorized service agents usually allows such slacking. smile.gif
-full syn does not mean it will be heavier. it all depends on the weight of the oil itself. the lighter the oil the lighter the car will feel. tried and tested icon_rolleyes.gif
-end of the day, it all comes down to moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif but for my opinion.... a good reputable semi synthetic oil is really good enough.
rckh
post Sep 3 2010, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(Beogatts @ Sep 3 2010, 02:49 PM)
make sure u find a correct proton SC that allow u to bring own engine oil.. mayb the one that u always go to..
the one i went allowed me to bring own oil.. but when it comes to warranty, she said not to mention tht u used other oil.  blush.gif
but make sure u trust the engine oil tht u bought. tongue.gif
i used semi sync Bardahl for my 1k service a week ago..  I suggest u to use Semi rather than Full. Semi can also be used for 8k-10k km.
Full synthetic is mostly for bigger engine like 1.8 n above.. n it is thicker n heavier compare to Semi.
for 1.6, u will feel abit heavier to rev if u use fully synth..
plus, fully is also used for those country that have winter season as the oil wont freeze up during winter n easy to warm the engine up.
I have used Bardahl semi 10W 40 once before @ 10K km oil change & I find that my car does not run as smoothly as when I am using Delphi semi 10W 40. Did you buy the Bardahl @ RM65-something? Its contents is measured in quarts instead of litres. I also feel Fully syn. is a waste of money on the Persona. If you have a lot of $ or you can buy Fully syn. cheap, by all means, us it. By the way, I have used my own lube all this time.
jasondotcom
post Sep 3 2010, 04:51 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(rckh @ Sep 3 2010, 04:47 PM)
I have used Bardahl semi 10W 40 once before @ 10K km oil change & I find that my car does not run as smoothly as when I am using Delphi semi 10W 40.  Did you buy  the Bardahl @ RM65-something?  Its contents is measured in quarts instead of litres.  I also feel Fully syn. is a waste of money on the Persona.  If you have a lot of $ or you can buy Fully syn. cheap, by all means, us it.  By the way, I have used my own lube all this time.
Hi dude.

So which oil you recommend? And lastly... how much $$$? biggrin.gif
rckh
post Sep 3 2010, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(jasondotcom @ Sep 3 2010, 04:51 PM)
Hi dude.

So which oil you recommend? And lastly... how much $$$?  biggrin.gif
Already mentioned here. Bout the same price as Bardahl.
rex82
post Sep 3 2010, 05:39 PM

164 posts

oO, any ppl from pandan mewah or pandan indah area? need to ask advice which service center is good around that area?
chteh0721
post Sep 3 2010, 05:46 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,065 posts

QUOTE(rex82 @ Sep 3 2010, 05:39 PM)
oO, any ppl from pandan mewah or pandan indah area? need to ask advice which service center is good around that area?
i'm from pandan indah, so far none of the sc is recommend haha. i always do my service at serdang area
rex82
post Sep 3 2010, 06:01 PM

164 posts

cham lor, need to go that far meh. Cheras area also dun have ar? The serdang there service fast or need to wait long?
wilsonjack228
post Sep 3 2010, 06:32 PM

Android .... best!!
1,112 posts

QUOTE(rex82 @ Sep 3 2010, 06:01 PM)
cham lor, need to go that far meh. Cheras area also dun have ar? The serdang there service fast or need to wait long?
Planning to service my car for 1k tomorow at the Desa Tun razak SC since their branch is quite big smile.gif I'm staying near pandan indah 2 icon_rolleyes.gif
there's 2 place near pandan indah but is just a small SC , theres 1 in pandan indah which u mention it and another near the pandan mewah the 1 next to the petronas smile.gif
rex82
post Sep 3 2010, 07:01 PM

164 posts

yea, now only i remember next to petronas tongue.gif so that place service good or not?
jackyap84
post Sep 3 2010, 07:08 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Sep 3 2010, 02:46 PM)
wow , change so much of things ? i though only install the (ORIFICE VALVE - PW895228 - 1 UNIT) hmm.gif
after added orifice valve, metal knocking sound still there when doing cornering?
wilsonjack228
post Sep 3 2010, 08:14 PM

Android .... best!!
1,112 posts

QUOTE(rex82 @ Sep 3 2010, 07:01 PM)
yea, now only i remember next to petronas tongue.gif so that place service good or not?
which 1 ? the 1 next to the petronas ? that place i think only do lub service , if claims i think minor can la
sometimes its pack with cars waiting to service as it only has 2 bays tongue.gif

Added on September 3, 2010, 8:15 pm
QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Sep 3 2010, 07:08 PM)
after added orifice valve, metal knocking sound still there when doing cornering?
I haven't added it yet .. going for service tomorow hope they got the part .. and lets see how it goes smile.gif

This post has been edited by wilsonjack228: Sep 3 2010, 08:15 PM
Beogatts
post Sep 3 2010, 08:45 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(rckh @ Sep 3 2010, 04:47 PM)
I have used Bardahl semi 10W 40 once before @ 10K km oil change & I find that my car does not run as smoothly as when I am using Delphi semi 10W 40.  Did you buy  the Bardahl @ RM65-something?  Its contents is measured in quarts instead of litres.  I also feel Fully syn. is a waste of money on the Persona.  If you have a lot of $ or you can buy Fully syn. cheap, by all means, us it.  By the way, I have used my own lube all this time.
yeah.. Bardahl semi syn is only 3.85 litre. Delphi also not bad. heard some good feedback too on delphi. is it 4 litre?
I will give a try for next service if the price is almost the same. hmm.gif
DaBestOne
post Sep 3 2010, 08:54 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Sep 3 2010, 04:02 PM)
Cos buying engine oil outside is cheaper than the getting the engine oil from ur SC, and u can even choose ur own brand of choice. The servicing fee for the car will still remain the same no matter where the engine oil came from.
So, where can I buy engine oil? What brand is recommended? Thx notworthy.gif
rckh
post Sep 3 2010, 09:29 PM

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 3 2010, 08:54 PM)
So, where can I buy engine oil? What brand is recommended? Thx  notworthy.gif
I don't know where you are from but if you are from KL or PJ or anywhere in the Klang valley, you have plenty of choices. Just buy them from big reputable spare parts shops & you will get a good price. I cannot reveal my source because I get it at wholesale but if you are familiar with the 3rd. Mile Jalan Ipoh area in KL, go to the biggest spare parts shop there & you can choose from a host of lubes there. If you are in PJ, there are the SS2 & Section 8 area with many established spare part shops also. Like I say before, I have already found the most ideal lube for my car (in terms of $ & performance) & it is entirely up to you to find yours. As for recommendations, please spend some time reading the past threads here.

Added on September 3, 2010, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(Beogatts @ Sep 3 2010, 08:45 PM)
yeah.. Bardahl semi syn is only 3.85 litre. Delphi also not bad. heard some good feedback too on delphi. is it 4 litre?
I will give a try for next service if the price is almost the same.  hmm.gif
It is 4 lit. I normally remove about 0.25 lit. from the new pack before letting anyone change my engine oil. The car does not require 4 lit. Actually, 3.6 lit. is still acceptable. The only time I did not use this brand is because my regular suppliers ran out of stocks. Their brake pads are IMHO superior also.

Added on September 3, 2010, 10:14 pm
Dude. How old is you car? Mine is going to be 1 year next week (almost 17K Km) & there are not any abnormal music coming from anywhere except the engine humming normally. Either I am deaf or your sense of hearing is like a bloodhound. If it is confirmed that this so called orifice thing is the fault, why didn't Proton insist their supplier to pre-fix it into the steering pump reservoir before assembling it into the car? I thought this problem have been eliminated for new cars.

This post has been edited by rckh: Sep 3 2010, 10:14 PM
wilsonjack228
post Sep 3 2010, 11:12 PM

Android .... best!!
1,112 posts

QUOTE(rckh @ Sep 3 2010, 09:29 PM)

Added on September 3, 2010, 10:14 pm
Dude. How old is you car?  Mine is going to be 1 year next week (almost 17K Km) & there are not any abnormal  music coming from anywhere except the engine humming normally.  Either I am deaf or your sense of hearing is like a bloodhound.  If it is confirmed that this so called orifice thing is the fault, why didn't Proton insist their supplier to pre-fix it into the steering pump reservoir before  assembling it into the car?  I thought this problem have been eliminated for new cars.
mine is almost 1 month old tongue.gif , I can assure u that there is the sound ... I'm driving H-line smile.gif
maybe urs dun have that problem
khtee
post Sep 4 2010, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Sep 3 2010, 11:12 PM)
mine is almost 1 month old  tongue.gif  , I can assure u that there is the sound ... I'm driving H-line  smile.gif
maybe urs dun have that problem
Hey i m driving H-line also... when i got my car ... i have the same problem... told the service center... they fixed it.. i read the service report.... it states.... installed orifice valve and tighten under carriage....
not sure is it the same problem with urs?
btw i got it done in puchong service center.
chteh0721
post Sep 4 2010, 12:34 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,065 posts

mine solve during 1k service, now already reach 22k still looking fine

Added on September 4, 2010, 12:35 am
QUOTE(rex82 @ Sep 3 2010, 06:01 PM)
depends on date & time, i done my 20k service last saturday, send in my car at 8:30am and by 10:30am I already having my breakfast at steven corner

This post has been edited by chteh0721: Sep 4 2010, 12:35 AM
summer9uy
post Sep 4 2010, 01:04 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(shacxz @ Sep 3 2010, 06:40 AM)
any SE owners that have re-tinted their car? any suggestion on location and price? how about the rear window? did u move the original tint or just put it on top? scares it will effect the heater lines...
I also own SE and peel off the very next day and put 3M tint. Get them to test heater. There are pro on this ..I mean put in and off the tint paper..
DaBestOne
post Sep 4 2010, 01:25 AM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(rckh @ Sep 3 2010, 09:29 PM)
I don't know where you are from but if you are from KL or PJ or anywhere in the Klang valley, you have plenty of choices.  Just buy them from big reputable spare parts shops & you will get a good price.  I cannot reveal my source because I get it at wholesale but if you are familiar with the 3rd. Mile Jalan Ipoh area in KL, go to the biggest spare parts shop there & you can choose from a host of lubes there. If you are in PJ, there are the SS2 & Section 8 area with many established spare part shops also. Like I say before, I have already found the most ideal lube for my car (in terms of $ & performance) & t is entirely up to you to find yours.  As for recommendations, please spend some time reading the past threads here.
Thanks for the reply. Hmm and I always thought that I should get engine oil from the kedai serbaneka in petrol stations. Okay, spare part shops. NOTED smile.gif

THX notworthy.gif

126 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:20 AM