115 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

AMD Bulldozer & Bobcat

jonchai
post Jun 14 2011, 04:14 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Jun 14 2011, 01:48 PM)
http://www.inpai.com.cn/doc/hard/151251.htm
Bulldozer Turbo Boost allows 1GHz clock speed boost at maximum.

Llano is slightly faster to Athlon II, clock-to-clock comparison.
But still far slower than Phenom II with L3 cache.
Disappointing.  wink.gif
To AMD : The game is not changed.  laugh.gif
If you compare Llano with i5/i7, yes, it's pretty far off. But I believe AMD's target market with Llano is i3 and lower i5 which is the mainstream where most of the revenue comes from.

Now, I'm still waiting for reviews on AMD xfire with Llano before deciding on my next laptop purchase.

This post has been edited by jonchai: Jun 14 2011, 04:16 PM
ALeUNe
post Jun 14 2011, 04:17 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4444/amd-lla...on-apu-a8-3500m
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/a8-350...o-apu,2959.html

For mobile, The performance of Llano falls in between Arrandale i3-i5 + Radeon 5650.

It is interesting if it is priced below MYR2000.
It is excellent if it is priced below MYR1500.
It is a huge disappointment (or rather digging her own graveyard) if it's priced more than MYR2000 (considering there are better performance notebooks in that price range).
Now, it all depends on how AMD price the product.

Added on June 14, 2011, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(jonchai @ Jun 14 2011, 04:14 PM)
If you compare Llano with i5/i7, yes, it's pretty far off. But I believe AMD's target market with Llano is i3 and lower i5 which is the mainstream where most of the revenue comes from.

Now, I'm still waiting for reviews on AMD xfire with Llano before deciding on my next laptop purchase.
Look at the price segment, AMD's Llano should be quite comfortable if it's priced < MYR2000.

Most of the revenue comes from MYR2000 segment?
AMD doesn't look "comfortable" to me.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jun 14 2011, 04:20 PM
jonchai
post Jun 14 2011, 04:25 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jun 14 2011, 04:17 PM)
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4444/amd-lla...on-apu-a8-3500m
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/a8-350...o-apu,2959.html

For mobile, The performance of Llano falls in between Arrandale i3-i5 + Radeon 5650.

It is interesting if it is priced below MYR2000.
It is excellent if it is priced below MYR1500.
It is a huge disappointment (or rather digging her own graveyard) if it's priced more than MYR2000 (considering there are better performance notebooks in that price range).
Now, it all depends on how AMD price the product.

Added on June 14, 2011, 4:20 pm
Look at the price segment, AMD's Llano should be quite comfortable if it's priced < MYR2000.

Most of the revenue comes from MYR2000 segment?
AMD doesn't look "comfortable" to me.
Well, you're quoting retail price of laptops. AMD does not do retails. AMD only sells chips.

This post has been edited by jonchai: Jun 14 2011, 04:26 PM
kingkingyyk
post Jun 14 2011, 04:26 PM

15,694 posts

I reckon the A4 series notebook will be priced at around RM1.5k already.
A8 with dual graphic 1 will be priced at RM2.5k. smile.gif

The mobile APU is very good. But the desktop 1 is rather weak.
ALeUNe
post Jun 14 2011, 04:28 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Jun 14 2011, 04:25 PM)
Well, you're quoting retail price of laptops. AMD does not do retails. AMD only sells chips.
Yes, AMD don't sell finished goods but it still falls in the price game.
jonchai
post Jun 14 2011, 04:28 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Jun 14 2011, 04:26 PM)

All along I'm talking about mobile. For desktop, maybe HTPC? But seriously, how many ppl build a rig just for HTPC? So AMD is probably trolling with Llano desktop until Bulldozer arrives
ALeUNe
post Jun 14 2011, 04:33 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Jun 14 2011, 04:26 PM)

The mobile Llano is not exactly powerful. It is just as good as Intel's previous generation i3-i5.
People who have owned Arrandale i3-i5 with discreet GPU Radeon 5650/6550/Geforce GT325/GT330/GT335/GT425/GT540 do not gain in general.

Yeap, cross-fire notebook may cost up to MYR2500.

Added on June 14, 2011, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(jonchai @ Jun 14 2011, 04:28 PM)
All along I'm talking about mobile. For desktop, maybe HTPC? But seriously, how many ppl build a rig just for HTPC? So AMD is probably trolling with Llano desktop until Bulldozer arrives
I see it as a good HTPC solution. It is a good solution if it's cheap.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jun 14 2011, 04:35 PM
jonchai
post Jun 14 2011, 04:35 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jun 14 2011, 04:28 PM)
Yes, AMD don't sell finished goods but it still falls in the price game.
My point is, regardless of how each OEM prices their products, AMD sells the same, in volume. And if OEMs are clever in marketing, they can sell them on parity with current SB i5's (w/o discrete card) because of the graphics performance of Llano alone. Also, this may please the GPGPU crowd because of the on-die graphics performance. So it's actually a win for AMD this time around. People tend to place emphasis on the latest and greatest (namely Sandy Bridge) but when it comes time for purchase, it's always value for money, save for the enthusiast crowd.
ALeUNe
post Jun 14 2011, 04:42 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Jun 14 2011, 04:35 PM)
My point is, regardless of how each OEM prices their products, AMD sells the same, in volume. And if OEMs are clever in marketing, they can sell them on parity with current SB i5's (w/o discrete card) because of the graphics performance of Llano alone. Also, this may please the GPGPU crowd because of the on-die graphics performance. So it's actually a win for AMD this time around. People tend to place emphasis on the latest and greatest (namely Sandy Bridge) but when it comes time for purchase, it's always value for money, save for the enthusiast crowd.
How AMD sells in the same volume if there is no demand?

If the manufacturer sells Llano at MYR4000 (aka committing suicide), how many people will buy? How many chips AMD can sell?
My point is, AMD has to make sure it is priced in the right price too. Otherwise it just won't sell.
Value for money or not, it depends on the price.
billytong
post Jun 14 2011, 04:50 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Jun 14 2011, 04:28 PM)

Well a media player is already costing RM200-400. if HTPC is cheap enough to price near a media player. I'll definately opt for HTPC.

A decent Fusion base chip can be a perfect multi purpose HTPC.

jonchai
post Jun 14 2011, 04:50 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jun 14 2011, 04:42 PM)
How AMD sells in the same volume if there is no demand?

If the manufacturer sells Llano at MYR4000 (aka committing suicide), how many people will buy? How many chips AMD can sell?
My point is, AMD has to make sure it is priced in the right price too. Otherwise it just won't sell.
Value for money or not, it depends on the price.
AMD sells the chips to OEMs first, and then OEMs do the pricing.

Basically, AMD's demand comes from OEMs and it's up to the OEMs to make it competitive. AMD has little to no say in this. Much like graphics. They can only suggest a Recommended Retail Price, not dictate them. Although the thought of putting an insane price tag on the notebooks is beyond me, my point sticks.

As for the value for money part, you're repeating what I said. The point of it being value for money is very subjective. Everyone has a different perspective on what's of good value. Hence I said value for money instead of price. I bought an XPS 15 for my bro recently and it was priced insanely at 3.7k yet I took it as good value. That's my view.

Added on June 14, 2011, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(billytong @ Jun 14 2011, 04:50 PM)
Well a media player is already costing RM200-400. if HTPC is cheap enough to price near a media player. I'll definately opt for HTPC.

A decent Fusion base chip can be a perfect multi purpose HTPC.
I wouldn't want to build a white elephant (and bulky too) just to sit in my living room and allow me to watch (dl-ed) movies. However, I ain't gonna challenge your right to do so. To each his own biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jonchai: Jun 14 2011, 04:53 PM
billytong
post Jun 14 2011, 05:26 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Jun 14 2011, 04:50 PM)
AMD sells the chips to OEMs first, and then OEMs do the pricing.

Basically, AMD's demand comes from OEMs and it's up to the OEMs to make it competitive. AMD has little to no say in this. Much like graphics. They can only suggest a Recommended Retail Price, not dictate them. Although the thought of putting an insane price tag on the notebooks is beyond me, my point sticks.

As for the value for money part, you're repeating what I said. The point of it being value for money is very subjective. Everyone has a different perspective on what's of good value. Hence I said value for money instead of price. I bought an XPS 15 for my bro recently and it was priced insanely at 3.7k yet I took it as good value. That's my view.

Added on June 14, 2011, 4:53 pm
I wouldn't want to build a white elephant (and bulky too) just to sit in my living room and allow me to watch (dl-ed) movies. However, I ain't gonna challenge your right to do so. To each his own  biggrin.gif

Well HTPC can be very small for ITX base mobo. movies is just part of the function, I actually would love to surf internet and word processing on my LCD.

jonchai
post Jun 14 2011, 05:38 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Jun 14 2011, 05:26 PM)
Well HTPC can be very small for ITX base mobo. movies is just part of the function, I actually would love to surf internet and word processing on my LCD.
Heh. I have things separated nicely. PC + LCD for work / gaming, player + TV for movies and astro

This post has been edited by jonchai: Jun 14 2011, 05:39 PM
lok3i
post Jun 14 2011, 05:55 PM

cycling for a healthy life
559 posts

Saw a real life performance HERE
absolutely stunning..great job AMD
tech_frix
post Jun 14 2011, 10:00 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

this look promising..still will wait for real life benchmark..and dont forget d price oso..
AlamakLor
post Jun 15 2011, 01:03 AM

9,856 posts

It delivers great overall performance and stellar battery life as required by notebooks. Now I am wondering how their BD 8xxx would actually perform. I'm still undecided if I should pick up the C5F now or wait till the cpu gets launched. Are they supposed to be launched sometime in July? or was it supposed to be September?
jonchai
post Jun 15 2011, 10:21 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Jun 15 2011, 01:03 AM)
It delivers great overall performance and stellar battery life as required by notebooks. Now I am wondering how their BD 8xxx would actually perform. I'm still undecided if I should pick up the C5F now or wait till the cpu gets launched. Are they supposed to be launched sometime in July? or was it supposed to be September?
Presumably July
everling
post Jun 15 2011, 11:30 AM

3,591 posts

With APUs, will high performance RAM be a significant factor?

Added on June 15, 2011, 11:38 amOh, it does.

GPU Performance: Between a Radeon HD 6450 & 5570

Anand updated the graphs with benchmarks for DDR3 1866MHz.

This post has been edited by everling: Jun 15 2011, 11:38 AM
adie82
post Jun 15 2011, 11:59 AM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

huge increments!
dma0991
post Jun 15 2011, 12:23 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

CyberLink Products Optimized for AMD A-Series APU Family

The main selling point of an APU, leveraging transcoding jobs to the IGP via AMD APP to compensate for the lower performing CPU.

115 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:26 PM