what's the few differences between studying in UK and AUstralia?
Studying in the UK V3
Sep 14 2010, 05:24 PM
525 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: ki siao |
what's the few differences between studying in UK and AUstralia?
Sep 14 2010, 05:31 PM
974 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Sep 14 2010, 05:53 PM
832 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: far far away land |
QUOTE(jyhy @ Sep 14 2010, 05:24 PM) Way alot of difference, gotta see in which aspect u r viewing from. The most notable differences r the currency they use. anyway, its hard to say, different ppl have different preferences on either country. |
Sep 14 2010, 06:13 PM
635 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Malaysia > Singapore |
QUOTE(zad78 @ Sep 14 2010, 02:33 PM) Guys just got my Visa today. Have to wait for atleast 2 hours to get it!!! And they really pick at random. Doesn't necessary means that if u come early you get early. And they're a bit hectic with unsystematic ways of handling the whole thing!!! Yeah in understand you,went for it just now. Arrived at 950, i waited for only an hour. consider very good already =) |
Sep 14 2010, 06:17 PM
995 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 14 2010, 05:00 PM) u mean just buy another rm30 bankdraft will do the job? so thats mean i'm paying using 2 bankdraft? will it works if pay using 2 bankdraft?cuz i scare they just only accept one?QUOTE(johnseamus @ Sep 14 2010, 05:14 PM) im using post by courier as well. i bought a rm1055 bankdraft and paid 20 bucks to the guy at the counter. he didnt said anything about delivery fee in the bankdraft seriously?when u apply for the visa?u post by courier to where? cause i'm staying at sarawak. so thats mean that 20 bucks is for the delivery fee or it is compulsory to be paid?thanks for all the infos.really appreciate it~ |
Sep 14 2010, 07:25 PM
17 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Sep 14 2010, 06:17 PM) seriously?when u apply for the visa?u post by courier to where? cause i'm staying at sarawak. so thats mean that 20 bucks is for the delivery fee or it is compulsory to be paid? hey im from sarawak too. I submitted my application on 8th of sept. I paid Rm1085 via Alliance Bank. Just say if you're from Sarawak and you wish them to send it back to your home address, you have to pay RM30. They'll hand you a big brown envelope and ask you to write your desired address on it. Well at least thats what i went through.thanks for all the infos.really appreciate it~ |
Sep 14 2010, 08:15 PM
3,037 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 6-feet under |
Hey guys whats the difference between Melbourne and say, London? Im speaking in terms of cost of living
Sep 14 2010, 08:26 PM
17 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Sep 14 2010, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(fullstop @ Sep 14 2010, 07:25 PM) hey im from sarawak too. I submitted my application on 8th of sept. I paid Rm1085 via Alliance Bank. Just say if you're from Sarawak and you wish them to send it back to your home address, you have to pay RM30. They'll hand you a big brown envelope and ask you to write your desired address on it. Well at least thats what i went through. lol.ya..so u paid rm30 more for the delivery fee..so is there any option to pay by cash on the counter?or it must be paid in bankdraft?.i guess i need to cancel the bankdraft n rebuy the bankdraft...>.<...really troublesome...sigh...guess thats what the consequence of buying rm1055 bankdraft... |
Sep 14 2010, 09:06 PM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
Sep 14 2010, 09:13 PM
Sep 14 2010, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(C-Note @ Sep 14 2010, 08:15 PM) Hey guys whats the difference between Melbourne and say, London? Im speaking in terms of cost of living QUOTE(fullstop @ Sep 14 2010, 08:26 PM) nope, i dont think u can compare by using kl and kuching. as both the mentioned city are big and competitive in their strenght ... how can it be comparing kl and kuching?! though i havent been to kuching i dare say kuching doesnt have a building which are over 40floors ..In my findings last year, i have concluded that both cost of living in a australia and england is almost the same. of course it defers if compared a countryside to a city. IMO and some findings, i find that is almost the same in melbourne and london, of course i do not have solid facts to support. but i got my findings from my uncle who is working in london & a friend in UCL, while ALOT of my same age friends are in australia esp melbourne (out of 10:4 ratio of ppl i know). I dunno y but my hometown here, folks are very fond of australia and everyone of them are taking those super long courses so they can get a PR there. Both london and melbourne are big cities, so cost of living wouldnt differ much ... some might say melbourne higher as maybe due to tourism, and there will be some who will say london as it is a big business city .. i would say there is no determined answer unless one have gone and lived in both wonderful cities b4 that is one of the reason y i chose England over Australia ... feel like being different from my friends and go further away from them, esp when they come back and keep speaking their australian slang to me ... edit: sry for typos .. lol This post has been edited by alvinz: Sep 14 2010, 09:31 PM |
Sep 14 2010, 10:19 PM
12,295 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
at the current exchange rate, in myr terms, there is little difference between london and melbourne in the cost of living.......if you got somewhere out of london, it's actually cheaper than sydney/melbourne...........
Sep 14 2010, 10:52 PM
81 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
OMG. I just found out that I may have filled in my online application wrongly. Instead of Visa Sub-Type Tier 4 (General)(Sponsored) Student, I instead chose Tier 4 (General) Student. I assumed the Sponsored option is for scholarship only. I just applied for visa today. Am I screwed?
Sep 14 2010, 10:53 PM
as for exchange rate, its very subjective ... pounds might be higher than australian dollars but actual cost of living might balance it out ... maybe eating a sandwich in london might cost 2gbp while in melbourne it cost aus$5 ...
btw, my cousin told me that if low on cash and wans to eat out .. head to ur nearest pub, u might be able to find fish&chips + beer for only 2/3gbp ... thats in nottingham though, not sure about other places ... Added on September 14, 2010, 10:58 pm QUOTE(GJolie @ Sep 14 2010, 10:52 PM) OMG. I just found out that I may have filled in my online application wrongly. Instead of Visa Sub-Type Tier 4 (General)(Sponsored) Student, I instead chose Tier 4 (General) Student. I assumed the Sponsored option is for scholarship only. I just applied for visa today. Am I screwed? so u mean u r a scholarship student , and applied to the normal general student form? ... most probably, yes u r doomed according to the conditions .. do u know wats the difference in both forms? if not much, u might have a chance ... u said u applied today? as in submitted online application or went to VFS to submit ur documents?This post has been edited by alvinz: Sep 14 2010, 10:58 PM |
Sep 14 2010, 11:03 PM
81 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(alvinz @ Sep 14 2010, 10:53 PM) Added on September 14, 2010, 10:58 pm so u mean u r a scholarship student , and applied to the normal general student form? ... most probably, yes u r doomed according to the conditions .. do u know wats the difference in both forms? if not much, u might have a chance ... u said u applied today? as in submitted online application or went to VFS to submit ur documents? |
Sep 14 2010, 11:29 PM
831 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Sep 14 2010, 06:17 PM) u mean just buy another rm30 bankdraft will do the job? so thats mean i'm paying using 2 bankdraft? will it works if pay using 2 bankdraft?cuz i scare they just only accept one? im from johor , so i guess it should be cheaper to courier here. Applied on the 2nd sep and still waiting for it now. That 20 bucks is for delivery only. if self collect is RM1055 Nett.seriously?when u apply for the visa?u post by courier to where? cause i'm staying at sarawak. so thats mean that 20 bucks is for the delivery fee or it is compulsory to be paid? thanks for all the infos.really appreciate it~ |
Sep 14 2010, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(johnseamus @ Sep 14 2010, 11:29 PM) im from johor , so i guess it should be cheaper to courier here. Applied on the 2nd sep and still waiting for it now. That 20 bucks is for delivery only. if self collect is RM1055 Nett. i see...so does that mean we can pay the courier fee by cash at the counter where we pay the rm1055 bankdraft?? |
Sep 14 2010, 11:42 PM
831 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Sep 14 2010, 11:38 PM) i see...so does that mean we can pay the courier fee by cash at the counter where we pay the rm1055 bankdraft?? well i paid by cash for the courier and banker's cheque for the fee. im not really certain since they never stated how to pay the courier but this is what i did and it got accepted by vfs |
Sep 14 2010, 11:57 PM
1,852 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
anyone here who visa rejected and go for appeal?
| Change to: | 0.0314sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:01 AM |