Studying in the UK V3

cckkpr
post Oct 1 2013, 03:37 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Oct 1 2013, 03:27 PM)
I know of someone who conveniently omit "brookes" when telling others where his son is studying. Quite funny actually.
Explaining biomedicine or biomedical engineering to some elderly folks and not conversant in their dialect......something similar to medicine lah!
cckkpr
post Oct 2 2013, 08:16 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(awesomeguyguy @ Oct 2 2013, 05:19 PM)
I did follow my flatmates to a bar recently and it was really awkward for me as I was the only one not holding a drink. However they are very understanding that I don't drink. I'll try to go for one more outing with them and see if I like it. Thanks for the advice  biggrin.gif
Learn to be a social drinker. It will broaden your exposure and open up a lot of opportunities.
cckkpr
post Oct 3 2013, 08:55 AM

4,518 posts

When meeting new frens, slightly tipsy may give you an advantage and allay some of your fears but try not to go overboard.
cckkpr
post Oct 13 2013, 09:57 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Shyuejer @ Oct 13 2013, 09:03 PM)
Hi there, how much should I be expecting to spend for living in the UK if I'm pursuing a 3-year undergrad degree ?

I'm applying thru UCAS for schools in London & west UK. I've already researched on the tuition fees for each school but I do not have accurate info on how much to spend(the living cost) for the 3 years to come. Hope everyone here can enlighten me on this part smile.gif
6 to 7k pounds for 9 months
cckkpr
post Oct 14 2013, 09:05 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(rexus @ Oct 14 2013, 02:29 AM)
Well I am trying to budget myself to £20k for 9 months.

For my case, my tuition fees is  £12,700+ Accommodation £4,387= £17,087.

What is left would be for my daily expenses.
Probably, you have to do a lot of self cooking. Some part time work over the weekend helps a lot.
cckkpr
post Oct 14 2013, 09:07 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Shyuejer @ Oct 13 2013, 11:00 PM)
cckkpr,

That's quite low compared to what I perceive from various uni website which state that generally 6500~9000 pound should be the 39-week living cost.
Abt the 9 months period you stated, what happens to all your belonging during the 3-month gap ( which I assume to be summer break ), do you need to find extra storage for it outside the contract period? I know this ques sounds dumb but just wondering.

Two unis I'm looking at are LSE n UCL which happen to not just be in london but central london  sweat.gif I guess they would be out of my budget then.

limeuu,

That amounts to 5400-6300 quid for 9 months which is even lower than cckkpr's ohmy.gif

Do many students stay thrifty and really spent that little during their studies in UK ? Cuz I don't see myself working part time there/ trying to cut corners at entertainment etc. but rather to enjoy the time studying there.
Shift your belongings to a fren's place for the summer holidays if you are coming back or travelling.
cckkpr
post Oct 18 2013, 10:26 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 18 2013, 06:43 AM)
If you dislike UK so much, why do you want to come here then?  If you force yourself, you'll just end up feeling miserable. 

A £1000 budget in London per month is possible.  When I first graduated, I lived pretty decently on £1000 or less. 

A room in a flat share in Zone 2 can set you aside for around £500.  You'll have to look around to find a good place.  Then transport will set you aside £120 per month (less if you're a student with discount), or you can cycle. 

Food will set you aside for about £50 per week, and this is eating healthily.  No frozen food, pizza + baked beans diet.  All this will keep you within £1000.  Do a bit of part time work, and you'll see yourself having an extra £100-£150 of spare cash every month. 

Bring packed lunch and cook your own dinner.  I don't party, don't drink and don't smoke so no expenses here.  Moreover, I prefer to spend my money on books as well, which is pretty affordable.  If I wanted to go out, I'll just visit a museum or a park or meet some friends for coffee.
50 pounds for food per week? Not easy though for 3 meals a day.
cckkpr
post Oct 21 2013, 11:14 AM

4,518 posts

6 or 7 pounds for a Chinese takeaway lunch with additional rice for dinner.
If you can take milk for breakfast, its also easier.
cckkpr
post Oct 21 2013, 01:57 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Oct 21 2013, 11:36 AM)
2 lunches in hospital canteen, which is subsidised, I think.
Have not heard on that yet. Only on shadowing can get some coffee and meal sometimes. tongue.gif
cckkpr
post Oct 21 2013, 02:35 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Oct 21 2013, 02:14 PM)
He spends two days a week in the hospital this year so gets lunch there.
Oh, thats good and early exposure to clinicals.
cckkpr
post Feb 10 2014, 11:56 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(abdz @ Feb 9 2014, 11:13 PM)
hi. been thinking of furthering master to uk. however i dont know what course should i take.
Nevermind, take your time and get working. Taking masters will be more interesting after working for sometime as you will be able to see the difference when you pursue your case studies.
cckkpr
post Feb 12 2014, 08:59 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(abdz @ Feb 12 2014, 02:09 AM)
i am already working for several years. i just want to make sure what i take will be"useful" compare to what i have in degree tongue.gif
Then I would think you would have decided which specific areas you would like to learn more or which you would think will help you progress up the corporate ladder.

It will be best if your employer encourage or sponsor their staff to enhance their management and productivity skills.

As an alternative, you may prefer to opt for summer programs held by prestigious institutions like Oxbridge or Harvard and MIT where renowned professors shared their thoughts.
cckkpr
post Feb 27 2014, 02:47 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Feb 27 2014, 10:38 AM)
Anyone here studying in Bath University school of management? do you mind giving a review from a perspective of a Malaysian student? thanks smile.gif

keen on going there for Accounting and finance which is highly rated but my parents which have been to the city prefer if i chose Cass business school in London or Warwick business school... Mainly because Bath doesn't have a reputation here in Malaysia for job prospects.

So far i have offers from Cass and Bath. Rejection from LSE. Waiting for Warwick and Manchester
Warwick would be a better choice for Accounting and Finance.

Manchester has a lot of Malaysian students, so in a way the awareness is there and also being an acceptable university.
cckkpr
post Feb 27 2014, 05:22 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Feb 27 2014, 04:36 PM)
I would be happy if i got maybe 2-3 years work experience overseas before coming back to Malaysia. Ultimately it boils down whether or not i have the abilities, but if the uni has a good placement or connections, i suppose it would be easier to obtain information/ help me through the process of getting that internship/job.

It would have been a no-brainer if LSE gave me an offer though :/
My sister who studied in warwick says it's business school is pretty famous as well. But at almost 6000pounds a year more expensive than bath or city(but will be outweighed by cost of living in london), it's not blowing the budget but 3 years adds up to about more than 100K RM...

The prospects i'm stating is the opportunity of getting a job there( sorry for not clearly indicating) as i believe work experience should outweigh the uni degree when it comes to job application back here( i might be wrong). Then again, opportunity to work in any of the Big4 overseas, or any investment banks, would be a great experience which will enhance my CV.

Waiting for manchester's reply at the meantime. Does city university london even ring a bell anywhere?? seems like nobody knows one sad.gif
That would be awesome. thanks so much.

thanks for the reply guys
I doubt you can get into a Big4 unless you are signing up for ACA and even then you need a first class or at least a second upper to be considered. What do you plan to do in the longer term? Public practice, commercial or investment banking? If you plan to work over there for a few years, then you need to be in the respective top few with cross border knowledge and experience. Thereafter, your better bet will be Hongkong or Sg before settling in bolehland.
cckkpr
post Feb 27 2014, 07:48 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 27 2014, 07:06 PM)
Is working experience required?  I believe ICAEW requires working experience, unless requirements have changed.
Previously used to be articled. Now not necessary. More like postgrad medic. Sunway has a direct stream after A levels. Kinda risky, can end up with nothing! They don't need the best of the best to sign up.
cckkpr
post Feb 28 2014, 08:54 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Feb 27 2014, 08:12 PM)
It's called cfab, and they need to work as well to qualify, sunway teamed up with BDO to provide them with cheap workers lol. Yup, cfab is a diploma which is useless if the student doesn't pass the icaew
I think other accounting firms are also in as long as they have ACA members who are willing to act as sponsors. They need to work coz upon qualification they will be "ready" for the market. Bit tough and challenging but kind of rewarding as ACA is still the most recognised in the accounting profession.

cckkpr
post Feb 28 2014, 02:50 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Feb 28 2014, 02:05 PM)
anyone here who can advise if GBP 1200 is enough for me to live and study in the UK (outside London). my spouse will be joining me as well for my 1 year study.... if anyone can give breakdown of monthly expenses?
For a single person, manageable. Do home cooking can save you some extras.
cckkpr
post Mar 3 2014, 02:08 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(lauraric @ Mar 3 2014, 01:11 PM)
after discussed with my parents, finally they decided to send me to UK for further studies. planned to take law course, but dont know which university to choose. any suggestion for law course?
and actually what will i study in this course? international law or uk law? or msia law leh?
You need to have the basic understanding of what law is before deciding. You are just too green!!
cckkpr
post Mar 4 2014, 02:10 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Elven @ Mar 4 2014, 02:01 PM)
Hello. I've just received an offer to do MSc in Applied Biosciences and Biotechnology at Imperial College London, recently. The next step is finding a sponsorship. Any sponsors to recommend?
FAMA is a better bet! If you are bumi, you would have better luck. Corporate sponsors gives scholarships and are normally bonded with a couple of years and only the best will be selected.
cckkpr
post Mar 4 2014, 02:46 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Elven @ Mar 4 2014, 02:17 PM)
How does one usually apply for FAMA? Is it some sort of like ad hoc sponsorship that can be applied for throughout the year or do I have to actually wait until the sponsorship is open for application? Because I've never seen them putting on advertisements about their sponsorship.
That is Father and/or Mother sponsorship!

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0729sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:54 AM