post Aug 28 2015, 11:39 AM

THORChad
502 posts

Personally I like this book tongue.gif
coolcity888
post Aug 28 2015, 02:33 PM

42 posts

any book to recommend on tibetan buddhism? i am interest to know their history, hierachy and etc...
de1929
post Sep 16 2015, 08:47 AM

1,920 posts

Morning all:

kindly help pray for rain to resolve haze. Here is the thread in RWI. Many thanks !

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3713476
TSjoe_mamak
post Sep 16 2015, 10:50 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Sep 16 2015, 08:47 AM)
Morning all:

kindly help pray for rain to resolve haze. Here is the thread in RWI. Many thanks !

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3713476
I haven't prayed for anything for years.

de1929
post Sep 16 2015, 10:54 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Sep 16 2015, 10:50 AM)
I haven't prayed for anything for years.
okay... can start one today for raining ?
TSjoe_mamak
post Sep 16 2015, 10:57 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Sep 16 2015, 10:54 AM)
okay... can start one today for raining ?
I won't be doing it. Somehow it doesn't fit in with my ideas about Buddhism.

Maybe others would join you though.
de1929
post Sep 16 2015, 11:09 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Sep 16 2015, 10:57 AM)
I won't be doing it.  Somehow it doesn't fit in with my ideas about Buddhism. 

Maybe others would join you though.
just wish a rain should be a good start biggrin.gif ... allow me to bring my Buddhist fren (imo they are Buddhist) danokchonger & Chrono-Trigger

Buddhist gurus: i appreaciate if you can help to convince him from budhist perspective ? thanks
TSjoe_mamak
post Sep 16 2015, 11:27 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Sep 16 2015, 11:09 AM)
just wish a rain should be a good start biggrin.gif ... allow me to bring my Buddhist fren (imo they are Buddhist) danokchonger & Chrono-Trigger

Buddhist gurus: i appreaciate if you can help to convince him from budhist perspective ? thanks
LOL

Different schools of thought.

Some schools of thought just don't believe in praying for things, in this case rain.

danokchonger
post Sep 16 2015, 11:37 AM

2,286 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Sep 15 2015, 11:09 PM)

there is no prayer in buddhism that can change the natural physical order, like wind that bring the haze to this region or rain to reduce haze, just like prayers cannot reset the order of the sun to rise in the west and set in the east.

de1929
post Sep 16 2015, 11:48 AM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(danokchonger @ Sep 16 2015, 11:37 AM)
there is no prayer in buddhism that can change the natural physical order, like wind that bring the haze to this region or rain to reduce haze, just like prayers cannot reset the order of  the sun to rise in the west and set in the east.
oh okay. i learned something today.
TSjoe_mamak
post Oct 18 2015, 05:38 PM

363 posts

^ Nice. laugh.gif
Doctor Who?
post Oct 23 2015, 10:14 AM

339 posts

Hi All,

Just wondering if anyone knows of any Soto Zen Meditation Centres around KL or PJ area?

D10yrspain
post Jan 16 2016, 09:14 PM

286 posts

-deleted- sorry wrong thread

This post has been edited by D10yrspain: Jan 18 2016, 04:27 PM
The_Thorny_Devil
post Feb 11 2016, 11:48 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(chatwarrior @ Jan 16 2016, 01:08 PM)
I am reviving this thread and continue with Buddhism lessons starting from basic for beginners. Those interested to learn more about how to improve their life with Buddhism, watch out for this thread.
Questions are welcome.
Objections from non-Buddhists are also welcome, because only then they will be able to learn.
Any good reading material to for beginner to learn basic meditation ?
river.sand
post Feb 11 2016, 06:11 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(The_Thorny_Devil @ Feb 11 2016, 11:48 AM)
Meditation is tough. Beginners better join a class and practice in group setting.

If you practice alone, you will give up in 10 minutes. If you practice in a group, you can 'tahan' up to an hour.

This post has been edited by river.sand: Feb 11 2016, 06:17 PM
cineis
post Feb 12 2016, 12:45 AM

QUOTE(de1929 @ Sep 16 2015, 11:48 AM)
oh okay. i learned something today.
Late to this post but want to say that we can pray for the well-being of everyone and the planet. This is a good and wholesome wish. We balance our wisdom with compassion and our compassion with wisdom. That is the essence of Buddhist practice.

As for the other person asking about meditation, which is a good and right question, meditation is easy and basic. Meditation is observation. Just observe whatever arises. The Buddha's last words are a reminder that all that is of the nature to arise is of the nature to cease. Search on the Internet for some formal beginner's steps. The most common will involve either watching the breath or observing the mind. But always make sure the teacher is a meditation monk (who would have years of daily intensive practice and teaches for no money) and not some layperson/scammer trying to make money off the latest trend.

This post has been edited by cineis: Feb 12 2016, 08:10 AM
Trait0r
post Mar 30 2016, 08:52 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(The_Thorny_Devil @ Feb 11 2016, 11:48 AM)
Try using the app "Headspace". I find it really effective with easy guides to startoff.
wayne93
post Mar 30 2016, 12:20 PM

65 posts

Hi I would like to know about buddism. Since young I have never know any religious teachings. I also used to struggle if I should follow Christianity but my family is purely from buddism which is why I hv come to final decision to join buddism. I attend subang jaya buddist temple but I don't know most of them.... I am age 23 and I know most them join since young. So is there any people here who can teach about buddism around my age or friends? Anyways I can't read mandrin but can speak little...... Thx.
TSjoe_mamak
post Mar 30 2016, 01:57 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(wayne93 @ Mar 30 2016, 12:20 PM)
Hi I would like to know about buddism. Since young I have never know any religious teachings. I also used to struggle if I should follow Christianity but my family is purely from buddism    which is why I hv come to final decision to join buddism. I attend subang jaya buddist temple but I don't know most of them.... I am age 23 and I know most them join since young. So is there any people here who can teach about buddism  around my age or friends? Anyways I can't read mandrin but can speak little...... Thx.
Welcome. biggrin.gif

Since you would probably be looking for something that is in English, have you considered the Sri Lankan Buddhist Temple in Brickfields?

https://www.facebook.com/MahaVihara

They have various activities such as Dharma talks, Sunday school, etc.

You mentioned the Subang Jaya Buddhist Temple, is it the same as this one -
http://sjba.org/
Seems they also have various activities. But perhaps you prefer something else.

Here is a Malaysian Buddhist directory - http://www.parami.org/malaysian-buddhist-directory-online/

Others notable associations you can join -

Young Buddhist Association of Malaysia
http://www.ybam.org.my/v2/en/

Tzu Chi Foundation
http://eng.tzuchi.my/

You can also do your own reading. There are a lot of resources online. Here are a couple -

http://www.buddhanet.net/

http://www.aboutbuddhism.org

http://www.tricycle.com/

https://thebuddhistcentre.com

Youtube also has many videos/talks on Buddhism.

wayne93
post Mar 30 2016, 02:14 PM

65 posts

So there is no like a group of friends where we have studies about the topic or weekly gathering? It will be much more fun with group of friends then alone lol.

119 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:47 PM