119 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Bottom

Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

danokchonger
post Dec 22 2014, 05:53 PM

2,286 posts

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Dec 21 2014, 07:54 AM)
I initially find Buddhism very complex & very hard to understand. I bulk download article & sutta from AccessToInsight and I have re-read all of it 3 times...I still can't 100% understand what it mean..but after time passed I slowly understand what it mean without having to re-read it for the 4th times. I follow Theravada Buddhism the so-called basic & foundation to other strain of Buddhism. I hv to agree with you "Run of the mill person" will have difficulty understand Buddhism.  Understanding Buddhism require "Wisdom" or in layman term require higher IQ & EQ.

But I have read story from Thailand where the people who do not have a strong understanding in Buddhism sometimes can easily go into deep Samadhi during meditation. Understanding Buddhism is not  a pre-requisite to practice meditation and gain insight which is the core of Buddhism. During meditation just follow the monk instruction is enough.

If the Buddhist sect is heretic or the monk is a bad monk, then those who do not have an understanding Buddhism can be easily mislead into making bad deed...this is where sex/financial scandal arise.
the monks/sangha provides dhamma lesson as well. if buddhism is purely meditation, there is no need for buddha to spend his entire life explaining it in words.
att901
post Jan 11 2015, 11:43 AM

55 posts

Anyone attended 10 day course of vissapana meditation b4?
TSjoe_mamak
post Jan 11 2015, 09:25 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(g r a p e k e y @ Dec 21 2014, 09:03 PM)
you may want to check out tjc.org or facejesus.org to find true peace.

Chrono-Trigger
post Jan 13 2015, 04:57 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

QUOTE(att901 @ Jan 11 2015, 11:43 AM)
Anyone attended 10 day course of vissapana meditation b4?
7 days
xecton
post Jan 14 2015, 09:02 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Dec 22 2014, 08:02 AM)
No peace will be found in Christ, I will tell you why:
Pretty soon a Catastrophic event will befall a large Christian nation, this will be just a beginning for those who professed Abrahamic religions. After it happened. Those people will then claim "The end of time is near"..."Judgment Days is near"..."It Apocalypse"..."2nd coming of Jesus". The truth is this so-called Apocalypse will largely wipe out those who professed Abrahamic religions within 10 years, after this Catastrophic event. Those whose survive will be largely non-Abrahamic religions. During WW2 in Europe, it is Christian killing another Christian, in WW3 it will be the same. Orthodox Christian will rule Europe which have been largely depopulate after WW3. The current Pope will be the last Pope.
And you called yourself a buddhist?
xecton
post Jan 16 2015, 01:44 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Jan 14 2015, 12:26 PM)
Why you butthurt?
Not butthurt, but appalled by you, a so called buddhist.
xecton
post Jan 16 2015, 06:11 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Jan 16 2015, 05:27 PM)
I only tell the TRUTH of what will happen in the future, I don't simply make up some story or wish it to happen.  In fact I hope it will not happen & I hope I got wrong information.

But the truth is around 80% of those who professed abrahamic religions will perish, while those 80% of pagan will survive. You don't need to wait for long time to know whether i'm telling the truth or not...It will come whether we like it or not.

In fact I'm in the process of learning to be a prepper. I hope all Buddhist start to learn to be a prepper. When the 1st catastropic event happen it is adviseable to start buying & storing food supply. Make sure the food supply can last your family 3-6 month.
Are you going to tell me that you got visions of the future TRUTH from your meditations?
Can you describe what you saw?
Also the weed you smoked?
xecton
post Jan 16 2015, 09:07 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Jan 16 2015, 08:12 PM)
Just wait and see.......the event will come.......
Yeahhh...... probably the nasty lunch you had.
TSjoe_mamak
post May 1 2015, 01:45 AM

363 posts

Hey guys.

I just realised that in Malaysia we are commemorating Wesak Day on 3 May 2015.

But in other countries like Thailand and Singapore it is 1 June 2015.

While Sri Lanka seems to be commemorating it on 3 May as well.

Anyone knows why?
Battlefield1942
post May 1 2015, 05:22 PM

73 posts

I did check with my Thai, Myanmar, Laos and Cambodia students here and they too have the same wesak day as us. Will double check with Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan student when I see them later. Only Indonesia Walubi is on 2 June 2015 (Tuesday) so those who want to go to Borobudor to celebrate can do so during the holiday. http://thailandforvisitors.com/general/holidays/
while Indonesia site. http://www.walubi.or.id/warta2015/audiensi...as-buddha.shtml

This post has been edited by Battlefield1942: May 1 2015, 05:22 PM
Battlefield1942
post May 1 2015, 05:36 PM

73 posts

Enough of the end of the world stuff, my friend lost huge amount of money when their family sold off two houses cheap near the river due to people talking of end of the world stuff way back in 1990's ala a nino al nina stuff and now the house still standing and prosperous with business running well! Later I meet some meditation yogi and they know when is their day come and not afraid of it. One day, one of them died of brain cancer at the age over 80 and still steady and do the meditation over coming the pain till the end. I wish one day I can have some of their ability and skill when our calling come. The vision he have may be localize vision as in Nepal.

This post has been edited by Battlefield1942: May 1 2015, 07:05 PM
TSjoe_mamak
post May 1 2015, 06:36 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Battlefield1942 @ May 1 2015, 05:22 PM)
I did check with my Thai, Myanmar, Laos and Cambodia students here and they too have the same wesak day as us. Will double check with Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan student when I see them later. Only Indonesia Walubi is on 2 June 2015 (Tuesday) so those who want to go to Borobudor to celebrate can do so during the holiday. http://thailandforvisitors.com/general/holidays/
while Indonesia site. http://www.walubi.or.id/warta2015/audiensi...as-buddha.shtml
I did some checking.

Singapore commemorates Wesak Day on 1 June 2015.

Last year, Singapore and Malaysia were on the same page, 13 May 2014. While Sri Lanka commemorated it on 14 May 2014.

Also found this -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddha's_Birthday

The exact date of Buddha's Birthday is based on the Asian lunisolar calendars and is primarily celebrated in Vaisakha month of the Buddhist calendar and the Hindu calendar, and hence it is also called Vesak. In Nepal, which is considered the birth-country of Buddha, it is celebrated on the full moon day of the Vaisakha month of the Hindu calendar. In Theravada countries following the Buddhist calendar, it falls on a full moon Uposatha day, typically in the 5th or 6th lunar month. In China and Korea, it is celebrated on the eighth day of the fourth month in the Chinese lunar calendar. The date varies from year to year in the Western Gregorian calendar, but usually falls in April or May. In leap years it may be celebrated in June.

Battlefield1942
post May 1 2015, 07:04 PM

73 posts

If U have the indian calendar publish by allagappa. It have the wesak day as a it fall on a fullmoon day on 4th May. Some country declare a longer public holiday that start a day early as they consider the night before as a public holiday like in Burma. If follow the Mahayana with Chinese lunar calendar. It should be in June otherwise if using indian calendar system as by Burma, Laos, Cambodia and India continent it will be in may.
Chrono-Trigger
post May 2 2015, 11:35 PM

4,308 posts

Sukita hontu - may all beings be well and happy. Happy weak day!
Chrono-Trigger
post May 3 2015, 12:11 AM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(Battlefield1942 @ May 1 2015, 05:22 PM)
I think the Chinese calendar does not really follow the phases of the moon. Some months 30 days or 29.
Battlefield1942
post May 3 2015, 08:58 AM

73 posts

Sorry, the thai temple in penang - some celebrate wesak but the one opposite the Burmese temple was shut tight last night as they wesak fall on june as follow the Thailand. Can it be the leap year the Chinese calendar add a month to their calendar last year for leap year?
leetan33
post May 3 2015, 11:14 AM

594 posts

QUOTE(Battlefield1942 @ May 3 2015, 08:58 AM)
Sorry, the thai temple in penang - some celebrate wesak but the one opposite the Burmese temple was shut tight last night as they wesak fall on june as follow the Thailand.  Can it be the leap year the Chinese calendar add a month to their calendar last year for leap year?

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Apr 22 2015, 01:38 PM)
India - Following Hindu Calendar
SEA (excl. SG, Thai and Laos) - Following Buddhist Calendar
Thailand - Following Thai Buddhist Calendar
Chinese-majority countries (incl. SG) - Following Chinese Calendar
Japan - Following Western Calendar (8/4)
Battlefield1942
post May 3 2015, 11:36 AM

73 posts

That more or less show which countries in SEA follow which calendar from the wesak day holiday.
leetan33
post May 3 2015, 12:22 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(Battlefield1942 @ May 3 2015, 11:36 AM)
That more or less show which countries in SEA follow which calendar from the wesak day holiday.
Myanmar, Malaysia and Cambodia. Some celebrate it a day earlier (2nd May) due to slight variation in calendar. Some Thai temples observe Wesak on 3rd May too.

This post has been edited by leetan33: May 6 2015, 05:14 PM
Battlefield1942
post May 3 2015, 02:04 PM

73 posts

Yes, my mother too are surprise as Chinese calendar usually celebrate Wesak on the 15th of 4 month but this year it on the 3rd month as the Chinese calendar show it to be in june. Happy Wesak to all.

119 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:10 AM