Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 05:01 PM

88 posts

(4-Pak-TuLan @ Dec 2 2014, 12:14 PM)
I am more interested in moslem  thingy, that moslem guy stirred in me, a desire to read about Islam prophecy thingy only to do a disappearing act. Tsk Tsk Tsk

I leave it to you to handle that thread,  man 😆
This is your mistake. You taking it out personal with somone, a selfish act out if ignorance. Buddhism taught that too.
Do you think these religious leaders will be so stupid to stay and spend time with you if they know they can't convert you or change your mind ?
Have you tried talking to those dressed in white innocent guys paid by their church to go everyone in Asia to convert people ? If you question them about jesus or Christianity, they will disappear faster than they approach you
Uh?
May I know how you can come to the conclusion that my desire to analyst and dissect ( debunk ) Islamic prophecy to be consider as a selfish act? And me, taking it personal too, you don't said. Hmmm. How? Please elaborate. 😆

simpletraveler
post Dec 2 2014, 07:43 PM

4,872 posts

QUOTE(4-Pak-TuLan @ Dec 2 2014, 04:14 PM)
Sorry,  I will have to reject your gift of advice. Please take it back. 😉
Why you always write silly ? You better carry on your cut and paste. You just can't think or write on your own. I cannot control you whether to take my advice or not but why I should I take it back ? It is not meant for you alone. So don't think selfishly. If the Buddha is selfish or just teach for one person, then he is not Buddha. Learn from him.

This post has been edited by simpletraveler: Dec 2 2014, 07:44 PM
simpletraveler
post Dec 2 2014, 07:52 PM

4,872 posts

QUOTE(4-Pak-TuLan @ Dec 2 2014, 04:14)

If I don't know you better,  I will simply let this pass thru,  as it is human trait to save face by performing a graceful exit.

But alas,  no graceful exit for you.

I have said it before.  I do not subscribe to emboldening people
No wonder you have to run away like a coward. Even a Muslim know more than you. Say whatever cuckoo talk that you like. I will just continue to give my advice to those who need it.
4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 09:03 PM

88 posts

More advice will follow later. I am not going out of topic. The advice I give are related to Buddhism.
Advice from you ( you that propose that warped argument, using bathing 3 hrs is not necessary be cleaner than one that bath for 3 mins)

Sorry, I will have to reject your gift of advice. Please take it back. 😉

Why you always write silly ? You better carry on your cut and paste. You just can't think or write on your own. I cannot control you whether to take my advice or not but why I should I take it back ? It is not meant for you alone. So don't think selfishly. If the Buddha is selfish or just teach for one person, then he is not Buddha. Learn from him.
Iyoyo. ..simple
why you alway made unsubstantiated claim one?
What so silly about rejecting your offer of advice, with the reason i provided in red above.

You mean, after reading the reason I provided in bolded red above, you still can't figure out why I am rejecting your offer gift of advice.

Are you sure bo, simple

Is simple English. Mayhap, you should open your mind while reading. Try again and see, OK?

4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 09:35 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Dec 2 2014, 08:52 AM)
No wonder you have to run away like a coward. Even a Muslim know more than you. Say whatever  cuckoo talk that you like. I will just continue to give my advice to those who need it.

tsk tsk tsk.
later when I when am free, I will give another example of why I felt a need to stop you when I read that post of your.

You will then understand why I am treating you like so, simple

BTW, am I not here? Why you claimed I am running away?
4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 11:17 PM

88 posts

Ok, as promised, here is the extract of that reply of your, to teamjoker which I find to be very misleading and which I sincerely hope is due to your ignorant rather than intentional.

(teamjoker @ Dec 1 2014, 10:39 AM)
Since Buddhism is a way of life, Buddha says the percepts are important. Do you follow them then? Meditation to me is to train your awareness. I dont do it too because I am too restless and lazy. haha
Again, you don't need to follow what the Buddha said to live the right way of life. You use common sense and logic with a good heart is enough.
Yes, I explain earlier. When one meditates correctly, the mind will be totally neutral and free of all impurities and filled with only good energies. This makes room for new knowledge, mindfulness and awareness. So the end result is leads to wisdom. It also brings better health to the body. This is why Islam and Christianity cannot do this type of meditation. They don't want their followers to have awareness and wisdom. Their way of meditation is done with the mind keeps remembering their religion. Something like chanting in Buddhism.
Firstly, your advise are ill given, how can you be advising against holding precepts? Do you even know what is precepts? Simple

Secondly, is your take on chanting in buddhism. You liken Buddhist chanting to meditating in others religion, the purpose of which is to keep the mind train to remember their religion. BUT, IS IT?

With advise like this. How could you expect me to keep quiet and let you persist in doing so, uh? Simple

simpletraveler
post Dec 3 2014, 12:36 AM

4,872 posts

[quote=4-Pak-TuLan,Dec 2 2014, 09:03 PM]
Advice from you ( you that propose that warped argument, using bathing 3 hrs is not necessary be cleaner than one that bath for 3 mins)

Sorry, I will have to reject your gift of advice. Please take it back. 😉
[/quote]
Why you always write silly ? You better carry on your cut and paste. You just can't think or write on your own. I cannot control you whether to take my advice or not but why I should I take it back ? It is not meant for you alone. So don't think selfishly. If the Buddha is selfish or just teach for one person, then he is not Buddha. Learn from him.[/quote]Iyoyo. ..simple
why you alway made unsubstantiated claim one?
What so silly about rejecting your offer of advice, with the reason i provided in red above. f

You mean, after reading the reason I provided in bolded red above, you still can't figure out why I am rejecting your offer gift of advice.

Are you sure bo, simple

Is simple English. Mayhap, you should open your mind while reading. Try again and see, OK?

[/quote]
This will be my last post until a week's time. I am going overseas to attend a religious function. Hopefully I have new discoveries to contribute when I am back.
My bathing example so simple yet you don't understand ? It means someone who bath for 10 mins(not 3 mins, are you too old to see well ?) can be cleaner than someone who bath for an hour. Not every bath in the same manner, don't you understand that ?
Read and think WISELY before you comment.
This is my 3rd advice for tonight:Be Wise; and it's also taught by the Buddha too.

That Muslim fella still continue with you over thereand I replied him gau gau.

This post has been edited by simpletraveler: Dec 3 2014, 12:39 AM
poseidon33
post Dec 3 2014, 02:19 AM

131 posts

oh my.....i didn't this tered was more interesting than /k/
geting my pop corns ready
4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 3 2014, 09:14 AM

88 posts

This will be my last post until a week's time. I am going overseas to attend a religious function. Hopefully I have new discoveries to contribute when I am back.
My bathing example so simple yet you don't understand ? It means someone who bath for 10 mins(not 3 mins, are you too old to see well ?) can be cleaner than someone who bath for an hour. Not every bath in the same manner, don't you understand that ?

ROFL.
Simple. ...simple. ooih
Indeed, if one were to read your argument ( an extract of which I attached below ) out of context, then yes, it's valid but hey, have you forgotten what was my origination contention that lead you to made such a ridiculous reply.

Tak tsk tsk.

Here, let me refresh on had transpired.

(Wau_Si_TuSin @ Dec 1 2014, 01:21 AM)

[simpletraveler,Nov 30 2014, 12:15 PM]
This article were written by an author with over 3 decades exploring Buddhism and is the editor and creator of the wheel newsletter for the buddhist Centre in mississauga in Canada.

Let me help you to improve. Maybe your teacher the Buddha never mentioned this.
It is not right to use the above to prove or show credentials for anyone. Think of this:
If I tell you I bath 3 times a day but you only bath once everyday, it doesn't mean that my body must be cleaner than yours; or if you take I hour bath while I take only 10 min, it doesn't mean your body is cleaner. I guess you will not understand. Never mind.Read and think WISELY before you comment.

Therefore, applying your logic in relation to my contention is similar to agreeing that a PhD is no more any wiser nor cleverer than a street sweeper. ( or more aptly, an author with over 3 decades exploring Buddhism plus other achievement in this fields, his knowledge cannot be any better than a person with only a basic knowledge in Buddhism, Is it?

This is my 3rd advice for tonight:Be Wise;  and it's also taught by the Buddha too.
Walauehh. The desire for fame and recognition is strong in you, mister Luke. But beware the dark force Luke. Be humble least the dark force will drag you down.

That Muslim fella still continue with you over thereand  I replied him gau gau.

Meaning?, you want me to relieve your duty there right? ROFL

BTW, I too will need to time of for 1 week. All this tedious to typing and formatting is taking a heavy toll on me poor hand.

I need to Pai Kuan, Pai Kuan for 1 week.

And hopefully, with renew energy and additional wisdom gain will see the world more more clearly.

Tata and do have a safe journey, bro simple. 😊

Chrono-Trigger
post Dec 3 2014, 11:43 AM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Dec 1 2014, 11:52 AM)
Again, you don't need to follow what the Buddha said to live the right way of life. You use common sense and logic with a good heart is enough.
Absolutely incorrect. Precepts ARE the foundation of morality. It guards the mind and the body. It helps in daily life, in meditation, in everything!

The observance of precepts come naturally for wise and the saints, but for beginners - it is a form of TRAINING to cultivate good habits and good virtue. Things, when done repeatedly for long time will become HABIT.

We all need to start somewhere.
phoenix24
post Dec 3 2014, 01:58 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Nov 28 2014, 05:13 PM)
Where is that ? Care to share ? What he meant by sexual activities ? Male and female stay together ?
Hi, sorry for the late reply.
One of the place I know of would be Subang Jaya Buddhist Association, usually some Thai Monks will be here for 3 days to teach a short meditation retreat for once every 3-4 months.
Usually in retreats, male and female are separated into different dormitory/ buildings during the retreat course.

TSjoe_mamak
post Dec 4 2014, 03:12 AM

363 posts

Seems this thread is getting argumentative.
SUSmeistsh_musical
post Dec 4 2014, 04:29 PM

Ahbeng
1,111 posts

amitabha
SUSmeistsh_musical
post Dec 4 2014, 04:29 PM

Ahbeng
1,111 posts

QUOTE(phoenix24 @ Dec 3 2014, 02:58 PM)
One of the place I know of would be Subang Jaya Buddhist Association, usually some Thai Monks will be here for 3 days to teach a short meditation retreat for once every 3-4 months.
Usually in retreats, male and female are separated into different dormitory/ buildings during the retreat course.
karma sutra?
Tally33
post Dec 9 2014, 03:45 AM

106 posts

Being a Buddhist, it gives me knowledge instead of beliefs of gods and ghosts thingy, peaceful is what I can find in Buddhism and nonstop improving myself with the lessons, the fact seems also proves that Buddhism is the least issue religious, I supposed. I should say don't take it as religious, take it as education, personal improvement lessons. I am here to learn from all of you and happy gathering here with you guys. This is just a random post, nothing to be specified. Sorry for my broken English yah.
SUSCherryx
post Dec 9 2014, 04:11 AM

440 posts

南无阿弥陀佛
teru
post Dec 9 2014, 11:28 AM

38 posts

Any one of you who are still studying in uni? Or those who have joined your uni's Buddhist society?

Curious.
TSjoe_mamak
post Dec 11 2014, 02:28 PM

363 posts

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/sidevie...ights-k.v.-soon

Reflections on Buddhist practice, human rights – K.V. Soon

Published: 11 December 2014

Yesterday was International Human Rights Day, so let me share a reflection and express my support for human rights as a Buddhist.

The Buddhists have a practice known as the undertaking of Precepts. Specifically, there is a set of Five Precepts or Panca-sila.

As a Buddhist, the undertaking of the precepts is the most basic practice that cuts across all major Buddhist traditions. As a ritual, Buddhists often recite the Five Precepts on a daily basis to remind themselves of their duties to self and society.

The Five Precepts constitute the basic spiritual training practice in the following aspects of life. They are the training to abstain from harming living beings, taking what is not given, indulging in sensual misconduct, speaking the untruth and substance abuse and intoxication.

The precepts and human rights

The first of the Five Precepts translates “I undertake the training rule to abstain from destroying lives”.

This recitation is so basic that children in temple Sunday schools can recite and memorise it. The precept tells us we should avoid harming one another – not just human beings – but also animals and all living beings.

The destruction of lives can come in many forms. The worst form is the deliberate act to end a life – killing.

There are other forms of destruction – such as physical and emotional abuse that has no place in our spiritual practice.

As Buddhists, we cannot condone such acts as, the abuse of women and children from the homes to places of work. We cannot accept the fact that harm and pain can be inflicted upon others, no one has the right to physically harm another – whatever the reason.

We cannot condone the acts such as racism, discrimination based on class, ethnicity, gender and sexuality. Some abuses go so deep that the victim suffers physical and emotional damage.

The Third Precept provides us with a strong reminder to respect the will of others, especially those different from us. It is about appreciating others for who they are.

As we recite the precepts and reflect on the value of life, we are deeply aware that the destruction of lives happens on various levels, including political persecution, torture and death in custody.

Laws that allow the opportunity for bodily hurt, mental and emotional trauma and that remove justice and freedom must be abrogated.

I am reminded of the Fourth Precept that the value of truth. It is imperative to speak our minds to prevent the further damage and destruction to lives. Recitation of the precepts in ancient language words without the action is an empty practice.

Appreciating the value of life

The sole purpose of the precepts, beginning with the First Precept is to value life. We need to value life and all that support life. We cannot take away the right to education, cultural and religious practices of individuals.

More importantly, we must also support and sustain our ecological environment. Acknowledging and positively responding to climate change is a necessary part of our practice.

The Second Precept is a reminder that we must not take away what rightfully belongs to others. It also reminds us to of the need to develop generosity and to give without expectation of returns. True generosity is about being selfless in our generosity.

Selflessness can be achieved with a state of mind that is calm and peaceful.

The Fifth Precept reminds us of the need to have a calm mind, not quickly reacting to others is indeed a virtue.

With a calm and composed state of mind, meaningful discussions and dialogues will be able to be carried out. Truthful communication and right speech aids in the development of friendship. Healthy and positive relationships are foundations for a peaceful society.

As such it is not difficult for Buddhists to associate our practice of the precepts with the Declaration of Human Rights.

The precepts are indeed the basic building blocks of a peaceful society where human dignity, freedom and personal rights are preserved, we call this practice sila.

To practise sila is thus to train oneself in preserving one's true nature, not allowing it to be modified or overpowered by negative forces.

Acts of destruction are blinded by greed, rage or hatred. Such negative qualities as anger, hatred, greed, ill will, and jealousy are factors that alter people's nature and make them into something other than their true self.

The practice of precepts is about returning to one's own basic goodness, the original state of normalcy, unperturbed and unmodified.

Our teacher, the Buddha, reminded us that even though we shut our eyes in meditation we cannot shut our eyes and hearts from the suffering of others.

We must strive to build a just society for our families and friends – present and future. Indeed, having a peaceful and just society to live is indeed a very high blessing. (Patirûpa dêsa vâso .... êtam mangala muttamam.)

Our spiritual and social duties are to cultivate our minds and at the same time work for the happiness and welfare of others. (Bahujana hitaya bahujana sukhaya.)

Let me conclude with a Buddhist Prayer of Loving Kindness:

SABBE SATTᾹ SUKHITᾹ HONTU

May all beings be happy.

SABBE SATTᾹ AVERᾹ HONTU

May all beings be free from enmity.

SABBE SATTᾹ ABYᾹPAJJHᾹ HONTU

May all beings be free from malice.

SABBE SATTᾹ ANĪGHᾹ HONTU

May all beings be free from worry.

SABBE SATTᾹ SUKHĪ ATTᾹNAM PARIHARANTU

May all beings preserve their wellbeing. – December 11, 2014.

* K.V. Soon (aka Vidyananda) is an executive committee member of International Network of (Socially) Engaged Buddhists.

* This is the personal opinion of the writer or publication and does not necessarily represent the views of The Malaysian Insider.

simpletraveler
post Dec 15 2014, 09:24 PM

4,872 posts

QUOTE(phoenix24 @ Dec 3 2014, 01:58 PM)
Thank you. I just come back from a religious research trip.
How much do they charge ? If profit making ones, I will not join.
simpletraveler
post Dec 15 2014, 09:35 PM

4,872 posts

QUOTE(Tally33 @ Dec 9 2014, 03:45 AM)
Being a Buddhist, it gives me knowledge instead of beliefs of gods and ghosts thingy, peaceful is what I can find in Buddhism and nonstop improving myself with the  lessons, the fact seems also proves that Buddhism is the least issue religious, I supposed. I should say don't take it as religious, take it as education, personal improvement lessons. I am here to learn from  all of you and happy gathering here with you guys. This is just a random post, nothing to be specified. Sorry for my broken English yah.
Welcome here, Buddhism is suitable to anyone. Even the Christians are learning from the Dalai Lama.
Buddhism is compatible to all older religions, whether Hinduism, Taoism or any Chinese gods believing religions. The best part is it is even coherent with science. Unlike islam and Christianity.

119 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:08 AM