Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

4-Pak-TuLan
post Nov 29 2014, 02:08 PM

88 posts

Hello all.

No wonder the thread All about religion is so quiet leh, as every religionist are sticking to their own thread.

I am actually very busy one but will try to find time to contribute more.

Today, I like to share with you, a Q&A from the book Good Question, Good Answer by S.Dhammika

Good Luck and Fate

What did the Buddha teach about magic and fortune telling ?

He considered such practices as fortune telling, wearing magic charms for protection, fixing lucky sites for buildings and fixing lucky days to be useless superstitions and he expressly forbid his disciples to practice such things. He called all these things "low arts". He say;

"Whereas some religious men, while living of food provided by the faithful, make their living by such low arts, such wrong means of livelihood as palmistry, divining by signs, interpreting dreams....bringing good luck or bad luck....picking the lucky site for a building, the monk Gotama refrains from such low arts, such wrong means of livelihood. D.I, 9-12

Then why do people sometimes practice such things and believe in them?

Because of greed, fear and ignorance. As soon as people understand the Buddha's teachings they realize that a pure heart can protect them much better than bits of paper, scrap of metal and a few chanted words. They will then no longer rely on such things. In the teachings of the Buddha, it is honesty, kindness, understanding, patience, forgiveness, generosity, loyalty and other good qualities that truly protect you and give you true prosperity.

But some lucky charms do work, don't they ?

I know a person who makes a good living selling lucky charms. He claims that his charms can give good luck, prosperity and he guarantee that you will be able to predict winning lottery numbers. But if what he says is true then why isn't he himself a millionaire? If his lucky charms really work, then why doesn't he win the lottery week after week? The only luck he has is that there are people silly enough to buy his magic charms.

Everything that happens has a specific cause our causes and there must be some relationships between the cause and the effect.

Then is there such a thing as luck?

The dictionary defines luck as "believing that whatever happens, either good or bad, to a person in the course of events is due to chance, fate or fortune." The Buddha denied this belief completely.

Everything that happens has a specific cause or causes and there must be some relationship between the cause and the effect.

Becoming sick, for example, has specific causes. One must come into contact with germs and one's body must be weak enough for the germs to establish themselves.

There is a definite relationship between the cause (germs and the weakened body) and the effect (sickness) because we know that germs attack the organisms and give rise to sickness. But no relationship can be found wearing a piece of paper with words written on it and being rich or passing examinations.

Buddhism teaches that whatever happens does so because of a cause or causes and not due to luck, chance or fate.

People who are interested in luck are always trying to get something -- usually more money and wealth.

The Buddha teaches us that it is far more important to develop our hearts and minds.

He said:

Being deeply learned and skilled,
Being well-trained and using well-spoken words,
This is the best good luck.

To support your mother and father,
To cherish your spouse and child
And to have a simpler livelihood;

Being generous, just, helping your relatives
And being blameless in one actions;

To refrain from evil and from strong drink
And to be always steadfast in virtue;
This is the best luck.

Reverence, humility, contentment, gratitude
And hearing the good Dhamma;
This is the best luck.

Sn.261-6
Sadhu sadhu sadhu

Better than a hundred years lived in ignorance, without contemplation, is a single day of life lived in wisdom and deep contemplation.
DHAMMAPADA 111

4-Pak-TuLan
post Nov 29 2014, 03:08 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Nov 29 2014, 03:47 AM)
How about deleting the word "retreat" so people can find it easier and don't get misled ?

I think it fine enough, no need to delete, but could use an "s" attach to retreat though

This post has been edited by 4-Pak-TuLan: Nov 29 2014, 03:09 PM
4-Pak-TuLan
post Nov 29 2014, 03:14 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Nov 29 2014, 03:40 AM)
4 Pak,

You robbed me !! I am about to continue this in my  thread in Real World Issues to explain Placebo and Energy Effects.
To elaborate further for you, when people have certain belief and faith, even those it is blind or wrong, they develop a positive energy in their body and that helps them happier and eventually his life and work go smoother. Of course it is only temporary but it helps for awhile.  Buddha did not explain this at his time.

???
Do you mean to imply that my teacher don't know but you do?

Are you sure Bo, bro?

4-Pak-TuLan
post Nov 29 2014, 06:44 PM

88 posts

[simpletraveler,Nov 29 2014, 07:03 AM]
No. I imply that Buddha did not explain how placebo effects for the body. During his time, there is no such scientific knowledge yet.

It's the same like Buddha taught karma theory but karma was believed even in Hinduism and Chinese religions long before that. Hinduism and Taoism do believe in karma but it wasn't until Buddha's arrival that explained thembut Buddha did not explain how karma and rebirth takes place in the body in a scientific manner, certainly not about placebo and energy effects.
I am trying  to elaborate or explain for him so that people can really "understand" the biological effect and not just "believing" it.

tsk tsk tsk.
It's me, i am Wei chi lah, bro

Do you still remember that book
The Buddha explanation of the universe Bo, bro.

Who or which wiki told you that, my teacher, the Buddha didn't talk about karma and rebirth, man. shakehead.gif

Btw, didn't you Google for this book, I thought I gave you the link.

Oh, and if by "explaining in scientific manner" you mean like as in using current scientific term, them yes but that book is a translation using modern language lah.

4-Pak-TuLan
post Nov 29 2014, 07:03 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Nov 29 2014, 07:12 AM)
Why do you think it is useless ?
By just claiming rebirth and karma effects, do you know others, especially the Christians make a mockery out of it calling it superstitious or nonsense ? Don't you agree that it will be better if it can be explained in a more scientific manner to let people "understand instead of believing" ? If one will to believe, better believe in god and heaven, so much easier.
Many people don't know yet karma is related to the scientific theory of action and reaction and rebirth is related to the theory of energy discovered by enstein.
It is time the Buddha's teachings make a step forward instead of staying stagnant or permanent. Buddha said nothing is impermanent,  isn't it ?

I believe majority of Buddhist here are theravadin, gotta be, reading them talk of retreats and and others. Most too, should most probably be attending talk and chanting.

They are in good hand already therefore, you need not have to worry much

And I really would not go that far as to used the sentence highlighted in bold above, brother.

Me think, the most appropriate claimed would be, not debunk by science

4-Pak-TuLan
post Nov 29 2014, 07:07 PM

88 posts

It just doesn't read and sound right. If you know what I mean. Simple.

This post has been edited by 4-Pak-TuLan: Nov 29 2014, 07:09 PM
4-Pak-TuLan
post Nov 29 2014, 07:26 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Nov 29 2014, 08:13 AM)
guys, wanna ask what happen to the soul after the person committed suicide. need advise cause it happen to my relative and we really need to help him

As normal, report in for evaluation.

(As a matter of fact, I do recalled having read about some story about what happened at dead, but quite a while back and truth is I may not be that free to dig it back)

In the meantime, read this

Buddhist Gem # 16

Question: Does Kamma condition our life at all times ?

Answer:

In the mind of each being in the universe, there exist vast accumulations of past impressions. These impressions are of two kinds: impressions of good action, and impressions of evil action.

On every occasion when our thoughts develop into an active state, an impression enters the innermost force of our mind which is known as the current of evolution ( jivitindriya ). The impressions thus entering the evolution current of our mind germinate, grow, and ultimately fructify in the mind.

Even in our present birth, up to the present time, the number of impressions that have entered the evolution current of our mind is vast. All thoughts occurring on our mind produce impressions, and the stronger thoughts such as those causing the movements of our physical body produce deep impressions.

In addition to these impressions of our present life, we have brought forward from our past lives a vast collection of impressions. Most of these impressions have remained with the evolution current of our mind for thousands, and often for millions, of year and they are, therefore, in different stages of growth.

A good proportion of the impressions of our past actions appears in full maturity in our present life, but all of them cannot discharge their forces of fruition simultaneously. Only the strongest amongst them appear in active force and the less strong mature forces remain suppressed in our mind. The less strong foces, however, keep on pressng their strength continuosly to achieve fruition, and with the aid of additional forces that the environment may supply, they often find it possible to achieve fruition obstructing and delaying the fruition of all other forces of impressions.

Our present life, for instance, has come about as fruition of a large number of past impressions of purity ( kusala kamma ). We may be in the enjoyment of the best of physical health, which again is the fruition of past impressions. If in the midst of our pleasures of good health, we become the victim of a painful disease or accident, it merely means that the forces of the impressions of purity which brought us good health, has been expended and an impression of defilement has fructified to cause us the pain.

The particular area into which we have been born has been determined by the forces of kamma. We are born into a certain society, because, at the end of our last life, a number of mature impressions took position to fructify in this life, and for that purpose, the society into which we have been born has the most appropriate environment to give expression.

During our progress in life, a little effort on our part may provide all the additional forces necessary for the mature impressions of purity remaining suppressed in the evolution current of our mind to thrust forth the forces of fruition. We may, for instance, be carrying the mature impressions of purity capable of bringing us success in a particular profession. As a sign of the presence of a mature impression of such potentiality, we may have on various occasions developed the desire to attempt to enter it. If such desire were followed up with the requisite preliminary work to enter the profession, the full benefits of the impression of purity would accue to us in the form of a very sucessful career. The average human being, therefore, must very often take a hand in bringing to fruition his past good kamma.

In the same way, we may, by our lack of caution, cause the fruition of our past impressions of defilement. The additional forces of defilement caused by our negligence, for instance, would add to an existing growth of an impression of defilement in our mind and thus make it strong enough to fructify.

We may often find it difficult to ascribe the force of kamma to many of the trivial incidents in our life; but we must remember that trivial impressions too exist in the evolution current of our mind
….............................................................
The mind proceeds all things, the mind dominates them, they are all mind-made. If a person speaks or acts eith a pure mind, happiness will follow them like a shadow the never leaves. - Dhp.2
….......
It is by three things that the wise person can be recognized. What three? He sees his own faults as they are, on seeing them he tries to correct them, when others acknowleldge their faults he forgives them. - A.I, 103
…...................
Contentment is the greatest wealth. - Dhp.204
Sadhu sadhu sadhu
4-Pak-TuLan
post Nov 29 2014, 07:48 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Nov 29 2014, 08:13 AM)
guys, wanna ask what happen to the soul after the person committed suicide. need advise cause it happen to my relative and we really need to help him

ah yes, I believed I have a bit of remembrance now, but mind you. A slight bit atm.

If suicide, mean die before time due to report in.

Naturally, Hell gate for him or her are close, what else can do but to wait patiently.

And also, during this period of time, what the departed kins can do for the departed is todo more good deeds (accumulate good karma) and chant transference of merit so as to alleviate him or her suffering.

So, this is what you can do to help him or her.

So much for the time being

There is also a Sutta by the Buddha suitable to chant that may assist the departed ( kinda like calming them)

This Sutta talk about how even the Buddha, when time up also will die. What more to say of, mere mortal.

Well, this much for me for the time being.

Time for me to go, I need my private time, man. πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

This post has been edited by 4-Pak-TuLan: Nov 29 2014, 08:22 PM
4-Pak-TuLan
post Nov 29 2014, 07:52 PM

88 posts

Oh BTW, some one also proposed best not to offer meat dish to departed kins, reason being, it add to their karma

But then, hey, it's your relative so use your wisdom to decide, bro
4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 1 2014, 09:09 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Dec 1 2014, 07:40 AM)
Exactly. But some religious extremist here can't take it when they think someone else know better than them. I never claim I am better. Someone just think so and made such assumption on me :-)

Are you missing me, simple?😊

4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 1 2014, 10:11 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Dec 1 2014, 10:46 AM)
Haha...what makes you think so ?
I should ask you "does this mean you admit you are the one I wrote there ?"

Honestly, I don't miss you, it's hardly 2 days. I have been away over a month. I will be away again soon.
But I am sure some who need your Buddhism cut and paste will miss you. So please don't run away.

why don't you tell me, seeing that we were chatting much and you are not naming too. Right?

Come on, let it out. Who is it?😊

Running away, you mean me, by not contributing to your placebo thingy thread?

Nay, simply giving you an opportunity to made use of all those tips and in for on Buddhism you should have been storing for your project to write a book from the debate all this year's to good use.

So, work hard and don't disappoint us, ye!πŸ˜†We be listening only.

Luckily, you are not missing me because I still remember there are some left over posts of your that I been meaning to continue but decided against fearing you may not be able to bear that much truth.

Cos, as the saying goes. Real truth hurt, yes / no?πŸ˜†πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚

This post has been edited by 4-Pak-TuLan: Dec 1 2014, 10:14 PM
4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 1 2014, 10:27 PM

88 posts

Hmmm. Yo there simple.

Just so that v can sleep easy, knowing that we are not putting our trust in the wrong hand and also whether you got remember all that were previously discuss.

Here a test of your knowledge ( this question are asked and and b4)

Does the Buddha permit or forbid the burning of paper money?

4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 09:55 AM

88 posts

(4-Pak-TuLan @ Dec 1 2014, 10:27 PM)

Hmmm. Yo there simple.

Just so thatΒ  v can sleep easy, knowing that we are not putting our trust in the wrong hand and also whether you got remember all that were previously discuss.

Here a test of your knowledge ( this question are asked and and b4)

Does the Buddha permit or forbid the burning of paper money?

Why are you so grumpy and long winded ? How old are you ? You want to join the cast in Grumpy Old Men Part 3:Grumpiest Old Men ?
If you think you have anything useful to contribute, just contribute. Even if I don't need them, I am sure some other people can find them useful. Not everyone can understand or like my way of explanation, these people may understand yours. So go ahead. The forum is not just meant for me and you.
Understand ?
πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†
You and them, moslems posters are hilarious and I believed spike was right, you provide so much entertainment to this forum, without you, religious thread will be like a ghost thread and talso, the most dreadful thought is the voluminous amount of typing for me to reply, if I will to do this alone. Oooohhhh, Scary, scary man. 😊

BTW, you just gave me an idea for a new avatar. πŸ˜†

Bless you, bless you, my child.

This post has been edited by 4-Pak-TuLan: Dec 2 2014, 11:23 AM
4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 12:14 PM

88 posts

simpletraveler,Dec 2 2014, 12:50 AM
This part you are right but did you learn anything out of it ? Now you realise why people prefer Christianity over Buddhism ? They are more entertaining. So in your future Buddhism to share if any, make them short and entertaining. No one will read long lessons in such forums.
Rofl.
No one read long lessons in forum?
You sure Bo, simple?
It's not the length, that matter lah, simple oooih

It's the content, specifically, the message it convey, which is what matter the most.
Have you seen the one I replied Spike on his question of lust and placebo effects ? You will like it.
Got, but i no pay too much attention on it, I am more interested in moslem thingy, that moslem guy stirred in me, a desire to read about Islam prophecy thingy only to do a disappearing act. Tsk Tsk Tsk

I leave it to you to handle that thread, man πŸ˜†

4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 02:30 PM

88 posts

(4-Pak-TuLan @ Dec 2 2014, 12:14 PM)
simpletraveler,Dec 2 2014, 12:50 AMRofl.
No one read long lessons in forum? 
You sure Bo,  simple?
It's not the length, that matter lah, simple oooih

It's the content,  specifically,  the message it convey, which is what matter the most.
Got, but i no pay too much attention on it, I am more interested in moslem  thingy, that moslem guy stirred in me, a desire to read about Islam prophecy thingy only to do a disappearing act. Tsk Tsk Tsk

I leave it to you to handle that thread,  man πŸ˜†

You can still make your message shorter without losing anything.
Of course I can, but why would i want to do so, just so youknow, i give credit to who it belong unless you do not subscribe to such a practise. πŸ˜†( I do not Palagrise other person work)

Just out of curiosity but is your judgement of what is presented, is based on length rather than content? πŸ˜†πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚πŸ˜„

I am sure people don't like to read long messages especially if it is cut and paste from any particular religion. Buddhism in particular.
Whether all people's like to read long messages or not, i do not know and I won't be so bold as to stamp an affirmation without polling but one thing I can affirm, is that you do not like. But hey, this forum is not only for you. So, if you wanna learn Buddhism and be accepted as one, you just have to do it properlyπŸ˜†

CONTINUE LATER, BATTERY RUNNING LOW

If a reader is a Buddhist, he probably know already or able to find his source, so no need to read yours. If he is a Christian or Muslim, they will not read once they know it's a Buddhism reaching message.

I see all sorts of people during last 2 years when I am very active in the religious main thread. All sorts of characters...mostly out to drive you away.
They can use "make you angry" method or "sounds very nice" method like...
why don't you be more open minded ?

I am not trying to defend anybody or go against you but maybe what you learnt is wrong ?"

All these people are not here to learn from you. They just try to divert your attention to change topic so you don don't carry on. You are a Buddhist you should know.

When you are in meditation, you should not be distracted by any evils.

So just carry on. Remember my advice, (1) "You don't do anything for just one person. You do it for the world". You should understand it. Think of Buddha.

More advice will follow later. I am not going out of topic. The advice I give are related to Buddhism.

4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 04:14 PM

88 posts

If a reader is a Buddhist, he probably know already or able to find his source, so no need to read yours. If he is a Christian or Muslim, they will not read once they know it's a Buddhism reaching message.
hahaha.. hohoho
oh....simple....simple. ...ooih πŸ˜†
There exist the word "TRY" in the English vocabulary and in all language and dialet and it is there for a reason, man

If everyone think like you do, humanity would not have evolve to now lah. Worse still, Mair even be extinct

I see all sorts of people during last 2 years when I am very active in the religious main thread. All sorts of characters...mostly out to drive you away.
They can use "make you angry" method or "sounds very nice" method like...
ROFL.
Who hasn'tπŸ˜‰

why don't you be more open minded ?
Are you running out of thing to say, simple?
What may I asked, are you accusing me of closing my mind to, simple?

Is it my reluctant to condensed that author work, as like in my reluctant to palagrised his work. Or maybe re words it and claim it as my thoughts.?

I am not trying to defend anybody or go against you but maybe what you learnt is wrong ?"
O really?
Pay tell, where wrong?
Wrong to test your knowledge in Buddhism by asking you that question? To be honest, the reason why I did so is because I kinda sense a bit of arrogance in the way you claim to understand Buddhism, not that it irk me. It just that, it highly impossible for someone to with only a couple of years exploring Buddhism to lay claim to such a feat when even esteem monk who still claim not to have learn all after having downs entire life studying Buddhism.

All these people are not here to learn from you. They just try to divert your attention to change topic so you don don't carry on. You are a Buddhist you should know.
yo bro. Most of people's in this thread are theravadin. πŸ˜†

And you, simple does not know what you are talking about. Tak task
tsk tsk

When you are in meditation, you should not be distracted by any evils.
ROFL.
Aren't you replying out of context here, simple?

πŸ˜†πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

Like as if I don't know. Tsk tsk tsk

But most likely, you offer me this advise is by reading my comment on supramundane ability while meditating to forumner named LOUD, YES?πŸ˜†πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚

So just carry on. Remember my advice, (1) "You don't do anything for just one person. You do it for the world". You should understand it. Think of Buddha.
simple...simple...
If I don't know you better, I will simply let this pass thru, as it is human trait to save face by performing a graceful exit.

But alas, no graceful exit for you.

I have said it before. I do not subscribe to emboldening people

More advice will follow later. I am not going out of topic. The advice I give are related to Buddhism.
Advice from you ( you that propose that warped argument, using bathing 3 hrs is not necessary be cleaner than one that bath for 3 mins)

Sorry, I will have to reject your gift of advice. Please take it back. πŸ˜‰
4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 04:21 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Dec 2 2014, 03:51 AM)
No point discussing on length of message. It is out of topic. You can just make a survey here in LY and ask to find out.

Walauehh.
Who promote and when you promoted to become lowyat forum parliamentary speaker one?
You got bank that big hammer on the table or not?
I no hear it lah.πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

You go do it lah. I no as free as you lah, simple

4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 05:01 PM

88 posts

(4-Pak-TuLan @ Dec 2 2014, 12:14 PM)
I am more interested in moslem  thingy, that moslem guy stirred in me, a desire to read about Islam prophecy thingy only to do a disappearing act. Tsk Tsk Tsk

I leave it to you to handle that thread,  man πŸ˜†
This is your mistake. You taking it out personal with somone, a selfish act out if ignorance. Buddhism taught that too.
Do you think these religious leaders will be so stupid to stay and spend time with you if they know they can't convert you or change your mind ?
Have you tried talking to those dressed in white innocent guys paid by their church to go everyone in Asia to convert people ? If you question them about jesus or Christianity, they will disappear faster than they approach you
Uh?
May I know how you can come to the conclusion that my desire to analyst and dissect ( debunk ) Islamic prophecy to be consider as a selfish act? And me, taking it personal too, you don't said. Hmmm. How? Please elaborate. πŸ˜†

4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 09:03 PM

88 posts

Advice from you ( you that propose that warped argument, using bathing 3 hrs is not necessary be cleaner than one that bath for 3 mins)

Sorry, I will have to reject your gift of advice. Please take it back. πŸ˜‰

Why you always write silly ? You better carry on your cut and paste. You just can't think or write on your own. I cannot control you whether to take my advice or not but why I should I take it back ? It is not meant for you alone. So don't think selfishly. If the Buddha is selfish or just teach for one person, then he is not Buddha. Learn from him.
Iyoyo. ..simple
why you alway made unsubstantiated claim one?
What so silly about rejecting your offer of advice, with the reason i provided in red above.

You mean, after reading the reason I provided in bolded red above, you still can't figure out why I am rejecting your offer gift of advice.

Are you sure bo, simple

Is simple English. Mayhap, you should open your mind while reading. Try again and see, OK?

4-Pak-TuLan
post Dec 2 2014, 09:35 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(simpletraveler @ Dec 2 2014, 08:52 AM)
No wonder you have to run away like a coward. Even a Muslim know more than you. Say whatever  cuckoo talk that you like. I will just continue to give my advice to those who need it.

tsk tsk tsk.
later when I when am free, I will give another example of why I felt a need to stop you when I read that post of your.

You will then understand why I am treating you like so, simple

BTW, am I not here? Why you claimed I am running away?

0.0708sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:05 PM