10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

dvlzplayground
post Sep 2 2010, 07:44 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i just realized something. yesterday i connected my MBP to my tv, n i had an external hdd and also the charger plugged in. i was watching a movie from the ext hdd.

i accidentally closed the mbp lid but the tv still got display. since when can do like this? tongue.gif i thought it'll go to sleep n have to wake up using keyboard/mouse

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Sep 2 2010, 07:44 PM
dvlzplayground
post Sep 4 2010, 10:09 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Sep 4 2010, 06:16 AM)
hi guys, kinda blur here =)

just finish google.

want to ask what the difference between macbook and macbook pro 13"?
which one should i buy?
search around...so many ppl have asked this already. bottom line is if u can afford MBP 13", go for it. much better value n will look good longer
dvlzplayground
post Sep 5 2010, 01:24 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i thought all manufacturers can bypass the battery already? no?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 5 2010, 08:39 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Moutzu @ Sep 5 2010, 08:20 PM)
This means it's ok for me to keep the Magsafe Power Adaptor plug in to the AC outlet and with switch turn "on"?
yes. how else would u do it?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 6 2010, 12:26 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

the first 1-5% drop is normal. my battery is 1.75 years old and it's at 85% health, 323 cycles. i guess this is pretty low compared to others but it's good enough for me. still can last through a whole lecture. 1 hr lab with vmware + windows 7 running matlab also can tahan. i calibrate once every two weeks

juz use ur battery however it's convenient for you within ur warranty period. i think after 1 year still >90% is good enough dy
dvlzplayground
post Sep 6 2010, 11:36 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

yea... 50 cycles is too little for 20 months. dun be scared to use ur battery tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Sep 7 2010, 05:28 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Sep 7 2010, 12:16 PM)
http://preyproject.com/

anybody use this anti-theft program before? can share your experience?
looks interesting, n free biggrin.gif thx for sharing. quite hard to find reviews so im not sure good or not
dvlzplayground
post Sep 8 2010, 04:31 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(rasyid @ Sep 7 2010, 05:48 PM)
just bought MBP 13" ..
was in dilemma either to buy 13" or 15" last time ..
at last decide to go just with 13" .. and im glad cause 13" is just nice in my lap. i think 15" would took more space ..

hope this is a good purchase .. smile.gif
QUOTE(uncontrolled @ Sep 7 2010, 10:59 PM)
hey, can u guys My Book for Mac pair with normal windows PC?! Mine seems didnt work fine.

In my macbook, its work normally. But, in PC i cant find the HDD, but only the 'WD smartware' installation.

URGENT PROBLEM. TQ
reformat to FAT32, but u're limited to 4gb per file only

another option is to install NTFS-3G. but the speed is limited

am i the only one who's annoyed by these URGENT PROBLEMS? u want instant answer, juz google but need some effort. if u want no effort, want ppl to spoonfeed you, juz wait

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Sep 8 2010, 04:32 AM
dvlzplayground
post Sep 9 2010, 01:03 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

er... have u tried restarting?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 9 2010, 02:24 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ayil @ Sep 9 2010, 02:17 AM)
metal. how do i set it to default back? i mean to how to fix it coz now i cant use the track pad to click.
press down the trackpad surface (instead of just tapping it). it's a click too. does the click registers?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 9 2010, 03:46 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

do u have a mouse? can click?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 9 2010, 08:27 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Sep 9 2010, 04:09 AM)
my bro just got his MBP 13" yesterday...this whole day only updating all the software and application inside..but after that he can't open his iTunes and Quick Time. When he opens iTunes there's window pop out saying that the iTunes is corrupted...need to reinstall again...
so does it work now?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 13 2010, 11:29 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(-|JuStIn|- @ Sep 12 2010, 06:40 PM)
gonna get an external hard drive soon and am just wondering if its THAT important to get a drive that is "mac ready" instead of the typical PC ones. cant i just reformat the PC ones to FAT32 and use it on the mac? i plan to partition the drive to HFS+ and FAT32. The HFS+ for time machine and the FAT32 for my windows and mac files. Any problem with this?
yes you can. juz buy any external hdd, partition it to fat32 and hfs+
dvlzplayground
post Sep 15 2010, 12:18 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Sep 14 2010, 11:34 PM)
ask u all one question..

lets say if u let ur mbp on for 12hours,how u all charge it?

plug the adpater for the whole 12hours?

or charge until 100% then unplug..use until 5% charge again until 100%..

which one
i have the same approach as JohnnyBeGud

what you're doing is unnecessarily using up ur battery. more cycles = faster your battery will wear out. dun worry too much abt battery lah, juz keep it plugged in whenever it's convenient for you. as long as u calibrate it once a week or fortnight u'll be fine. my MBP is almost 2yrs n im pretty satisfied with my battery life so far.

Added on September 15, 2010, 1:13 amanyway, i've been collecting mkv files lately so im planning to get another external drive n have it formatted as NTFS

ntfs-3g is horribly slow, so im wondering if any of you can compare between tuxera and paragon? i've been reading a few reviews online n it seems that paragon is faster but less reliable. this might be outdated so im hoping if anyone here can share their insight

i've also stumbled upon enabling native ntfs support in snow leopard for each mounted ntfs drive ( http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?stor...090913140023382 ). but then you need to deal with terminal so probably this ( http://ntfsmounter.com/ ) is a better idea. anyone tried these two before?

or should i just start a poll? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Sep 15 2010, 01:13 AM
dvlzplayground
post Sep 15 2010, 10:54 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ if you're talking about wifi, juz dun turn airport off before u shut down.

when u boot, airport shud automatically turn on n connect to a wifi network
dvlzplayground
post Sep 16 2010, 12:33 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ShuUemura @ Sep 15 2010, 11:46 PM)
Hello. Does the new MBP 15 i5 gets incredibly hot when running apps like Adobe Photoshop, Itunes, Safari, iPhoto at the same time? I would like to know does it feel like burning your lap when running all these Apps at once for at least half an hour?
i dunno if it's hot or not, but what are you doing photoshopping for 30mins on ur lap? tongue.gif

QUOTE(blue16 @ Sep 16 2010, 12:20 AM)
QUOTE(cRazYee @ Sep 14 2010, 10:09 PM)

how previous gen you wan?
the batch before i series processors?

to be honest, get a new one, serve you better, cuz clearly, 15" mbp users must be quite a performance demanded.
buy old tech could serve you 2 years? then 2 years later another one?

unless you're not into performance, else go for new one

like if i wait for the nex macbook pro
will it be cheaper for the previous generation ?

lol, jst planning to get 1 for my study for the nex year =]
well if u wait for the next MBP, sure the current ones will be cheaper.

but then how long are you going to wait? i'd say the next refresh is probably going to be next year if not this december. is saving a few bucks worth the ~3 month long wait?

what course are you studying? most laptops today are very decent even the low end ones.
dvlzplayground
post Sep 16 2010, 05:38 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 16 2010, 11:57 AM)
wondering my load cycle is normal? i bought since 11july, i think just around 2 months
are you worried about the '6 months'? it counts from the date ur battery is manufactured, not when u bought ur mac. the app has no idea when u bought it tongue.gif as for ur cycles, looks normal to me. health still 99% so dun worry lar ;P

QUOTE(gurus @ Sep 16 2010, 01:15 PM)
some say plug in and some say use ur battery more often  hmm.gif
so whats the best way to maintain the battery eh? quite confuse la  rclxub.gif
use battery too much = use up battery cycles faster = faster u battery die. all batteries die eventually. this just makes it faster.

use battery too little (as in a few months never use) = electrons not flowing = battery loses capacity.

juz think of a human being. u ask him to hard labour every single day without rest, sure die early. but if u let him sleep 24/7, he wont have any stamina.

i think so many of us said this hundreds of times already...juz plug in but remember to calibrate once a week / fortnight.

again, just read this: http://www.apple.com/batteries/notebooks.html . it's a document by the company who designed the battery itself. i dun see why people want to debate against this.
dvlzplayground
post Sep 17 2010, 12:41 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(select @ Sep 16 2010, 11:38 PM)
Hi!

is it okay to use macbook pro during charging it?
any bad effects?
ur answer is just 3 posts above yours. since u missed that, u'll probably miss it again when someone answers you anyway
dvlzplayground
post Sep 17 2010, 02:21 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(kenneth @ Sep 17 2010, 01:50 AM)
HI all Apple buddy, im newbie here !

Have any1 try MobileMe b4? izzit a good software ?

Cause im thinking to purchase ...
read up at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...181&hl=mobileme

judge urself hehe
dvlzplayground
post Sep 18 2010, 12:03 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(select @ Sep 17 2010, 11:55 PM)
thanks.
so,is it okay or not?
*facepalm*

did u even read the link?