10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

dvlzplayground
post Aug 14 2010, 03:48 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Aug 14 2010, 02:48 PM)
How to Print Screen to a file on the desktop in Mac OS X
The basic functionality of taking a screen capture of a window or desktop in Mac OS X takes an image and dumps it to a file on the Mac desktop:
Command+Shift+3: takes a screenshot of the full screen (or screens if multiple monitors), and save it as a file to the desktop
Command+Shift+4: brings up a selection box so you can specify an area to take a screenshot of, then save it as a file to the desktop
Command+Shift+4, then spacebar, then click a window: takes a screenshot of a window only and saves it as a file to the desktop

How to Print Screen to the Clipboard on a Mac
This functions a lot more like Print Screen in the Windows world. If you want to do the equivalent of Print Screen to the clipboard so that you can paste it into another app, these are the commands you’d want to use:
Command+Control+Shift+3: take a screenshot of the entire screen (screens if multiple monitors), and saves it to the clipboard for pasting elsewhere
Command+Control+Shift+4, then select an area: takes a screenshot of selection and saves it to the clipboard for pasting elsewhere
Command+Control+Shift+4, then space, then click a window: takes a screenshot of a window and saves it to the clipboard for pasting
if it's too hard to memorize this, juz go to System Preferences > Keyboard. Change the shortcuts under Screen Shots

or just launch the Grab application smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Aug 14 2010, 09:45 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Aug 14 2010, 05:06 PM)
actually, MBP 13 is lighter and thinner than MB. apparently polycarbonate is pretty high in density, but in order to match up MBP in terms of unibody structure integrity and strength, it has to be a lil thicker for that. so that explains the extra weight and overall dimensions. there you go, another reason to choose MBP over MB

MB = 2.13kg
MBP 13 = 2.04kg
MBP 15 = 2.54kg
i stand corrected tongue.gif

i wonder if we'll have LiquidMetal MBP next time hehe
dvlzplayground
post Aug 15 2010, 09:03 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

about the specs, sure worth it smile.gif for me la at least

juz decide if u want 13" or 15". for some ppl 15" is too big or heavy for mobile usage
dvlzplayground
post Aug 15 2010, 09:39 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i dont think so, despite a few people claim it is. if it is IPS, apple would market it as such
dvlzplayground
post Aug 18 2010, 01:47 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^hahahaa

ya wilson88, it has been like that for a very long time already. still funny nonetheless tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Aug 19 2010, 02:08 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(mannquin @ Aug 19 2010, 06:01 AM)
I found one with both FireWire 800 and USB 2.0 that is around RM400. A regular external 2.5 HDD with USB only costs RM250 nowadays.
They are both 500GB and yes, I'm looking for that amount of capacity
as others have said, if u plan to use it for backup (or frequent large file transfers), u'd appreciate the extra speed benefit of FW800. if it's only meant as an archive that do dont add to often, then the cheaper USB would be better. i have two USB externals that i only use to keep movies, series etc but my fw800 drive is for time machine

QUOTE(gurus @ Aug 19 2010, 10:58 AM)
i am thinking of getting an external hd too....any good recommendation guys?
how about the compatibility with time machine? all also can?
so far i've not heard of any external hd that doesnt work with time machine ;P

QUOTE(noosaza @ Aug 19 2010, 11:59 AM)
i want to buy a second hand macbook..

how to check it dont have any problem yeah? for a macbook, we can use it for how long yeah because the one that i want to buy already 2++ years old ? my acer just kaput/dead after 3years. the owner tell me, it still running fast because its not like windows. i dun want it kaput after it 3 years.. mean, after i use for 1 year, and the macbook already 3years++ then it goes kaput. susah la itu macam..

is the software for macbook easily available for free download??

i already google. but no firm answer. so need u guys experience to help me. thanks
no one can say how long a macbook can last. if u buy today, there's always a chance it'll die tomorrow, or maybe even 5 years later. no way to be sure. if the macbook warranty is finished, then u juz have to hope it wont go kaput cuz repairs may be quite expensive. also u wont be eligible for an extended warranty. anyway, i dont doubt the speed though smile.gif

so if u're getting a good deal for the macbook, go for it but save up some money just in case anything goes wrong. if u want to be sure that u can get a macbook that works up to 3 years, the best way is of course get a new one, n then get applecare protection plan

free softwares is just the same as how u find it on windows.
dvlzplayground
post Aug 20 2010, 05:53 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

cannot live w/o exposre n hot corners smile.gif im using bettertouchtool n set 3 finger swipe down for comd+w, and five finger tap for cmd+q
dvlzplayground
post Aug 22 2010, 03:27 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

some people juz want decent photo editing features built right into a word processor, just so they dont have to launch another app, export/import for every small editing. nothing wrong with that

Added on August 22, 2010, 3:27 pm
QUOTE(edgeseeker @ Aug 21 2010, 06:40 PM)
Hey guys , im using a Mac Book Pro 15"inch 256MB graphic card i5 processor < this spec MBP
and was wondering whether any of you are having a freezing of softwares (or even the os) problems ?
I found mine quite annoying when my VLC keeps freezing and had to quit and reopen it.
Is it VLC prob or MBP prob? <<if yes any solutions? wink.gif will be very greatful

btw, is there any relation between the lagging of comp with the specs?

*if this thread (related) had been posted before, kindly give me the link for the solutions thanks wink.gif

have a great day
are you trying to play .wmv files? the performance is really bad for me. no prob with avi

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Aug 22 2010, 03:27 PM
dvlzplayground
post Aug 22 2010, 08:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

who would replace a macbook with a mbp 13 because of the weight? tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Aug 24 2010, 01:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Aug 24 2010, 10:31 AM)
hey guys,

Before I really decide to buy a MacBook Pro,as I observed it's using glossy sreen. When I played around with the MacBook Pro at Machines, the colour was vibrant and rich. But then I'm not sure whether it gives the right colour accuracy as people compared that matte screen gives better colour accuracy.

Need advice , thanks.
quite hard to understand :S

u mean u want suggestions on whether u should go for glossy or matte? if u dun mind the extra price n longer wait, sure matte is a better option smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Aug 24 2010, 07:27 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

rm525 at czone
dvlzplayground
post Aug 24 2010, 10:02 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 24 2010, 09:34 PM)
can i knoe where to buy the VGA extension out for mac book white, I hav a VGA out fr my iBook but it dun fits this MBW doh.gif

roughly how much?

thx
here u go smile.gif

http://store.apple.com/my/product/MB572Z/A?mco=MTM4Mjc1NTE
dvlzplayground
post Aug 26 2010, 01:41 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ mine no prob. it crashes a lot in offline mode before but after a few updates, i dont encounter the problem anymore. have u updated ur client?
dvlzplayground
post Aug 28 2010, 01:07 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i'd say dec 2010 - march 2011
dvlzplayground
post Aug 30 2010, 03:20 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(-|JuStIn|- @ Aug 30 2010, 01:34 AM)
Hey guys, i have another question. blush.gif

I'm planning on purchasing an external hard drive soon to use with my mbp. The problem is that i installed windows on my mbp via bootcamp and i am worried that there will be file formatting issues when i try to transfer files from MAC OS -> Hard drive -> Windows OS. (and vice-versa)

I've read articles saying that i should first format the ext HD to FAT32 and both OS should be able to read and write files on the hard drive with no problem. With a downside that FAT32 allows a max single file size of 4GB only. Which means i cant save any file thats bigger than 4GB onto the hard drive.

The articles i've read are really old. (like 2008) and i am wondering if this is still the case today.

On a side note, i would also like to know if this problem(if still existent today) is present in thumbdrives as well, and if so, this would be a major problem for me in terms of sharing files with my coursemates during group assignments.  sad.gif

Any insight is much appreciated. Thanks.
sadly it is still the case and it's not going to change. that's just how FAT32 works, old tech then n no one has a file bigger than 4gb tongue.gif this applies to any drive, be it a hard disk or a thumbdrive

probably u should just format to NTFS (no 4gb limit) and install ntfs-3g (to enable ntfs support) on ur mac. however, ntfs-3g transfer is pretty slow. personally i just use FAT32 cuz i rarely need to transfer anything bigger than 4gb. also, my thumbdrive is just 4gb heheh

QUOTE(Visualize @ Aug 30 2010, 01:51 AM)
Hi guys, I've just bought a MBP 15" from Machines in Mid Valley just now. Can I know why my download speeds are sooo slow? Around 0.2 kb/s when i m downloading firefox installer.. but when i browse the internet, its fast.. just the download is slow. I tried using my old VAIO and its downloading at 180kb/s.. what's the problem here?  hmm.gif
probably just firefox server. is it slow downloading everything or just firefox?
dvlzplayground
post Aug 30 2010, 09:44 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(matsheikh @ Aug 30 2010, 08:02 AM)

Please welcome me to the family with MBP 13", just bought it last night at machines klcc. Everything was well except one.

Now, i find the transfer rate from my sandisk usb extreme card reader to the mbp was extremely slow. I checked in the system and it register both the card and the card reader as capable of read/write at 480mbps.

for the time being i'm using iphoto to import and for a 13GB raw photo, it took almost 20 mins to finish importing.

everyone, this cannot be the correct transfer rate! please share your feedback. TQ!
yes that's very slow. juz now i tried copying 13GB from an external drive it only took around 6 mins. of course u cannot expect 480mbps juz like how u cannot expect streamyx 2mpbs to be actually 2mbps lah tongue.gif but 20mins is still too slow

was there any other usb transfer going on at that time? usb transfers get slower if there's another one going on.

it also depends on ur card speed though. if it's an SD card, what class is it?

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Aug 30 2010, 09:55 AM
dvlzplayground
post Aug 30 2010, 09:53 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ obviously he meant 480 megabits per second. that's the rated speed what ;p cap ayam card reader also they say 480Mbps

but thanks though, i forgot to divide by 8 hehe

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Aug 30 2010, 09:54 AM
dvlzplayground
post Aug 30 2010, 08:27 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Aug 30 2010, 05:56 PM)
im still a student, how much will be discount?
what u mean "at your own risk", what should i concern if bought from there?
juz in case ppl cheat you. any transaction made there always got risk one. make sure u COD n inspect the macbook urself for cracks, etc. dun take ppl's words for it

QUOTE(yezhacolic @ Aug 30 2010, 08:05 PM)
This is result diagnose by c.battery.

Info not quite accurate, age of my mac is just around 10months or less. Im sure nothing is wrong with the adapter where I use the same old adapter out of box. sad.gif

Thanks for your advise buddy.
QUOTE(Howard Tan @ Aug 30 2010, 08:14 PM)
When you bought your mac, was the case sealed? Where did you buy it from. Now try downloading a widget called istats. Just type it in google "istats widget". Download it, install it and it shows all the important stats of your mac (It'll be on your dashboard (the F4 button)). See if your CPU is running above average during typical use (5-10%) and also check your battery health from there. According to coconut battery, your battery health is only 79% and frankly not acceptable for the age of your mac. Bring it back to the store, your mac should still be under warranty. Bring your receipt as well and show them the information from coconut battery and istats.
uh guys, coconut battery shows the when the battery is manufactured, not when u bought it. that explains the 14 months instead of 10.

that being said, battery health at 79% after 10 months is quite low. mine is 86% after more than 1.5 years
dvlzplayground
post Aug 30 2010, 08:39 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yezhacolic @ Aug 30 2010, 08:32 PM)
@ dvdplayground
You are supporting on Howard's statement? biggrin.gif
Got it man, will print everything and show the staffs there. Hopefully claimable. thanks for your help man, really appreciate it. Have a nice day.
well when he mentioned
When you bought your mac, was the case sealed? Where did you buy it from
i assume he was suggesting a fraud case about ur macbook being older than 10 months. it's not, it's just manufactured 4 months before u bought it. no big deal smile.gif

about ur battery life, yes i support him. by the way instead of downloading iStat, juz run Acitivity Monitor. u can see which application is hogging your resources.

also, are u using ur macbook in a hot environment?

dvlzplayground
post Sep 1 2010, 11:54 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

ohh in that case i think no problem. card transfer speed is slower than external hdd IINM

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:11 AM