Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

wiraone
post Feb 12 2011, 03:28 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 12 2011, 04:45 AM)
Now DHL takes over and we'll see if DHL really stands for "Dua Hari Lambat" :-)
From my previous experience with Apple/DHL, the acronym DHL still stands as Dua Hari Lambat..! smile.gif And no, they don't do Saturday delivery..
soonwai
post Feb 12 2011, 03:36 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(macduck @ Feb 12 2011, 12:43 PM)
but will having 240GB only be enough? if u need alot for images + video?
or u have a 2nd one bro?
You might need to get external HD if you do a lot of video. 240GB is quite a lot. When I got my SSD, I decided 240GB was the least that I can work confortably with so I waited till the price drop and got it. My previous MacBook was 500gb which just really means that I have 260GB more rubbish on it. :-)

Added on February 12, 2011, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(wiraone @ Feb 12 2011, 03:28 PM)
From my previous experience with Apple/DHL, the acronym DHL still stands as Dua Hari Lambat..! smile.gif And no, they don't do Saturday delivery..
LOL. Thought so. As long as it's not DuaBelas Hari Lambat. :-) Unless during that twelve days, Apple releases the new MBP then I can blame DHL and get a new one.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 12 2011, 03:39 PM
borneosailor
post Feb 12 2011, 06:02 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Feb 12 2011, 11:55 AM)
i see, hmm i never thought mbp can run cod and high rank games
mbp can run those games bro, i learned about this from youtube videos.

p/s: yesss, i've alredy placed an order for the OCZ Vetrtex2 SSD 240GB, can't wait for it!!! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by borneosailor: Feb 12 2011, 06:06 PM
chewlf
post Feb 12 2011, 06:53 PM

1,217 posts

Hi bro,
Can share where you all get your SSD drive? Does it come with toolkit to open the bottom screws of mbp? I am thinking to upgrade mine but not sure whether it can be done easily. tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Feb 12 2011, 11:03 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Feb 12 2011, 06:53 PM)
Hi bro,
Can share where you all get your SSD drive? Does it come with toolkit to open the bottom screws of mbp? I am thinking to upgrade mine but not sure whether it can be done easily. tongue.gif
it doesnt come with toolkit. u can find the correct screwdrivers from any hardware shop. im just using a pack of 15 types of screwdrivers i bought for rm3 only ;p

trust me, it is very, very easy
borneosailor
post Feb 13 2011, 01:13 AM

285 posts

after i install my SSD in MBP, do i need to redownload all my apps from Mac App Store? Or will it be in my backed-up files?

can anyone care to share a link on how to install an SSD on the 2010 13" MBP?
destfull
post Feb 13 2011, 01:53 AM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

http://blogjunkie.net/2011/02/install-ssd-macbook
borneosailor
post Feb 13 2011, 02:33 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ Feb 13 2011, 01:53 AM)
thanx bro cool2.gif
chewlf
post Feb 13 2011, 09:29 AM

1,217 posts

Thanks for the info.

Where to buy the SSD? Which brand is faster in speed?
dvlzplayground
post Feb 13 2011, 10:29 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(borneosailor @ Feb 13 2011, 01:13 AM)
after i install my SSD in MBP, do i need to redownload all my apps from Mac App Store? Or will it be in my backed-up files?

can anyone care to share a link on how to install an SSD on the 2010 13" MBP?
if u clone ur system, everything will be copied to ur SSD. it'll be like as if nothing has changed, except for SPEEEED
macduck
post Feb 13 2011, 11:45 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 12 2011, 03:36 PM)
You might need to get external HD if you do a lot of video. 240GB is quite a lot. When I got my SSD, I decided 240GB was the least that I can work confortably with so I waited till the price drop and got it. My previous MacBook was 500gb which just really means that I have 260GB more rubbish on it. :-)
bro, the current largest SSD is only 240GB ? or is there any for 500 GB ?

Added on February 13, 2011, 11:53 am
QUOTE(borneosailor @ Feb 12 2011, 07:05 AM)
its a good price?? waa!!  thumbup.gif  like that im getting one NOW!! sweeeeeeet!!!  rclxm9.gif

the trader's name is ronaldjoe.  wink.gif
hi bro, may i know how to contact your trader for the SSD?
and have u received the SSD already ? is it in good condition?

This post has been edited by macduck: Feb 13 2011, 11:53 AM
corallinkz
post Feb 13 2011, 01:28 PM

1,387 posts

QUOTE(macduck @ Feb 13 2011, 11:45 AM)

500gb cost a bomb. better wait. price range around almost 2k i guess <
nabielz
post Feb 13 2011, 06:35 PM

cbr_akra
903 posts

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Feb 13 2011, 01:28 PM)
500gb cost a bomb. better wait. price range around almost 2k i guess <
even 160gb ssd rm 1k++
dunno how much cost for 200gb above.
sure very2 expensive
borneosailor
post Feb 13 2011, 07:25 PM

285 posts

u can find my trader at the ''Memory & Drives'' section, just search for his lowyat nickname, ''ronaldjoe"".
he didnt keep ready stock of the 240GB SSD, only 120GB he has ready stock. so he ordered it for me. i'll update in this thread when i receive the SSD so we can share the performance boost review nod.gif

nabielz, the OCZ Vertex 2 240GB SSD i ordered is rm1380, do you think the price i paid is reasonable?

oh sumthing i was thinking about yesterday... if i'm not mistaken, in one of the videos about the Macbook Air posted on Apple website, they were talking about how flash based storage could be present in all future mac computers.

do you all think it's possible next generation MBP's will come standard with SSD storage? or even hybrid storage? (hybrid=conventional harddisk + SSD) hmm.gif
nabielz
post Feb 13 2011, 09:36 PM

cbr_akra
903 posts

QUOTE(borneosailor @ Feb 13 2011, 07:25 PM)
u can find my trader at the ''Memory & Drives'' section, just search for his lowyat nickname, ''ronaldjoe"".
he didnt keep ready stock of the 240GB SSD, only 120GB he has ready stock. so he ordered it for me. i'll update in this thread when i receive the SSD so we can share the performance boost review  nod.gif
nabielz, the OCZ Vertex 2 240GB SSD i ordered is rm1380, do you think the price i paid is reasonable?
oh sumthing i was thinking about yesterday... if i'm not mistaken, in one of the videos about the Macbook Air posted on Apple website, they were talking about how flash based storage could be present in all future mac computers.

do you all think it's possible next generation MBP's will come standard with SSD storage? or even hybrid storage? (hybrid=conventional harddisk + SSD)  hmm.gif
really?
i plan to buy vertex 2 too.
should wait till below than 1k
every week ssd price decrease smile.gif

This post has been edited by nabielz: Feb 13 2011, 09:38 PM
Redcross
post Feb 13 2011, 10:40 PM

1,680 posts

Hi everyone,
Im getting a MBP quite soon
juz wanna clarify whether can upgrade the RAM by ourselfs manually?
I dun hav the cash for upgrading the RAM tru Apple store, its more expensive
but i tot i may upgrade it in the future smile.gif

I heard that are RAM compatibility that mostly arent suited to use in a MBP (not sure?) ;hmm:

This post has been edited by Redcross: Feb 13 2011, 10:46 PM
dvlzplayground
post Feb 13 2011, 11:03 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ yes can upgrade urself, wont void warranty

most are compatible. the 'worst' is kingston KVR, but even that a lot of forumers are having no problems with it
Redcross
post Feb 13 2011, 11:11 PM

1,680 posts

oh means most DDR3 notebook ram can work right? smile.gif
il0ve51
post Feb 13 2011, 11:34 PM

1,054 posts

planning to get 1 mpb 13" as i am going to start my online business soon, having a laptop rather than an iphone is much more easier i guess...

however, after reading http://www.macrumors.com/2011/02/12/march-...w-macbook-pros/ i feel like wait for the next upgrade as i will busy during the 3rd and 4th week of feb (exam)...

so most likely get 1 after it release
soonwai
post Feb 14 2011, 01:00 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Feb 13 2011, 09:29 AM)
Thanks for the info.

Where to buy the SSD? Which brand is faster in speed?
I got mine from Viewnet at LYP, it was a Corsair F240. Actually I went looking for OCZ Vertex 2 at Cycom and CZone but no stock. Any Sandforce based SSD should be OK and comparable in speed.

Added on February 14, 2011, 1:02 am

There's also 480GB but blardy expensive. More than double last time I check.

Added on February 14, 2011, 1:07 am
QUOTE(Redcross @ Feb 13 2011, 11:11 PM)
oh means most DDR3 notebook ram can work right? smile.gif
Bring to shop and install on the spot and try out. Ask the shop to see if you can return it if got problem. Most shops in LYN should be OK with that. I was using el-cheapo Kingston KVR 1066 DDR3 4GB x 2 for the past 7 months, no probs at all. For the new MBP, I'm getting soon, I will try out 1333 DDR3 and see if there're any problems.

Added on February 14, 2011, 1:12 am
QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Feb 13 2011, 11:34 PM)
planning to get 1 mpb 13" as i am going to start my online business soon, having a laptop rather than an iphone is much more easier i guess...

however, after reading http://www.macrumors.com/2011/02/12/march-...w-macbook-pros/ i feel like wait for the next upgrade as i will busy during the 3rd and 4th week of feb (exam)...

so most likely get 1 after it release
Oh dear, I knew this would happen. I ordered a new MBP last week and should be getting it from DHL tomorrow. It's been sitting in Sepang whole day Sunday.

Feb 12, 2011 22:54 Kul - KUL Clearance processing complete - Kul - KUL

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 14 2011, 01:25 AM

124 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 >Top

0.0281sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:13 AM