HTC Desire Official Thread V4, FAQs on First Page [Froyo 2.2 is Here!]

hihihehe
post Aug 1 2010, 09:31 PM

13,784 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 1 2010, 11:25 PM)
or ram only? what do u mean? if u mean of ram only so it would be a hell lacking of free ram left =="
not due to root i guess.. as some rooted unit can be updated and instantly wiped the root out when its done.. im not even quite sure since ive never did an OTA btw for android
sry,typo
ya,is "of" RAM

and ya,u can update with ur rooted device but u might not get back to root after updated...
pluginbaby
post Aug 1 2010, 09:34 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 1 2010, 09:31 PM)
sry,typo
ya,is "of" RAM

and ya,u can update with ur rooted device but u might not get back to root after updated...
400MB of ram? yeah.. since eclair isnt it? the rest of RAM is reserved for system task, gpu n such if im not wrong.. i read bout it somewhere since a part of the 576MB of the desire is not actually went lost, it is reserved automatically by the system. Not sure bout the galaxy S as i heard that they r saying that that device still cant allocate the full amount of RAM due to OS but maybe its automatically reserved just like on the desire. Some already tweaked and managed to gain a lil part up to 3xMB of RAM via kernel tweaks if im not wrong

This post has been edited by pluginbaby: Aug 1 2010, 09:36 PM
sfzaimi
post Aug 1 2010, 09:35 PM

Updating New Froyo OTA!
motopolah
post Aug 1 2010, 09:37 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 1 2010, 09:31 PM)
sry,typo
ya,is "of" RAM

i still want root..but i wanted the froyo oso.. can i do that..
extrememech
post Aug 1 2010, 09:37 PM

500 posts

i have download the OTA package... can i install it to our local set?
pluginbaby
post Aug 1 2010, 09:38 PM

2,661 posts

anyone craving for

brows.gif
hihihehe
post Aug 1 2010, 09:39 PM

13,784 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 1 2010, 11:34 PM)
400MB of ram? yeah.. since eclair isnt it? the rest of RAM is reserved for system task, gpu n such if im not wrong.. i read bout it somewhere since a part of the 576MB of the desire is not actually went lost, it is reserved automatically by the system. Not sure bout the galaxy S as i heard that they r saying that that device still cant allocate the full amount of RAM due to OS but maybe its automatically reserved just like on the desire. Some already tweaked and managed to gain a lil part up to 3xMB of RAM via kernel tweaks if im not wrong
what i mean was shouldn't it list out the total RAM of htc desire since the kernel for froyo can support more RAM?
but it is fair enough if it reserved to the system and never show out..

and ya,the RAM at eclair kernel can't support so much RAM

Added on August 1, 2010, 9:39 pm
QUOTE(motopolah @ Aug 1 2010, 11:37 PM)
i still want root..but i wanted the froyo oso.. can i do that..
just read back the link that i posted

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Aug 1 2010, 09:39 PM
samurai1337
post Aug 1 2010, 09:41 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Using a Maxis set, still no luck with the OTA

Guess it wouldn't come that soon to us?

Geminist
post Aug 1 2010, 09:42 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Froyo updated, quick and easy. First update failed as I didn't have more than 25MB of space on my phone. Else installation took about 5 minutes.

1) Interface looks to be roughly the same.
2) Faster response on home screen.
3) A few new apps, including 720p video, wifi hotspots for tethering, some new widgets, flashlight, a cuter call screen, updated messages, so typing is easier etc.
4) The update kept all the settings on the phone and apps on the phone as they are. Broken link for voice search, not end of the world.
5) 270 deg rotation.
6) App on SDCard. Needs to be supported by app though.

KTCY
post Aug 1 2010, 09:42 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 1 2010, 09:41 PM)
Using a Maxis set, still no luck with the OTA

Guess it wouldn't come that soon to us?
Same here. No OTA but not Maxis set. Just local SIS set.
chiahau
post Aug 1 2010, 09:44 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 1 2010, 10:42 PM)
Same here. No OTA but not Maxis set. Just local SIS set.
Same here.
No updates still~
KTCY
post Aug 1 2010, 09:44 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Aug 1 2010, 09:42 PM)
Froyo updated, quick and easy.  First update failed as I didn't have more than 25MB of space on my phone.  Else installation took about 5 minutes. 

3) A few new apps, including 720p video, wifi hotspots for tethering, some new widgets, flashlight, a cuter call screen, updated messages, so typing is easier etc.
4) The update kept all the settings on the phone and apps on the phone as they are.  Broken link for voice search, not end of the world.
5) 270 deg rotation.
6) App on SDCard.  Needs to be supported by app though.
@bold : this is the apps menu rotation ? unsure.gif
bradley1980
post Aug 1 2010, 09:45 PM

23 posts

Yeay. Got the update. Mine from UK.
samurai1337
post Aug 1 2010, 09:46 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Aug 1 2010, 09:42 PM)
Froyo updated, quick and easy.  First update failed as I didn't have more than 25MB of space on my phone.  Else installation took about 5 minutes. 

4) The update kept all the settings on the phone and apps on the phone as they are.  Broken link for voice search, not end of the world.
5) 270 deg rotation.
6) App on SDCard.  Needs to be supported by app though.
Using a Europe set? I guess for "6" it's a manual migration process then
pluginbaby

2,661 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 1 2010, 09:44 PM)
@bold : this is the apps menu rotation ? unsure.gif
yup.. yes indeed.. everything can be rotated to 270 if its allowed to do so..
Geminist

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

KTCY

Previously you can only rotate your screen to one side, you can now do it both sides.

Added on August 1, 2010, 9:49 pmsamurai1337

Yeap, just a few apps which support it so migration wasn't that difficult.

By the way, launching apps is quicker (to the point you can tell the difference).

This post has been edited by Geminist: Aug 1 2010, 09:49 PM
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2010, 09:51 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

Guys, wanna ask, why my Desire become laggy? i use launcher pro plus, widget locker, and many widgets just like those guys posting in the other thread.

this lag makes me feel wanna flash the custom rom now...i'm using the stock ROM 2.1 Eclair but rooted. Owning this phone for only a 3 days now..
pluginbaby
post Aug 1 2010, 09:53 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 1 2010, 09:51 PM)
Guys, wanna ask, why my Desire become laggy? i use launcher pro plus, widget locker, and many widgets just like those guys posting in the other thread.

this lag makes me feel wanna flash the custom rom now...i'm using the stock ROM 2.1 Eclair but rooted. Owning this phone for only a 3 days now..
how much RAM do u have left? how is sense ui doing for u btw? how is sense ui peformance comparing to when ur using launcher pro plus.. do u use task managers?

u need to at least give those info before people can start to guess whats ur prob
KTCY
post Aug 1 2010, 09:55 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Rooted version of latest Froyo with Sense gonna up in abit

pluginbaby
post Aug 1 2010, 09:57 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 1 2010, 09:55 PM)
Rooted version of latest Froyo with Sense gonna up in abit
i guess ill skip it until tomorrow.. i need to study liao.. lol..

126 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:19 AM