9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

HTC Desire Official Thread V4, FAQs on First Page [Froyo 2.2 is Here!]

LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 11:22 AM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

i guess i have to paste the comment again then....

While sja2 bumping my post, i can tht i didnt regret buying a desire. Currently at starbucks typing with it happily and importantly with ease....damn i love typing using this...just wondering how can i turn off the predictive text while messaging? Cuz i usually msg in malay n its way to troublesome....hehe...and pliz ans my question above too....thnx!

Oh no wait ignore the Q above, all i want to know is customizing widgets n apps, and state which need to be rooted or not.

Another q is, would it be good to root now? Cuz.i.heard 2.2 is coming very2 soon....or is it not.troublesome at all? Cuz my idea is to root then customize the homescreen. Should i wait or just do it now? I can still keep all my modified stuffs after updating right?

EDIT : just got back, got a question again, or maybe an opinion, i went there with 100% of charge, then use full 2 hours of wifi, browsing non stop, even downloading apps, and done some sms'ing. all settings are on(wifi, 3G and some other fancy widgets, and now i have around 40%. is it a good sign?

first day of use, can last around couple of hours only just by playing around(well you know a new toy... ), then this morning, 4 hours using wifi, 1 hour of standard use, then phone died. meaning 5 hours. now, 1 hour of standard use, 2 hours of wifi, in 3 hours got 40%. i think its good eh? and i have this feeling with 40% it'll last longer this time.
LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 12:28 PM

3,771 posts

guys how do i change my picture on eBuddy?
LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 02:52 PM

3,771 posts

i'm rooting my phone now. wanna ask how long will it stuck on the "flashing recovery image, do not touch your phone!" ?
LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 03:13 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Jul 31 2010, 03:01 PM)
Are you using unrevoked? then the whole process should be about 3-4 mintues
yeah using unrevoked. now more than 10 minutes dy...i disturbed the connection and doing it again, then now it stucked on the "waiting for system to settle"...any clue?

Added on July 31, 2010, 3:31 pmYeah rooting done!! now backing up nandroid! gonna customize my homescreen like hell now!

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Jul 31 2010, 03:31 PM
LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 03:39 PM

3,771 posts

wanna ask sumtin, whats the best video converter to convert most file formats video into Desire?

and the nandroid backup is saved as what in my sd card?

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Jul 31 2010, 03:47 PM
LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 05:07 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 31 2010, 03:37 PM)
Here is the case I bought this morning rclxm9.gif

Case Mate Torque

Closer look

The box

The tag showing it's for Desire

Cleaning cloth with Case Mate logo.

Everything else thumbup.gif
haha bro, i won!! i got mine yesterday! biggrin.gif its very nice and good looking right? gave your Desire a new look immediately.
LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 05:28 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 31 2010, 05:17 PM)
Nope. Just black
You won ?

Actually I don't fancy this but the price is too cheap for me to resist tongue.gif
adeh just joking2 la... well yeah 60 is cheap la. i got mine for 80 include postage.
LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 09:10 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jul 31 2010, 06:18 PM)
No need convert. Just play straight away using rockplayer...
thanks!

QUOTE(stJimmy111 @ Jul 31 2010, 06:32 PM)
Yea, i used rockplayer.. best video app d.. the default video app really sux.. i try all the format i have on my desktop, nothing can play..
cool

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 31 2010, 06:34 PM)
Have you guys ever tried playing MKV files with RockPlayer? I tried playing a 720p file, fully unconverted using it and it kinda lags, but just a little bit. Probably not recommended for MKV tongue.gif
how big the 720p file? lets say i want to transfer a hd movie, surely need to convert right? to smaller size of course...

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 31 2010, 07:01 PM)
It is in afolder " Nandroid". When you open it - you will see your phone ID folder ; open it and you will see the backup files. It is a good habit to rename it to something meaningful example PaulverR5dated 30jul , so that you can easily identify it. Good for those who often change rom and would like to restore back to an earlier version
This is avery good summary of the roms available for Desire:

http://www.xda-developers.com/android/cant...-it-now-on-xda/
i dont see any Nandroid folder on my mSD root, all i see is a "backup" folder, then inside got HTC Desire, then inside got many files.

LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 10:13 PM

3,771 posts

how do i use A2SD? cant find a proper guide...i'm using a rooted 2.1 Eclair on Desire....i thought the internal memory enough for my needs but i thought wrong..need to transfer some to SD....
LuffyPSP
post Jul 31 2010, 11:56 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Jul 31 2010, 10:50 PM)
Need to flash to custom froyo rom and partition your SD card. I'm quite confused about it too. Try looking at guides in XDA
ya kan...i forgot need froyo to do that.... i wont flash mine until the official froyo is released...sigh when is it...i want the 720p recording too!!

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 31 2010, 11:46 PM)
Damn, was planning to get this..Now that I know it attracts dust I dowan already.. sad.gif

I feel like the barely there case cannot protect the phone enough sad.gif
*checks back my case*....nope i dont see any dust on my torque case. its good and its nice! recommended. *checking again*....no seriously i cant find any dust on it...

QUOTE(Tonyy @ Jul 31 2010, 11:51 PM)
Sorry maybe this been ask b4....
Is there any app which can stop us press power button to wake the phone up from idle state? meaning maybe press on other button to wake the phone up or etc...
been wondering this on first day using this phone, but then i think no big deal and its for the good cuz prevent us to accidently touched any screen while in pocket and such.
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2010, 01:06 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Aug 1 2010, 12:12 AM)
Thanks for feedback smile.gif  thumbup.gif

Update on dust problem tomorrow or day after boleh ah? tongue.gif
sure. been using it for 2 days in a row now, and didnt see any dust sticking to it. just let u know my place is full and easy to dust, my own laptop suffer from it. wipe it and it'll come again in an hour but that doesnt happen on my phone and the case. btw i even try putting my phone on the dust, no sign of dust sticking to it.

QUOTE(lil twist @ Aug 1 2010, 12:16 AM)
Hi all.. wanna ask, whats d best music player to download?

sweat.gif

Owh, new desire owner here...rclxm9.gif

yay i'm new too...and i need a good player to be used with laucher pro...the current one only works with sense...i mean the full music player.

QUOTE(maliqu3 @ Aug 1 2010, 12:57 AM)
no harm rooting ur phone, it's easy to do it now btw. u dont need to be afraid that u cant flash the official froyo rom which is coming up soon, coz u still can flash the rooted version of original(official) froyo rom later on that enhances the features of ur phone.
yeah when i read the old threads, u need much more preparation to root a phone, like i used to when modding my PSP. now everything is so easy with unrevoked! biggrin.gif hope the rooted version of froyo is stable and the best!

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Aug 1 2010, 01:07 AM
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2010, 12:25 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 1 2010, 12:15 PM)
learn to use ROM manager.. its very useful and easy to flash custom roms once u learned how to use it. Take note that if u flashed via OTA u might risk of getting ur Hboot updated to a higher version that 0.80 which there is no root available yet. U will have to downgrade ur hboot version via the new usb drive fix method to make urself back to rootable. I would say that u should wait for just a few days for a custom rom based on the official OTA rom. It would be much faster, more stable i must say and loaded with custom tweaks such as battery indicator and such bonus experience. Custom ROMs also comes with A2SD+ which forces apps to be installed on the SD rather than "moving" it which does not move the total or or some apps r not allowed yet to be moved. Hold on to urself cuz it might not be long. It is supposed to be today or tomorrow as we're 8hours approximately faster than UK and some european countries but dont have ur hopes too high. HTC Evo got their update already so perhaps it wont be long for AP sets desire. For Asian set (maxis set included), perhaps u guys have to wait a lil bit more unless they plan to roll out the update immediately and crash the server LOL
'
You're the man. you've convinced me to flash the custom ROMs when froyo is officially out here. currently rooted only for the paid apps but thats all! biggrin.gif

I guess i'll ask here la, created a thread but no reply...

I heard you cant backup the red coloured words while backing up. i mean you dont have to cuz its a system file. so wanna make sure, do i choose backup apps + system + settings or do i backup apps and settings only?

just want to make sure i dont screw up while flashing a new rom after this.

if TB backup all the apps and systems, what nandroid back up do? i backed them up soon after i rooted my phone already but wondering what is it for...biggrin.gif
and while i'm at it, the nandroid backup is saved as what in my mSD?
Thanks!

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Aug 1 2010, 12:37 PM
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2010, 06:44 PM

3,771 posts

i see many people using swype? why is it? is it really nice?
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2010, 07:04 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(yeokeeyie @ Aug 1 2010, 06:56 PM)
now only maxis got htc desire .. i want to ask assume 1 day can use how many of data ? 1month 500 mb izit enough ? but i more like digi plan ... unlimited .. only rm 68 .. and n other charges only if call or sms
I'm online for 24 hours and i can tell you maxis plan 500mb is not enough. well its only 4 days i'm using my Desire and got 30% of 500mb already...thats cuz i donwloaded many stuffs...you know new user always like that, but i think 2nd month i can manage it since browsing and such can take 500mb.
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2010, 08:32 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 1 2010, 08:13 PM)
Not exactly unless you are someone who had to type in perfect english. I always use SMS language with common broken english and i couldnt live with Swype tongue.gif

Cant wait to get Froyo for SEA set. Please give me good news soon smile.gif
i see. i use broken malay n english so its not for me then.

and btw, mine is maxis set so no update for me...well i'm gonna wait for the custom rom though...biggrin.gif
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2010, 09:51 PM

3,771 posts

Guys, wanna ask, why my Desire become laggy? i use launcher pro plus, widget locker, and many widgets just like those guys posting in the other thread.

this lag makes me feel wanna flash the custom rom now...i'm using the stock ROM 2.1 Eclair but rooted. Owning this phone for only a 3 days now..
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2010, 10:08 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Aug 1 2010, 09:53 PM)
how much RAM do u have left? how is sense ui doing for u btw? how is sense ui peformance comparing to when ur using launcher pro plus.. do u use task managers?

u need to at least give those info before people can start to guess whats ur prob
sorry sorry, didnt know thats the info needed. Ram got 33%, 133mb or something around like that. thats cuz i restarted the phone. if not, 5% of RAM left can achieve also. sense ui is faster last time i use it, with Launcher Pro got lagged a bit even with no widgets. and no i dont use any task managers. and i only have mobile network turned on.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 1 2010, 09:55 PM)
Rooted version of latest Froyo with Sense gonna up in abit
Really? nice but still undecided to flash or not~~
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2010, 11:05 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 1 2010, 10:08 PM)
sorry sorry, didnt know thats the info needed. Ram got 33%, 133mb or something around like that. thats cuz i restarted the phone. if not, 5% of RAM left can achieve also. sense ui is faster last time i use it, with Launcher Pro got lagged a bit even with no widgets. and no i dont use any task managers. and i only have mobile network turned on.

anyone? and any clue on how to close the sense UI? cuz i like Launcher Pro much better so i guess closing Sense would save more better and better performance?
LuffyPSP
post Aug 2 2010, 08:31 AM

3,771 posts

Guys should i flash the official rooted 2.2 like maliqu3 posted (i'm on maxis set btw, can I?) or OpenDesire?
LuffyPSP
post Aug 2 2010, 09:51 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 2 2010, 08:42 AM)
There is nothing about should or shouldn't. It really up to you bro smile.gif
i mean which one actually, cuz i'm thinking of flashing it in any way though...got tempted with the speed and performance. or any other recommended roms? i'm leaning towards OpenDesire after many researches.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 2 2010, 09:16 AM)
Can't stand my Torque. Putting it back to the box and up for sale. sweat.gif
Really prefer a hard case
damn i would buy it from you if i know you would sell it...biggrin.gif

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:12 AM