126 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V44!, The Orange Legion

eugenechiuu
post Jul 28 2010, 08:54 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Hi, I am a total newbie when it comes to DSLR, just came across the NEX series recently and really interested in it, so I wanna ask all the pros here whether it's a good camera and what are the pros and cons, sufficient for an entry level? And I saw the price list posted on the 1st page, where can I get those prices cause I thought cameras are all fixed price just diff goodies..
lwliam
post Jul 28 2010, 08:57 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jul 28 2010, 08:37 PM)
no errrr....
technically if convert 28mm on APS-C to 35mm format its equivalent to 42mm.  what i meant to say the 50mm on FF is not to say wider but better than my 28mm on APS-C...probably becoz of the view percentage.
view % on the OVF does not effect the image output, the output will still be the same. its when you look through the viewfinder, then with the 98% on the A850, you wont be able to see 2% from the edges of the entire captured image only. whereas for the A900, what you see in the OVF is what you capture. so, having how many mm lens in front of either Sony FF does not contribute to the image difference. and 2% is totally negligible IMO.

but i know what you meant in the 28mm to 42mm issue, i know u understand the concept, just the sentence was terbalik only.. haha, i was pulling your leg there bro.. tongue.gif
zstan
post Jul 28 2010, 09:11 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jul 28 2010, 08:54 PM)
Hi, I am a total newbie when it comes to DSLR, just came across the NEX series recently and really interested in it, so I wanna ask all the pros here whether it's a good camera and what are the pros and cons, sufficient for an entry level? And I saw the price list posted on the 1st page, where can I get those prices cause I thought cameras are all fixed price just diff goodies..
yea its a very very good camera for that size. smile.gif cons a...well it could be cheaper. tongue.gif

u can get those prices at any camera shop selling sony goods...

only those that u buy from sony style are fixed price...
eugenechiuu
post Jul 28 2010, 09:17 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 28 2010, 09:11 PM)
yea its a very very good camera for that size.  smile.gif  cons a...well it could be cheaper. tongue.gif

u can get those prices at any camera shop selling sony goods...

only those that u buy from sony style are fixed price...
I planning to get the NEX-3, since NEX-5 only offers better video in which 720P in NEX-3 is already sufficient I think... Is there any difference though getting at other shops? Do they offer freebies like Sony Stylez does?

So it's better to get the 18-55mm instead of 16mm right?
zstan
post Jul 28 2010, 09:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jul 28 2010, 09:17 PM)
I planning to get the NEX-3, since NEX-5 only offers better video in which 720P in NEX-3 is already sufficient I think... Is there any difference though getting at other shops? Do they offer freebies like Sony Stylez does?

So it's better to get the 18-55mm instead of 16mm right?
why not u do a survey and tell us? laugh.gif don't pay too much attention for the freebies though..compare the price of the lens and body is more important..

hmmm..for beginners i would suggest the 18-55mm to get a feel of zoom lens la..although 16mm is a very good choice too. brows.gif having said that, 2 also buy la!!! tongue.gif
lwliam
post Jul 28 2010, 09:29 PM

6,075 posts

SAL 85F28 reviewed

http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk/news/...ffset=&offset=1
eugenechiuu
post Jul 28 2010, 09:31 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Hahaha... sorry if this is a noob question, but what can the 16mm do that the 18-55m cant?
zstan
post Jul 28 2010, 09:32 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jul 28 2010, 09:31 PM)
Hahaha... sorry if this is a noob question, but what can the 16mm do that the 18-55m cant?
the 16mm cannot zoom lor laugh.gif
lwliam
post Jul 28 2010, 09:34 PM

6,075 posts

18-55 cannot do f/2.8 lor
eugenechiuu
post Jul 28 2010, 09:34 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Nono I know that lar.. I mean what does the 16mm have but 18-55mm dun have??? Is it better taking close up photos?
cassplayer
post Jul 28 2010, 09:35 PM

FFFUUUU
3,375 posts

16mm = wider

18-55mm = can zoom.

The more the mm, the further the zoom.
zstan
post Jul 28 2010, 09:36 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jul 28 2010, 09:34 PM)
Nono I know that lar.. I mean what does the 16mm have but 18-55mm dun have??? Is it better taking close up photos?
erm. a 16mm does not have a 55mm? unsure.gif
zstan
post Jul 28 2010, 09:38 PM

15,856 posts

for those who are lazy to click the link:

New Sony DSLR lenses previewed - Sony 85mm f/2.8 SAM (SAL85F28) by Damien Demolder

This really does not look or feel like a full frame lens. It weighs 175g and has a plastic barrel and a plastic mount. I had to try it on the A900 just to make sure it wasn't designed just for APS-C. When on the camera it makes so little difference to the over all weight that you might need to constantly check you have a lens attached at all. Built to a Sonnar-style design it features just six elements in five groups, and uses Sony's SAM (Smooth Autofocus Motor) to drive the AF.

To be honest I didn't expect it to be much good. It feels like a cheap kit lens, and a maximum aperture of f/2.8 – slow for this focal length – suggests some stopping-down to mask optical problems. The 85mm portrait lens is still very much in fashion, but most feature an aperture wider than f/2 – f/1.2 being the ultimate and f/1.8 the norm. F/2.8 seems somewhat staid in comparison.

In use it actually performs very well. The unit I was using was not completely finished, but it didn't show. The AF is quick and the pictures are sharp. Although f/2.8 doesn't allow the low-light working that wider apertures do, it is still respectable, and in fact most ultra-wide aperture 85mm lenses do not perform at their best wide open. In practical terms too, for a headshot f/1.4 presents depth of field a little too shallow - except for showing off shallow depth of field.

Working wide-open and at a distance of just a few feet, I found depth of field just about shallow enough without feeling I wanted to open the aperture any more. A diffused desk lamp allowed a hand-hold-able shutter speed of 1/50sec at ISO 1600 – so I didn't feel deprived at all.

The resulting images are sharp and crisp, with attractive out of focus areas. In all, I am very pleased with the results.

Sony has yet to announce a price for this lens, but a spokesperson has indicated to me that we should expect it to cost in the region of £175. To be frank, in the hand the lens feels like a £175 lens, but the results demonstrate that it really will be excellent value for money. The existing 85mm option for Sony users is the Carl Zeiss T* 85mm f/1.4 ZA (SAL85F14Z), which will set you back a more full-frame-price of £1200.

The new lens is due to go on sale in September.

more poisons cry.gif
lwliam
post Jul 28 2010, 09:38 PM

6,075 posts

mainly, i think on what you are questioning is that the 16mm is basically wider (mm difference shows more on the wide end than on the tele end), the 16mm is a few stops faster, thus making it possible to be used in low light handheld. its a pancake lens, where it is small enough to be considered as a PnS (not doable with the 18-55)
wingster
post Jul 28 2010, 09:42 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 28 2010, 09:38 PM)
for those who are lazy to click the link:

New Sony DSLR lenses previewed - Sony 85mm f/2.8 SAM (SAL85F28) by Damien Demolder

Too bad it is F2.8 but if the price is very freaking cheap then it would be great biggrin.gif
mastering89
post Jul 28 2010, 09:43 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

the 16mm suits the Fish Eye and Wide Angle laugh.gif
the SEL1855 can fit the FE but vignetting kaw kaw. Wide angle adapter im not sure
zstan
post Jul 28 2010, 09:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Jul 28 2010, 09:42 PM)
[/spoiler]

Too bad it is F2.8 but if the price is very freaking cheap then it would be great biggrin.gif
but what the guy said seems true..

you won't be shooting f1.4 all the time or f1.8..

depth of field a bit too shallow sometimes..anyway that's personal preference biggrin.gif although the light gathering capability at f1.4 is alluring ><
cassplayer
post Jul 28 2010, 09:56 PM

FFFUUUU
3,375 posts

Even when I got the 50mm 1.4, I shot at F4, F5.6 & F7.1 most of the time biggrin.gif

Need to be sharp when shooting artistes, I only used 1.4 if I confirm he's not moving for a short time/when his background has nice lights/bokeh-able things laugh.gif
lwliam
post Jul 28 2010, 10:01 PM

6,075 posts

its the fact that you know that you HAVE a f/1.4 at the scroll of a dial that is poisoning, doesnt matter if u even use it or not. but to justify the fact that the Zeiss costs 2 of my A700 with grip, compared to a (nearly) pocketable lens with the sacrifice of a couple of stops at a tiny fraction of the cost, now THAT's alluring.. i even have to think again whether to get the sp90 or not, coz the SP would have a longer focus throw and bigger size - then again, the sp90 is undoubtedly sharp and is a 1:1 magnification...

Added on July 28, 2010, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(cassplayer @ Jul 28 2010, 09:56 PM)
Even when I got the 50mm 1.4, I shot at F4, F5.6 & F7.1 most of the time biggrin.gif

Need to be sharp when shooting artistes, I only used 1.4 if I confirm he's not moving for a short time/when his background has nice lights/bokeh-able things laugh.gif
but isnt that a contradiction? you're supposed to use a bigger aperture to so that you can get a faster shutter speed to freeze the movement. if i have a 1.4, i'd use 1.8/2.0 range all the time... now with my 1.7, i need to use 2.8 range to avoid softness

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jul 28 2010, 10:04 PM
cassplayer
post Jul 28 2010, 10:14 PM

FFFUUUU
3,375 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jul 28 2010, 10:01 PM)
its the fact that you know that you HAVE a f/1.4 at the scroll of a dial that is poisoning, doesnt matter if u even use it or not. but to justify the fact that the Zeiss costs 2 of my A700 with grip, compared to a (nearly) pocketable lens with the sacrifice of a couple of stops at a tiny fraction of the cost, now THAT's alluring.. i even have to think again whether to get the sp90 or not, coz the SP would have a longer focus throw and bigger size - then again, the sp90 is undoubtedly sharp and is a 1:1 magnification...

Added on July 28, 2010, 10:04 pm

but isnt that a contradiction? you're supposed to use a bigger aperture to so that you can get a faster shutter speed to freeze the movement. if i have a 1.4, i'd use 1.8/2.0 range all the time... now with my 1.7, i need to use 2.8 range to avoid softness
But in dark conditions, usually my flash is on. Shot using 1.4 in The Opera

But when I set 1.4, I just use pop up flash, much nicer after some R&D biggrin.gif

When I shoot 4/5.6/7.1, it's either bright during the press conference, or when he's a distance away/on the stage dancing fast moves, I use my flashgun to keep the image sharp while properly exposed. biggrin.gif

Editted my sentence, so it's not so confusing laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cassplayer: Jul 28 2010, 10:17 PM

126 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:15 AM