QUOTE(inexsis @ Jan 8 2011, 09:22 PM)
or.. just get SGS?Android Phone recommendation thread, Official thread on "Which should I get?"
Android Phone recommendation thread, Official thread on "Which should I get?"
Jan 8 2011, 09:26 PM
4,282 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Jan 8 2011, 09:55 PM
1,706 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Ipoh, Pera/k/, P.M'sia, SEA, Asia, Earth |
There IS one other option. The Nexus S. Loses to SGS in GPU benchmark but its not bad. Price will drop in a month or so.
Jan 8 2011, 10:37 PM
1,281 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
But there won't be authorised Google dealer in Malaysia right? Then he can only get AP set
Jan 9 2011, 12:15 AM
1,035 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: KL Malaysia la |
QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 8 2011, 09:02 PM) wat sort of problems with ur previous LG and wat model? i've never had any LG phones before and last time i heard many ppl say that it's bad...would appreciate your feedback Mine was the LG KS360. It keeps shutting off when i slide my phone open to type a message. Then sometimes when a sms comes in, it shuts off. Lousy la. Sent in for flashing summore, as they say its software problem, but still happened. Thank god my dad has an extra BB. Temporarily using it till i get my money for either my Desire AP or Defy |
Jan 9 2011, 12:45 AM
3,965 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
I did see the Samsung Nexus S specs - however, I didn't take a second look for fear of its price, which I thought should be quite high, considering the LG has a 320x480 and the previously more expensive HTC Wildfire has a lower res, while all other <RM800 phones had equal or smaller res too.
Furthermore, the Nexus S is Android 2.3 and is Dec 2010, the LG is 2.2, while every other <RM800 phone was 1.5 / 1.6 / 2.1 or older. The most logical choice would be the LG, unless of course I waited - and I really want/need a phone now, but buying a really crappy 'temporary' phone isn't an option, while I am sick of my older phones atm. New phones means I have to wait, and they'll typically be more expensive. I appreciate any suggestions, as I have been away from the phone world for quite a while. OMFG according to a random sight it is ~500+ USD, nearly RM1700. It seems I have to rule that out. Once again, even tho the 800+ LG is not a lightly taken cost for me, I appeal to Android users and you guys out there for advice. Should I: 1) Buy the slightly flawed, mediocre LG now at nearly RM800+ 2) Consider a perhaps not-so-laggy, ~RM1000 Android phone if it exists 3) Wait a while before I buy a new one this year, with similar pricing to the LG but better 4) Not buy Android? I am concerned with Symbian's problems, lags etc Due to the nature of my work, I won't be using the phone during work. Furthermore, I don't care about video calling or 3G or whatever, I'm mostly going to use Wifi and phone/texting. For me good texting is important, but spending RM1200 on a phone that becomes redundant soon is a mistake I will not want to repeat. |
Jan 9 2011, 01:38 AM
2,968 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang, Malaysia |
@LightningFist, i wanted to get Optimus One at first too, but after looking at some video demo of the phone and Optimus Chic's, i'm set to buy Optimus Chic when it's released in Malaysia, when will that be, i do not know, but i'll wait
Jan 9 2011, 01:51 AM
But I don't understand. Isn't the Optimus Chic nearly exactly the same in specs (apart from camera), with a different look?
Jan 9 2011, 01:59 AM
take a look at this two video and try to notice the interface movement and the reviewer's finger, let me know wat u think after watching both video.
Optimus One http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vyt1IjdDGu4&feature=channel Optimus Chic http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8fKvAUTi5w |
Jan 9 2011, 02:40 AM
I'm interested in hearing your opinion as to the differences, and certainly why you would get the Chic over the One. I only notice the Chic looks more chic than the One, that's for sure.
(my internet won't load youtube) |
Jan 9 2011, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ Jan 9 2011, 02:40 AM) I'm interested in hearing your opinion as to the differences, and certainly why you would get the Chic over the One. I only notice the Chic looks more chic than the One, that's for sure. Haha i get what you mean. To your question, the Chic does seem a little more smoother compared to the O1. But, if you're in a tight budget it doesn't really matter. Why spend a few more hundred bucks to get a phone thats only a little smoother when you can just invest in something else that matters more? All in all i still root for the O1 for budget users below 1k. For the 1k-1.3k users, i suggest you wait for the Acer Liquid Metal which would probably be priced at RM1250.(my internet won't load youtube) The upside for the acer Liquid Metal is that the same processor used in the DZ is used here. It has a 3.6" screen(480x800) which would not be too small or too big for female users. I bet most of you all wouldn't know but.... It utilizes Vanilla UI. Sure it comes preinstalled with the Breeze but you can disable it with the click of a button in the settings. And the Breeze does take up a lot of processing as stated by a reviewer. Sadly it has a sub-par camera though.Highly recommeded The Wildfire. Most wouldn't recommend this(I nearly bought it but i chose the Galaxy 5 instead) as the screen resolution(240x320) is low, the tft screen looks ugly and it uses a 528mhz processor. Even the O1 is a better choice compared to the Wildfire. Least recommended The Optimus Chic. Nothing much about this model. Quite good in terms of design, and the camera is average afaik. Processor is the same as the O1 but this is a higher end model as it has a 5mp camera. Same 320x480 screen as the O1. Recommended. Galaxy 3. The only one in this price range with a QWERTY i think. Nothing much. Plasticky feel with chrome sides. Quite nice design. I think it rests on the light side of a QWERTY. 3.2mp average camera. 240x400 iirc. Recommended for those who prefer a physical keyboard. I guess that sums it up? Other forumers might have a better recommendation or a more valid personal point of view. Don't flame me if i get it wrong =X This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Jan 9 2011, 09:02 AM |
Jan 9 2011, 04:52 PM
494 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
any lg shop recommended in penang island?
Jan 9 2011, 05:34 PM
Jan 9 2011, 05:51 PM
494 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
lolz already ask bt no replies T.T nvm thx
Jan 9 2011, 11:15 PM
hmm, after looking at the video again and actually listening to it (i wasn't listening to it when i first watch the video as the pc i was using at that time doesn't have speaker or neither do i have a earphone with me) i heard the reviewer says the interface is a bit choppy at times. =/
LightningFist, smoother and more responsive touch are important. of course we dun expect much from mid-range phones but surely if we have the option to see whichever performs better, we go for the ones that is better right? but of course if the price difference and the performance doesn't match up to your expectations then that's a different thing altogether. if i tried the unit with my own hands and with my own judgement i think that the extra responsiveness isn't worth the price i pay for then i go for O1 instead. though the 5mp and the comment that Chic produces better picture in low light condition compared to O1's. if my budget went up to sub 1.3k range, i'm gonna have a new set of phones to dilemma thru |
Jan 10 2011, 12:40 AM
127 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(justnits @ Jan 9 2011, 11:15 PM) hmm, after looking at the video again and actually listening to it (i wasn't listening to it when i first watch the video as the pc i was using at that time doesn't have speaker or neither do i have a earphone with me) i heard the reviewer says the interface is a bit choppy at times. =/ Why not try the Optimus One at any phone shop? You might just buy it on the spot. LightningFist, smoother and more responsive touch are important. of course we dun expect much from mid-range phones but surely if we have the option to see whichever performs better, we go for the ones that is better right? but of course if the price difference and the performance doesn't match up to your expectations then that's a different thing altogether. if i tried the unit with my own hands and with my own judgement i think that the extra responsiveness isn't worth the price i pay for then i go for O1 instead. though the 5mp and the comment that Chic produces better picture in low light condition compared to O1's. if my budget went up to sub 1.3k range, i'm gonna have a new set of phones to dilemma thru |
Jan 10 2011, 01:10 AM
130 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: lastlovesong villa |
can anyone recommend me best android phone with price range around rm600-rm800? was thinking about x10 or mb300... any better phone?
brand: any budget: rm600-rm800 specs: best for that budget range what you need in the phone: large screen, MAYBE look stylist or able to handle motion games. and of course not lag... This post has been edited by lastlovesong: Jan 10 2011, 09:16 AM |
Jan 10 2011, 02:19 AM
409 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
can recommend me? 1. Brand Any 2. Budget (rm1.5k-2k) 3. Specs (fast processor, ram wont lag, prefer latest vesion, large screen) 4. batter life must tahan at least 2 days la |
Jan 10 2011, 04:21 AM
122 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(ApostLes` @ Jan 10 2011, 02:19 AM) can recommend me? If u budget can up to 2k, i tin u should wait for new models from samsung,motorola,sony or other brands. New year and new models will be released soon. Why dun you wait a while ? 1. Brand Any 2. Budget (rm1.5k-2k) 3. Specs (fast processor, ram wont lag, prefer latest vesion, large screen) 4. batter life must tahan at least 2 days la |
Jan 10 2011, 05:21 AM
409 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
ok thanks
Jan 10 2011, 09:15 AM
| Change to: | 0.0225sec
5 queries
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:09 AM |